Response to Arguments
In page 2 of the remarks, Applicant states that the drawings were objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) for a typographical error in Fig. 4, with the amendment Replacement Sheet for Fig. 4 changing “DETECT THRETENING E-MAIL” to “DETECT THREATENING E-MAIL” in block S324 of Fig. 4. As a result, Examiner withdraws the objections made to the drawings in the previous Office Action (“OA”).
In pages 2-4 of the remarks, Applicant states that Examiner has made certain findings that some elements in the claims fall under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), with Applicant stating that there was “no intention for any of the claims to be interpreted as having means-plus-function recitations”. Furthermore, claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement and under § 112(b) as being indefinite. Applicant has amended the claims to explicitly recite "at least one processor" and the at least one processor is configured to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program. As amended, the claims are supported by the specification and recite definite subject matter. In particular, the specification describes computer 2000, including CPU 2012, memory, and communication interface 2022, and explains that programs executed by CPU 2012 cause computer 2000 to function as the infection notice transmission apparatus 140. See, e.g., Fig. 9; paragraphs [0070]-[0074]. Withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §§ 112(a), (b), and (f) is respectfully requested.
Examiner states that regarding the 112(f) claim interpretation, claim 1 has now been amended to now recite “An infection notice transmission apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the infection notice transmission apparatus to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program”, where it is now specified that the processor in the apparatus is causing the invention to perform the limitations recited in the inventions. However, the 112(a) rejections for the independent claims lacking written description is maintained, as while the processor now performs the limitation as recited in the independent claims, it remains unclear how the invention of the Applicant performs the notification to an external network, with paragraphs [0026] and [0047] of the Specification describing that the infection notice transmission apparatus becomes infected, and in paragraph [0047], this occurs in step S326 of Fig. 4 after opening an e-mail that contains a malicious program, with the apparatus sending an infection notice to the first server from the computer of the general user, as also described in Fig. 5, step S11, and paragraph [0053]. the infection notice transmission apparatus does not contain sufficient support as to what type of notification is provided to cause the infection notice transmission apparatus to send the infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program. Examiner states that where the email message described in paragraph [0047] and Fig. 4 must be specified, such as a recipient. As a result, Examiner states that claims 1, 3-9, 13, 15, 19-21 are rejected under 112(a) for lack of written description in the Specification regarding the limitation of “infection notice transmission apparatus to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program” in the independent claims.
In pages 4-6 of the remarks, Applicant states that the OA relies on Ahmadzadeh, paragraph [0083], with particular reference to Fig. 6, block 622. Block 622 "transmits a report message ... to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105." However, Ahmadzadeh does not disclose or suggest that "the infection notice transmission apparatus communicates with the external network through a router by using a same global IP address as that used by one or more computers in a computer network to communicate with the external network," in the independent claims as now recited. Applicant states that OA relies on Newman, paragraph [0014], for "communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited," because Newman restricts Internet access to suspected infected users. Applicant states that restricting or disabling Internet access does not suggest the claimed arrangement in which “communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited while communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted”, with Newman's limited routing to a remediation or support page after Internet restriction, as discussed in Newman paragraph [0020], likewise does not disclose or suggesting this limitation. Applicant described the claimed invention’s Specification, where a “shared-global-IP feature makes it difficult for attacker 22 to determine that the target is the infection notice transmission apparatus 140 rather than a normal computer 142. See Applicant's specification, paragraphs [0023], [0031]-[0032].” Thus, Ahmadzadeh and Newman, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the claimed features of the amended independent claim 1 above. Claims 3-9, 13, and 15 depend, directly or indirectly, from amended claim I and are therefore allowable at least by virtue of their dependence therefrom. Claims 2, 10-12, 14, and 16-18 have been canceled, rendering moot any rejection thereto. Features recited in amended claims 19 and 20 and the features discussed above with respect to amended claim 1, amended claims 19 and 20 are likewise allowable.
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Ahmadzadeh does not fully disclose or suggest the limitation of "the infection notice transmission apparatus communicates with the external network through a router by using a same global IP address as that used by one or more computers in a computer network to communicate with the external network," as Ahmadzadeh discloses the limitation in the paragraphs [0083] Fig. 6, block 620, the current resource(s) that satisfied the condition to trigger malware for a target application is stored, and block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105. Furthermore, paragraph [0034] describes that “resources may be data that includes […] Internet protocol (IP) address”, and Fig. 1 as well as paragraph [0040] states that network(s) 105 includes Wi-Fi router(s) in the honeypot system of Ahmadzadeh, which allows the device to communicate with external networks to the Internet. Furthermore, the limitation of “communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited while communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted” is taught by Ahmadzadeh and Newman, where “while communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted” is disclosed by Ahmadzadeh’s paragraph [0083] Fig. 6, block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105. “communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited” is not suggested by Ahmadzadeh, but is taught by Newman’s paragraph [0014] If a malicious event is detected, controller 104 restricts Internet access in step 312 to one or more customers suspected of interrupting service of the network 101 at the selected IP address of the network used by one or more computers, with 'restrict' being defined as limited access or no Internet access. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references of Ahmadzadeh and Newman to disconnect the user device in a network that is infected by disabling the IP address to disconnect the user from propagating malware or otherwise slowing or interrupting service of other users utilizing the same address, as described in Newman [0015]. As a result of maintaining the rejections of the prior art, Examiner maintains that claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman.
In page 7 of the remarks, Applicant states that claim 21 has been newly added to the amendments, with claim 21 being allowable by “virtue of its dependence from claim 1”, as well as limitations including “the communication […] is prohibited by rejecting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network, and […] permitted by permitting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network” are not disclosed, taught, or suggested in any of the cited references, including Ahmadzadeh, Newman and Finlayson.
Applicant disagrees with the Applicant, as claim 21’s limitations are analogous to the now canceled claim 2’s limitations, with the addition of the phrases “prohibited by rejecting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus” and “permitted by permitting a packet from the […] appratus”, where the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim requires either rejecting a message or accepting a message from the apparatus based on whether communication is prohibited or permitted to the computer network. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “and the communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted by permitting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network”, where Ahmadzadeh’s paragraph [0040] Fig. 1, mobile computing device 102 communicates over network 105 via a wired or wireless connection 103. [0083] Fig. 6, block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105. Furthermore, while Ahmadzadeh does not suggest the following limitation, Newman teaches “wherein the communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited by rejecting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network”, where after restriction in paragraph [0014] is performed (i.e., no Internet access), paragraph [0020] describes a customer being routed to the agent of the support center when the customer accepts the option to remediate the restriction, as described in steps 360, 362, and 364, which transfers the customer from a disconnected Internet network to the agent in an external network. The motivation to combine the references to teach the limitations present in claim 21 would be made to provide the affected customer of the infected user device with options including a selected of downloadable software solutions to the customer, providing contact information for customer service, and accept requests from the customer to remove the malicious software via a special webpage, as described in Newman [0019]. Examiner rejects claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 13, 15, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Examiner states that in the independent claims 1, 19, and 20, the step that the invention performs to “prohibit” or “permit” communication with an external network or computer network is unclear. The indefinite claim language is “wherein the infection notice transmission apparatus communicates with the external network through a router by using a same global IP address as that used by one or more computers in a computer network to communicate with the external network”, and “communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited while communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted”. In particular, which component of the infection notice transmission apparatus in claim 1 prohibits or permits is not sufficiently disclosed, as either the processor, apparatus or router as recited in the independent claims that performs the permitting or prohibiting of the communication to the networks as described above. The boundaries of the claim limitations are unclear as it merely states a function, that being prohibiting communication to the computer network and permitting communication to the external network, without providing any indication about how the function is performed. Examiner recommends that Applicant amend the claim limitations to specify how the communication between the aforementioned networks changes, such as whether it is the router, or processor that performs the limitations.
Claims 3-9, 13, 15, and 21 depend upon the limitations of independent claim 1, and as a result, inherit the rejections from their respective claim that they depend upon.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected from similar reasons as the aforementioned claim above.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected from similar reasons as the aforementioned claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 3-9, 13, 15, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 describes the claimed limitation of “infection notice transmission apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the infection notice transmission apparatus to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program”, with the Specification not providing sufficient support for the infection notice transmission apparatus to perform the function of sending an infection notice when it is infected with malware to an external network. Even when the Specification describes in paragraph [0047], step S326 of Fig. 4, after opening an e-mail that contains a malicious program, the apparatus sending an infection notice to the first server from the computer of the general user, as also described in Fig. 5, step S11, and paragraph [0053], the infection notice transmission apparatus does not contain sufficient support as to what type of notification is provided to cause the infection notice transmission apparatus to send the infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program.
Claims 3-9, 13, 15, and 21 depend upon the limitations of independent claim 1, and as a result, inherit the rejections from their respective claim that they depend upon.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations to independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected from similar reasons as the aforementioned claim above.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations to independent claim 1 above, and as a result, is also rejected from similar reasons as the aforementioned claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadzadeh et al. (US20170134405A1), hereinafter “Ahmadzadeh”, in view of Newman et al. (US20070044152A1), hereinafter “Newman”.
Regarding claim 1, Ahmadzadeh discloses “an infection notice transmission apparatus comprising at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the infection notice transmission apparatus to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program” ([0025] Honeypot system can provision identified resources, which includes making available or unavailable various functionalities of the mobile computing device.),
“wherein the infection notice transmission apparatus communicates with the external network through a router by using a same global IP address as that used by one or more computers in a computer network to communicate with the external network” ([0083] Fig. 6, block 620, the current resource(s) that satisfied the condition to trigger malware for a target application is stored, and block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105.),
“while communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted” ([0083] Fig. 6, block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105.).
“and the infection notice transmission apparatus has a same operating system as that of the one or more computers” ([0034] Resources that can be provisioned by the honeypot system includes device components and data, including an operating system ("OS") (e.g., Windows, Android), along with OS information such as an OS version. The OS corresponds to the software environment, and is shared between the honeypot system and the mobile computing device of Ahmadzadeh.),
Ahmadzadeh does not appear to suggest, but Newman teaches “communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited” ([0014] If a malicious event is detected, controller 104 restricts Internet access in step 312 to one or more customers suspected of interrupting service of the network 101 at the selected IP address of the network used by one or more computers, with 'restrict' being defined as limited access or no Internet access.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to disconnect the user device in a network that is infected by disabling the IP address to disconnect the user from propagating malware or otherwise slowing or interrupting service of other users utilizing the same address (Newman [0015]).
Regarding claim 3, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “wherein an operating system of the infection notice transmission apparatus is the same as an operating system of the one or more computers” ([0034] Resources that can be provisioned by the honeypot system includes device components and data, including an operating system ("OS") (e.g., Windows, Android), along with OS information such as an OS version. The OS corresponds to the software environment, and is shared between the honeypot system and the mobile computing device of Ahmadzadeh.).
Regarding claim 4, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “wherein a version of the operating system of the infection notice transmission apparatus is the same as a version of the operating system of the one or more computers” ([0034] OS information such as an OS version can be provisioned by honeypot system.).
Regarding claim 6, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh does not appear to suggest, but Newman teaches “wherein if a file containing a RAT type malicious program is detected, the infection notice transmission apparatus becomes infected with the RAT type malicious program by opening the file” ([0016] Customer is notified of a service violation with proposed mitigation steps, and the service violation includes, a detected virus or bot operating in the customer's computer, in which a bot is described in paragraph [0003] as a "remote-access Trojan program" from malicious software operating, which is activated by opening the software itself.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to address the issue present with "remote-access Trojan" (RAT) programs, as the attacker can operate the computer with the user unaware of its infection on the user device, and the terms of service of the terminal equipment for Internet access address a detected virus or bot operating in the customer's computer, which does not fall under appropriate use of the service provider's network (Newman [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “wherein the infection notice transmission apparatus returns to a predetermined operation state, in which the infection notice transmission apparatus has not been infected with a malicious program, at a predetermined timing” ([0021] Malicious applications can be designed to utilize certain resources such that malicious activity is only triggered when operating conditions of a computing device are satisfied at a given time.).
Regarding claim 15, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claims 1, and 3. Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman, further in view of Finlayson also teaches the limitations present in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 19, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the limitations of an infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above, and similar limitations are also present for the method executed in an infection notice transmission apparatus present in independent claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 20, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the limitations of an infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above, and similar limitations are also present for the non-transitory computer readable storage medium to cause a computer to function as an infection notice transmission apparatus present in independent claim 20 above. Furthermore, Ahmadzadeh also discloses the limitations of “non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon a computer program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to function as an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program, wherein the computer program causes the computer to execute:” ([0022] “Various embodiments provide […] non-transitory process-readable storage media for using causal analysis and/or behavioral prediction to trigger malicious activities by malicious applications […] a computing device (e.g., the mobile computing device 102 illustrated in FIG. 1) may be configured to operate as a honeypot system”. [0025] Honeypot system can provision identified resources, which includes making available or unavailable various functionalities of the mobile computing device.).
Regarding claim 21, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “and the communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network is permitted by permitting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the external network” ([0040] Fig. 1, mobile computing device 102 communicates over network 105 via a wired or wireless connection 103. [0083] Fig. 6, block 622 transmits a report message of the condition to trigger malware to an external server configured to catalog malware data over network 105.).
Ahmadzadeh does not appear to suggest, but Newman teaches “wherein the communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited by rejecting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network” (After restriction in paragraph [0014] is performed (i.e., no Internet access), paragraph [0020] describes a customer being routed to the agent of the support center when the customer accepts the option to remediate the restriction, as described in steps 360, 362, and 364, which transfers the customer from a disconnected Internet network to the agent in an external network.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "wherein the communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited by rejecting a packet from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the affected customer of the infected user device with options including a selected of downloadable software solutions to the customer, providing contact information for customer service, and accept requests from the customer to remove the malicious software via a special webpage, which occurs after restriction of Internet to the device, such as no Internet access, and switches to the special web page provided to the affected customer (Newman [0019]).
Claims 5, 7-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 9 above, and further in view of Finlayson et al. (US 20190347412 A1), hereinafter “Finlayson”.
Regarding claim 5, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claim 1 above. Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman does not appear to suggest, but Finlayson teaches “wherein if an e-mail with a file containing a malicious program attached is detected, the infection notice transmission apparatus becomes infected with the malicious program by opening the file” ([0004] Fig. 3, user believes a file 103 to be legitimate, user clicks the link in the file itself, which causes malicious code 104 to be executed on the user device, the device being infected by the malicious code from the file attached in the email.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "communication from the infection notice transmission apparatus to the computer network is prohibited" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase security as the prior art has the user believes that the file attached to the email is legitimate, with the cyber attacker designs file 103 to visually legitimate files, infecting the user device to infect the system (Finlayson [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claims 1 and 5 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “wherein the infection notice transmission apparatus opens the file within a predetermined period of time” ([0021] Malicious applications can be designed to utilize certain resources such that malicious activity is only triggered when operating conditions of a computing device are satisfied at a given time.).
Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman does not appear to suggest, but Finlayson teaches “after the e-mail with the file attached is detected” ([0004] Fig. 3, client device 101b of the user becomes infected by the malicious code from opening the file attached in the email.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "after the e-mail with the file attached is detected" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to address the issues of prior art that has the user believes that the file attached to the email is legitimate, with the cyber attacker designs file 103 to visually legitimate files, infecting the user device to infect the system (Finlayson [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claims 1 and 6 above. Ahmadzadeh also discloses “wherein the infection notice transmission apparatus is prohibited from opening the file if a predetermined period of time has elapsed” ([0021] Malicious applications can be designed to utilize certain resources such that malicious activity is only triggered when operating conditions of a computing device are satisfied at a given time.).
Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman does not appear to suggest, but Finlayson teaches “since an e-mail containing a malicious program was detected” ([0004] Fig. 3, client device 101b of the user becomes infected by the malicious code from opening the file attached in the email.).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of "since an e-mail containing a malicious program was detected" in an infection notice transmission apparatus permitted to send an infection notice to an external network if infected with a malicious program and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to address the issues of prior art that has the user believes that the file attached to the email is legitimate, with the cyber attacker designs file 103 to visually legitimate files, infecting the user device to infect the system (Finlayson [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 13, Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman teaches the infection notice transmission apparatus present in claims 1, and 3. Ahmadzadeh in view of Newman, further in view of Finlayson also teaches the limitations present in claim 5 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496