Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 20 recites the limitation "the group consisting" in lines 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “detecting an intended delivery address of a package with said package scanning mobile application, wherein said intended delivery address of the package includes a tag selected from the group consisting of a barcode tag and an RFID tag; scanning said tag by said scanner for said detecting of said intended delivery address; comparing said intended delivery address of the package to said location of the deliverer; alerting the deliverer when said intended delivery address of the package is different from said location of the deliverer; displaying said location of the deliverer as a starting location; and displaying said intended delivery address as a destination location.”
The recited limitations above are a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation done by a human using generic computer components under mental process (human using pen and paper). That is nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by a human using generic computer components. For example, “providing”, “detecting”, “scanning”, “comparing”, “alerting”, “displaying” and “displaying” in the context of this claim encompasses the user to manually determine a wrong address delivery for a package.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite the following additional elements- a “electronic computing device”, “scanner”, “location module” and a “interface” to perform the above recited steps. The computer elements recited at a high-level of generality (generic computer elements performing a generic computer function of receiving information, identifying solutions and determining what should be presented to a user) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements recited do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the computer elements to perform the steps of claims 1, 10 and 20 amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The limitations of the dependent claims 2-9 and 11-19, further describe the identified abstract idea. In addition, the limitations of claims 2-3, 5-9, 12-13 and 15-19 define how the ticket is compared and the price is determined which further describes the abstract idea. The generic computer component of claims 4, 11 and 14 (interface, GPS) merely serve as the generic computer component and the functions performed by the generic computer components essentially amount to the abstract idea identified above. None of the dependent claims when taken separately in combination with each dependent claims parent claim overcome the above analysis and are therefore similarly rejected as being ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mclellan et al. referred herein as Mclellan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0357848).
As to claim 1, Mclellan teaches a system comprising:
a handheld electronic computing device having a package scanning mobile application including a location module for identifying a location of a deliverer and a scanner having a scanner software; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said package scanning mobile application detects an intended delivery address of a package; (para 52)
wherein said intended delivery address of the package includes a tag selected from the group consisting of a barcode tag and an RFID tag; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said detecting of said intended delivery address includes scanning said tag by said scanner; (para 49, 52 and 66)
wherein said package scanning mobile application compares said intended delivery address of the package to said location of the deliverer; (para 13, 22 and 39-40)
further wherein said package scanning mobile application provides an alert when said intended delivery address of the package is different from said location of the deliverer. (para 39 and 51-52)
As to claim 2, Mclellan teaches the system of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said alert is selected from the group consisting of one or more of a visual alert, an audible alert, a vibration alert, and a text message alert. (para 116)
As to claim 8, Mclellan teaches the system of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said alert is a first text message and a second message selected from the group consisting of an audio message and a vibration alert. (para 116 and 135)
As to claim 9, Mclellan teaches the system of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said text message indicates a wrong address delivery. (para 135)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mclellan et al. referred herein as Mclellan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0357848) in view of Mcbride et al. referred herein as Mcbride (U.S. Patent No. 11,144,868).
As to claims 10 and 20, Mclellan teaches a system and method comprising:
a handheld electronic computing device having a package scanning mobile application including a location module for identifying a location of a deliverer, a scanner having a scanner software, and a directions interface; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said package scanning mobile application detects an intended delivery address of a package; (para 13, 22 and 39-40)
wherein said intended delivery address of the package includes a tag selected from the group consisting of a barcode tag and an RFID tag; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said detecting of said intended delivery address includes scanning said tag by said scanner; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said package scanning mobile application compares said intended delivery address of the package to said location of the deliverer; (para 49 and 52)
wherein said package scanning mobile application provides an alert when said intended delivery address of the package is different from said location of the deliverer; (para 39 and 51-52)
Mclellan does not teach:
wherein said directions interface is displayed by said package scanning mobile application;
further wherein said directions interface displays said location of the deliverer as a starting location and displays said intended delivery address as a destination location
However, Mcbride teaches:
wherein said directions interface is displayed by said package scanning mobile application; (col 4 lines 19-41 and fig. 1)
further wherein said directions interface displays said location of the deliverer as a starting location and displays said intended delivery address as a destination location. (col 4 lines 19-41 and fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to present the user with a map in Mclellan as taught by Mcbride. Motivation to do so comes knowledge taught by Mcbride that doing so would facilitate user interactively to obtain details regarding tracking status.
As to claims 3 and 13, Mclellan teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 12 as discussed above.
Mclellan does not teach:
wherein said package scanning mobile application having a digital map display for showing directions from said location of the deliverer to said intended delivery address of the package.
However, Mcbride teaches:
wherein said package scanning mobile application having a digital map display for showing directions from said location of the deliverer to said intended delivery address of the package. (col 4 lines 19-41 and fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to present the user with a map in Mclellan as taught by Mcbride. Motivation to do so comes knowledge taught by Mcbride that doing so would facilitate user interactively to obtain details regarding tracking status.
As to claims 4 and 14, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claims 3 and 13 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said location module is a GPS location tracker. (para 43 and 58)
As to claims 5 and 15, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claims 4 and 14 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said intended delivery address of the package is prestored in said package scanning mobile application. (para 52)
As to claims 6 and 16, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claims 5 and 15 as discussed above.
Mclellan does not teach:
wherein said digital map display having a first indicia showing said location of the deliverer and a second indicia showing said intended delivery address of the package.
However, Mcbride teaches:
wherein said digital map display having a first indicia showing said location of the deliverer and a second indicia showing said intended delivery address of the package. (fig. 1, show the delivery address and the origin address for the package)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to present the user with a map in Mclellan as taught by Mcbride. Motivation to do so comes knowledge taught by Mcbride that doing so would facilitate user interactively to obtain details regarding tracking status.
As to claim 11, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above.
Mclellan does not teach:
wherein said directions interface displays real time movements of said location of the deliverer.
However, Mcbride teaches:
wherein said directions interface displays real time movements of said location of the deliverer. (col 16 lines 57-63)
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filling date of the invention to present the user with a map in Mclellan as taught by Mcbride. Motivation to do so comes knowledge taught by Mcbride that doing so would facilitate user interactively to obtain details regarding tracking status.
As to claim 12, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said alert is selected from the group consisting of one or more of a visual alert, an audible alert, a vibration alert, and a text message alert. (para 116)
As to claim 18, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said alert is a first text message and a second message selected from the group consisting of an audio message and a vibration alert. (para 116 and 135)
As to claim 9, Mclellan in view of Mcbride teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Mclellan further teaches:
wherein said text message indicates a wrong address delivery. (para 135)
Conclusion
/ZEINA ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628