DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5:
the claims recite the limitation “generate the audio information from the one or more acceleration signals, with emphasis on a component of the predetermined frequency band over components of other frequency bands.”
It is unclear whether “with emphasis” means amplifying, filtering, or a further potential meaning of emphasizing a predetermined frequency bands. This lack of clarity makes the scope of the claims indefinite. For examining purposes, this limitation will be interpreted to mean filtering for a predetermined frequency band.
Claims 6-7 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim and failing to cure the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masago et al (JP 2011121506, hereinafter JP, see attached translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Masago teaches:
an information presentation device (see at least "The alarm means 17" on page 4 ) comprising:
one or more speakers configured to present an occupant of a vehicle with audio information (see at least "alarm buzzer" on page 4 ) ;
one or more acceleration detectors configured to respectively output one or more acceleration signals respectively indicating lateral acceleration rates of one or more unsprung components that make relative displacements to a vehicle body of the vehicle in accordance with strokes of one or more suspensions that respectively support one or more wheels of the vehicle (see at least "Specifically, an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the circumferential direction of the tire and an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the width direction of the tire are embedded in the tire shoulder portion, and the tire circumferential portion of the running tire shoulder portion is embedded in the tire shoulder portion." On page 2 and “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing an example of the rotational order spectrum of the width direction vibration of the lower part of the vehicle spring. As shown in FIG. Therefore, it is possible to determine whether an internal failure has occurred in the tire 30 or not.” On page 7) ; and
a processor configured to perform filter processing with a predetermined frequency band on the one or more acceleration signals (see at least "The rotation order ratio analyzing unit 15Z includes a low-pass filter 15x, a sampling unit 15y, and an analyzing unit 15z. The low-pass filter 15x removes high-frequency components of tire vibration detected by the acceleration sensor 11, and suppresses the occurrence of aliasing phenomenon (turnback) in the rotation order ratio analysis" on page 9 ) and
output one or more resultant signals as one or more driving signals to the one or more speakers, the one or more speakers being configured to present the occupant of the vehicle with the audio information in accordance with the one or more acceleration signals outputted by the one or more acceleration detectors. (see at least "The alarm means 17 is installed in the vicinity of the driver's seat, and when a failure signal is input, causes the driver to recognize that a tire internal failure has occurred by turning on or blinking an alarm LED. The alarm buzzer may be driven to recognize that a tire internal failure has occurred by an alarm sound, or the alarm buzzer and the LED may be used in combination" on page 4 )
Regarding Claim 4, Masago teaches:
4. The information presentation device according to claim 1, wherein
the processor comprises an acceleration signal processor configured to generate the audio information from the one or more acceleration signals, with emphasis on a component of the predetermined frequency band over components of other frequency bands. (see at least "The rotation order ratio analyzing unit 15Z includes a low-pass filter 15x, a sampling unit 15y, and an analyzing unit 15z. The low-pass filter 15x removes high-frequency components of tire vibration detected by the acceleration sensor 11, and suppresses the occurrence of aliasing phenomenon (turnback) in the rotation order ratio analysis." On page 9 )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masago et al (JP 2011121506, hereinafter JP, see attached translation) in view of Pan et al (US 20170282790, hereinafter Pan).
Regarding Claim 2, Masago teaches:
The information presentation device according to claim 1, wherein
the one or more unsprung components comprise a plurality of unsprung components (see at least " The knuckle 21 is a non-rotating side part (vehicle unsprung part) of the wheel unit 20 connected via a bearing to a wheel hub 23 that rotates together with the wheel 22, and a brake device (not shown) is mounted on the knuckle 21. The knuckle 21 is connected to upper and lower arms 25 and 26 of a vehicle suspension system including a suspension member 24 via buffer members 27 and 28 such as rubber bushes" on page 3 ),
the one or more acceleration signals comprise a plurality of acceleration signals, the one or more acceleration detectors are configured to respectively output the acceleration signals of the unsprung components provided on the wheels (see at least "Specifically, an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the circumferential direction of the tire and an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the width direction of the tire are embedded in the tire shoulder portion, and the tire circumferential portion of the running tire shoulder portion is embedded in the tire shoulder portion." On page 2 and “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing an example of the rotational order spectrum of the width direction vibration of the lower part of the vehicle spring. As shown in FIG. Therefore, it is possible to determine whether an internal failure has occurred in the tire 30 or not.” On page 7)
Masago does not appear to explicitly teach all of the following, but Pan does teach:
the one or more wheels comprise a plurality of wheels (see at least four tires in par. 0028 and 0047),
the one or more speakers comprise a plurality of speakers (see at least "The processor 304 sends an audible sound 310 of the plurality of audible sounds 310 to at least one speaker 322-326 based on the at least one threshold." in par. 0038), and
the speakers are configured to present the occupant of the vehicle with the audio information in accordance with the acceleration signals detected at the unsprung components, with sound image localization that differs with positions of the wheels on which the unsprung components are provided. (see at least "In a particular implementation, the operations include selecting the at least one speaker based on an association of the at least one speaker with the sensor. In particular examples, the association of the at least one speaker with the sensor comprises at least one of a directional association, a spatial association, and a cognitive association." in par. 0015 and “With acoustic imaging, multichannel outputs, non-entertainment audio rendering, or any combination, the system conveys individualized acoustic feedback for each of the tires. For example, when a driver-side rear tire is about to lose traction, a driver-side rear speaker(s) provide squealing sound that varies in pitch or changes from squealing tires to a drastic, hard braking sound as thresholds are reached.” In par. 0026 and “For example, the accelerometer reading may be modified so it will trigger the thresholds at lower values. That is, the signal may be scaled up so that the original thresholds, expressed as a percentage of maximum available traction, are still valid. In the above example, if the antilock brakes are triggered at half the maximum, predetermined, available traction limit, then the system will increase the accelerometer reading by a factor of two. The thresholds for accelerometer readings may be 0.5 and 0.8 g′s under the optimal traction conditions, where the maximum available traction is 0.9 g′s. When the maximum available traction is only 0.45 g′s, doubling the accelerometer readings will allow the modified output to be compared against the original thresholds of 0.5 and 0.8 g′s.” in par. 0052)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Masago to incorporate the teachings of Pan wherein accelerometers on each tire detect slipping and speakers output sound indicating the slipping in a position corresponding to the position of the tire. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Pan would be to warn a driver to avoid a dangerous situation (see par. 0029)
Regarding Claim 3, Masago teaches:
The information presentation device according to claim 1, wherein
the one or more acceleration detectors are configured to respectively output the one or more acceleration signals of the one or more unsprung components provided on the right front wheel, the left front wheel, the right rear wheel, and the left rear wheel (see at least "Specifically, an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the circumferential direction of the tire and an acceleration sensor that measures the acceleration in the width direction of the tire are embedded in the tire shoulder portion, and the tire circumferential portion of the running tire shoulder portion is embedded in the tire shoulder portion." On page 2 and “FIG. 11 is a diagram showing an example of the rotational order spectrum of the width direction vibration of the lower part of the vehicle spring. As shown in FIG. Therefore, it is possible to determine whether an internal failure has occurred in the tire 30 or not.” On page 7)
the vehicle comprises a four-wheel vehicle with a right front wheel, a left front wheel, a right rear wheel, and a left rear wheel, (see at least four tires in par. 0028 and 0047),
the one or more speakers comprise a plurality of speakers (see at least " The processor 304 sends an audible sound 310 of the plurality of audible sounds 310 to at least one speaker 322-326 based on the at least one threshold." in par. 0038), and
the speakers are configured to present the occupant of the vehicle with the audio information in accordance with the one or more acceleration signals of the one or more unsprung components provided on the right front wheel, the left front wheel, the right rear wheel, and the left rear wheel, with sound image localization right frontward, left frontward, right rearward, and left rearward of a headrest of a driver's seat of the vehicle. (see at least "In a particular implementation, the operations include selecting the at least one speaker based on an association of the at least one speaker with the sensor. In particular examples, the association of the at least one speaker with the sensor comprises at least one of a directional association, a spatial association, and a cognitive association." in par. 0015 and “With acoustic imaging, multichannel outputs, non-entertainment audio rendering, or any combination, the system conveys individualized acoustic feedback for each of the tires. For example, when a driver-side rear tire is about to lose traction, a driver-side rear speaker(s) provide squealing sound that varies in pitch or changes from squealing tires to a drastic, hard braking sound as thresholds are reached.” In par. 0026 and “For example, the accelerometer reading may be modified so it will trigger the thresholds at lower values. That is, the signal may be scaled up so that the original thresholds, expressed as a percentage of maximum available traction, are still valid. In the above example, if the antilock brakes are triggered at half the maximum, predetermined, available traction limit, then the system will increase the accelerometer reading by a factor of two. The thresholds for accelerometer readings may be 0.5 and 0.8 g′s under the optimal traction conditions, where the maximum available traction is 0.9 g′s. When the maximum available traction is only 0.45 g′s, doubling the accelerometer readings will allow the modified output to be compared against the original thresholds of 0.5 and 0.8 g′s.” in par. 0052)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device taught by Masago to incorporate the teachings of Pan wherein accelerometers on each tire detect slipping and speakers output sound indicating the slipping in a position corresponding to the position of the tire. The motivation to incorporate the teachings of Pan would be to warn a driver to avoid a dangerous situation (see par. 0029)
Regarding Claim 5, Masago as modified by Pan (references to Masago) teaches:
5. The information presentation device according to claim 2, wherein
the processor comprises an acceleration signal processor configured to generate the audio information from the one or more acceleration signals, with emphasis on a component of the predetermined frequency band over components of other frequency bands. (see at least " The rotation order ratio analyzing unit 15Z includes a low-pass filter 15x, a sampling unit 15y, and an analyzing unit 15z. The low-pass filter 15x removes high-frequency components of tire vibration detected by the acceleration sensor 11, and suppresses the occurrence of aliasing phenomenon (turnback) in the rotation order ratio analysis." On page 9 )
Regarding Claim 6, Masago as modified by Pan (references to Masago) teaches:
6. The information presentation device according to claim 4, wherein
the predetermined frequency band comprises a part or all of a range of 30 Hz to 40 Hz, both inclusive. (see at least " As shown in FIGS. 13 (a) to (c), the peak position is in the vicinity of 50 Hz in the tire having a separation size of 100 mm in the circumferential direction, but the peak is in the vicinity of 35 Hz in the tire having a circumferential size of 300 mm. Has moved on. And it turns out that the peak is in the vicinity of 5 Hz in a tire having a circumferential size of half a circle" on page 8 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Masago as modified by Pan (references to Masago) teaches:
7. The information presentation device according to claim 5, wherein
the predetermined frequency band comprises a part or all of a range of 30 Hz to 40 Hz, both inclusive. (see at least "As shown in FIGS. 13 (a) to (c), the peak position is in the vicinity of 50 Hz in the tire having a separation size of 100 mm in the circumferential direction, but the peak is in the vicinity of 35 Hz in the tire having a circumferential size of 300 mm. Has moved on. And it turns out that the peak is in the vicinity of 5 Hz in a tire having a circumferential size of half a circle" on page 8 ).
Conclusion
/DYLAN M KATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657