DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/978,136. Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024, 3/04/2026 and 6/10/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation "the mounting frame being positioned across the driver seat" (i.e., Claim 1, lines 10-11) has been interpreted in accordance with and in light of Applicant's disclosure (e.g., paragraph [0109]) while using a broadest reasonable interpretation analysis.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2, “flow fuel” should be changed to - -flow the fuel- - for claim consistency (see, for reference, Claim 1, line 4, “fuel”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the cabin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear what this limitation is referring to. For examination purposes, “the cabin” of Claim 8 has been interpreted as “a cabin surrounding the driver seat between the vehicle frame and the mounting frame” (see Claim 4, lines 2-3 for similar claim language). Note, the indication of allowable subject matter for Claim 8 depends on this interpretation of “a cabin”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,533,972. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the limitations of Claims 1, 2, 4, 11 and 12 of the instant application are fully contained by Claims 1 and 9-11 of US 12,533,972 as follows:
Claim 1 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 1 of US 12,533,972;
Claim 2 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 1 of US 12,533,972;
Claim 4 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 9 of US 12,533,972;
Claim 11 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 10 of US 12,533,972; and
Claim 12 of the instant application is fully contained by Claim 11 of US 12,533,972.
Claims 1 and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/978,138 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the limitations of Claims 1 and 10 of the instant application are fully contained by Claim 9 of Application NO. 18/978,138.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 210149159 U.
Regarding Claim 1, CN 210149159 U discloses a work vehicle (Figs. 1, 2, 7 and 11) comprising: a driver seat (seat 53 included in 35 shown in Fig. 1); a fuel cell (32); at least one fuel tank (39) to store fuel to be supplied to the fuel cell; a motor (52) connected to the fuel cell; a vehicle frame (18) that supports the driver seat, the fuel cell, and the motor; and a mounting frame (vertical portions of 35 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) fixed to the vehicle frame to support the at least one fuel tank, the mounting frame being positioned across the driver seat (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 2, CN 210149159 U discloses the vehicle frame includes a front frame (front half of 8 shown in Fig. 2) to rotatably support front wheels (33); and a first end of the mounting frame is fixed to the front frame (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3, CN 210149159 U discloses the vehicle frame includes a rear axle case (Fig. 1) to rotatably support rear wheels (34); and a second end of the mounting frame is fixed to the rear axle case (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, CN 210149159 U discloses a cabin (open driver’s compartment enveloped by 35 shown in Fig. 1) surrounding the driver seat between the vehicle frame and the mounting frame; wherein the at least one fuel tank is positioned above the cabin (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, CN 210149159 U discloses piping (31) to flow fuel from the at least one fuel tank (see Fig. 7 and Claim 3), wherein a portion of the piping is inside the mounting frame (Figs. 1 and 7; note, piping inlet 41 shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, CN 210149159 U discloses a fueling port (41) connected to the piping is provided on the mounting frame (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, CN 210149159 U discloses the mounting frame includes a left side frame (left-side vertical structure of 35 shown in Fig. 2) and a right side frame (right-side vertical structure of 35 shown in Fig. 2); the work vehicle further including a placement platform (upper horizontal platform shown in Fig. 2) connecting the left side frame and the right side frame; the at least one fuel tank is positioned on the placement platform (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, CN 210149159 U discloses a valve system (37, 38) connected to the at least one fuel tank (Fig. 2); wherein the valve system includes a pressure reducing valve (37, 38); and the piping is configured to flow the fuel being reduced in pressure by the pressure reducing valve (Fig. 7 and Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 10, CN 210149159 U discloses a tank case (43) to house the at least one fuel tank; wherein the tank case is fixed to the mounting frame (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 11, CN 210149159 U discloses the work vehicle is an agricultural machine (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, CN 210149159 U discloses a power take-off shaft (50) driven by the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note, the indication of allowability for Claim 8 is dependent on the interpretation of “a cabin” described in detail above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SAWADA et al. (US 2021/0129688 A1) discloses a freight vehicle with gas tanks above a driver seating area (see Fig. 1).
MIYAKI et al. (US 2020/0238839 A1) discloses an open cabin vehicle with hydrogen tank proximate a seating area (see Fig. 1).
OHMI et al. (US 2017/0299769 A1) discloses a vehicle roof mounted fuel cell tank system (see Fig. 1).
OHASHI (US 2012/0021301 A1) discloses a fuel cell vehicle (see ABSTRACT).
EDWIN YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655
/Edwin A Young/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655