DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits of Application No. 18/978,143. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 and 12/5/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, lines 1-2, the phrase “the upper end of the first radiator” is referring back to claim 8 not claim 1 as currently written, it appears dependency could change to –claim 8--; and
In claim 10, lines 1-2, the phrase “the housing” is referring back to claim 2 not claim 1 as currently written, it appears dependency could change to –claim 2--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quan (Chinese document CN210149159, cited on the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Quan discloses a work vehicle comprising: a fuel cell module including a fuel cell stack (26) and a coolant pump (4); at least one fuel tank (39) to store fuel to be supplied to the fuel cell stack; a motor (52) connected to the fuel cell module; a vehicle frame (18) supporting the fuel cell module, the at least one fuel tank, and the motor, the vehicle frame rotatably supporting front wheels (33) and rear wheels (34); and a cooling system to circulate coolant via the coolant pump (4), the cooling system including: a first radiator (first radiator 1) on one side of the fuel cell module (left side); and a second radiator (second radiator 2) on another side of the fuel cell module (right side).
Regarding claim 2, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, further comprising a front housing (44) supported by a front portion of the vehicle frame and covering the fuel cell module.
Regarding claim 3, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 2, wherein a width of the front housing is narrower than a wheel spacing of the front wheels (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the cooling system includes a first flow path in which the coolant flows between the fuel cell stack and the first radiator (“the first radiator 1, de-ionized water filter 20, de-ionized water box (22) and cooling water inlet of the hydrogen fuel battery engine 32 are connected through said silica gel water pipe 19. form a de-ionized water cooling loop; the water outlet of the water pump 4”).
Regarding claim 5, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the cooling system includes a second flow path in which the coolant flows between electrical equipment including the motor and the second radiator (“the second radiator 2, the water inlet of common water tank 3 and the water pump 4 through the common water pipe 5 are connected in turn, the first bidirectional DC/DC converter 26, the second bidirectional DC/DC converter 27, motor controller 13, DC/AC converter 11 and compressor 7 is connected with the common water pipe 5 heat conducting to form the common water cooling loop”).
Regarding claim 6, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the electrical equipment includes a group of electrical circuits to convert direct current generated by the fuel cell to alternating current and supply the alternating current to the motor (e.g. 11).
Regarding claim 7, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein a front surface area of the first radiator is larger than a front surface area of the second radiator (Fig. 4 shows the radiators 1 and 2 have different sizes).
Regarding claim 10, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the front housing includes at least one opening portion to allow airflow to reach the first radiator and/or the second radiator (Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 11, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 10, wherein the fuel cell module is surrounded by a casing including sides and a top surface to guide the airflow from front to back (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the work vehicle is an agricultural machine (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 12, further comprising a power take-off shaft (50) driven by the motor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan (Chinese document CN210149159, cited on the IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein an upper end of the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the second radiator (Fig. 4, 2 appears shorter in the height direction). Quan does not explicitly state the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the second radiator.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Quan to incorporate an upper end of the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the second radiator with a reasonable expectation of success as less surface area is needed for cooling on the second radiator.
Regarding claim 9, Quan discloses the work vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the upper end of the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the fuel cell module (Fig. 4, 1 appears higher than the fuel cell module). Quan does not explicitly state the upper end of the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the fuel cell module.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Quan to incorporate the upper end of the first radiator is higher than an upper end of the fuel cell module with a reasonable expectation of success as more surface area is needed for cooling on the first radiator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Won (US Patent Publication 20220209265) discloses a fuel cell vehicle with a second radiator.
/LORI WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655