DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities. There are numerous issues of improper antecedent basis:
“a body” in claim 15, and
“an inner wall, a bottom wall, and an upper wall” in claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igarashi (US 20100252134).
Regarding claim 15, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) discloses “A valve assembly comprising:
a body (10) including: an inlet port (11a) through which a treatment fluid (“chemical solution”) is introduced from a liquid supply source side (right side);
an outlet port (11b) through which a treatment fluid is discharged toward a liquid treating chamber side (left side); and
a body including a recirculation port (right opening of 12c) for returning the treatment liquid toward the liquid supply source side (right side, to 12b); and
a diaphragm (21) provided to the body and opening and closing a flow path of the treatment liquid flowing toward the outlet port side (see FIG 1).”
Regarding claim 16, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) discloses “wherein the body is formed with:
a buffer space (interior at 11d, 22) defined by an inner wall (sidewall at 11e), a bottom wall (wall of 11d, 22), and an upper wall (uppermost wall of 10);
an inflow path (11c) connecting the inlet port and the buffer space;
an outflow path (11e, 22) connecting the buffer space above and the outlet port; and
a recirculation path (12c) connecting the buffer space (at 11d) and the recirculation port therein,
the diaphragm is provided to be movable between an open position (up from FIG 1) that opens the outflow path and a closed position (FIG 2) that closes the outflow path, and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position (FIG 1), the diaphragm is located in the buffer space to be spaced apart from the inner wall (main section of 21 is always radially spaced from 11e).”
Regarding claim 17, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) discloses “(sidewall at 11e), a bottom wall (wall of 11d, 22), and an upper wall (uppermost wall of 10), and an inlet of the outflow path is located in the bottom wall of the buffer space (right opening of 11e opens to 22).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-12, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christenson (US 20090277507) in view of Igarashi.
Regarding claim 1, Christenson (FIGs 7-8) discloses “An apparatus for treating a substrate (22), the apparatus comprising:
a liquid treating chamber (100) formed with a treatment space in which a treatment liquid is supplied onto a substrate to liquid-treat the substrate (at 22); and
a liquid supply unit (90-92) for supplying the treatment liquid to the liquid treating chamber,
wherein the liquid supply unit includes:
a liquid supply line (section of 92 to the right of 91) through which the treatment liquid flows; and
a valve assembly (91) installed in the liquid supply line…”
Christenson is silent regarding “the valve assembly includes: a body including an inlet port through which the treatment liquid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port through which the treatment liquid is discharged to the liquid treating chamber side, and a recirculation port through which the treatment liquid returns to the liquid supply source side; and a diaphragm provided to the body and opening and closing a flow path of the treatment liquid flowing toward the outlet port side.”
However, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) teaches a valve assembly having a single inlet, a main outlet, and a recirculation outlet (analogous to Christenson), comprising a body (10) including an inlet port (11a) through which fluid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port (11b) through which the liquid is discharged toward another side, and a recirculation port (right opening of 12c) which returns the treatment liquid to the liquid supply source side (“chemical solution return”), a diaphragm (21) located in the buffer space and opening and closing a flow path of the treatment liquid flowing toward the outlet port side. Furthermore, it includes features such as a driver (26) that moves the diaphragm between an open position (up from FIG 1) that opens the inlet of the outflow path and a closed position (FIG 1) that closes the inlet of the outflow path, and an opening/closing valve (41) installed on the recirculation line (see FIG 1).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the recirculation valve of Christenson to be the valve assembly of Igarashi, such that the combination teaches “the valve assembly includes: a body including an inlet port through which the treatment liquid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port through which the treatment liquid is discharged to the liquid treating chamber side, and a recirculation port through which the treatment liquid returns to the liquid supply source side; and a diaphragm provided to the body and opening and closing a flow path of the treatment liquid flowing toward the outlet port side”, to provide a structure suitable for controlling outflow and recirculation for the recirculation circuit, as is desired in Christenson.
Regarding claim 2, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the body is formed with:
a buffer space (interior at 11d, 22);
an inflow path (11c) connecting the inlet port and the buffer space;
an outflow path (11e, 22) connecting the buffer space and the outlet port; and
a recirculation path (12c) connecting the buffer space (at 11d) and the recirculation port therein.”
Regarding claim 3, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the valve assembly further includes a driver (26) for moving the diaphragm between an open position (up from FIG 1) for opening the outflow path and a closed position for closing the outflow path, and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position, the diaphragm is located in the buffer space (see FIG 1).”
Regarding claim 4, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the buffer space is defined by an inner wall (sidewall at 11e), a bottom wall (wall of 11d, 22), and an upper wall (uppermost wall of 10), and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position, the diaphragm is located to be spaced apart from the inner wall (main section of 21 is always radially spaced from 11e).”
Regarding claim 5, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the buffer space is provided in a cylindrical shape (understood that 11d, 22 are cylindrical), and
a central axis of the buffer space and a central axis of the diaphragm coincide with each other (see FIG 1).”
Regarding claim 6, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein an inlet of the outflow path (right opening of 11e) is located in the bottom wall (at 220).”
Regarding claim 9, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein an outlet of the inflow path (left end of 22c) and an inlet of the recirculation path (12a) are each located in the bottom wall (via 11d).”
Regarding claim 11, Christenson (FIGs 7-8) discloses “wherein the liquid supply source includes a supply tank (90 includes a reservoir, paragraph 68) in which the treatment liquid is stored,
the liquid supply line includes:
a first line (section of 92 to the right of 91) connecting the liquid supply source to the inlet port of the valve assembly;
a second line (line above 91) connecting the outlet port of the valve assembly to the liquid treating chamber, and
the recirculation port and the supply tank are connected by a recirculation line (section of 92 to the left of 91, and an opening/closing valve is installed on the recirculation line (as modified as Igarashi in claim 1).”
Regarding claim 12, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the body is formed with:
a buffer space (interior at 11d, 22);
an inflow path (11c) connecting the inlet port and the buffer space;
an outflow path (11e, 22) connecting the buffer space and the outlet port; and
a recirculation path (12c) connecting the buffer space (at 11d) and the recirculation port therein.”
Regarding claim 14, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) as applied to claim 1 further teaches “wherein the valve assembly includes a driver (25) that moves the diaphragm between an open position (up from FIG 1) that opens the outflow path and a closed position (FIG 1) that closes the outflow path,
the apparatus further includes a controller (26) for controlling the driver and the opening/closing valve, and
the controller controls the driver and the opening/closing valve to open the opening/closing valve when the diaphragm is in the closing position and close the opening/closing valve when the diaphragm is in the opening position (paragraph 46).”
Regarding claim 20, Christenson (FIGs 7-8) discloses “An apparatus for treating a substrate (22), the apparatus comprising:
a liquid treating chamber (100) having a treatment space in which a treatment liquid is supplied onto a substrate to liquid-treat the substrate; and
a liquid supply unit (90-92) for supplying the treatment liquid to the liquid treating chamber, wherein the liquid supply unit includes:
a supply tank (90 includes a reservoir, paragraph 68) in which the treatment liquid is stored;
a liquid supply line (section of 92 to the right of 91) through which the treatment liquid in the supply tank flows into a liquid treating chamber (100, via 16, 27); and a valve assembly (91) installed in the liquid supply line…”
Christenson is silent regarding “the valve assembly includes: a body including an inlet port through which the treatment fluid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port through which the treatment liquid is discharged toward the liquid treating chamber side, and a recirculation port which returns the treatment liquid to the liquid supply source side, and a buffer space, and formed with an inflow path connecting the inlet port and the buffer space, an outflow path connecting the buffer space and the outlet port, and a recirculation path connecting the buffer space and the recirculation port; a diaphragm located in the buffer space and opening and closing an inlet of the outflow path; and a driver that moves the diaphragm between an open position that opens the inlet of the outflow path and a closed position that closes the inlet of the outflow path,
the buffer space is defined by an inner wall, a bottom wall, and an upper wall, and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position, the diaphragm is located in the buffer space to be spaced apart from the inner wall, the recirculation port and the supply tank are connected by a recirculation line, and an opening/closing valve is installed on the recirculation line.” While a valve at a recirculation/output junction is present in Christenson, the details are not explicit.
However, Igarashi (FIGs 1-3) teaches a valve assembly having a single inlet, a main outlet, and a recirculation outlet (analogous to Christenson), comprising a body (10) including an inlet port (11a) through which fluid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port (11b) through which the liquid is discharged toward another side, and a recirculation port (right opening of 12c) which returns the treatment liquid to the liquid supply source side (“chemical solution return”), and a buffer space (interior at 11d, 22), and formed with an inflow path (11c) connecting the inlet port and the buffer space, an outflow path (11e, 22) connecting the buffer space and the outlet port, and a recirculation path (12c) connecting the buffer space (at 11d) and the recirculation port;
a diaphragm (21) located in the buffer space and opening and closing an inlet (23) of the outflow path; and
a driver (26) that moves the diaphragm between an open position (up from FIG 1) that opens the inlet of the outflow path and a closed position (FIG 1) that closes the inlet of the outflow path,
the buffer space is defined by an inner wall (sidewall at 11e), a bottom wall (wall of 11d), and an upper wall (uppermost wall of 10), and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position (FIG 1), the diaphragm is located in the buffer space to be spaced apart from the inner wall (main section of 21 is always radially spaced from 11e),
the recirculation port and the return (12b) are connected by a recirculation line (12, 42), and
an opening/closing valve (41) is installed on the recirculation line (see FIG 1).”
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the recirculation valve of Christenson to be the valve assembly of Igarashi, such that the combination teaches “the valve assembly includes: a body including an inlet port through which the treatment fluid is introduced from a liquid supply source side, an outlet port through which the treatment liquid is discharged toward the liquid treating chamber side, and a recirculation port which returns the treatment liquid to the liquid supply source side, and a buffer space, and formed with an inflow path connecting the inlet port and the buffer space, an outflow path connecting the buffer space and the outlet port, and a recirculation path connecting the buffer space and the recirculation port; a diaphragm located in the buffer space and opening and closing an inlet of the outflow path; and a driver that moves the diaphragm between an open position that opens the inlet of the outflow path and a closed position that closes the inlet of the outflow path, the buffer space is defined by an inner wall, a bottom wall, and an upper wall, and
when the diaphragm is in the closed position, the diaphragm is located in the buffer space to be spaced apart from the inner wall, the recirculation port and the supply tank are connected by a recirculation line, and an opening/closing valve is installed on the recirculation line”, to provide a structure suitable for controlling outflow and recirculation for the recirculation circuit, as is desired in Christenson.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 10, 13, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, closest art of record Igarashi is silent regarding “wherein an outlet of the inflow path and an inlet of the recirculation path are each located at the inner wall.” Instead they are located at the bottom wall.
It would not be obvious to modify Christenson/Igarashi without undue hindsight reasoning.
Claim 8 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, closest art of record Igarashi is silent regarding “wherein when viewed from above, the outlet of the inflow path, an inlet of the outflow path, and the inlet of the recirculation path are sequentially arranged in a straight line.”
It would not be obvious to modify Christenson/Igarashi without undue hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 13, closest art of record Igarashi is silent regarding “wherein the valve assembly is further formed with a suction space directly communicating with the outflow path, and
the valve assembly further includes a suction plate that adjusts a volume of the suction space.”
It would not be obvious to modify Christenson/Igarashi without undue hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 18, closest art of record Igarashi is silent regarding “the inlet of the outflow path, and the inlet of the recirculation path are sequentially arranged in a straight line.”
It would not be obvious to modify Christenson/Igarashi without undue hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 19, closest art of record Igarashi is silent regarding “when viewed from above, the outlet of the inflow path, the inlet of the outflow path, and the inlet of the recirculation path are sequentially arranged in a straight line.”
It would not be obvious to modify Christenson/Igarashi without undue hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Paptzun (US 5172716), Nguyen (US 20130118623), Tseng et al (US 20100224256), and Hanada et al (US 20030155024).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753