DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 12, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0017128, Hogge, et al., hereinafter Hogge.
Regarding claim 1, Hogge discloses a golf ball, comprising:
a spherical surface comprising a base color, (para. 47, The exterior surface 12 of the golf ball 10 may be clear or any color); and
an alignment aid comprising one or more non-base colors, the alignment aid being completely within a circumferential ring area of the golf ball, the circumferential ring area defined by two circular boundaries that enclose and are parallel to a great circle of the golf ball, wherein a dimension between the two circular boundaries is defined as a width W measured in a width direction,
wherein W is 10 mm or less, (see claim 10, para. 6, The sighting aid provides an alignment reference on the golf ball for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel and para. 7, wherein N is the number of characters in the plurality, W is the cell width, and C=circumference of the golf ball, and wherein the characters in the plurality include alphanumeric characters, punctuation, national characters, special characters, math symbols, emojis, Greek alphabet letters, or combinations thereof.),
wherein the alignment aid comprises:
a first alignment feature comprising a plurality of non-base color discontinuous lines having a line width LW in the width direction, wherein LW is approximately 1-3 mm, (para. 40, The degree of rotation may vary depending on the desired length of the sighting aid. In some embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 10 degrees to about 180 degrees. In other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about degrees to about 120 degrees. In still other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 60 degrees to about 90 degrees.), and wherein:
each of the discontinuous lines are parallel to or on the path of the great circle such that the plurality of discontinuous lines are all oriented with a target direction perpendicular to the width direction when viewing the golf ball from above, (para. 40, The degree of rotation may vary depending on the desired length of the sighting aid. In some embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 10 degrees to about 180 degrees. In other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about degrees to about 120 degrees. In still other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 60 degrees to about 90 degrees),
each discontinuous line is spaced from at least one other discontinuous line in the width direction by a base color line, (para. 40, The degree of rotation may vary depending on the desired length of the sighting aid. In some embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 10 degrees to about 180 degrees. In other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about degrees to about 120 degrees. In still other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 60 degrees to about 90 degrees and para. 47 the alignment or sighting aid 100 may be disposed on an exterior surface 12 of the golf ball 10 for providing visibility and alignment of the golf ball. In this aspect, the exterior surface 12 of the golf ball may be an outer cover layer or may be a paint layer. The exterior surface 12 of the golf ball 10 may be clear or any color.), and
each discontinuous line comprises at least one set of spaced end portions with a base color discontinuity therebetween, (para. 32, the sighting line may extend discontinuously around the entirety of the circumference or only a portion of the circumference of the golf ball. In one embodiment, the discontinuous nature of the sighting aid is accomplished with positioning characters in the sighting aid that are blank), and
a second alignment feature comprising a base color directional indicator formed by a grouping of discontinuities in all the discontinuous lines, the directional indicator pointing in the target direction, (para. 32, the amount of discontinuity can be determined using the known width of the cell or the width of the cell can determine the amount of the discontinuity. In another embodiment, the discontinuous nature of the sighting aid is the result of a plurality of sighting aids),
wherein the non-base color discontinuous lines and the base color directional indicator are simultaneously visible to a golfer viewing the golf ball from above and, in combination, orient the golf ball along a path that follows the target direction, (para. 48, Regardless of whether the sighting aid 100 is marked upon the exterior surface of the golf ball or an exterior surface of the inner ball, sighting aid 100 provides a visible reference or aid on the golf ball 10 to provide a golfer with the ability to accurately align a golf ball, a club, or both before striking the ball thus causing the golf ball to travel along an intended direction).
Examiner notes: While prior art has been applied to cover the claimed features, the Examiner notes that the specific details of the design elements would be an obvious manner of design choice.
Regarding claim 2, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 1 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the second alignment feature comprises two outermost discontinuities and a middle discontinuity, (para. 50, The generally spherical nature of the golf ball 10 is such that a hemispherical plane extends through a midline M of the golf ball dividing the golf ball into two halves or hemispheres. In one embodiment, the golf ball 10 is in accordance with the United States Golf Association (USGA) Rules, which limits the minimum size of a competition golf ball to 1.680 inches. There is no specification as to the maximum diameter, and golf balls of any size can be used for recreational play. Golf balls made in accordance with the present disclosure can have an overall diameter of any size, and, typically, have an overall diameter of from 1.680 inches to 1.780 inches. Dimensions of each golf ball layer, for example, thickness and diameter, may vary depending on the desired properties. For example, the golf ball 10 may have a diameter of at least about 1.68 inches and a weight of about 1.62 ounces or less.).
Regarding claim 3, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1 and 2 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein each discontinuity is defined by a first end portion comprising a first boundary and a second end portion comprising a second boundary, (para. 1, olf balls having sighting aids that have a degree of wrap (and thus a starting point and an ending point) determined by a sighting equation.).
Regarding claim 4, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-3 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein, for each outermost discontinuity, the first boundary and the second boundary are lines that extend across the entire line width LW at an angle relative to the width direction, (para. 1, olf balls having sighting aids that have a degree of wrap (and thus a starting point and an ending point) determined by a sighting equation and para. 32, the amount of discontinuity can be determined using the known width of the cell or the width of the cell can determine the amount of the discontinuity. In another embodiment, the discontinuous nature of the sighting aid is the result of a plurality of sighting aids).
Regarding claim 5, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-4 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the angle is constant, and the first boundary and the second boundary are parallel, (para. 44, more than one sighting aid is applied to the ball. For example, a golf ball made in accordance with the present disclosure may include two or more sighting aids, where the sighting aids may be the same or different (in type and number of characters) and may be parallel or orthogonal to one another.).
Regarding claim 6, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-4 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the angle is constant but different for the first boundary and the second boundary such that the first boundary and the second boundary are not parallel, (para. 44, more than one sighting aid is applied to the ball. For example, a golf ball made in accordance with the present disclosure may include two or more sighting aids, where the sighting aids may be the same or different (in type and number of characters) and may be parallel or orthogonal to one another).
Regarding claim 7, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-4 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the angle is continuously variable such that the first and second boundaries are curved lines, (para. 26, any visible continuous or non-continuous marking on the golf ball useful for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel and para. 32, any visible continuous or non-continuous marking on the golf ball useful for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel.).
Regarding claim 8, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-3 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the two outermost discontinuities have mirror symmetry with each other across the great circle, (para. 50, The generally spherical nature of the golf ball 10 is such that a hemispherical plane extends through a midline M of the golf ball dividing the golf ball into two halves or hemispheres).
Regarding claim 9, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-4 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the middle discontinuity comprises a first boundary having two connected lines extending at different angles relative to the width direction and a second boundary also having two connected lines extending at different angles relative to the width direction, (para. 28, cell width is generally representative of the character size, but may also include padding on the left and right sides. For example, as shown in FIG. 1A, the cell width (W) may be slightly wider than the actual width of the character (w.sub.c). In some embodiments, the number of characters in the sighting aid may be determined based on the desired font and font size. In other embodiments, the sighting aid, font, and/or font size may be determined based on the desired Wrap).
Regarding claim 10, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-4 and 9 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein for both the first and second boundaries of the middle discontinuity, the connected lines converge to point toward the linear direction, (para. 48, sighting aid 100 is marked upon the exterior surface of the golf ball or an exterior surface of the inner ball, sighting aid 100 provides a visible reference or aid on the golf ball 10 to provide a golfer with the ability to accurately align a golf ball, a club, or both before striking the ball thus causing the golf ball to travel along an intended direction).
Regarding claim 11, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1-3 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein an average distance between the first boundary and the second boundary for each discontinuity is approximately 0.5-3.0 mm, (paragraphs 50-51, the golf ball 10 may have a diameter of at least about 1.68 inches and a weight of about 1.62 ounces or less and Golf balls of the present disclosure have a plurality of dimples on the outer surface thereof. In some embodiments, the golf balls of the present disclosure have an overall dimple surface coverage of 60 percent or greater).
Regarding claim 12, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 1 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the directional indicator is an arrow having a constant thickness, (paragraphs 50-51, the golf ball 10 may have a diameter of at least about 1.68 inches and a weight of about 1.62 ounces or less and Golf balls of the present disclosure have a plurality of dimples on the outer surface thereof. In some embodiments, the golf balls of the present disclosure have an overall dimple surface coverage of 60 percent or greater).
Regarding claim 13, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 1 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the directional indicator is an arrow having a variable thickness (para. 6, The sighting aid provides an alignment reference on the golf ball for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel).
Regarding claim 14, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 1 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein each base color line extends uninterrupted parallel to the great circle, (para. 26, any visible continuous or non-continuous marking on the golf ball useful for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel and para. 32, any visible continuous or non-continuous marking on the golf ball useful for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel).
Regarding claim 15, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1 and 14 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein each base color line has a line width BLW of 1-3 mm, (para. 40, The degree of rotation may vary depending on the desired length of the sighting aid. In some embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 10 degrees to about 180 degrees. In other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about degrees to about 120 degrees. In still other embodiments, the degree of rotation may range from about 60 degrees to about 90 degrees.).
Regarding claim 16, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 1 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the first alignment feature comprises three discontinuous lines and the second alignment feature comprises three groupings of discontinuities each forming a directional indicator, (para. 48, whether the sighting aid 100 is marked upon the exterior surface of the golf ball or an exterior surface of the inner ball, sighting aid 100 provides a visible reference or aid on the golf ball 10 to provide a golfer with the ability to accurately align a golf ball, a club, or both before striking the ball thus causing the golf ball to travel along an intended direction).
Regarding claim 17, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1 and 16 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein each discontinuous line comprises three line segments separated by the discontinuities between respective end portions, (paragraphs 50-51, the golf ball 10 may have a diameter of at least about 1.68 inches and a weight of about 1.62 ounces or less and Golf balls of the present disclosure have a plurality of dimples on the outer surface thereof. In some embodiments, the golf balls of the present disclosure have an overall dimple surface coverage of 60 percent or greater).
Regarding claim 18, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claims 1 and 16-17 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein each line segment is approximately 35-45 mm in length, (circuparagraphs 50-51, the golf ball 10 may have a diameter of at least about 1.68 inches and a weight of about 1.62 ounces or less and Golf balls of the present disclosure have a plurality of dimples on the outer surface thereof. In some embodiments, the golf balls of the present disclosure have an overall dimple surface coverage of 60 percent or greater).
Regarding claim 19, Hogge discloses a method of printing an alignment aid on a golf ball, the golf ball having a base color surface, the method comprising:
printing a first stamp on the surface of the golf ball, the first stamp comprising a first plurality of non-base color line segments, each of the line segments being parallel to or on the path of a great circle of the golf ball such that the plurality of line segments is all oriented with a target direction, (para. 48, marked upon the exterior surface of the golf ball or an exterior surface of the inner ball, sighting aid 100 provides a visible reference or aid on the golf ball 10 to provide a golfer with the ability to accurately align a golf ball, a club, or both before striking the ball thus causing the golf ball to travel along an intended direction); and
printing a second stamp on the surface of the golf ball, the second stamp comprising a second plurality of non-base color line segments, each of the line segments of the second plurality being adjacent and on the same circle as one of the line segments of the first plurality, (para. 38, The number of pad printing stations may vary depending on the sighting aid(s) or other markings to be printed on the golf ball. In this regard, each pad printing station utilizes an etched image plate having a negative etching of the desired sighting aid. The etchings within the image plates are filled with ink for printing the sighting aid onto the exterior surface of the golf ball),
wherein the first and second stamps are printed such that a grouping of base color discontinuities is formed between the adjacent pluralities of line segments, the grouping of discontinuities shaped to form a directional indicator pointing in the target direction, (para. 38, The number of pad printing stations may vary depending on the sighting aid(s) or other markings to be printed on the golf ball. In this regard, each pad printing station utilizes an etched image plate having a negative etching of the desired sighting aid. The etchings within the image plates are filled with ink for printing the sighting aid onto the exterior surface of the golf ball).
Regarding claim 20, Hogge discloses the golf ball of claim 19 as described above. Hogge further discloses wherein the first stamp and the second stamp fit within a circumferential ring area of the golf ball, the circumferential ring area defined by two circular boundaries that enclose and are parallel to a great circle of the golf ball, wherein a dimension between the two circular boundaries is defined as a width W measured in a width direction, wherein W is 10 mm or less, ((see claim 10, para. 6, The sighting aid provides an alignment reference on the golf ball for a golfer to align the sighting aid with at least one of an intended direction of travel of the golf ball and a club head used to strike the ball in the intended direction of travel and para. 7, wherein N is the number of characters in the plurality, W is the cell width, and C=circumference of the golf ball, and wherein the characters in the plurality include alphanumeric characters, punctuation, national characters, special characters, math symbols, emojis, Greek alphabet letters, or combinations thereof).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Golfer's training aid (US 4432551 A) teaches a golf alignment and marker system as an accurate training aid for golfers..
/AMBER A MISIASZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682