DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on August 27, 2026 was received. Claims 1 and 9-10 were amended. Claims 3, 6-8 and 11 were canceled. No claim was added.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “an ambient air atmosphere” should be corrected to “an air atmosphere”.
Regarding claim 1, line 6, the limitations “followed by cooling to a room temperature” should be corrected to “followed by cooling the carbon nanotube film to a room temperature”.
Regarding claim 1, line 16, “the limitations “controlling a flow rate of gas” should be corrected to “controlling a flow rate of the inert gas or the nitrogen gas”.
Regarding claim 5, line 5, “a volatile organic solvent” should be corrected to “the volatile organic solvent” so it refers to the “a volatile organic solvent as one of ethanol, acetone and isopropanol” in claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, on claims are withdrawn, as the claims have either been amended or canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN106477550A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) on claims 1 and 7-8 are withdrawn, because the claims have either been amended or canceled.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN106477550A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) as applied to claims 1 and 7-8 and further in view of Han (US20100080748), on claims 2-6 and 9 are withdrawn, because the claims have either been amended or canceled.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN106477550A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) as applied to claims 1 and 7-8, and further in view of Liu (US20220017368) on claims 10-11 are withdrawn, because the claims have either been amended, or canceled.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN-103979526-A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) and Fang (CN106477550A), as evidenced by Lee (US20220024769).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of purifying macroscopic carbon nanotubes (carbon nanotube film). Zhang teaches the macroscopic carbon nanotubes comprises internal metal catalyst inside that is not able to be removed by conventional acid solution immersion purification method (paragraphs 0003, 0015), which indicates that the “internal metal catalysts” are inside of the nanotube. In addition, Lee teaches carbon nanotube synthesized by catalyst chemical vapor deposition (CVD) comprises metal nanoparticles (catalyst) inside of the nanotubes (Lee’s paragraphs 0005-0006), and Zhang also teaches the carbon nanotube film is formed by catalyst chemical vapor deposition (paragraph 0018); thus, Zhang’s carbon nanotubes film comprises a plurality of carbon nanotubes and a plurality of catalyst particles inside the plurality of carbon nanotubes. Zhang teaches to place the carbon nanotube film on a non-dust cloth (substrate) (paragraphs 0008 and 0020). Zhang teaches to heat the carbon nanotube in an air atmosphere for thermal oxidation at 150-500ºC for 5 to 120min (paragraphs 0014 and 0021), which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Zhang teaches to soak the carbon nanotube in an inorganic acid solution (inorganic acid mixture) at the temperature of 20 to 200 ºC (overlap with the claimed cooling temperature), which includes the room temperature (paragraph 0021), thus, Zhang teaches to cool the carbon nanotube film to a room temperature. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler,116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05. Zhang does not explicitly teach the acid react with metal catalyst particles in the carbon nanotube film to generate inorganic salts. However, it is the position of the examiner that property of generating inorganic salt by reacting the catalyst particles and inorganic acid or inorganic salt being removed and washed, is inherent, given that the process and materials (the claimed invention discloses similar carbon nanotube with metallic catalyst particles that are annealed and soaked in hydrochloride acid/sulfuric solution, see, Zhang paragraph 0024; and the metal catalyst are removed after the soaking and washing, Zhang paragraphs 0027-0029) disclosed by Zhang and the present application are the same. A reference which is silent about a claimed invention's features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in than in that which is described in the reference. Inherency is not established by probabilities or possibilities. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949(1999). Zhang teaches the metal catalyst are removed after the soaking and washing (paragraphs 0027-0029), which indicates the inorganic salts (formed from metal catalysts) are being removed. Zhang teaches to dry the purified carbon nanotube in the drying tank (paragraphs 0026-0029).
Zhang does not explicitly teach to anneal the carbon nanotube film with the inorganic salts to remove the inorganic salts. However, Ye teaches a method of preparing a graphite type carbon material, including carbon nanotube (abstract and paragraph 0011). Ye teaches the nanotube is soaked in hydrochloric acid to remove the metal catalyst, wash by water and dry to 600ºC under Ar atmosphere (preset temperature in a preset atmosphere) (paragraph 0026). The high heat drying temperature includes the annealing temperature of the claimed invention, wherein 300-500ºC is reached before 600ºC during the annealing, thus, Ye teaches to annealing the carbon nanotube film with the inorganic salts. The result of removing the inorganic salts is intrinsic as the carbon nanotube film with the inorganic salt and the annealing environment in Zhang in view of Ye are the same as the claimed invention. Since Ye teaches the annealing process is intended to dry the nanotube, it would have been within the skill of the ordinary artisan to adjust and optimize in the annealing temperature and the flow rate of the argon gas (inert gas) to yield desired dryness of the carbon nanotube film. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ215. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to anneal the carbon nanotube film with the inorganic salts as suggested by Ye in the method of Zhang because Ye teaches such annealing facilitate the drying and purifying of the carbon nanotube (paragraph 0026).
Zhang in view of Ye does not explicitly teaches the annealing in S2 and S4 are conducted in the CVD tube furnace. However, Fang teaches a method for purifying a carbon nanotube film (abstract) (a method to treat carbon nanotube film surface). Fang teaches to provide a carbon nanotube film. Fang teaches the annealing step is performed in a tubular furnace (tube furnace) (paragraphs 0078, 0085), and the carbon nanotube film is formed by CVD (pargraph 0003),which is the same as Zhang, thus, it would be reasonably expected the annealing as disclosed by Zhang and Ye to be conducted in the CVD tubular furnace for the sake of simplifying the process with minimal equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anneal the carbon nanotube in the CVD tube furnace as suggested by Fang in the method of Zhang in view of Ye because Fang teaches annealing of the carbon nanotube can be preformed in the CVD tube furnace (paragraphs 0078 and 0085).
Claims 2, 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN-103979526-A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) and Fang (CN106477550A), as evidenced by Lee (US20220024769) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han (US20100080748).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the carbon nanotube film is immersed in the inorganic acid solution, which comprises water (mixing inorganic acid in water) (paragraphs 0021 and 0024). Thus, Zhang teaches all limitations of this claim, except the inorganic acid mixture is made by mixing an inorganic acid in a volatile organic solvent. However, Han teaches a method of purifying carbon nanotubes (abstract). Han teaches water and aliphatic alcohol of C1 to C20 (including ethanol, isopropanol, which are the claimed volatile organic solvent) are functionally equivalent solvent (in the inorganic acid mixture) for treating carbon nanotube (paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute ethanol or isopropanol for water as solvent in the treatment of carbon nanotube as disclosed by Zhang in view of Ye and Fang.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the acid is hydrochloric acid and sulfuric (paragraphs 0024).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches to remove the carbon nanotube film from the
inorganic acid mixture and rinse the carbon nanotube film with water (paragraphs 0021 and 0024). Ye teaches to dry the carbon nanotube at 600°C and it would be reasonably expected the temperature is raise from lower temperature, including 50-
80°C to 600°C. Thus, Ye teaches the drying includes 50-80°C. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Zhang in view of Ye teaches all limitations of this claim, except rinsing by the mixed solution of volatile
organic solvent and water. However, Han teaches water and aliphatic alcohol of C1 to
C20 (including ethanol, isopropanol, which are the claimed volatile organic solvent) and
a combination of them are functionally equivalent solvent for treating carbon nanotube
(paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art to substitute a mixture solution of volatile organic solvent (ethanol or isopropanol)
and water for water as solvent (in the mixed solution for rinsing) in the treatment of carbon nanotube as disclosed by Zhang in view of Ye and Fang.
Regarding claim 9, Ye teaches to dry the carbon nanotube at 600ºC and it would be reasonably expected the temperature is raise from lower temperature, including 50-80ºC to 600ºC. Thus, Ye teaches the drying includes 50-80ºC. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of showing of criticality. In re Aller, USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Zhang teaches the carbon nanotube film is immersed in the inorganic acid mixture and the mixture comprises water (paragraphs 0021 and 0024). Thus, Zhang teaches all limitations of this claim, except the inorganic acid mixture is made by mixing an inorganic acid in a volatile organic solvent or the rinsing is conducted by water and organic solvent. However, Han teaches a method of purifying carbon nanotubes (abstract). Han teaches water and aliphatic alcohol of C1 to C20 (including ethanol, isopropanol, which are the claimed volatile organic solvent) or combination of them are functionally equivalent solvent (in the inorganic acid mixture) for treating carbon nanotube (paragraph 0046). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute ethanol or isopropanol for water or combined with water as solvent in the treatment of carbon nanotube as disclosed by Zhang in view of Ye and Fang. The result of shrinking the carbon nanotube film is intrinsic as the carbon nanotube film, the annealing process, the inorganic acid mixture in Zhang in view of Ye and Fang are the same as the claimed invention.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN-103979526-A) in view of Ye (CN102732863A) and Fang (CN106477550A), as evidenced by Lee (US20220024769) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US20110071681).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Ye and Fang teaches all limitations of this claim, except the carbon nanotube is a pressed film or flocculation film. However, Liu teaches a thermal cycler with carbon nanotube structures (abstract, paragraph 0025) and discloses carbon nanotubes are treated with pressure or flocculation to form the carbon nanotube film which are overlapped or entangled with each other by van der Waals attracted force, which provides elastic and flexible characteristics to the carbon nanotube film (pargraph 0032). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the carbon nanotube by pressure and flocculation (pressed film or flocculation film) as suggested by Liu in the method of Zhang in view of Ye and Fang because Liu teaches such carbon nanofilms are elastic and flexible (pargraph 0032), which is desired by Zhang (see paragraph 0004).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (EP1550635).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717