Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 (hereinafter ‘929) and 12,197,872 (hereinafter ‘872). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are obvious variations of each other.
Regarding Claim 1 (drawn to a system):
Current Application
Claim 1:
A virtual assistant system, comprising:
memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to:
generate a plurality of templated responses including data obtained in response to a plurality of application calls for a plurality of applications; and
generate a natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses.
‘929
Claim 1:
A virtual assistant system, comprising:
a memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to:
receive an input from a user;
identify a plurality of applications to be called based on the input;
generate a call to each application of the plurality of applications, each call including first data based on the input;
receive, for each given application of the plurality of applications, second data from the call to the given application;
generate, for each given application of the plurality of applications, at least one templated response including some or all of the second data;
concatenate each templated response generated for each given application of the plurality of applications to create a concatenated sequence; and
generate a natural language response based on the concatenated sequence
Current Application
Claim 1:
A virtual assistant system, comprising:
memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to:
generate a plurality of templated responses including data obtained in response to a plurality of application calls for a plurality of applications; and
generate a natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses.
‘872
Claim 1:
A virtual assistant system, comprising:
memory; and
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to:
generate, for each given application of a plurality of applications, a templated response including data obtained in response to an application call;
concatenate each templated response generated for each given application of the plurality of applications to create a concatenated sequence; and
generate a natural language response based on the concatenated sequence.
Regarding Claim 11 (drawn to a system):
Current Application
Claim 11:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
generating, by one or more processors of a processing system, a plurality of templated responses including data in response to a plurality of application calls for a plurality of applications; and
generating, by the one or more processors, a natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses.
‘929
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method for generating a natural language response, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors of a processing system, an input from a user;
identifying, by the one or more processors, a plurality of applications to be called based on the input;
generating, by the one or more processors, a call to each application of the plurality of applications, each call including first data based on the input;
receiving, by the one or more processors, for each given application of the plurality of applications, second data from the call to the given application;
generating, by the one or more processors, for each given application of the plurality of applications, at least one templated response including some or all of the second data;
concatenating, by the one or more processors, each templated response generated for each given application of the plurality of applications to create a concatenated sequence; and
generating, by the one or more processors, a natural language response based on the concatenated sequence.
Current Application
Claim 11:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
generating, by one or more processors of a processing system, a plurality of templated responses including data in response to a plurality of application calls for a plurality of applications; and
generating, by the one or more processors, a natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses.
‘872
Claim 11:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
generating, by one or more processors of a processing system, for each given application of a plurality of applications, a templated response including data in response to an application call;
concatenating, by the one or more processors, each templated response generated for each given application of the plurality of applications to create a concatenated sequence; and
generating, by the one or more processors, a natural language response based on the concatenated sequence.
As shown in the tables above, it is clear that all the elements of the application claims1 and 11 are to be found in patent claims 1 and 11, as the application claims 1 and 11 fully encompasses patent claims1 and 11. The difference between the application claims 1 and 11 and the patent claims 1 and 11 lies in the fact that the patent claims includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus the invention of claims 1 and 11 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1 and 11. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 2 of the current application corresponds to claim 2 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 3 of the current application corresponds to claim 3 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 4 of the current application corresponds to claim 4 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 5 of the current application corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 6 of the current application corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 7 of the current application corresponds to claim 7 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 8 of the current application corresponds to claim 8 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 9 of the current application corresponds to claim 9 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 10 of the current application corresponds to claim 10 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 12 of the current application corresponds to claim 12 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 13 of the current application corresponds to claim 13 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 14 of the current application corresponds to claim 14 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 15 of the current application corresponds to claim 15 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 16 of the current application corresponds to claim 16 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 17 of the current application corresponds to claim 17 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 18 of the current application corresponds to claim 18 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 19 of the current application corresponds to claim 19 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim 20 of the current application corresponds to claim 20 of U.S. Patent Nos. 11,604,929 and 12,197,872.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11,and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valles (US 2004/0083092).
Regarding Claim 1, Valles discloses a virtual assistant system, comprising:
memory (The server (2) is a computer equipped with a storage media and a processor, such that the storage media contains the server software (1) and the server software dynamically configures the processor, so that such processor can perform all the functions described herein) (page 6, paragraph [0084]); and
one or more processors coupled to the memory (The server (2) is a computer equipped with a storage media and a processor, such that the storage media contains the server software (1) and the server software dynamically configures the processor, so that such processor can perform all the functions described herein) (page 6, paragraph [0084]) and configured to:
generate a plurality of templated responses including data obtained in response to a plurality of application calls for a plurality of applications (The answer template contains calls to a proprietary application (1401). When the proprietary application is called, the answer engine uses the return values (1403, 1404, 1405, 1406 . . . ) from the application as expressed in the template file and the paragraphs in the answer template (1422) to construct a document of answers as depicted in FIG. 15) (page 7, paragraph [0116]); and
generate a natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses (As it will be explained below in full detail, the heuristic answer engine (106) searches the document of FIG. 15 for the best answer. The answer is therefore retrieved and sent back to the main process. The main process then sends the answer back to the user interface (100)) (page 7, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 3, Valles discloses the system, wherein, the one or more processors are further configured to receive the data from the plurality of application calls, the data including at least one templated response different from the plurality of templated responses (At this point the user may not be satisfied with the answer, in which case he can re-phrase the request, or he can make a totally different request) (page 7, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 4, Valles discloses the system, wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to receive the data from the plurality of application calls, the data including at least one template corresponding an application call of the plurality of application calls and information corresponding the application call of the plurality of application calls (he second part of the answer template (as shown in FIG. 14B) contains a collection of paragraphs, each being a potential answer. Each paragraph has variables that are specific for a user session. Each variable corresponds to a variable appearing in the first part of the answer file. The variables customize the answers for a specific user) (page 14, paragraph [0212]); and
the generation of one of the plurality of templated responses includes combining at least the information corresponding to the application call of the plurality of application calls and the at least one template corresponding to the application call of the plurality of application calls (FIG. 15 shows an example of a text of customized answers. For example, in a banking application, one of the answers that may be delivered to the user is the balance in the savings account. As shown in FIG. 14A, a returned value from a method (1402) would be stored in an SAVEBALANCE variable (1403). When the HAE combines the populated variables with the paragraphs in FIG. 14B the value of the SAVEBALANCE variable in the paragraph (1415) would be replace by its value (1500), thereby yielding the answers in FIG. 15) (page 14, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 5, Valles discloses the system, wherein, the generation of the one of the plurality of templated responses includes combining at least data based on input received from a user with the information corresponding to the application call of the plurality of application calls and the at least one template corresponding to the application call of the plurality of application calls (FIG. 15 shows an example of a text of customized answers. For example, in a banking application, one of the answers that may be delivered to the user is the balance in the savings account. As shown in FIG. 14A, a returned value from a method (1402) would be stored in an SAVEBALANCE variable (1403). When the HAE combines the populated variables with the paragraphs in FIG. 14B the value of the SAVEBALANCE variable in the paragraph (1415) would be replace by its value (1500), thereby yielding the answers in FIG. 15) (page 14, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 6, Valles discloses the system, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select, for each given application of the plurality of applications, at least one template based on data associated with an application call of the plurality of application calls to that given application (FIG. 15 shows an example of a text of customized answers. For example, in a banking application, one of the answers that may be delivered to the user is the balance in the savings account) (page 147, paragraph [0212]); and
generation of the plurality of the templated responses includes combining, for each given application of the plurality of applications, at least the data associated with the application call of the plurality of application calls to that given application and the at least one template (When the HAE combines the populated variables with the paragraphs in FIG. 14B the value of the SAVEBALANCE variable in the paragraph (1415) would be replace by its value (1500), thereby yielding the answers in FIG. 15) (page 14, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 7, Valles discloses the system, wherein, for at least one application of the plurality of applications, the one or more processors are configured to generate a templated response of the plurality of templated responses by combining at least data associated with the application call of the plurality of application calls to the at least one application, at least one template based on the data associated the application call to that given application, and data based on input received from a user (FIG. 15 shows an example of a text of customized answers. For example, in a banking application, one of the answers that may be delivered to the user is the balance in the savings account. As shown in FIG. 14A, a returned value from a method (1402) would be stored in an SAVEBALANCE variable (1403). When the HAE combines the populated variables with the paragraphs in FIG. 14B the value of the SAVEBALANCE variable in the paragraph (1415) would be replace by its value (1500), thereby yielding the answers in FIG. 15) (page 14, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 8, Valles discloses the system, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive input from a user as a text entry (As already mentioned, the client software can take as input a multiplicity of text requests) (page 6, paragraph [0082]), and to provide the natural language response in response to the received input (As it will be explained below in full detail, the heuristic answer engine (106) searches the document of FIG. 15 for the best answer. The answer is therefore retrieved and sent back to the main process) (page 7, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 9, Valles discloses the system, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive input from a user as a verbal command (As depicted in FIG. 1A, the system herein can be used with a speech application, which is typically equipped with a speech recognition engine (10), which converts speaker utterances into text, and a text-to-speech interface (8), which synthesizes text into speech) (page 6, paragraph [0082]), and to provide the natural language response in response to the received input (As it will be explained below in full detail, the heuristic answer engine (106) searches the document of FIG. 15 for the best answer. The answer is therefore retrieved and sent back to the main process) (page 7, paragraph [0116]).
Regarding Claim 10, Valles discloses the system, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive input from a user as a result of user interaction with a user interface (When the user makes the request in natural language, the client interface reads in this request as a string. The main process (101) takes the natural language string from the user interface (100)) (pages 6 and 7, paragraph [0086]), and to provide the natural language response in response to the received input (As it will be explained below in full detail, the heuristic answer engine (106) searches the document of FIG. 15 for the best answer. The answer is therefore retrieved and sent back to the main process) (page 7, paragraph [0116]).
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valles in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0286480).
Regarding Claim 2, Valles fails to teach the system, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses using a learned sequence-to-sequence transformer.
Park et al teaches the system, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the natural language response based on the plurality of templated responses using a learned sequence-to-sequence (The path rule may include, for example, the sequence of states of the electronic device 100) (page 9, paragraph [0127]) transformer (The NLU module 600 may learn user speech and generate a model, and may generate a path rule corresponding to a user input using the generated model. The learned model may include, for example, a domain and a path rule related to the domain. The domain may correspond to an app stored in a memory of the UE 100) (page 9, paragraph [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Valles with the teachings of Park to improve functionality by training a language model with predetermined responses in order to provide the responses to the application calls.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as claim 2.
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carey (US 2019/0057074) discloses automating patent preparation
Conclusion
.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SATWANT K SINGH whose telephone number is (571)272-7468. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST.
/SATWANT K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2653