DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-28, 35-37, 39 and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”- APPLICANT CITED).
Regarding claims 26, 28 and 43, Freeman teaches a shared resource medical system (i.e. a clinical decision support system e.g. Fig.1, [0061]) comprising:
a portable defibrillator (e.g. 212 Fig.1) that includes a display screen (e.g. 224 Fig.1, [0062], [0065]), a memory, and at least one processor (e.g. 230 Fig.1);
at least one defibrillator sensor (e.g. 222,224, Fig.1 claim 5) configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; and
an ultrasound transducer (e.g. [0015], [0082] claim 5) configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator;
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive first physiological data from the at least one defibrillator sensor (e.g. [0066]),
receive and process second physiological data from the ultrasound transducer to generate an ultrasound image (e.g. [0082]),
control the display screen to provide, in a user interface, (a) the ultrasound image (e.g. [0082]), and (b) defibrillator information that is derived from the first physiological data wherein the information includes an ECG waveform (e.g. [0066], [0071]).
Regarding claim 27, Freeman further teaches a hard button associated with a first predetermined function of the portable defibrillator (e.g. Fig.11 shows a defibrillator panel with buttons); wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the display screen to provide, in the user interface, a soft button associated with a second predetermined function of the portable defibrillator (e.g. [0065]).
Regarding claims 35-37, Freeman teaches that the display screen is a touch sensitive display screen; and the at least one processor is configured to control the touch sensitive display screen to provide, in the user interface, a soft button associated with a predetermined function and the predetermined function is associated with the portable defibrillator and with the ultrasound image (e.g. [0065]: touchscreen, user can initiate measurements with a double tap or selecting zoom icon and using two fingers or a finger and thumb to view measurements on the touchscreen,[0082]).
Regarding claim 39, Freeman teaches that a power supply configured to supply power to the at least one processor and the ultrasound transducer (e.g. Fig.1, [0070] Note: while a power supply is not shown, the system necessarily comprises a power supply to power/charge the components of the system).
Regarding claim 41, Freeman further teaches a ventilation sensor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive third physiological data from the ventilation sensor (e.g. [0015]: ventilation flow rate sensor); process the third physiological data to generate a capnography parameter; and control the display screen to provide, in the user interface, the capnography parameter (e.g. [0061],[0062]: respiratory distress).
Regarding claim 42, Freeman further teaches at least one of a blood pressure monitor or an oximeter (e.g. [0015],[0079]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Gatzke (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2003/0163045 A1, hereinafter “Gatzke”).
Regarding claim 29, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the at least one processor is further configured to control the display screen to provide the ultrasound image and the defibrillator information simultaneously.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gatzke teaches that it is well known to display a measured ECG signal and an ultrasound signal simultaneously on the same screen (e.g. [0033] Fig.3A,3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ultrasound signal and the ECG information obtained from the defibrillator in the teachings of Freeman to be simultaneously displayed on the same screen as taught by Gatzke in order to provide the predictable results of providing a complete detailed view of the obtained measurements.
Claims 30-33, 38 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Cohen et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 7006865, hereinafter “Cohen”- APPLICANT CITED).
Regarding claims 30-32, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the system further comprising a printer and the at least one processor is further configured to control the printer to generate a hardcopy of the defibrillator information.
In a similar field of endeavor, Drew teaches a Cohen teaches a shared resource medical system comprising a defibrillator and also comprises a printer and at least one processor configured to control the printer to generate a hardcopy of the defibrillator information (e.g. Col. 3 lines 22-40, col. 12 lines 25-30, col. 13 lines 14-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Freeman to include a printer as taught by Drew in order to provide the predictable results of being able to provide the clinician with details regarding the patient’s condition for review and for their records.
Regarding claim 33, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for a wireless network adapter and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the wireless network adapter to send at least a portion of the defibrillator information to a remote location.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cohen teaches a shared resource medical system comprising a wireless network adapter, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control the wireless network adapter to send at least a portion of the defibrillator information to a remote location (e.g. Col.12 lines 57-col 13 line 6, claim 16). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings Freeman to include a wireless network adapter that is controlled by the processor to send at least a portion of the defibrillator information to a remote location as taught by Cohen in order to provide the predictable results of being able to alert the clinician.
Regarding claims 38 and 45, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the processor being configured to store at least a portion of the defibrillator information and the ultrasound image in the memory and store information comprising one or more of the defibrillator information or the ultrasound image in the memory; and enable data review based on the stored information.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cohen teaches a shared resource medical system comprising a processor being configured to store at least a portion of the defibrillator information and collected sensor data in memory and enable data review based on the stored information ( col. 3 lines 35-50, col. 4 lines 28-40, col. 12 lines 26-31, 53-55, col. 13 lines 14-27). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the defibrillator and ultrasound data collected in the teachings of Freeman to be logged as data for further review as taught by Cohen in order to provide the predictable results of being able to collect and store patient related data for further diagnostic analyses.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Savage et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2010/00241181 A1, hereinafter “Savage”).
Regarding claim 34, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and while they teach that the system comprises a defibrillator (e.g. clams 4, 5,[0061) they do not specifically teach the system further comprises defibrillation paddles.
In a similar field of endeavor, Savage teaches that it is well known to use paddles with handles instead of defibrillation pads to defibrillate the patient (e.g. [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Freeman to have defibrillation paddles as taught by Savage in order to provide the predictable results of providing the ability to manipulate the electrodes and providing adequate safety for the rescuer.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”- APPLICANT CITED) in view of Simmons et al (U.S. Patent Number: US 5701904, hereinafter “Simmons”).
Regarding claim 44, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the system further comprising an endoscope, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive endoscopy data from the endoscope; process the endoscopy data to generate an endoscopy image; and control the display screen to provide, in the user interface, the endoscopy image.
In a similar field of endeavor, Simmons teaches a shared resource medical system (e.g. Abstract, Fig.1) comprising an endoscope (i.e. rhino-laryngoscope e.g. col. 3 lines 54-57) and comprising a processor configured to: receive endoscopy data from the endoscope; process the endoscopy data to generate an endoscopy image; and control the display screen (i.e. video display e.g. 25 Fig.1) to provide, in the user interface, the endoscopy image (e.g. col. 4 lines 34-42). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system in the teachings Freeman to include an endoscope to collect and display image data on the monitor as taught by Simmons of in order to provide the predictable results of providing the clinician with additional tools to treat the patient.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2012/0123223 A1, hereinafter “Freeman”) in view of Elghazzawi (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0004814 A1, hereinafter “Elghazzawi”).
Regarding claim 44, Freeman teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except for the system further comprising a global positioning system device.
In a similar field of endeavor, Elghazzawi teaches a system (e.g. Fig. 2) comprising a defibrillator and that also comprises global positioning system tracking unit (e.g. [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Freeman to include a GPS tracking unit as taught by Elghazzawi in order to provide the predictable results of being able to provide the emergency services unit the exact location of the patient for quicker response times.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 10124185. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both dirceted to a shared resource medical system comprising: a portable defibrillator that includes a display screen, a memory, and at least one processor; at least one defibrillator sensor configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; and an ultrasound transducer configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive first physiological data from the at least one defibrillator sensor, receive second physiological data from the ultrasound transducer, process the second physiological data to generate an ultrasound image, and control the display screen to provide, in a user interface, (a) the ultrasound image, and (b) defibrillator information that is derived from the first physiological data. The instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of US Patent US 10124185. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 26-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. US 11241583. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a shared resource medical system comprising: a portable defibrillator that includes a display screen, a memory, and at least one processor; at least one defibrillator sensor configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; and an ultrasound transducer configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive first physiological data from the at least one defibrillator sensor, receive second physiological data from the ultrasound transducer, process the second physiological data to generate an ultrasound image, and control the display screen to provide, in a user interface, (a) the ultrasound image, and (b) defibrillator information that is derived from the first physiological data. The instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of US Patent US 11241583. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 26-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. US 10391326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a shared resource medical system comprising: a portable defibrillator that includes a display screen, a memory, and at least one processor; at least one defibrillator sensor configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; and an ultrasound transducer configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive first physiological data from the at least one defibrillator sensor, receive second physiological data from the ultrasound transducer, process the second physiological data to generate an ultrasound image, and control the display screen to provide, in a user interface, (a) the ultrasound image, and (b) defibrillator information that is derived from the first physiological data. The instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of US Patent US 10391326. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Claims 26-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12194306. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a shared resource medical system comprising: a portable defibrillator that includes a display screen, a memory, and at least one processor; at least one defibrillator sensor configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; and an ultrasound transducer configured to be communicably coupled to the portable defibrillator; wherein the at least one processor is configured to: receive first physiological data from the at least one defibrillator sensor, receive second physiological data from the ultrasound transducer, process the second physiological data to generate an ultrasound image, and control the display screen to provide, in a user interface, (a) the ultrasound image, and (b) defibrillator information that is derived from the first physiological data. The instant application is broader and overlaps the subject matter of US Patent US 10124185. Following the rationale in In re Goodman, cited above, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific or narrower invention, applicant may not then obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maschke (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2007/0038256 A1, hereinafter “Maschke”) teaches a mobile defibrillator comprising an ultrasound device (e.g. Abstract).
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792