DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of claim 1 it is recited in lines 4-5 of claim 1 "… wherein the housing is detachably mounted to a threaded opening provided on a tool housing of the power tool…" It is unclear as to what structure, i.e. the full scope of the invention as claimed, the Applicant wishes to seek Patent protection for, i.e. the broad in scope sub combination of a “holder unit” that is intended for use with a “power tool” or the narrower in scope combination of a “holder unit with power tool”. The language of the claims is to give the public clear notice as to the full scope of patent protection sought. Do the Applicants seek protection for the “holder unit” whether "the power tool” is present or not. Applicants should either amend the preamble to clearly indicate that the full combination of the “holder unit” with “the power tool” is within the scope for which Patent protection is sought or amend the body of the claim to make clear that the “power tool” is purely a functional element and is not within the scope of Patent protection sought. Claims 2, 3 and 10 contains similar issue. For purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the power tool as being positively required structure of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the foot" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Similar to claim 1, the recitation of claim 14 wherein “…the housing being sized to receive an auxiliary wireless device therein…” is creating ambiguity as to whether the Applicant intend to positively claim the wireless device or whether the wireless device is merely functionally recited.
Dependent claims not cited above are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-14, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furui (U.S. Pat. No. 10396573 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Furui teaches a holder unit for a power tool, comprising:
a housing (Fig. 8; housing of 70) having a plurality of walls defining an open end (front end of 70), the housing being sized to receive an auxiliary wireless device therein through the open end (capable depending on the structure of wireless device),
wherein the housing is detachably mounted to a threaded opening (opening of 36) provided on a tool housing of the power tool.
Regarding claim 2, Furui teaches the threaded opening is provided at a foot (32) of the power tool (10) for securing a belt clip or a lanyard clip (150) to the power tool.
Regarding claim 4, Furui teaches the auxiliary wireless device includes:
a circuit board (13) accommodating a wireless communication device (Col. 27; lines 34-35 and Col. 28; lines 15-16); and
an energy storage unit (50) for powering the wireless communication device,
wherein the auxiliary wireless device is configured to periodically send wireless signals used for tracking and location monitoring.
Regarding claim 5, Furui teaches the auxiliary wireless device is secured to the housing of the holder unit via at least one fastener (92) received into a screw boss (91) through the open end (front end of 70 having 91).
Regarding claim 8, Furui teaches a bracket (91) fastened to the threaded opening, wherein the housing is arranged to be secured into the bracket.
Regarding claim 9, Furui teaches the housing is located above a first plane (plane defined by lower surface of 40) formed by a lower surface of the foot (32, 40) of the power tool (10).
Regarding claim 10, Furui teaches a second plane (vertical plane extending from front side of 70 at a center) formed by a sidewall of a battery pack mounted to the power tool intersects a portion of the housing.
Regarding claim 11, Furui teaches a mounting structure (structure for receiving 146) to which a belt clip (146) is mountable.
Regarding claim 12, Furui teaches the housing intersects the first plane (plane defined by 40) formed by the lower surface of the foot of the power tool such that the auxiliary wireless device is located substantially below the first plane (when mounted as disclosed in Fig. 31).
Regarding claim 13, Furui teaches The holder unit of claim 12, wherein the second plane (vertical plane extending from front side of 70 at a center) formed by the sidewall of the battery pack mounted to the power tool passes between the power tool and the housing.
Regarding claim 14, Furui teaches a power tool comprising:
a tool housing (32);
a threaded opening (opening of 32 receiving 92) provided on the tool housing;
a holder unit (70) detachably mounted to the threaded opening, the holder unit comprising a housing (housing of 70) having a plurality of walls defining an open end (front end of 70), the housing being sized to receive an auxiliary wireless device therein through the open end (capable depending on the structure of the device).
Regarding claim 16, Furui teaches the auxiliary wireless device includes:
a circuit board accommodating a wireless communication device (13); and
an energy storage unit (40) for powering the wireless communication device (Col. 27; lines 34-35 and Col. 28; lines 15-16),
wherein the auxiliary wireless device is configured to periodically send wireless signals used for tracking and location monitoring [capable/inherent].
Regarding claim 19, Furui teaches a bracket fastened to the threaded opening, wherein the housing is arranged to be secured into the bracket (portion of 32 receiving 92).
Regarding claim 20, Furui teaches the housing is located above a first plane (horizontal plane defined by 32, 40 at a lower surface) formed by a lower surface of the foot of the power tool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 7, 15, 17 and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631