Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the requirement does not identify any pending claims as generic, groups are not correctly identified, the Restriction was not proper it is not established that the species are independent and distinct, and the asserted serious burden is inadequate. Although the statement of “Currently, xxx generic” is not explicitly stated. This is implied since the listing of the claims do not list any generic claims as the claims are all under different independent claims. Examiner clarifies herein that no claims are generic. Further, Applicant indicates the groups are not correctly identified. Examiner further clarifies that this is due to typographical error and should be listed as Species B depicted in figure 13 and Species C depicted in figure 19 which are now correctly correlate to the “movable separation member” and “alternative separation member” listed in the specification and claims. Applicant also states that the Restriction was not proper it is not established that the species are independent and distinct, and the asserted serious burden is inadequate. This is not found persuasive because the separation members are all different and mutually exclusive from one another. MPEP 806.04(F) states:
Claims to different species are mutually exclusive if one claim recites limitations disclosed for a first species but not a second, while a second claim recites limitations disclosed only for the second species and not the first.
In this case, at least the feature of being movable is only recited in the first species (species B) and not a second species A and further species C recites an alternate separation member attached to the lid not recited in species A. Thus, the claimed species are mutually exclusive as they do not require the claim limitations of the other claims. Further, the separation members at one point are called “alternative” to one another in species C. While Applicant may disclose that embodiments can be combined, the claims do not recite the combined embodiments.
With regards to the serious search burden, Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s) (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries, a different field of search is shown, even though the two are classified together. The search query for the above would be different since separation members requires different search for example, the first open requires the separation member attached to the inner wall of the receptacle which would result in a different search query and subclass as the search for species C which requires an “alternate” separation member that is attached to lid., which would also differ from the search for species B which requires the separation member be movable and further require the aspirant be received onto the interior wall of the interior wall of the receptacle. This requires different search queries and different field of search and demonstrates the search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-12 are pending and examined on the merits. Claims 13-22 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaffer (US 2018/0353194).
Regarding claim 1, Shaffer discloses a vacuum canister configured for use in a thrombectomy system, the canister comprising:
a receptacle (78, [0037-0038], figure 6) configured to receive aspirant from a thrombectomy system ([0039-0040]),
a lid (80, figure 6, [0037]) configured to attach to the receptacle (figure 4), the lid having one or more ports (110, 106, figure 4, [0040]),
a separation member (86, figure 4, [0040]) configured to attach to an interior wall (90) of the receptacle ([0040], figure 4-6), wherein the separation member is configured to separate thrombus from aspirant ([0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Shaffer discloses the separation member comprises a plurality of apertures (figure 4, plate 86 has apertures).
Regarding claim 4, Shaffer discloses wherein at least a portion of the plurality of apertures extend from a top surface of the separation member to a bottom surface of the separation member ([0040], the clot collects on the upper surface of the filter plate 86 while the blood flows through the perforations in the plate and collects in the bottom of the canister).
Regarding claim 9, Shaffer discloses wherein the separation member is disposed at an oblique angle relative to a top surface of the vacuum canister (figure 4-6).
Regarding claim 11, Shaffer discloses wherein the separation member comprises a membrane ([0040] can be a woven screen which is a membrane).
Regarding claim 12, Shaffer discloses wherein at least a portion of the vacuum canister is configured to be transparent or semi-transparent for viewing collected thrombus ([0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer.
Regarding claim 2, Shaffer does not disclose the vacuum canister comprises two or more separation members or three or more separation members. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In this case, the duplication of the separation members would separate the size of the thrombus or just a larger amount of clots. There does not appear to be a new and unexpected result stemming from duplicating the separation members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Shaffer to include multiple separation members in order to further filter the clots.
Regarding claim 8, Shaffer does not disclose wherein at least one aperture of the plurality of apertures has a cross-dimension of 0.045 inches.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cause the device of Shaffer to have an aperture size of 0.045 inches since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the Shaffer would not operate differently with the claimed diameter and since the device is to separate clots from the aspirant, device would function appropriately having the claimed diameter. Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “alternatively” and “about” the claimed ranges (specification pp. [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, Shaffer discloses wherein the oblique angle of the at least one separation member is within a range of greater than 0° (Shaffer filter is angled and constitutes an angle greater than 0.) but does not specifically teach the angle to approximately 30°.
Shaffer ([0015]) that “he filter plate will be inclined at an angle relative to horizontal so that one edge of the plate is lower than the other. An open space left will typically be left between an upper end of the plate and the interior wall of the canister so that clot will flow downwardly and collect at the lower edge and blood may overflow at the upper edge, reducing the risk that the clot will overflow in the open space left within the canister.” As seen in Fig. 4, the angle of the filter plate is angled and is a result effective variable in that changing the angle of the plate would change the ability of the device to reduce risk of clot overflow. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Shaffer device to have an angle within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the device of Shaffer by making the angle under 30 degrees as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaffer in view of Tang (US 2013/0330721).
Regarding claims 5-7, Shaffer does not disclose wherein a first density of apertures of a first portion of the plurality of apertures varies from a second density of apertures of a second portion of the plurality of apertures (claim 5), wherein a cross-dimension of the apertures within at least a portion of the plurality of apertures tapers from a wide aperture cross-dimension to a narrow aperture cross-dimension (claim 6), wherein a first aperture cross-dimension of a first portion of the plurality of apertures varies from a second aperture cross-dimension of a second portion of the plurality of apertures (claim 7).
Tang discloses a filter relatively pertinent to problem posed by Applicant of filtering bodily fluid. Tang teaches wherein a first density of apertures of a first portion of the plurality of apertures (figure 9D) varies from a second density of apertures of a second portion of the plurality of apertures (926 and 928 column have different density of apertures due to the size), wherein a cross-dimension of the apertures within at least a portion of the plurality of apertures tapers from a wide aperture cross-dimension to a narrow aperture cross-dimension (figure 9D, shows varying apertures that differ in size from wide aperture cross-dimension to narrow aperture cross dimension), wherein a first aperture cross-dimension of a first portion of the plurality of apertures varies from a second aperture cross-dimension of a second portion of the plurality of apertures (column of large size apertures in figure 9D differs in size from column of smaller size apertures).
Tang provides a variety of alternatives for pore size and distribution in order to effectively filter material as desired ([0115-0116]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Shaffer with the pore size variation and variety of distribution in Tang in order to desirably filter material from the fluid contents.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Parks (US 2016/0213355) discloses a clot filtering device with multiple filters.
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781