DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the Species restriction in the reply filed on 10/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 1) Fig 1-3 are not sufficiently distinct wot warrant an election and share the same core construction variants, and 2) Claim 13 (group 2) is directed to a method inseparable from the apparatus claimed. This is not found persuasive because:1) The embodiments of Figures 1-3 possess different features that cannot overlap, specifically Figure 1 has the combustion chamber and the heat exchanger in the common housing with the two turbines, Figure 2 has the heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger outside the common housing, and Figure 3 has the combustion chamber and the heat exchanger outside the common housing. As the defining feature between the Species is the location of the devices either inside or outside the common housing, they are not able to overlap and would require different art to read on them necessitating different search strategies and rejection combinations. As such the Species election is upheld.
2) The Apparatus as claimed can be used for a different method than that of Claim 13. Claim 13 is for network stabilization on a power grid where the apparatus of the other claims can be used in a different method, such as providing power to a battery, or providing power to directly power a different powerplant, or providing power to supply power to an electrical bus on an airplane. As such the method by which the apparatus is operated is not necessitated by Claim 13, and as such the grouping is upheld.
Applicant has elected Species 1 : Claims 1,2,4,6,8,9-13 and Group 1: Claims 1-12. Claim 6 is dependent from non-elected claim 5, and incorporates features of Species 2. As such Claim 6 will not be examined. Claim 7 is dependent from Claim 4 and possesses the features of Species 1, as such Claim 7 will be examined. The claims common to both Species 1 and Group 1 are Claims 1-2,4,7-12 which shall be examined on the merits herein.
.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US 3797234 to Schwarz
As to claim 1, Schwarz discloses a device configured to generate energy from compressed air, comprising: an air turbine (6) configured to expand gaseous air (from 1) starting out from a first pressure level to a second pressure level and produce first energy (Col 3, line 1-5); a combustion chamber (25) configured to receive air expanded in the air turbine and combust fuel (26); an exhaust gas turbine (7) configured to expand exhaust gas created during combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber and produce second energy; and a common housing (15,24,25 common housing) for at least the air turbine and the exhaust gas turbine (Fig 1).
As to claim 2, Schwarz discloses the common housing additionally for the combustion chamber (15,24,25 common housing).
As to claim 11, Schwarz discloses A system comprising: a device configured to generate energy from compressed air comprising: an air turbine (6) configured to expand gaseous air starting out from a first pressure level to a second pressure level and produce first energy; a combustion chamber (25) configured to receive air expanded in the air turbine and combust fuel; an exhaust gas turbine (7) configured to expand exhaust gas created during combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber and produce second energy; and a common housing for at least the air turbine and the exhaust gas turbine (Fig 1) and a compressed air energy storage device (upstream 1; Col 2, Line 55-65) which comprises a store for storing compressed gaseous air, wherein the compressed gaseous air can be fed to the air turbine (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20140137563 to Kerth
As to claim 1, Kerth discloses A device configured to generate energy from compressed air, comprising: an air turbine configured to expand gaseous air starting out from a first pressure level to a second pressure level and produce first energy; a combustion chamber configured to receive air expanded in the air turbine and combust fuel; an exhaust gas turbine configured to expand exhaust gas created during combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber and produce second energy; and a common housing for at least the air turbine and the exhaust gas turbine (120, 122,125,124; Fig 2).
While Kerth shows these features in a common housing (120), it calls 120 an “assembly”, however it also discloses that similar structure (104) can be defined as a common housing (Par 0015).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include how feature 120 is a common housing for the components above as Kerth has already disclosed similar construction to contain attached components, and it would compact the system reducing overall size while limiting heat loss to the atmosphere.
As to claim 2, Kerth discloses the common housing additionally for the combustion chamber (125, 120).
As to claim 9, Kerth discloses the air turbine and the exhaust gas turbine are oriented in an inline arrangement such that an outlet side of one of the two turbines faces an inlet side of another of the two turbines (122, 124 Fig 2).
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20140137563 to Kerth as applied to Claim 1 above in view of US Patent 9217370 to Wang
As to claim 4, Kerth does not expressly disclose a first heat exchanger connected between the air turbine and the combustion chamber, via which the air expanded in the air turbine and to be fed to the combustion chamber and the exhaust gas expanded in the exhaust gas turbine can be conducted to heat the air expanded in the air turbine upstream of the combustion chamber.
Wang discloses how it is commonly known to use a recuperator directly upstream of the combustion chamber to increase intake air to reduce fuel need (5, Col 4 Line 4-18).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kerth to include a first heat exchanger directly upstream of the combustion chamber such that it is connected between the air turbine and the combustion chamber, via which the air expanded in the air turbine and to be fed to the combustion chamber and the exhaust gas expanded in the exhaust gas turbine can be conducted to heat the air expanded in the air turbine upstream of the combustion chamber using the teachings of Wang so as to preheat the air into the combustion chamber to reduce fuel consumption increasing overall efficiency.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 11073080 to Conlon in view of US 3797234 to Schwarz
As to claim 10, Conlon discloses A system comprising: an air turbine (Fig 6, 150) configured to expand gaseous air starting out from a first pressure level to a second pressure level and produce first energy (“power”); a combustion chamber configured to receive air expanded in the air turbine and combust fuel (270); an exhaust gas turbine configured to expand exhaust gas created during combustion of the fuel in the combustion chamber and produce second energy (260); a common housing for at least the air turbine and the exhaust gas turbine (Fig 6 “box”); and a liquid air energy storage device (120), which comprises a store for storing liquid air and an evaporator for evaporating the liquid air (140,280), wherein evaporated air can be fed to the air turbine (150).
While Conlon shows a common housing for the two turbines (Fig 6) it does not address this in the Specification. Schwarz discloses a common housing for an air expansion turbine and an exhaust expansion turbine (Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the air expansion turbine and an exhaust expansion turbine and combustor in a common housing as disclosed in Schwarz so as to reduce overall size of the system while avoiding undesirable heat loss.
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3797234 to Schwarz as applied to claim 11 above in view of US Patent 11105263 to Francini
As to claim 12, Schwarz discloses a generator (12) and how the pressurized air is stored but not how it is stored, and does not expressly disclose an electric machine coupled to the device that can be operated as a motor and as a generator.
Francini disclose how a motor generator is used to both harness power and power compression to store air for the pressurized air space to later be used across a turbine expansion system similar to Schwarz.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwarz to include how the electric generator is an electric machine coupled to the device that can be operated as a motor and as a generator so as to power a compressor to facilitate to compression and storage of the pressurized air that is used in the system, increasing system compactness and use efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Laurenzi can be reached on 571-270-7878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746