DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odakura et al. (2018/0071860A1) in view of Subramanian et al. (2005/0045695A1).
Regarding claim 13, Odakura discloses an apparatus, the apparatus comprising: a support arm 10e coupled with or comprising a spindle housing 20; and a tool 2, the tool comprising a pin 2b protruding outward from a face of the tool; wherein tool is oriented to extend laterally outward from the support arm (figures 1-2); wherein the forging force is transmitted through the support arm and spindle housing to the spindle shaft (through control device 30); and wherein the rotation of the spindle shaft is mechanically driven through the support arm (figure 1, paragraphs 0046-0057, 0070, 0094-0111). As shown in figure 1, the control device is connected to the base of the robot arm. The control device controls the movement of the robot arm, rotation, and force being applied. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the forging force is transmitted through the support arm and housing to the shaft. There are different types of rotation occurring with the tool of Odakura. One type of rotation corrus when the support arm 10e is rotated about the B axis (see rotation arrows in the figure 1). Since the support arm 10e is mechanically rotating the spindle (and the entire tool 20), the limitation is met.
Odakura does not specifically disclose a spindle shaft supported by the spindle housing the tool removably coupled to the spindle shaft the spindle shaft oriented to extend laterally outward from the support arm. However, Subramanian discloses a friction stir welding tool with a spindle shaft (top part, opposite the pin 12, that is holding the shank 20) in a spindle housing 24 with a pin 12 (figure 1). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a spindle shaft as it is attached to a drive mechanism that rotates and extends the pin. The spindle shaft allows the user to extend the pin outside of the housing to a desired distance based on the required welding process. The term “removably” does not further limit the structure. The tool is capable of being removed to the spindle shaft.
The limitation “for performing friction stir welding (FSW) on an interior face of a workpiece” is intended use and does not further limit the structure of the apparatus. It is the Examiner’s position that the apparatus of Odakura would be capable of friction stir welding on an interior face of a workpiece.
The limitation “to engage an interior face of a workpiece where a forging force and rotation between a tool and the workpiece are established” is functional and does not further limit the structure of the apparatus. Since the prior art discloses the claimed structure it is the Examiner’s position that the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function.
The limitation “and wherein the support arm, spindle shaft, spindle housing, and tool are sized and shaped to fit within a cross section defined by the workpiece when extended within the workpiece by the support arm” is functional and dependent on the material worked upon. This limitation does not further limit the structure of the apparatus. Since the prior art discloses the claimed structure it is the Examiner’s position that the prior art is capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 16, Subramanian discloses wherein the tool comprises: a shank 20 configured to be engaged by a tool holder 28; and a face defined by a body of the tool, the face defining a shoulder 16 extending along the face from an edge of the tool inward toward a center of the face; a pin 12 protruding outward from the face of the tool centered at the center of the face; and at least one spiral (threads) feature defined by a protrusion extending outward or a recess extending inward from a face of the tool in an axial direction parallel to the forging force, the at least one spiral feature located between the shoulder and the pin (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Subramanian discloses that the pin comprises two or more flat regions on an outer diameter of the pin (figure 2 (top view shows at least two flat regions, paragraph 0017)).
Regarding claim 18, Subramanian discloses an outer diameter of the pin 12 comprises one or more sets of ridges or grooves (threads) extending at least partially circumferentially around the pin (figure 2).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odakura et al. (2018/0071860A1) in view of Subramanian et al. (2005/0045695A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (2018/0178293A1).
Regarding claim 15, Okadura does not specifically disclose wherein the spindle shaft is mechanically coupled with a wireless transmitter, the wireless transmitter configured to transmit data indicative of one or more monitored parameters, the one or more monitored parameters comprising a temperature, a rotational velocity associated with the tool, a rotational position of the tool, a force associated with the tool, or combinations thereof. However, Yamamoto discloses a friction stir welding tool wherein wireless transmitter is mechanically coupled to a spindle shaft and is used to monitor temperature, vibration and movement of the axis (figures 1, 5, abstract, paragraphs 0001, 0056-0062, 0087-0095). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to use a wireless transmitter to monitor parameters because it allows the user to monitor the tool in real time to ensure that there is no damage or over heating occurring during the bonding process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Odakura’s control device controls the movement of the robot arm, rotation and force. The Applicant argues that the rotation of the spindle shaft is mechanically driven through the support arm and that Odakura is silent to the rotation of the spindle shaft being mechanically driven through the support arm. The Applicant argues that the rotation of the spindle can be rotated using a drive belt.
The Examiner disagrees. Odakura discloses that there is a control device for moving the tool. The arm 10e rotates (rotation arrows, figure 1) about the B axis (paragraph 0042) to rotate the tool 20 by way of the linkage used to join the arm 10e (where the B axis line goes through). The linkage creates a mechanical movement of the tool (that includes the spindle) through the arm 10e. The Applicant’s argument regarding the drive belt is moot as it is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. There are different types of rotation occurring. If the Applicant is attempting to claim the spinning of the pin to form the weld then the claim should be amended to state this limitation.
The Applicant argues that to engage an interior face of a workpiece where a forging force and rotation between a tool and the workpiece are established” is not functional and that the prior art does not teach or suggest such a configuration or use, and as applied.
The Examiner disagrees. The workpiece is material worked upon and does not further limit the apparatus. Furthermore, the functional language also does not further limit the apparatus. The tool of Okada is capable of being used for the claimed function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735