DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 1, 2026, in response to the previous Office Action (04/01/2026) is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 7, 9 – 15 and 17 – 20 are currently pending.
Claims 3, 8, and 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 – 14, 19 – 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosier (US 2002/0153471) in view of Rice (US 2003/0002028).
Regarding claim 1, Hosier discloses a pixel array for generating color-accurate images of biological tissue, wherein each pixel of the pixel array comprises: a plurality of subpixels (16), wherein each subpixel has at least one photodiode (fig. 9; ¶34: photosensors); and a plurality of color filters comprising: a red wavelength high-pass color filter (RHP); an orange wavelength high-pass color filter (OHP); a green wavelength band-pass color filter (G); and a blue wavelength band-pass color filter (B) (fig. 9; ¶34). Hosier fails to explicitly disclose wherein: the red wavelength high-pass color filter has an edge at 610 nm ± 10 nm; the orange wavelength high-pass color filter has an edge at 540 nm ± 10 nm; the green wavelength band-pass color filter has a low edge at 478 nm ± 10 nm and a high edge at 565 nm ± 10 nm; and the blue wavelength band-pass color filter has a low edge at 390 nm ± 10 nm and a high edge at 510 nm ± 10 nm.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rice teaches an image sensor and method for measuring tissue optical properties in a non-invasive in vivo measurement (¶96), that includes a wavelength filter wheel 30 containing a number of optical bandpass filters designed to block light transmission in all but a selected range of visible-light wavelengths. One standard installation includes 3 filters; a shortpass filter 30a, for wavelengths less than 510 nm (blue light filter), a midpass filter 30b having a bandpass in the 500-570 nm range (green light filter), and a longpass filter for wavelengths greater than 590 nm (red light filter); and in some applications, filters can provide more precise bandpass, e.g., every 20 nm (¶64). In light of the teaching of Rice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Rice’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a device with capable of non-invasive imaging of animal tissue. Rice fails to explicitly disclose the specific wavelengths for the filters, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose filter edges having an optimal range for each of the filters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Hosier discloses a system for generating color-accurate images of biological tissue comprising: an image sensor configured to capture and transmit an image of biological tissue, comprising: a pixel array, wherein each pixel of the pixel array comprises: a plurality of subpixels (16), wherein each subpixel has at least one photodiode (fig. 9; ¶34: photosensors); and a plurality of color filters comprising: a red wavelength high-pass color filter (RHP); an orange wavelength high-pass color filter (OHP); a green wavelength band-pass color filter (G); and a blue wavelength band-pass color filter (B) (fig. 9; ¶34). Hosier fails to explicitly disclose wherein: the red wavelength high-pass color filter has an edge at 610 nm ± 10 nm; the orange wavelength high-pass color filter has an edge at 540 nm ± 10 nm; the green wavelength band-pass color filter has a low edge at 478 nm ± 10 nm and a high edge at 565 nm ± 10 nm; and the blue wavelength band-pass color filter has a low edge at 390 nm ± 10 nm and a high edge at 510 nm ± 10 nm; a light source; and a control unit, wherein the control unit is electrically coupled to the pixel array and the light source; and a processor configured to receive the image of biological tissue.
In a similar field of endeavor, Rice teaches an image sensor and method for measuring tissue optical properties in a non-invasive in vivo measurement (¶96), that includes a wavelength filter wheel 30 containing a number of optical bandpass filters designed to block light transmission in all but a selected range of visible-light wavelengths. One standard installation includes 3 filters; a shortpass filter 30a, for wavelengths less than 510 nm (blue light filter), a midpass filter 30b having a bandpass in the 500-570 nm range (green light filter), and a longpass filter for wavelengths greater than 590 nm (red light filter); and in some applications, filters can provide more precise bandpass, e.g., every 20 nm (¶64). Rice also teaches a light source (¶89, 91, 99, 116), a control unit (¶65-66: 34), and a processor (¶66: 40). In light of the teaching of Rice, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Rice’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a device with capable of non-invasive imaging of animal tissue. Rice fails to explicitly disclose the specific wavelengths for the filters, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to choose filter edges having an optimal range for each of the filters, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. Rice also teaches wherein the control unit is configured to apply the plurality of color filters to the image of biological tissue (¶64-65).
Regarding claim 12, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. Hosier also teaches wherein the plurality of color filters further comprises an infrared cut-off filter (¶29).
Regarding claim 13, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. Rice also teaches wherein the image sensor is electrically coupled to the processor; and wherein the image sensor is configured to transmit the image of biological tissue to the processor through a physical connection (fig. 1; ¶64-66).
Claim 14, 19 – 20 rejected as applied to claim 6 and 12 – 13 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Hosier in view of Rice.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7, 10, 15 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosier in view of Rice in view of Adler (US 2006/0221218).
Regarding claim 2, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosier also teaches wherein the plurality of color filters are arranged in a two-dimensional grid having a plurality of rows and columns (fig. 9). The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein individual filters of the plurality of color filters alternate colors by their respective rows and columns.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adler teaches an image sensor with improved color filter and endoscopic imaging applications wherein the RGBO color filter is arranged such that the color filters alternate (fig. 5; ¶93). In light of the teaching of Adler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved sensitivity of the image sensor.
Regarding claim 5, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of color filters is comprised of an equal number of red wavelength high-pass color filters, orange wavelength high-pass filters, green wavelength band-pass color filters, and blue wavelength band-pass color filters.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adler teaches an image sensor with improved color filter and endoscopic imaging applications wherein the RGBO color filter is arranged such that the color filters alternate and there are an equal number of each color filter (fig. 5; ¶93). In light of the teaching of Adler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved sensitivity of the image sensor.
Regarding claim 7, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. Hosier also teaches wherein the plurality of color filters are arranged in a two-dimensional grid having a plurality of rows and columns (fig. 9). The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein individual filters of the plurality of color filters alternate colors by their respective rows and columns.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adler teaches an image sensor with improved color filter and endoscopic imaging applications wherein the RGBO color filter is arranged such that the color filters alternate (fig. 5; ¶93). In light of the teaching of Adler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved sensitivity of the image sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of color filters is comprised of an equal number of red wavelength high-pass color filters, orange wavelength high-pass filters, green wavelength band-pass color filters, and blue wavelength band-pass color filters.
In a similar field of endeavor, Adler teaches an image sensor with improved color filter and endoscopic imaging applications wherein the RGBO color filter is arranged such that the color filters alternate and there are an equal number of each color filter (fig. 5; ¶93). In light of the teaching of Adler, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved sensitivity of the image sensor.
Claim 15 and 18 rejected as applied to claim 7 and 10 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Hosier in view of Rice.
Claim(s) 4, 9 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosier in view of Rice in view of Ogino (US 2022/0095891).
Regarding claim 4, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 1. The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pixel array is configured to generate color-accurate images of biological tissue within a Rec. 2020 color gamut.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ogino teaches converting data to a color that covers a wide color gamut of a specification specified in international specification BT.2020 for ultra-high-definition (¶21). In light of the teaching of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved display able to highlight specific biotissue, such as a blood vessel.
Regarding claim 9, Hosier in view of Rice discloses the limitations of claim 6. The combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the pixel array is configured to generate color-accurate images of biological tissue within a Rec. 2020 color gamut.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ogino teaches converting data to a color that covers a wide color gamut of a specification specified in international specification BT.2020 for ultra-high-definition (¶21). In light of the teaching of Ogino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Adler’s teaching in Hosier’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improved display able to highlight specific biotissue, such as a blood vessel.
Claim 17 rejected as applied to claim 9 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Hosier in view of Rice in view of Ogino.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639