DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (05/19/2026) with respect to the art rejection of amended independent claims 1, 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 13, 16, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 20 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,170,562. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of U.S. 12,170,562 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claims 1, 3, 13 and 16. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 20 of U.S. 12,170,562 claims the subject matter claimed by instant claim 18.
Refer to the table below for a detailed mapping of the nonstatutory double patenting rejections:
18/978354
U.S. 12,170,562
Claims 2, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,562 in view of Medra et al. (U.S. 2022/0052764).
With respect to instant claim 2, claim 4 of U.S. 12,170,562 does not claim:
wherein the relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
In the same field of endeavor, Medra et al. disclose: a relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements ([0054]-[0056] describe what an RIS is (including RIS 420) and how it works, also refer to Fig. 1 and its detailed description. Refer to the disclosed “A Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS)….is an array of configurable elements”, lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055] in particular the approximate middle of [0055] disclosing control the configurable elements), the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic (refer to at least to the approximate second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic (reflection characteristic, refer to the portions already cited), a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the relay of claim 4 of U.S. 12,170,562 based on the cited teachings of Medra et al. to be a relay that includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic (relay described in Medra et al. at least lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055], second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) and has the ability to manipulate the incident wave, has low cost, require small bias voltages, and maximizes SNR at the direction of the destination (receiver)(Medra et al., at least [0056]).
With respect to instant claim 19, claim 20 of U.S. 12,170,562 does not claim:
wherein the relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
In the same field of endeavor, Medra et al. disclose: a relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements ([0054]-[0056] describe what an RIS is (including RIS 420) and how it works, also refer to Fig. 1 and its detailed description. Refer to the disclosed “A Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS)….is an array of configurable elements”, lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055] in particular the approximate middle of [0055] disclosing control the configurable elements), the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic (refer to at least to the approximate second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic (reflection characteristic, refer to the portions already cited), a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the relay of claim 20 of U.S. 12,170,562 based on the cited teachings of Medra et al. to be a relay that includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic (relay described in Medra et al. at least lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055], second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) and has the ability to manipulate the incident wave, has low cost, require small bias voltages, and maximizes SNR at the direction of the destination (receiver)(Medra et al., at least [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2022/015965).
With respect to claim 1, Wang et al. disclose: A receiver (e.g. refer to the UE 110 of Fig. 6A, an embodiment of which is shown on the left side of Fig. 2) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory (e.g. refer to Fig. 2 the CRM 216 (memory disclosed in [0021]) comprising UE APD manager 220, lines 1-2, 4-6 of [0022]); and one or more processors (214), coupled to the memory (as shown in Fig.3 and refer to [0021]), configured to (the UE is configured to)): receive a signal that is transmitted by a transmitter (e.g. refer to Fig. 5A, at least lines 8-10 of [0054], lines 1-10 of [0056]. Refer to the transmitted reference signal (e.g. [0057], signal on signal ray 531 transmitted by the base station 120 (transmitter) to the relay (APD 181) which reflects (reflection 532) that signal to the receiver (UE) and 15-21 of [0064], [0065]), the signal including an indication of a relay (APD 181, corresponds to the claimed relay, refer to at least lines 2-5 of [0002]) when the signal is received via an indirect communications link that includes the relay (at least lines 4-7 of [0056] “…APD-specific identification information the enables the UE 110…to identify a source of the reference signal or reflection.”, at least lines 9-11, 13-16 of [0058] “…reflected beam ID modulation 504 (e.g., APD identifier (APD-ID) of table 501)”, Fig. 6A, reflection ID 506, lines 1-3, 6-11, 16-20 of [0066] refer to the “By coordinating or synchronizing respective timing of a transmission of wireless signals (e.g., reference signal 631) and RIS reconfigurations at the APD 181 that implement beam sweeping, each reflection 514 may have and/or correspond with a reflection identifier 506 (reflection ID 506) useful by the UE 110 and/or base station 120 to identify an APD 180 and phase vector 606 associated with the reflection”, and refer to the reflection angle in table 601), and the indication of the relay indicating a beam direction associated with the signal (Reflection ID 506 includes ID 504 or IDs 504 and 502 , lines 16-17 of [0064], lines 6-9, 12-end of [0066], e.g. (beam APD reflected beam ID ) reflection angle (608 in table 601) of the APD 181 associated with the phase vector used by the APD); and perform an action associated with communicating with the transmitter based at least in part on whether the signal is received via a direct communications link between the receiver and the transmitter or the indirect communications link (refer to the reflected signal quality measurement (RSRP) performed by the receiver (UE) and the signal is received (as a reflected signal) via the indirect communications link, lines 8-9 of [0056], lines 1-12 of [0068]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang et al. disclose: wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: demodulate the signal to detect a sequence associated with a signature of the relay (line 3 of [0068] “decode or demodulate…”, lines 1-3 of [0093]); and determine that the signal includes the indication of the relay based at least in part on detecting the sequence (based on the demodulate or decode).
With respect to claim 5, Wang et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, to perform the action associated with communicating with the transmitter, are configured to: determine one or more of the beam direction associated with the signal or a beam state associated with the signal based at least in part on the signature of the relay lines 14-end of [0066], lines 1-3 of [0076] refer to the determined beam reflection/reflective angle), wherein the relay is configured to redirect or reflect signals to the receiver using different beam states or beam directions, wherein each beam state or beam direction is associated with a different signature (refer to Fig. 6A, beam sweeping pattern, beam states or beam directions (APD 181 reflection angles 608) are associated with a different signature (Reflection ID 506), last sentence of [0092] “…reflections that correspond to portions the reference signal that are each encoded with a reflection identifier 506 toward the UE 110 at different respective directions or angles”).
With respect to claim 8, Wang et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: decode the signal to detect a sequence associated with a signature of the relay (line 3 of [0068] “decode or demodulate…”, lines 1-3 of [0093] ; and determine that the signal includes the indication of the relay based at least in part on detecting the sequence associated with the signature of the relay (based on the demodulate or decode).
Method claim 18 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject apparatus claim 1.
Claim 20 is rejected based on the rationale used to reject claim 18 above and refer to page 65, Example 21, and lines 4-7 of [0021] the “computer-readable storage media” of Wang et al. excludes propagating signals and may include any suitable memory e.g., ROM memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022/015965) in view of Medra et al. (U.S. 2022/0052764).
Medra et al. (U.S. 2022/0052764)
With respect to claim 2, although Wang et al. discloses the relay (APD, 181 of Fig. 6A, and at least [0002]) includes an array of elements (the illustrated boxes within APD 181) and that the relay includes RISs (at least [0002]), Wang et al.
do not expressly disclose:
wherein the relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
In the same field of endeavor, Medra et al. disclose: a relay includes an array of reconfigurable elements ([0054]-[0056] describe what an RIS is (including RIS 420) and how it works, also refer to Fig. 1 and its detailed description. Refer to the disclosed “A Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface (RIS)….is an array of configurable elements”, lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055] in particular the approximate middle of [0055] disclosing control the configurable elements), the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic (refer to at least to the approximate second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic (reflection characteristic, refer to the portions already cited), a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the APD 181 of Wang et al. based on the cited teachings of Medra et al. to be a relay that includes an array of reconfigurable elements, the reconfigurable elements having a reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic, the reconfigurable electromagnetic characteristic including one or more of a reflection characteristic, a scattering characteristic, an absorption characteristic, or a diffraction characteristic (relay described in Medra et al. at least lines 1-5 of [0054], also [0055], second half of [0056], [0060], [0065]) and has the ability to manipulate the incident wave, has low cost, require small bias voltages, and maximizes SNR at the direction of the destination (receiver)(Medra et al., at least [0056]).
Claim 19 is rejected based on the reasoning used to reject claim 2 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
SOPHIA VLAHOS
Examiner
Art Unit 2633
/SOPHIA VLAHOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633 06/26/2026