DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scharlach (US20190006908, “Scharlach”) in view of Franck (US20210313862, “Franck”).
Re claim 1, Scharlach discloses an electric machine, comprising a machine housing 2 (figs 2-3, [0037], employing figs 3-4 for rejection but has same structure as figs 1-2 except for two part housing), a stator 3 fixedly arranged in the machine housing (fig 3), a rotor shaft 6 and a rotor 5 mounted on the rotor shaft (fig 3, [0031]), by which the rotor is rotatably arranged in the machine housing around a rotor axis (fig 3),
wherein the stator 3 comprises a stator stack and stator windings arranged therein (fig 3, [0031], as shown in fig 3 windings within teeth of stator),
wherein the stator windings comprise a stack section, in which they run within the stator stack (fig 3, portion of windings between winding heads 4), and stator winding heads 4, where they run out of the stack section (fig 3, [0031]) and
wherein the machine housing 2 comprises a first cooling system based on a first cooling fluid around the stator stack (figs 3-4, [0034] & [0037], includes 14),
wherein the machine housing 2 comprises a separate second cooling system, based on a separate second cooling fluid (figs 3-4, [0032] & [0035], includes 8-9 & 16-17),
wherein the separate second cooling system comprises spray nozzles or bores 10, which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads 4 (figs 3-4, [0032]),
wherein the machine housing 2 comprises a tube like section around the stator 3 (figs 3 & below) and end sections closing the tube like section (figs 3 & below), wherein the machine housing 2 in the tube like section comprises
an inner housing part 33 (figs 3-4, [0037]),
an outer housing part 32 (figs 3-4, [0037]), which is located radially outwards of the inner housing part 33 (fig 3),
a first cooling channel 14 of the first cooling system, wherein the first cooling channel 14 is formed between the inner housing part 33 and the outer housing part 32 (figs 3-4, [0037]), and
a second cooling channel 9 of the second cooling system and tube section spray nozzles or bores 10 hydraulically connected thereto (figs 3-4, [0037]), which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads 4 (fig 3), wherein the second cooling channel 9 is formed between the inner housing part 33 and the outer housing part 33, too (figs 3-4, [0037]),
wherein the second cooling system in at least one of the end sections comprises an end section cooling channel 16 (fig 3, [0037]).
Scharlach discloses claim 1 except for:
the stator stack is laminated; and
end section spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected to the end section cooling channel, wherein the end section spray nozzles or bores are directed axially inwards towards at least one of the stator winding heads, and are configured to spray the second cooling fluid onto a front face of the at least one of the stator winding heads.
Scharlach further discloses in the background that it is known to configure stators made of laminations ([0004]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator stack of Scharlach to be made of laminations to form a stator lamination stack, as disclosed by Scharlach in the background, in order to reduce eddy currents in the stator core.
Franck discloses end section spray nozzles or bores 8 hydraulically connected to the end section cooling channel (figs 1 & 7, [0060] & [0080]), wherein the end section spray nozzles or bores 8 are directed axially inwards towards at least one of the stator winding heads 61 (fig 7), and are configured to spray the second cooling fluid 26 onto a front face of the at least one of the stator winding heads 61 (fig 7, [0080-0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the end section cooling channel of Scharlach with end section spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected to the end section cooling channel, wherein the end section spray nozzles or bores are directed axially inwards towards at least one of the stator winding heads, and are configured to spray the second cooling fluid onto a front face of the at least one of the stator winding heads, as disclosed by Franck, in order to provide additional cooling for the winding heads for applications that generate more heat in the windings.
Re claim 2, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the first cooling fluid is water based and the second cooling fluid is oil based ([0033-0034]).
Re claim 3, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the spray nozzles or bores 10 are directed towards both stator winding heads 4 (fig 3).
Re claim 5, Scharlach in view of Franck disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the course of the second cooling channel 9 encloses an angle of 90°≥β>0 with the rotor axis viewed in a radial direction (figs 3-4), wherein in particular β=90° (figs 3-4).
Scharlach fails to disclose the course of the first cooling channel at least has an axial component and encloses an angle of 0°≤α<90° with the rotor axis viewed in a radial direction and the course of the second cooling channel encloses an angle of 90°≥β>α with the rotor axis viewed in a radial direction.
Franck discloses the course of the first cooling channel 11 at least has an axial component and encloses an angle of 0°≤α<90° with the rotor axis viewed in a radial direction (figs 7-9, [0084], has a spiral shape so is not perpendicular to rotor axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (axial switching first cooling channel of Scharlach) for another known equivalent element (spiral first cooling channel of Franck) resulting in the predictable result of forming a first cooling channel that extends circumferentially around the stator.
It is pointed out that Scharlach in view of Franck disclose the course of the second cooling channel encloses an angle of 90°≥β>α with the rotor axis viewed in a radial direction, since:
Scharlach discloses the second cooling channel 9 has β=90° (figs 3-4); and Franck discloses the first cooling channel 11 has 0°≤α<90° (figs 8).
Re claim 7, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses one of the end sections is one part with the tube like section both forming a pot like section (fig 3) or the tube like section and the end sections are separate parts.
Re claim 8, Scharlach in view of Franck disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the second cooling system comprises an axial central shaft bore 17 in the rotor shaft 6 (fig 3, [0035]).
Scharlach is silent with respect to rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected to the axial central shaft bore, which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads.
Franck discloses rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected the axial central shaft bore 70 (figs 7-8, [0080] & [0087]), which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads 61 (figs 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the axial central shaft bore of Scharlach in view of Franck to include rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected thereto, which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads, as disclosed by Franck, in order to provide cooling to the rotor, as well as additional cooling to the winding heads, as taught and demonstrated by Franck ([0080] & [0087]).
Re claim 9, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses vehicle, driven by an electric machine as claimed in claim 1 (fig 5, [0023-0024] & [0038]).
Re claim 10, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 9 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the first cooling system is part of a first cooling circuit of the vehicle (fig 5, [0038]), and the second cooling system is part of a separate second cooling circuit of the vehicle (fig 5, [0038]).
Re claim 11, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 2 as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the spray nozzles or bores 10 are directed towards both stator winding heads 4 (fig 3).
Re claim 14, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claim 5 as discussed above and further discloses one of the end sections is one part with the tube like section both forming a pot like section (Scharlach, fig 3) or the tube like section and the end sections are separate parts (Franck, figs 7 & 9).
Re claims 15 and 19, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claims 2 and 3, respectively, as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses the second cooling system comprises an axial central shaft bore 17 in the rotor shaft 6 (fig 3, [0035]).
Scharlach is silent with respect to rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected to the axial central shaft bore, which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads.
Franck discloses rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected the axial central shaft bore 70 (figs 7-8, [0080] & [0087]), which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads 61 (figs 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the axial central shaft bore of Scharlach in view of Franck to include rotor shaft spray nozzles or bores hydraulically connected thereto, which are directed towards at least one of the stator winding heads, as disclosed by Franck, in order to provide cooling to the rotor, as well as additional cooling to the winding heads, as taught and demonstrated by Franck ([0080] & [0087]).
Re claims 16 and 20, Scharlach in view of Franck discloses claims 2 and 3, respectively, as discussed above. Scharlach further discloses vehicle, driven by an electric machine as claimed in claim 1 (fig 5, [0023-0024] & [0038]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Franck does not disclose end section spray nozzles of bores that are directed axially inwards towards the stator winding heads and configured to spray the second cooling fluid onto a front face of the winding head (pgs 9-10). Examiner disagrees.
Examiner is relying on the embodiment of Frank in figs 7-9 which has fluid ports 8 spray cooling fluid 26 on the axial front face of the winding heads 61 ([0079-0081] & [0089]). Examiner cited paragraph [0060] to show there are plural fluid ports 8 in the housing.
Applicant arguments are relying on the first embodiment of figs 1-6 (see arguments, pg 10, 2nd to last paragraph), which shows a divider between the stator and rotor (see annotated fig 1 below) and appears to fill the stator coil end space with cooling fluid. But Franck’s embodiment of figs 7-9 does not disclose the divider and is not capable of cooling the stator coil ends if it does not spray cooling fluid 26 on to the coil ends, as understood by fig. 7. Additionally cooling fluid 26 is pumped by pump 5 providing pressure to cooling fluid 26 resulting in spraying from fluid port 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834