Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,204,536; claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,341,131; claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,956,415; claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 11,663,227; claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,281,706; claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No 10,353,965; claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,726,009; claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 11,163,758; claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,461,334; claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11,416,528; and claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 10,795,884 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter.
Instant Application 18/978,410
Patent No. 12,204,536
1. A method, comprising:
receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data;
identifying a plurality of distinct storage locations storing a plurality of portions of the set of data, wherein a particular storage location of the plurality of distinct storage locations stores a particular portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data;
identifying metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations;
determining a plurality of execution resources to allocate to process the plurality of portions of the set of data;
assigning each portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on the metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations; and
exporting the plurality of portions of the set of data from the plurality of distinct storage locations to a plurality of worker nodes based on the assigning, wherein the plurality of worker nodes process the plurality of portions of the set of data and provide query results based on the query.
1.A method, comprising: receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data; determining a query-resource allocation by identifying a portion of the query and determining an allocation of compute resources for the portion of the query based on at least one of: an identification of components of a distributed query system that are to execute the portion of the query, a quantity of records to be processed as a result of the portion of the query, a prioritization level of the query, or a query allocation threshold; scheduling the query for execution based on the query-resource allocation and a compute resource availability, wherein the query-resource allocation indicates a quantity of compute resources of the distributed query system to use to execute the query and the compute resource availability indicates a quantity of compute resources of the distributed query system that are available to execute the query; and initiating execution of the query based on the scheduling.
Instant Application 18/978,410
Patent No. 11,341,131
1. A method, comprising:
receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data;
identifying a plurality of distinct storage locations storing a plurality of portions of the set of data, wherein a particular storage location of the plurality of distinct storage locations stores a particular portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data;
identifying metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations;
determining a plurality of execution resources to allocate to process the plurality of portions of the set of data;
assigning each portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on the metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations; and
exporting the plurality of portions of the set of data from the plurality of distinct storage locations to a plurality of worker nodes based on the assigning, wherein the plurality of worker nodes process the plurality of portions of the set of data and provide query results based on the query.
1. A method, comprising: receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data; determining a query-resource allocation for one or more portions of the query; determining compute resource availability for the one or more portions of the query; and scheduling the query based on the query-resource allocation and the determined compute resource availability.
Instant Application 18/978,410
Patent No. 10,956,415
1. A method, comprising:
receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data;
identifying a plurality of distinct storage locations storing a plurality of portions of the set of data, wherein a particular storage location of the plurality of distinct storage locations stores a particular portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data;
identifying metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations;
determining a plurality of execution resources to allocate to process the plurality of portions of the set of data;
assigning each portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on the metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations; and
exporting the plurality of portions of the set of data from the plurality of distinct storage locations to a plurality of worker nodes based on the assigning, wherein the plurality of worker nodes process the plurality of portions of the set of data and provide query results based on the query.
1. A method, comprising: receiving, at a data intake and query system, a query identifying a set of data to be processed and a manner of processing the set of data; identifying a search parameter in the query associated with a search of an external data system; parsing a configuration file based on the search parameter; identifying the external data system and a subquery for the external data system based on said parsing the configuration file, the subquery identifying at least a subset of data of the set of data stored by the external data system; defining, by the first data intake and query system, a query processing scheme for obtaining and processing the set of data based on the query and the subquery, wherein defining the query processing scheme comprises generating instructions for one or more worker nodes to receive and process results of the subquery to form processed results and to provide the processed results to the data intake and query system; and executing the query based on the query processing scheme.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bitincka et al. (Patent No. 8,793,225, hereinafter Bitincka) and Baum et al. (Publication No. 2013/0060783, hereinafter Baum).
Regarding Claims 1, 12, and 20, Bitincka teaches receiving a query, wherein the query identifies a set of data and a manner of processing the set of data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined);
identifying a plurality of distinct storage locations storing a plurality of portions of the set of data, wherein a particular storage location of the plurality of distinct storage locations stores a particular portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined);
identifying metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined);
determining a plurality of execution resources to allocate to process the plurality of portions of the set of data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
However, Bitincka does not expressly teach assigning each portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on the metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations; and
exporting the plurality of portions of the set of data from the plurality of distinct storage locations to a plurality of worker nodes based on the assigning, wherein the plurality of worker nodes process the plurality of portions of the set of data and provide query results based on the query.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Bitincka’s method with Baum’s method because Baum’s method enables the ability to organize, index, search, and present time series data based on searches, time series data being sequences of time stamped records occurring in one or more usually continuous streams representing some type of activity.
Baum teaches assigning each portion of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on the metadata associated with the plurality of distinct storage locations ([0034]); and exporting the plurality of portions of the set of data from the plurality of distinct storage locations to a plurality of worker nodes based on the assigning, wherein the plurality of worker nodes process the plurality of portions of the set of data and provide query results based on the query ([0034].
Regarding Claim 2, Bitincka teaches wherein the query is a subquery of a query received by a data intake and query system data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
11. Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Bitincka teaches wherein the plurality of distinct storage locations correspond to a plurality of file system directories data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
12. Claims 4 and 14, Bitincka teaches wherein exporting comprises processing the plurality of portions of the set of data based on the query to provide a plurality of processed portions of the set of data, and exporting the plurality of processed portions of the set of data based on the assigning data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
13. Regarding Claim 5, Bitincka teaches wherein the plurality of distinct storage locations are identified based on one or more query parameters of the query data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
14. Regarding Claim 6, Bitincka teaches wherein determining a plurality of execution resources comprises determining the plurality of execution resources based on an execution resource allocation policy data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
15. Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Bitincka teaches wherein determining a plurality of execution resources comprises allocating the plurality of execution resources based on a lesser of a quantity of the plurality of distinct storage locations, a quantity of available execution resources, and a threshold quantity data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
16. Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Bitincka teaches wherein the plurality of execution resources comprise a plurality of processors data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
17. Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Bitincka teaches wherein the assigning comprises assigning each of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on a quantity of events stored in a respective portion of the set of data data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
18. Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Bitincka teaches wherein the assigning comprises assigning each of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on a quantity of events stored in a respective portion of the set of data to reduce a difference between a largest quantity of events assigned to a first execution resource and a smallest quantity of events assigned to a second execution resource data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
19. Regarding Claims 11 and 19, Bitincka teaches wherein the assigning comprises assigning each of the plurality of portions of the set of data to an execution resource of the plurality of execution resources based on a quantity of events stored in a respective portion of the set of data to approximate an equal distribution of events to the plurality of execution resources data (column 4, lines 59-67 and column 5, lines 31-40, a search scheme (e.g., local indexers or External Resource Providers, e.g., internal storage system via the indexers; e.g., external data storage system via the ERPs is defined).
Conclusion
/CHERYL LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 August 23, 2025