Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 should be amended to “and to rotate the spool in a line-lowering direction in response to receiving a lower signal from the control system[[.]] , wherein …” since it is a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 17 should be amended to “The method of claim [[11]] 16” since “The method of claim 11” is a typographical error. NOTE: For purposes of examination, examiner is assuming that claim 17 is dependent on claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 should be amended to “The method of claim [[12]] 17” since “The method of claim 12” is a typographical error. NOTE: For purposes of examination, examiner is assuming that claim 18 is dependent on claim 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 should be amended to “The method of claim [[11]] 16” since “The method of claim 11” is a typographical error. NOTE: For purposes of examination, examiner is assuming that claim 19 is dependent on claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 should be amended to “The method of claim [[14]] 19” since “The method of claim 14” is a typographical error. NOTE: For purposes of examination, examiner is assuming that claim 20 is dependent on claim 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control system” in claims 1-7, 9, and 11, “severing mechanism” and “attachment device” throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “when the parcel is not supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state …” It is unclear to the examiner, whether the applicant is referring to the same loaded state in the previous limitation.
Claim 9 recites “a projected position when the tension in the line is below the threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state …” It is unclear to the examiner, whether the applicant is referring to the same loaded state in the previous limitation.
Claim 16 recites “determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a projected position” It is unclear to the examiner, whether the applicant is referring to the same loaded state in the previous limitation.
Claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shannon (US 20180257779 A1) in view of Brunner (US 20090072562 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shannon discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle (See at least abstract, [0002-0004]), comprising: a control system (See at least abstract, [0004-0008] Additionally, the system includes a control system configured to control the motor to carry out tethered delivery of the payload); at least one rotor operable to generate lift under control of the control system (See at least abstract, [0102], [0110-0112] Each rotor 182 includes blades that are attached to a motor 184. Configured as such, the rotors 182 may allow the multicopter 180 to take off and land vertically, to maneuver in any direction, and/or to hover.); a line including a free portion hanging from the unmanned aerial vehicle, the line operable to support a parcel to be delivered by the unmanned aerial vehicle (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0141-0145] A winch system 221 controlled by the tether control module 216 in order to lower the payload 228 to the ground while the UAV hovers above. As shown in FIG. 2, the winch system 221 may include a tether 224, and the tether 224 may be coupled to the payload 228 by a payload coupling apparatus 226. The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV); and a load sensor (See at least abstract, [0114-0120], [0148-0152], [0265-0270], [0298-0302] UAV 200 may include various types of sensors, and may include a computing system configured to provide the functionality described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensors of UAV 200 include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 202, ultrasonic sensor(s) 204, and a GPS 206, among other possible sensors and sensing systems. In practice, these sensors may include a current sensor coupled to the winch motor, a tension sensor on the tether, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) on the UAV and/or on the payload coupling apparatus, an image capture device on the UAV, and/or an encoder on the winch motor, among other possibilities. The UAV may determine that the payload has reached the ground based on a weight sensor detecting a threshold low downward force on the tether and/or based on a threshold low measurement of power drawn by the winch when lowering the payload) that is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state (See at least abstract, [0008-0010], [0146-0150] The tether control module 216 may be configured to determine a status of the tether 224 and/or the payload 228 based on the amount of current supplied to the motor 222. For instance, if a downward force is applied to the tether 224 (e.g., if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224 or if the tether 224 gets snagged on an object when retracting toward the UAV 200), the tether control module 216 may need to increase the motor current in order to cause the determined rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or spool to match the desired speed. For instance, the tether control module 216 could determine the motor current based on sensor data received from a current sensor of the motor or a current sensor of the power system 220. In any case, based on the current supplied to the motor 222, determine if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224, if someone or something is pulling on the tether 224, and/or if the payload coupling apparatus 226 is pressing against the UAV 200 after retracting the tether 224. Other examples are possible as well. The control system is configured to, responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. The UAV may determine that the payload has reached the ground based on a weight sensor detecting a threshold low downward force on the tether and/or based on a threshold low measurement of power drawn by the winch when lowering the payload); and wherein the control system is configured to raise and/or lower the free portion of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least abstract, [0006-0010], [0379-0380] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. Responsive to making such a determination, the control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether, and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation).
Shannon does not explicitly disclose a load sensor comprising an actuating arm engaged with the line, wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm; wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when the parcel is supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state; wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the parcel is not supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state. However, Brunner teaches a load sensor comprising an actuating arm engaged with the line, wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm (See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0044-0048] The actuating mechanism comprises a weight sensor for detecting the presence of the load, by means of which sensor the actuating mechanism is controllable. The actuating mechanism 70 can also comprise a weight sensor 75 (as in FIGS. 5 and 6) for detecting the presence of the load, whereby this weight sensor can control the actuating mechanism 70. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70. This actuating mechanism 70 in the present example of FIG. 5 is a lever which can be moved by means of a bar 71. In fact, the lever 70 has a window 72 in which bar 71 is placed. The bar 71 itself is connected to a body 73 which can move up and down, being stopped in this movement by means of a stopper 74. In the resting position (as represented in FIG. 5), the bar 71 does not exert any force on the lever 70, and the eccentric 60 is situated in its blocking position, where no movement of the third blocking element 30 is allowed. Examiner notes that actuating lever 70 is mechanically liked to the load carrying element and its position is used to determine whether the load is present.); wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when the parcel is supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state (See at least abstract, [0022-0024] [0037-0040] [0044-0048] In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element, owing to the gravitational force. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70 and the switching of the second blocking mechanism 60 (eccentric) into the blocking position. Examiner notes the downward position as the depressed position when the gravitational force of an attached load is present. The pivoting of the swivel lever 51 around the pivot point 52 is made impossible by the rotating am 54 which can be moved up and down by means of the motor 55 and a short connection lever 56. In such a position, the swivel lever 51 and the rotating arm 54 are capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load such that the whole pivoting mechanism 50 stays immobile.); wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the parcel is not supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state (See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0037-0045] In such a position, the swivel lever 51 is no longer capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load, and thus it is pivoted around the pivot point 52 which disengages the interior part 22 of the carrying element 20 from the recess 53 of the swivel lever 51. In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. Once the load is on the ground, i.e. once the weight sensor detects the absence of the corresponding gravitational force acting on the carrying element, it makes the actuating mechanism move the second blocking mechanism into the releasing position. However, each upward movement of the body 73 moves the bar 71, which pulls the actuating lever 70. As the actuating lever 70 is connected to the eccentric 60, the eccentric is moved into its releasing position which makes possible a switch of the third blocking element 30 into its releasing position (as represented in FIG. 6)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon to incorporate the teachings of Brunner which teaches a load sensor comprising an actuating arm engaged with the line, wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm; wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when the parcel is supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state; wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the parcel is not supported by the line to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state since they are directed to load suspension systems, and incorporation of Brunner would improve the system’s mechanical indication of the loaded and unloaded state to more accurately determine whether the parcel remained attached.
Regarding claim 2, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses further comprising an attachment device attached to the free portion of the line, wherein the attachment device is operable to engage the parcel (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0080-0084] Such a payload coupling apparatus may include a housing coupled to the UAV by a tether that may be wound and unwound to raise and lower the housing with respect to the UAV. The housing may include one or more swing arms adapted to extend from the housing at an acute angle, forming a hook on which the payload may be attached. When the housing and attached payload are lowered from the UAV (e.g., by unwinding the tether) to a transport location below the UAV (e.g., the ground), the payload may detach from the hook.).
Regarding claim 3, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein the attachment device comprises a hook (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0080-0084] Such a payload coupling apparatus may include a housing coupled to the UAV by a tether that may be wound and unwound to raise and lower the housing with respect to the UAV. The housing may include one or more swing arms adapted to extend from the housing at an acute angle, forming a hook on which the payload may be attached. When the housing and attached payload are lowered from the UAV (e.g., by unwinding the tether) to a transport location below the UAV (e.g., the ground), the payload may detach from the hook.); wherein the control system is configured to cause lowering of the hook to a position in which the parcel is supported by a target surface, to subsequently cause raising of the hook and determine the loaded/unloaded state of the line, and to thereafter cause lowering of the hook an additional time in response to determining that the line remains in the loaded state (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. The system may also include means for, after lowering the tether and waiting for a predetermined payload attachment period, performing an attachment verification process that includes (a) operating the motor in a mode that counters unwinding of the tether due to gravity for a predetermined attachment verification period, and (b) determining, based at least in part on a motor current during the predetermined attachment verification period, whether or not the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload. This process may be repeated up to a predetermined number of times or until the payload latch is successfully closed. After unsuccessfully repeating the process the predetermined number of times, the control system may responsively operate the motor to lower the payload back to the ground and detach the payload from the tether (e.g., by performing method 1800).).
Regarding claim 4, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein the control system is further configured to count a number of attempts to release the parcel from the hook, each attempt comprising a lowering of the hook (See at least Shannon abstract, [0006-0010], [0093-0096], [0379-0384] [0405-0410], The end of the hook is designed to be recessed slightly from the body of the capsule, which prevents the hook from accidentally re-attaching to the handle. After successful release, the hook gets winched back up into the aircraft. The control system is further configured to, during operation in the delivery mode, determine that the over-run process has been repeated the predetermined number of times without successful release of the payload. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. The control system may track how many times the processes of causing over-run of the tether and testing for payload separation have been carried out and may determine that these processes have been repeated a threshold number of times without successfully releasing the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, as shown by block 3406.).
Regarding claim 5, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses further comprising a severing mechanism operable to sever the line in response to receiving a severing signal from the control system (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig, 26, [0081-0085], [0148-0152], [0374-0380] As the payload remains stationary on the ground, the payload coupling apparatus may continue to lower, and a gravitational and/or an inertial force on the housing may cause the swing arm hook to detach from the payload. Upon lowering the release mechanism and the payload 228 to the ground via a tether, a gravitational force as well as a downward inertial force on the release mechanism may cause the payload 228 to detach from the hook allowing the release mechanism to be raised upwards toward the UAV. The release mechanism may further include a spring mechanism that biases the swing arm to retract into the housing when there are no other external forces on the swing arm. The control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether (this time, perhaps, by some predetermined additional length), and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation, shown in blocks 3402 and 3404. As described above with respect to method 1800, the control system may detect when the payload contacts the ground by monitoring a speed and/or a current of the motor and determining that the motor speed and/or motor current is threshold low. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404.); wherein the control system is further configured to transmit the severing signal to the severing mechanism in response to the number of attempts satisfying a threshold number of attempts (See at least Shannon abstract, [00374-0380], [0406-0408] Typically, carrying out the tether over-run process would cause the payload coupling apparatus to detach from the payload. However, in situations where the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus, the tether over-run process may be repeatable up to a predetermined number of times, as further shown by block 3404. The control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether (this time, perhaps, by some predetermined additional length), and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation, shown in blocks 3402 and 3404. As described above with respect to method 1800, the control system may detect when the payload contacts the ground by monitoring a speed and/or a current of the motor and determining that the motor speed and/or motor current is threshold low. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. Responsive to making this determination, the control system may decide to abandon further attempts to separate the payload from the payload coupling apparatus and may instead decide to separate the tether from the UAV by operating the motor to allow the tether to unwind during ascent of the UAV).
Regarding claim 7, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses further comprising: a spool, wherein a wound portion of the line is wound about the spool (See at least Shannon abstract, [0141-0145] As shown in FIG. 2, the winch system 221 may include a tether 224, and the tether 224 may be coupled to the payload 228 by a payload coupling apparatus 226. The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV.); and a motor operable to rotate the spool in a line-raising direction in response to receiving a raise signal from the control system, and to rotate the spool in a line-lowering direction in response to receiving a lower signal from the control system (See at least Shannon abstract, [0141-0145] The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV. The motor 222 may take the form of a DC motor (e.g., a servo motor) that can be actively controlled by a speed controller. The tether control module 216 can control the speed controller to cause the motor 222 to rotate the spool, thereby unwinding or retracting the tether 224 and lowering or raising the payload coupling apparatus 226. In order to control the motor 222 via the speed controller, the tether control module 216 may receive data from a speed sensor (e.g., an encoder) configured to convert a mechanical position to a representative analog or digital signal. In particular, the speed sensor may include a rotary encoder that may provide information related to rotary position (and/or rotary movement) of a shaft of the motor or the spool coupled to the motor, among other possibilities. Based on the data from the speed sensor, the tether control module 216 may determine a rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or the spool and responsively control the motor 222 (e.g., by increasing or decreasing an electrical current supplied to the motor 222) to cause the rotational speed of the motor 222 to match a desired speed); wherein to raise and/or lower the free portion of the line comprises to transmit the raise signal and/or the lower signal (See at least Shannon abstract [0141-0145] The tether control module 216 can control the speed controller to cause the motor 222 to rotate the spool, thereby unwinding or retracting the tether 224 and lowering or raising the payload coupling apparatus 226. In practice, the speed controller may output a desired operating rate (e.g., a desired RPM) for the spool, which may correspond to the speed at which the tether 224 and payload 228 should be lowered towards the ground. The motor 222 may then rotate the spool so that it maintains the desired operating rate. In order to control the motor 222 via the speed controller, the tether control module 216 may receive data from a speed sensor (e.g., an encoder) configured to convert a mechanical position to a representative analog or digital signal. In particular, the speed sensor may include a rotary encoder that may provide information related to rotary position (and/or rotary movement) of a shaft of the motor or the spool coupled to the motor, among other possibilities. Based on the data from the speed sensor, the tether control module 216 may determine a rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or the spool and responsively control the motor 222 (e.g., by increasing or decreasing an electrical current supplied to the motor 222) to cause the rotational speed of the motor 222 to match a desired speed).
Regarding claim 9, Shannon teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle (See at least abstract, [0005-0010]), comprising: a control system (See at least abstract, [0004-0008] Additionally, the system includes a control system configured to control the motor to carry out tethered delivery of the payload); at least one rotor operable to generate lift under control of the control system (See at least abstract, [0102], [0110-0112] Each rotor 182 includes blades that are attached to a motor 184. Configured as such, the rotors 182 may allow the multicopter 180 to take off and land vertically, to maneuver in any direction, and/or to hover.); a line including a free portion hanging from the unmanned aerial vehicle; a load sensor comprising an actuating arm engaged with the line(See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0141-0145] A winch system 221 controlled by the tether control module 216 in order to lower the payload 228 to the ground while the UAV hovers above. As shown in FIG. 2, the winch system 221 may include a tether 224, and the tether 224 may be coupled to the payload 228 by a payload coupling apparatus 226. The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV), wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least abstract, [0008-0010], [0114-0120], [0146-0152], [0265-0270], [0298-0302] UAV 200 may include various types of sensors, and may include a computing system configured to provide the functionality described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensors of UAV 200 include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 202, ultrasonic sensor(s) 204, and a GPS 206, among other possible sensors and sensing systems. In practice, these sensors may include a current sensor coupled to the winch motor, a tension sensor on the tether, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) on the UAV and/or on the payload coupling apparatus, an image capture device on the UAV, and/or an encoder on the winch motor, among other possibilities. The UAV may determine that the payload has reached the ground based on a weight sensor detecting a threshold low downward force on the tether and/or based on a threshold low measurement of power drawn by the winch when lowering the payload The tether control module 216 may be configured to determine a status of the tether 224 and/or the payload 228 based on the amount of current supplied to the motor 222. For instance, if a downward force is applied to the tether 224 (e.g., if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224 or if the tether 224 gets snagged on an object when retracting toward the UAV 200), the tether control module 216 may need to increase the motor current in order to cause the determined rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or spool to match the desired speed. For instance, the tether control module 216 could determine the motor current based on sensor data received from a current sensor of the motor or a current sensor of the power system 220. In any case, based on the current supplied to the motor 222, determine if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224, if someone or something is pulling on the tether 224, and/or if the payload coupling apparatus 226 is pressing against the UAV 200 after retracting the tether 224. Other examples are possible as well.) B and wherein the control system is configured to raise and/or lower the free portion of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least abstract, [0006-0010], [0141-0146], [0379-0380] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. Responsive to making such a determination, the control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether, and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation. The UAV may include a winch system 221 controlled by the tether control module 216 in order to lower the payload 228 to the ground while the UAV hovers above).
Shannon does not explicitly disclose wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm; wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state; wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the tension in the line is below the threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state. However, Brunner teaches wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm ((See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0044-0048] The actuating mechanism comprises a weight sensor for detecting the presence of the load, by means of which sensor the actuating mechanism is controllable. The actuating mechanism 70 can also comprise a weight sensor 75 (as in FIGS. 5 and 6) for detecting the presence of the load, whereby this weight sensor can control the actuating mechanism 70. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70. This actuating mechanism 70 in the present example of FIG. 5 is a lever which can be moved by means of a bar 71. In fact, the lever 70 has a window 72 in which bar 71 is placed. The bar 71 itself is connected to a body 73 which can move up and down, being stopped in this movement by means of a stopper 74. In the resting position (as represented in FIG. 5), the bar 71 does not exert any force on the lever 70, and the eccentric 60 is situated in its blocking position, where no movement of the third blocking element 30 is allowed. Examiner notes that actuating lever 70 is mechanically liked to the load carrying element and its position is used to determine whether the load is present.); wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state (See at least abstract, [0022-0024] [0037-0040] [0044-0048] In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element, owing to the gravitational force. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70 and the switching of the second blocking mechanism 60 (eccentric) into the blocking position. Examiner notes the downward position as the depressed position when the gravitational force of an attached load is present. The pivoting of the swivel lever 51 around the pivot point 52 is made impossible by the rotating am 54 which can be moved up and down by means of the motor 55 and a short connection lever 56. In such a position, the swivel lever 51 and the rotating arm 54 are capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load such that the whole pivoting mechanism 50 stays immobile.); wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the tension in the line is below the threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state. (See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0037-0045] In such a position, the swivel lever 51 is no longer capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load, and thus it is pivoted around the pivot point 52 which disengages the interior part 22 of the carrying element 20 from the recess 53 of the swivel lever 51. In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. Once the load is on the ground, i.e. once the weight sensor detects the absence of the corresponding gravitational force acting on the carrying element, it makes the actuating mechanism move the second blocking mechanism into the releasing position. However, each upward movement of the body 73 moves the bar 71, which pulls the actuating lever 70. As the actuating lever 70 is connected to the eccentric 60, the eccentric is moved into its releasing position which makes possible a switch of the third blocking element 30 into its releasing position (as represented in FIG. 6)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon to incorporate the teachings of Brunner which teaches wherein the load sensor is operable to detect a loaded/unloaded state of the line based on a position of the actuating arm; wherein the line places the actuating arm in a depressed position when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state; wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt a projected position when the tension in the line is below the threshold tension to thereby indicate the loaded/unloaded as a loaded state since they are directed to load suspension systems, and incorporation of Brunner would improve the system’s mechanical indication of the loaded and unloaded state to more accurately determine whether the parcel remained attached.
Regarding claim 10, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses further comprising an attachment device attached to the free portion of the line, wherein the attachment device is operable to engage the parcel (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0080-0084] Such a payload coupling apparatus may include a housing coupled to the UAV by a tether that may be wound and unwound to raise and lower the housing with respect to the UAV. The housing may include one or more swing arms adapted to extend from the housing at an acute angle, forming a hook on which the payload may be attached. When the housing and attached payload are lowered from the UAV (e.g., by unwinding the tether) to a transport location below the UAV (e.g., the ground), the payload may detach from the hook.).
Regarding claim 12, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein to raise and/or lower the free portion of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line comprises (See at least Shannon abstract, [0006-0010], [0379-0380] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. Responsive to making such a determination, the control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether, and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation).): lowering the free portion of the line such that the parcel is at least partially supported by a target surface, thereby performing an attempt to release the parcel from the free portion of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus); and performing at least one iteration of an iterative procedure, the iterative procedure comprising (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus): raising the free portion of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, [0006-0010], [0379-0380] Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV); determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, [0022-0026], [0037-0045] In such a position, the swivel lever 51 is no longer capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load, and thus it is pivoted around the pivot point 52 which disengages the interior part 22 of the carrying element 20 from the recess 53 of the swivel lever 51. In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. Once the load is on the ground, i.e. once the weight sensor detects the absence of the corresponding gravitational force acting on the carrying element, it makes the actuating mechanism move the second blocking mechanism into the releasing position. However, each upward movement of the body 73 moves the bar 71, which pulls the actuating lever 70. As the actuating lever 70 is connected to the eccentric 60, the eccentric is moved into its releasing position which makes possible a switch of the third blocking element 30 into its releasing position (as represented in FIG. 6)); in response to determining the loaded/unloaded state as the loaded state, lowering the free portion of the line an additional time, thereby performing an additional attempt to release the parcel from the free portion of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus); and in response to the number of attempts failing to satisfy a threshold number of attempts, performing an additional iteration of the iterative procedure (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. The system may also include means for, after lowering the tether and waiting for a predetermined payload attachment period, performing an attachment verification process that includes (a) operating the motor in a mode that counters unwinding of the tether due to gravity for a predetermined attachment verification period, and (b) determining, based at least in part on a motor current during the predetermined attachment verification period, whether or not the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload. This process may be repeated up to a predetermined number of times or until the payload latch is successfully closed. After unsuccessfully repeating the process the predetermined number of times, the control system may responsively operate the motor to lower the payload back to the ground and detach the payload from the tether (e.g., by performing method 1800).).
Regarding claim 13, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein the iterative procedure further comprises severing the line in response to the number of attempts satisfying the threshold number of attempts (See at least Shannon abstract, [00374-0380], [0406-0408] Typically, carrying out the tether over-run process would cause the payload coupling apparatus to detach from the payload. However, in situations where the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus, the tether over-run process may be repeatable up to a predetermined number of times, as further shown by block 3404. The control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether (this time, perhaps, by some predetermined additional length), and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation, shown in blocks 3402 and 3404. As described above with respect to method 1800, the control system may detect when the payload contacts the ground by monitoring a speed and/or a current of the motor and determining that the motor speed and/or motor current is threshold low. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. Responsive to making this determination, the control system may decide to abandon further attempts to separate the payload from the payload coupling apparatus and may instead decide to separate the tether from the UAV by operating the motor to allow the tether to unwind during ascent of the UAV).
Regarding claim 14, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein the iterative procedure further comprises raising the free portion of the line to a raised position in response to determining the loaded/unloaded state as the unloaded state (See at least Shannon abstract [0008-0010], [0175-0180], [00374-0380], [0406-0408] Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. After releasing payload 408, the control system may operate the spool 404 to retract the tether 402 and the payload coupling apparatus 412 toward the UAV 400. Once the payload coupling apparatus reaches or nears the UAV 400, the control system may operate the spool 404 to pull the payload coupling apparatus 412 into the receptacle 414, and the control system may toggle the payload latch 406 to the closed position, as shown in FIG. 4C. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. Responsive to making this determination, the control system may decide to abandon further attempts to separate the payload from the payload coupling apparatus and may instead decide to separate the tether from the UAV by operating the motor to allow the tether to unwind during ascent of the UAV).
Regarding claim 15, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein to raise and/or lower the free portion of the line comprises causing a motor to rotate a spool to which the line is attached (See at least Shannon abstract, [0141-0145] The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV. The motor 222 may take the form of a DC motor (e.g., a servo motor) that can be actively controlled by a speed controller. The tether control module 216 can control the speed controller to cause the motor 222 to rotate the spool, thereby unwinding or retracting the tether 224 and lowering or raising the payload coupling apparatus 226. In order to control the motor 222 via the speed controller, the tether control module 216 may receive data from a speed sensor (e.g., an encoder) configured to convert a mechanical position to a representative analog or digital signal. In particular, the speed sensor may include a rotary encoder that may provide information related to rotary position (and/or rotary movement) of a shaft of the motor or the spool coupled to the motor, among other possibilities. Based on the data from the speed sensor, the tether control module 216 may determine a rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or the spool and responsively control the motor 222 (e.g., by increasing or decreasing an electrical current supplied to the motor 222) to cause the rotational speed of the motor 222 to match a desired speed).
Regarding claim 16, Shannon discloses a method of operating an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) having a line operable to support a load (See at least abstract, [0002-0010]), the method comprising: determining a loaded/unloaded state of the line based upon information generated by a load sensor (See at least abstract, [0008-0010], [0114-0120], [0146-0152], [0265-0270], [0298-0302] UAV 200 may include various types of sensors, and may include a computing system configured to provide the functionality described herein. In the illustrated embodiment, the sensors of UAV 200 include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 202, ultrasonic sensor(s) 204, and a GPS 206, among other possible sensors and sensing systems. In practice, these sensors may include a current sensor coupled to the winch motor, a tension sensor on the tether, an inertial measurement unit (IMU) on the UAV and/or on the payload coupling apparatus, an image capture device on the UAV, and/or an encoder on the winch motor, among other possibilities. The UAV may determine that the payload has reached the ground based on a weight sensor detecting a threshold low downward force on the tether and/or based on a threshold low measurement of power drawn by the winch when lowering the payload. The tether control module 216 may be configured to determine a status of the tether 224 and/or the payload 228 based on the amount of current supplied to the motor 222. For instance, if a downward force is applied to the tether 224 (e.g., if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224 or if the tether 224 gets snagged on an object when retracting toward the UAV 200), the tether control module 216 may need to increase the motor current in order to cause the determined rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or spool to match the desired speed. For instance, the tether control module 216 could determine the motor current based on sensor data received from a current sensor of the motor or a current sensor of the power system 220. In any case, based on the current supplied to the motor 222, determine if the payload 228 is attached to the tether 224, if someone or something is pulling on the tether 224, and/or if the payload coupling apparatus 226 is pressing against the UAV 200 after retracting the tether 224. Other examples are possible as well. The control system is configured to, responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. The UAV may determine that the payload has reached the ground based on a weight sensor detecting a threshold low downward force on the tether and/or based on a threshold low measurement of power drawn by the winch when lowering the payload); and selectively raising and/or lowering a free end of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least abstract, [0006-0010], [0379-0380] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. Responsive to making such a determination, the control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether, and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation).
Shannon does not explicitly disclose determining a loaded/unloaded state of the line based upon information generated by a load sensor comprising an actuating arm, comprising: determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a depressed position, wherein the line depresses the actuating arm when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension; and determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a projected position, wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt the projected position when tension in the line falls below the threshold tension. However, Brunner teaches determining a loaded/unloaded state of the line based upon information generated by a load sensor comprising an actuating arm (See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0044-0048] The actuating mechanism comprises a weight sensor for detecting the presence of the load, by means of which sensor the actuating mechanism is controllable. The actuating mechanism 70 can also comprise a weight sensor 75 (as in FIGS. 5 and 6) for detecting the presence of the load, whereby this weight sensor can control the actuating mechanism 70. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70. This actuating mechanism 70 in the present example of FIG. 5 is a lever which can be moved by means of a bar 71. In fact, the lever 70 has a window 72 in which bar 71 is placed. The bar 71 itself is connected to a body 73 which can move up and down, being stopped in this movement by means of a stopper 74. In the resting position (as represented in FIG. 5), the bar 71 does not exert any force on the lever 70, and the eccentric 60 is situated in its blocking position, where no movement of the third blocking element 30 is allowed. Examiner notes that actuating lever 70 is mechanically liked to the load carrying element and its position is used to determine whether the load is present.), comprising: determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a depressed position, wherein the line depresses the actuating arm when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension (See at least abstract, [0022-0024] [0037-0040] [0044-0048] In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. The weight sensor 75 is achieved with the aid of a spring which is indirectly connected to the carrying element 20 and which can register the presence or the absence of the load attached to the carrying element, owing to the gravitational force. This gravitational force results in a movement of the body 73 and the corresponding bar 71 downward, which results automatically in a movement of the actuating lever 70 and the switching of the second blocking mechanism 60 (eccentric) into the blocking position. Examiner notes the downward position as the depressed position when the gravitational force of an attached load is present. The pivoting of the swivel lever 51 around the pivot point 52 is made impossible by the rotating am 54 which can be moved up and down by means of the motor 55 and a short connection lever 56. In such a position, the swivel lever 51 and the rotating arm 54 are capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load such that the whole pivoting mechanism 50 stays immobile.); and determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a projected position, wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt the projected position when tension in the line falls below the threshold tension (See at least abstract, [0022-0026], [0037-0045] In such a position, the swivel lever 51 is no longer capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load, and thus it is pivoted around the pivot point 52 which disengages the interior part 22 of the carrying element 20 from the recess 53 of the swivel lever 51. In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. Once the load is on the ground, i.e. once the weight sensor detects the absence of the corresponding gravitational force acting on the carrying element, it makes the actuating mechanism move the second blocking mechanism into the releasing position. However, each upward movement of the body 73 moves the bar 71, which pulls the actuating lever 70. Examiner notes the upward position as the projected position. As the actuating lever 70 is connected to the eccentric 60, the eccentric is moved into its releasing position which makes possible a switch of the third blocking element 30 into its releasing position (as represented in FIG. 6)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon to incorporate the teachings of Brunner which teaches determining a loaded/unloaded state of the line based upon information generated by a load sensor comprising an actuating arm, comprising: determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a depressed position, wherein the line depresses the actuating arm when tension in the line exceeds a threshold tension; and determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line as a loaded state in response to the actuating arm adopting a projected position, wherein the line permits the actuating arm to adopt the projected position when tension in the line falls below the threshold tension state since they are directed to load suspension systems, and incorporation of Brunner would improve the system’s mechanical indication of the loaded and unloaded state to more accurately determine whether the parcel remained attached.
Regarding claim 17, wherein selectively raising and/or lowering a free end of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line comprises (See at least Shannon abstract, [0006-0010], [0379-0380] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. Responsive to making such a determination, the control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether, and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation).): lowering the free end of the line to cause a parcel supported by the line to rest on a target surface (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus); with the parcel supported by the target surface, raising the free end of the line and determining the loaded/unloaded state of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0379-0380], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus. Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. [0022-0026], [0037-0045] In such a position, the swivel lever 51 is no longer capable of supporting the gravitational force of the carrying element 20 and the attached load, and thus it is pivoted around the pivot point 52 which disengages the interior part 22 of the carrying element 20 from the recess 53 of the swivel lever 51. In particular, the weight sensor can detect the presence of the attached load and initiate by itself the actuating of the actuating mechanism which consequently moves the second blocking mechanism into the blocking position. Once the load is on the ground, i.e. once the weight sensor detects the absence of the corresponding gravitational force acting on the carrying element, it makes the actuating mechanism move the second blocking mechanism into the releasing position. However, each upward movement of the body 73 moves the bar 71, which pulls the actuating lever 70. As the actuating lever 70 is connected to the eccentric 60, the eccentric is moved into its releasing position which makes possible a switch of the third blocking element 30 into its releasing position (as represented in FIG. 6)); and in response to determining that the line remains loaded, lowering the free end of the line an additional time (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig. 28 & 30, [0005-0010], [0013-0016], [0405-0410] During operation in the delivery mode, the control system is configured to operate the motor to unwind the tether and lower the payload toward the ground, detect when the payload contacts the ground, and responsively initiate a tether over-run process to attempt to release the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, where the tether over-run process is repeatable up to a predetermined number of times when the payload does not release from the payload coupling apparatus).
Regarding claim 18, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses counting a number of attempts to release the parcel from the free end of the line, each attempt comprising a corresponding lowering of the free end of the line (See at least Shannon abstract, [0006-0010], [0093-0096], [0379-0384] [0405-0410], The end of the hook is designed to be recessed slightly from the body of the capsule, which prevents the hook from accidentally re-attaching to the handle. After successful release, the hook gets winched back up into the aircraft. The control system is further configured to, during operation in the delivery mode, determine that the over-run process has been repeated the predetermined number of times without successful release of the payload. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. The control system may track how many times the processes of causing over-run of the tether and testing for payload separation have been carried out and may determine that these processes have been repeated a threshold number of times without successfully releasing the payload from the payload coupling apparatus, as shown by block 3406.); and severing the line in response to the number of attempts satisfying a threshold number of attempts (See at least Shannon abstract, Fig, 26, [0081-0085], [0148-0152], [0374-0380] As the payload remains stationary on the ground, the payload coupling apparatus may continue to lower, and a gravitational and/or an inertial force on the housing may cause the swing arm hook to detach from the payload. Upon lowering the release mechanism and the payload 228 to the ground via a tether, a gravitational force as well as a downward inertial force on the release mechanism may cause the payload 228 to detach from the hook allowing the release mechanism to be raised upwards toward the UAV. The release mechanism may further include a spring mechanism that biases the swing arm to retract into the housing when there are no other external forces on the swing arm. The control system may repeat the processes of lowering the payload to the ground, operating the motor to cause over-run of the tether (this time, perhaps, by some predetermined additional length), and then pulling upwards on the tether to test for payload separation, shown in blocks 3402 and 3404. As described above with respect to method 1800, the control system may detect when the payload contacts the ground by monitoring a speed and/or a current of the motor and determining that the motor speed and/or motor current is threshold low. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. Responsive to making this determination, the control system may decide to abandon further attempts to separate the payload from the payload coupling apparatus and may instead decide to separate the tether from the UAV by operating the motor to allow the tether to unwind during ascent of the UAV).
Regarding claim 19, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein selectively raising and/or lowering a free end of the line based upon the loaded/unloaded state of the line comprises raising the free end of the line to a raised position in response to determining the loaded/unloaded state as the unloaded state (See at least Shannon abstract [0008-0010], [0175-0180], [00374-0380], [0406-0408] Responsive to a determination that the payload coupling apparatus is mechanically coupled to the payload, operate the motor to retract the tether and lift the payload toward the UAV. After releasing payload 408, the control system may operate the spool 404 to retract the tether 402 and the payload coupling apparatus 412 toward the UAV 400. Once the payload coupling apparatus reaches or nears the UAV 400, the control system may operate the spool 404 to pull the payload coupling apparatus 412 into the receptacle 414, and the control system may toggle the payload latch 406 to the closed position, as shown in FIG. 4C. These processes may be repeated a number of times until the control system determines that the payload has separated from the payload coupling apparatus or until a threshold number of repetitions has occurred, as shown by block 3404. Responsive to making this determination, the control system may decide to abandon further attempts to separate the payload from the payload coupling apparatus and may instead decide to separate the tether from the UAV by operating the motor to allow the tether to unwind during ascent of the UAV).
Regarding claim 20, Shannon as modified by Brunner discloses wherein raising the free end of the line comprises rotating a spool of the UAV in a winding direction to thereby further wind the line on the spool (See at least Shannon abstract, [0141-0145] The tether 224 may be wound on a spool that is coupled to a motor 222 of the UAV. The motor 222 may take the form of a DC motor (e.g., a servo motor) that can be actively controlled by a speed controller. The tether control module 216 can control the speed controller to cause the motor 222 to rotate the spool, thereby unwinding or retracting the tether 224 and lowering or raising the payload coupling apparatus 226. In order to control the motor 222 via the speed controller, the tether control module 216 may receive data from a speed sensor (e.g., an encoder) configured to convert a mechanical position to a representative analog or digital signal. In particular, the speed sensor may include a rotary encoder that may provide information related to rotary position (and/or rotary movement) of a shaft of the motor or the spool coupled to the motor, among other possibilities. Based on the data from the speed sensor, the tether control module 216 may determine a rotational speed of the motor 222 and/or the spool and responsively control the motor 222 (e.g., by increasing or decreasing an electrical current supplied to the motor 222) to cause the rotational speed of the motor 222 to match a desired speed).
Claim(s) 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shannon (US 20180257779 A1) in view of Brunner (US 20090072562 A1), and further in view of Prager (US 20200277058 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shannon as modified by Brunner does not explicitly disclose further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect when the attachment device has reached a raised position; wherein the control system is further configured to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position in response to determining that the line is in the unloaded state; and wherein to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position comprises raising the free portion of the line until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device has reached the raised position. However, Prager teaches further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect when the attachment device has reached a raised position (See at least abstract, [0005-0007], [0035-0040], [0149-0156] The UAV may be repositioned in coordination with the winch system so as to bring the payload coupling apparatus to within a threshold distance of the payload. The sensors may be coupled to the UAV directly (e.g., connected to the UAV body), or indirectly (e.g., connected to the hook, which is tethered to the UAV), among other possibilities. The sensor data may include perception data, such as that from a depth camera or a light detection and ranging device, UAV height data, GPS data, magnetometer data, and orientation data, among other possibilities. The data may represent or may be used to determine a position of the payload, of the UAV relative to the payload, and of the hook relative to the payload, among other possibilities. In order to more directly control a position of the hook, the UAV system may employ a repositioning device or apparatus configured to control at least the horizontal position of the hook more directly. The control system may include, for example, a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller that adjusts a position of UAV 500 based on a difference between an actual position of payload coupling apparatus 512 and a position indicated by the trajectory, a derivative of this difference, and an integral of this difference. Based on data from the encoder, the control system may determine how many rotations spool 504 has undergone and, based on the number of rotations, determine a length of tether 502 that is unwound from spool 5) wherein the control system is further configured to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position in response to determining that the line is in the unloaded state (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0150], [0161], [0168-0171], [0204] The UAV may include a winch system having a tether disposed on a spool, driven by a motor, and configured to deploy a payload coupling apparatus coupled to the tether so as to engage a payload before pick-up or disengage the payload before drop-off. After attaching payload coupling apparatus 512 to payload 508, the control system may operate spool 504 to retract tether 502, payload coupling apparatus 512, and payload 508 toward UAV 500, as shown in FIG. 5E. Once payload coupling apparatus 512 reaches or nears UAV 500, the control system may operate spool 504 to pull payload coupling apparatus 512 into receptacle 514, and the control system may toggle payload latch 506 to the closed position. When payload coupling apparatus 700 is maneuvered to within the threshold distance of payload 508 and is set down on the ground, as shown in FIG. 8B, UAV 500 may be caused to hover in a fixed or approximately fixed location (e.g., within several centimeters of a set location) above payload 508 to maintain payload coupling apparatus 700 within the threshold distance of the payload. Payload coupling apparatus 700 may mechanically attach itself to attachment point 800 on payload 508 using lock 706, as shown in FIGS. 8D and 8E. Thereafter, spool 504 may be actuated to retract tether 502 and lift payload 508. Once payload coupling apparatus 700 is retracted into receptacle 514, UAV 500 may enter flight mode and may proceed to deliver payload 508 to its destination. after mechanically coupling to the payload, the aerial vehicle may be controlled in coordination with the winch system to pick up the payload.); and wherein to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position comprises raising the free portion of the line until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device has reached the raised position (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0035], [0149-0152], [0168-0170] The control system is further configured to receive, while the aerial vehicle hovers above the payload and from the sensor, sensor data indicative of a position of the payload coupling apparatus in relation to the payload. The control system is yet further configured to, while the aerial vehicle hovers above the payload, reposition, using the repositioning apparatus and based on the sensor data, the payload coupling apparatus in the horizontal direction to mechanically couple to the payload. The data may represent or may be used to determine a position of the payload, of the UAV relative to the payload, and of the hook relative to the payload, among other possibilities. Based on data from the encoder, the control system may determine how many rotations spool 504 has undergone and, based on the number of rotations, determine a length of tether 502 that is unwound from spool 504. Once payload coupling apparatus 512 reaches or nears UAV 500, the control system may operate spool 504 to pull payload coupling apparatus 512 into receptacle 514. Once payload coupling apparatus 700 is retracted into receptacle 514, UAV 500 may enter flight mode and may proceed to deliver payload 508 to its destination). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon as modified by Brunner to incorporate the teachings of Prager which teaches further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect when the attachment device has reached a raised position; wherein the control system is further configured to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position in response to determining that the line is in the unloaded state; and wherein to cause raising of the attachment device to the raised position comprises raising the free portion of the line until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device has reached the raised position since they are directed to load suspension systems, and incorporation of Prager would improve the reliability of the system and ensuring proper retraction before flight.
Regarding claim 11, Shannon as modified by Brunner does not explicitly disclose further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect the attachment device in a raised position; wherein the control system is further configured to raise the attachment device until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device is in the raised position. However, Prager teaches further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect the attachment device in a raised position(See at least abstract, [0005-0007], [0035-0040], [0149-0156] The UAV may be repositioned in coordination with the winch system so as to bring the payload coupling apparatus to within a threshold distance of the payload. The sensors may be coupled to the UAV directly (e.g., connected to the UAV body), or indirectly (e.g., connected to the hook, which is tethered to the UAV), among other possibilities. The sensor data may include perception data, such as that from a depth camera or a light detection and ranging device, UAV height data, GPS data, magnetometer data, and orientation data, among other possibilities. The data may represent or may be used to determine a position of the payload, of the UAV relative to the payload, and of the hook relative to the payload, among other possibilities. In order to more directly control a position of the hook, the UAV system may employ a repositioning device or apparatus configured to control at least the horizontal position of the hook more directly. The control system may include, for example, a proportional-integral-derivative (PID) controller that adjusts a position of UAV 500 based on a difference between an actual position of payload coupling apparatus 512 and a position indicated by the trajectory, a derivative of this difference, and an integral of this difference. Based on data from the encoder, the control system may determine how many rotations spool 504 has undergone and, based on the number of rotations, determine a length of tether 502 that is unwound from spool 5); wherein the control system is further configured to raise the attachment device until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device is in the raised position (See at least abstract, [0005-0010], [0035], [0149-0152], [0168-0170] The control system is further configured to receive, while the aerial vehicle hovers above the payload and from the sensor, sensor data indicative of a position of the payload coupling apparatus in relation to the payload. The control system is yet further configured to, while the aerial vehicle hovers above the payload, reposition, using the repositioning apparatus and based on the sensor data, the payload coupling apparatus in the horizontal direction to mechanically couple to the payload. The data may represent or may be used to determine a position of the payload, of the UAV relative to the payload, and of the hook relative to the payload, among other possibilities. Based on data from the encoder, the control system may determine how many rotations spool 504 has undergone and, based on the number of rotations, determine a length of tether 502 that is unwound from spool 504. Once payload coupling apparatus 512 reaches or nears UAV 500, the control system may operate spool 504 to pull payload coupling apparatus 512 into receptacle 514. Once payload coupling apparatus 700 is retracted into receptacle 514, UAV 500 may enter flight mode and may proceed to deliver payload 508 to its destination). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon as modified by Brunner to incorporate the teachings of Prager which teaches further comprising an attachment device sensor operable to detect the attachment device in a raised position; wherein the control system is further configured to raise the attachment device until the attachment device sensor indicates that the attachment device is in the raised position since they are directed to load suspension systems, and incorporation of Prager would improve the reliability of the system and ensuring proper retraction before flight.
Claim(s) 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shannon (US 20180257779 A1) in view of Brunner (US 20090072562 A1), and further in view of Brozik (US5263660A).
Regarding claim 8, Shannon as modified by Brunner does not explicitly disclose wherein the load sensor comprises a mechanical snap action switch including the actuating arm. However, Brozik teaches the wherein the load sensor comprises a mechanical snap action switch including the actuating arm ([Page 5, col 1, lines 55-60], [Page 7, col 5, lines 3-10], [Page 7, col 5, lines 30-40] There are safety control systems adapted for installation on extension booms that prevent two-blocking. In a typical system, a switch is installed near the upper load block. The switch 72 is connected to an electrical cable 86 to control the operation of the mechanism of the crane. The illustrated switch is microprocessor controlled. However, any switch would be appropriate. The lower load block 46 exerts an upward force on the cable follower 60, causing the flexible rod 66 to exert an upward force on the microswitch actuator 70, thus activating the microswitch 72.). ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified Shannon as modified by Brunner to incorporate the teachings of Brozik which teaches the wherein the load sensor comprises a mechanical snap action switch including the actuating arm since they are directed to suspension systems, and incorporation of Brozik would improve the reliability of the system to output the indication of the loaded and unload state.
Conclusion
/LABIBAH ILMA ALI/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/SAHAR MOTAZEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667