DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 12/12/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LV et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0048815 (henceforth referred to as LV).
LV teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising: a cabinet (paragraph [0068]); a tub disposed inside the cabinet (paragraph [0068]); a drum rotatably disposed inside the tub (paragraph [0132]); a detergent reservoir (1) located inside the cabinet, the detergent reservoir including an storage space where detergent is stored and a detergent injection hole (14) communicating with the storage space (paragraphs [0069] and [0097]; Figs. 1-5 and 15-17); a cap body (2’), at least a part of the cap body being configured to be inserted into the detergent injection hole (paragraph [0097]; Figs. 15-17); a cap flange portion (221’) protruding from the cap body in a radial direction and extending along a circumferential surface of the cap body to be located above the detergent injection hole; a leg engaging portion protruding from the cap body in the radial direction and located beneath the detergent injection hole to couple the cap body with the detergent reservoir; and a flow channel (211’) recessed in a surface of the cap flange portion facing the detergent injection hole and communicate the storage space of the detergent reservoir to an outside of the detergent reservoir, wherein the flow channel comprises a first channel and a second channel provided at symmetrical positions with the cap body interposed therebetween (paragraph [0097]; Figs. 16-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0048815 (henceforth referred to as LV).
LV teaches the features as per above.
As for claim 2, LV differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the first channel is provided in a symmetrical shape with respect to a reference line passing through a center of the cap body, and the second channel is provided in a symmetrical shape with respect to the reference line. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
As for claim 12, LV differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that an inlet of the flow channel is provided on the circumferential surface of the cap flange portion to communicate the storage space with an outside of the detergent reservoir. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As for claim 13, LV differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the flow channel extends from the circumferential surface of the cap flange portion toward the cap body along the radial direction of the cap flange portion. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: LV et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0048815, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach an open groove provided in the cap body to be recessed towards a center of the cap body to communicate the storage space of the detergent reservoir to the flow channel. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus taught by LV as claimed.
Conclusion
/LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711