DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/978,468, filed on December 12, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 12, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
Figure 6 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto et al (JP Pat Num 2022-082303, herein referred to as Makoto) in view of Hawakawa et al (Pub Num 2019/0248308, herein referred to as Hawakawa). Makoto discloses a cable (Figs 1-4C), for usage in automobiles as a brake cable (Paragraph 9), and is capable of detecting the sign of a break in an electrical wire with fixed sensitivity at any position (abstract), if the cable is repeatedly subjected to bending or vibration, resulting metal fatigue causing the conductors to break (Paragraph 3). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Makoto discloses a cable (1’, Fig 3A-3B) comprising a wire bundle (2) comprising a plurality of wires bundled together (2A, 2B, 2C, 2D), a binder tape (4) spirally wound around an outer circumference of the wire bundle (2, Paragraph 34), a conductive tape (7) having electrical conductivity and spirally wound around an outer circumference of the binder tape (4, Paragraph 57) and a sheath (5) covering the binder tape (4) and the conductive tape (7, Fig 3B), wherein the conductive tape (7) is spirally wound around the outer circumference of the binder tape (4) in such a manner that one end and another end in a width direction do not overlap (Fig 3A), wherein the plurality of wires (2A, 2B, 2C, 2D) are twisted together (Paragraph 33) and the binder tape (4) is spirally wrapped around the plurality of wires (2A, 2B, 2C, 2D, Paragraph 34) and wherein a spiral winding direction (as shown in Figs 4A & 4B) of the conductive tape (8) and a spiral winding direction of the binder tape (4) are the same (Fig 4A). With respect to claims 2-3, Makoto discloses that the spiral winding pitch of the conductive tape (7) is narrower than a spiral winding of pitch of the binder tape (4, Fig 3a), wherein the binder tape (4) is wider than a width of the conductive tape (7, Fig 3B).
However, Makoto doesn’t necessarily disclose the plurality of wires are twisted together, wherein the spiral winding direction of the binder tape and a twisting direction of the plurality of wires are opposite (claim 1).
Hawakawa teaches a cable (Figs 1-3), for usage in automobiles as a brake cable (Paragraphs 2-3), and having improved bending resistance and being easy to manufacture (Paragraph 9). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Hawakawa teaches a cable (1, Figs 2A-2B) comprising a wire bundle (2, 3) comprising a plurality of wires bundled together (2, 3), a binder tape (6) spirally wound around an outer circumference of the wire bundle (2, 3, Paragraph 32), and a sheath (7) covering the binder tape (6), wherein the plurality of wires (2, 3) are twisted together, wherein the spiral winding direction (clockwise) of the binder tape (6) and a twisting direction (counterclockwise) of the plurality of wires (2, 3) are opposite (Fig 2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of Makoto to comprise the plurality of wires are twisted together, wherein the spiral winding direction of the binder tape and a twisting direction of the plurality of wires are opposite configuration as taught by Hawakawa because Hawakawa teaches that such a configuration provides a cable (Figs 1-3), for usage in automobiles as a brake cable (Paragraphs 2-3), and having improved bending resistance and being easy to manufacture (Paragraph 9) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makoto (JP Pat Num 2022-082303) in view of Hawakawa (Pub Num 2019/0248308), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Makoto), further in view of Nakajima et al (JP Pat Num 2007/0305478A, herein referred to as Nakajima). Modified Makoto discloses a cable (Figs 1-4C), for usage in automobiles as a brake cable (Paragraph 45), and is capable of detecting the sign of a break in an electrical wire with fixed sensitivity at any position (abstract), if the cable is repeatedly subjected to bending or vibration, resulting metal fatigue causing the conductors to break (Paragraph 3). With respect to claim 4, modified Makoto discloses that a linear conductor (3) in a cable longitudinal direction (Fig 3B) and arranged together with the plurality of wires (2A, 2B, 2C, 2D) inside of the binder tape (4, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 5, modified Makoto discloses a damage detection device (9, Fig 2) for detecting damage to the cable (1, Paragraph 48), wherein an electric current is applied to the conductive tape (7) and the linear conductor (3) and a damage detection signal indicating that damage has occurred to the cable (1) is output when the electric current is inactive (Paragraph 48).
However, modified Makoto doesn’t necessarily disclose the linear conductor electrically connected to the conductive tape at one terminal (claim 5).
Nakajima teaches a cable (Figs 1-3), for usage in automobiles (Paragraph 2), and having improved break detection (Paragraph 7) as a result of bending causing breakage of conductors (Paragraph 5). Specifically, with respect to claim 5, Nakajima teaches a cable (10, Figs 2A-2B) comprising a wire bundle (11) comprising a plurality of wires bundled together (15), a conductive tape (12) surrounding an outer circumference of the wire bundle (15, Paragraph 32), a linear conductor (14), and a sheath (13) covering the conductive tape (12), wherein the linear conductor (14) is electrical connected to the conductive tape (14, Paragraph 22) at one terminal (Figs 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable of modified Makoto to comprise the linear conductor electrically connected to the conductive tape at one terminal configuration as taught by Nakajima because Nakajima teaches that such a configuration provides a cable (Figs 1-3), for usage in automobiles (Paragraph 2), and having improved break detection (Paragraph 7) as a result of bending causing breakage of conductors (Paragraph 5) and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various configurations of cable for usage in automobiles, as brake cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
August 17, 2026