Claim Objections
1. Claims 17-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 17-21 recite “one or more circuits according to claim 15…” However, claim 15 recites one or more non-transitory computer readable storage devices in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Dunn (US 2022/0094523).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn discloses a communication method (Figure 4) comprising:
receiving a packet including a truncated data symbol sample and an indication of a truncation ratio; based at least in part on the truncation ratio (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. Because of this function taking place at the receiver, the receiver receives at least the expected size or the amount of truncation that occurs in the received data frame so the padding bits can be appended to return the samples to the expected size.),
determining a number of additional truncated data symbol samples for appending to the truncated data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. The number of padding bits is determined prior to appending those padding bits.); and
appending the number of additional truncated data symbol samples to the truncated data symbol sample in order to obtain a whole data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size.).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn discloses wherein the method is performed in association with one or more of a downlink communication and an uplink communication (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. This transmission will be in an uplink or a downlink communication.).
Regarding claim 7, Dunn discloses wherein the truncation ratio is indicated in one or more of a common field or a special info field for a multi-user Phy protocol data unit (PPDU) or a trigger frame for a trigger based PPDU (This recitation does not require a step to be performed. The receiver does not control the format of a signal to be received. Therefore, the recitation does not limit the claim in terms of scope.).
Regarding claim 8, Dunn discloses one or more circuits for performing a method (Figure 4 shows the method. The means for executing this method will comprise one or more circuits.) comprising:
receiving a packet including a truncated data symbol sample and an indication of a truncation ratio; based at least in part on the truncation ratio (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. Because of this function taking place at the receiver, the receiver receives at least the expected size or the amount of truncation that occurs in the received data frame so the padding bits can be appended to return the samples to the expected size.),
determining a number of additional truncated data symbol samples for appending to the truncated data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. The number of padding bits is determined prior to appending those padding bits.); and
appending the number of additional truncated data symbol samples to the truncated data symbol sample in order to obtain a whole data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size.).
Regarding claim 13, Dunn discloses wherein the method is performed in association with one or more of a downlink communication and an uplink communication (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. This transmission will be in an uplink or a downlink communication.).
Regarding claim 14, Dunn discloses wherein the truncation ratio is indicated in one or more of a common field or a special info field for a multi-user Phy protocol data unit (PPDU) or a trigger frame for a trigger based PPDU (This recitation does not require a step to be performed. The receiver does not control the format of a signal to be received. Therefore, the recitation does not limit the claim in terms of scope.).
Regarding claim 15, Dunn discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage devices comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed (Paragraph 0022: the processor 110 can have access to a memory 150 in a device.), cause one or more circuits to perform a method (Figure 4) comprising:
receiving a packet including a truncated data symbol sample and an indication of a truncation ratio; based at least in part on the truncation ratio (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. Because of this function taking place at the receiver, the receiver receives at least the expected size or the amount of truncation that occurs in the received data frame so the padding bits can be appended to return the samples to the expected size.),
determining a number of additional truncated data symbol samples for appending to the truncated data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size. The number of padding bits is determined prior to appending those padding bits.); and
appending the number of additional truncated data symbol samples to the truncated data symbol sample in order to obtain a whole data symbol sample (Paragraph 0041: In step 1414, the receiver appends generic padding bits to the samples replacing those that had been truncated in order to return the samples to the expected size.).
Regarding claim 20, Dunn discloses wherein the method is performed in association with one or more of a downlink communication and an uplink communication (Paragraph 0041: in step 408, the set of samples and the encrypted data frame are transmitted to the receiver. This transmission will be in an uplink or a downlink communication.).
Regarding claim 21, Dunn discloses wherein the truncation ratio is indicated in one or more of a common field or a special info field for a multi-user Phy protocol data unit (PPDU) or a trigger frame for a trigger based PPDU (This recitation does not require a step to be performed. The receiver does not control the format of a signal to be received. Therefore, the recitation does not limit the claim in terms of scope.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn (US 2022/0094523) in view of Perets et al (US 9,87,607).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Dunn discloses the method, circuit and non-transitory computer readable medium stated above. Dunn does not disclose wherein prior to appending, the method further includes performing at least one arithmetic operation on the truncated data symbol sample to obtain at least one of the additional truncated data symbol samples, wherein the at least one arithmetic operation includes one or more of: same repetition, mirror repetition, negation and conjugation.
Perets discloses multiplying the OFDM symbol (prior to windowing) by the complex conjugate of the expression in equation 5, and then applying the windowing and FFT to compensated signal for demodulation at the receiver as stated in column 5, lines 14-29. These steps will comprise at least one arithmetic function of one or more of: same repetition, mirror repetition, negation and conjugation. Figure 2 shows the receiver 28. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the process of recovering the transmitted data of Perets into the receiver of Dunn. Perets discloses the invention overcomes the issues in communication as stated in column 1, line 55 to column 2, line 3. By overcoming these issues, the communication system will operate efficiently and effectively.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Dunn discloses the method, circuit and non-transitory computer readable medium stated above. Dunn does not disclose applying a discrete Fourier transform (DFT) to the whole data symbol sample thereby obtaining the data symbol.
Perets discloses multiplying the OFDM symbol (prior to windowing) by the complex conjugate of the expression in equation 5, and then applying the windowing and FFT to compensated signal for demodulation at the receiver as stated in column 5, lines 14-29. The FFT is an implementation of the DFT. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the process of recovering the transmitted data of Perets into the receiver of Dunn. Perets discloses the invention overcomes the issues in communication as stated in column 1, line 55 to column 2, line 3. By overcoming these issues, the communication system will operate efficiently and effectively.
4. Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn (US 2022/0094523) in view of Wang et al (US 2005/0185724).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Dunn discloses the method, circuit and non-transitory computer readable medium stated above. Dunn does not disclose wherein prior to appending, the method further comprises removing a guard interval from the truncated data symbol sample.
Wang discloses the communication system shown in figure 1. Wang discloses the received signal is input to the GI removal block 32. The output signal from GI removal block is input to the FFT 36. The signal is then demodulated in demodulation rate match block 44 and decoded in decoder 46 to recover the transmitted information. Paragraph 0024 provides additional information. The guard interval is used to minimize inter-symbol interference. The GI is removed at the receiver so the originally transmitted information can be recovered. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a guard interval in the transmission to minimize inter-symbol interference and remove the GI once the signal is received at the receiver. Preventing interference improves the function of the communication system.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 17, the combination discloses wherein prior to appending, the method further comprises removing the guard interval from the truncated data symbol sample to obtain at least one of the additional truncated data symbol samples (Wang: figure 1: The first function after the received signal is received is the guard interval removal in block 32. All other processing of the received signal takes place after the GI removal.).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsumoto et al (US 2008/0008256) discloses the communication system shown in figure 5. The receiver comprises a GI deletion section 153. FFT section 154 processes the signal and outputs the signal to determining section 156 and demodulation section 159.
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 7/28/2026