DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 12/12/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 06/11/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to IT 102023000026592, filed on 12/13/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024, and 12/13/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 06/11/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn, and claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12 are now in condition for allowance. However, claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC 112(d) for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026, with respect to claim 11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Sakamoto discloses all the aspects of claim 11. Specifically, Sakamoto discloses said clamp system {16 (“tilt lever 16” and “a threaded member” (Col. 5, lines 56 and 57) are capable of applying “a clamping force”)} comprises an elongate lever {16+“threaded member”} that extends longitudinally {via both the “threaded member”, and handle portion of 16 (Fig. 5)} in a direction parallel to the second axis {about the tilt axis (pivot point axis): “a tilt mechanism 4 for movement together with the steering column in a direction generally parallel to the plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 27-30); “tilting motion of the steering column 1a” (Col. 6, line 50); “steering column 1a is to be tilted about the pivot point” (Col. 7, lines 35-36)}… wherein in said fastening condition {locked/clamped condition} an intermediate portion {intermediate portion of the “threaded member” between the left end of the unlabeled “threaded member” and the top end of 16} of the lever {16+“threaded member”} is arranged in abutment against a shoulder {portion of 15 contacting the “threaded member” (Fig. 5: shows contact between 15 and the “threaded member” along the entire length of the “threaded member”)} of said sleeve {1a+15} so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve {1a+15 (Fig. 5): “tilt lever 16 having one end extending through one of the guide slots 17 and then fixedly through the slide block 15 and terminating within the other of the guide slots 17, and the other end bent to protrude towards the driver's seat for the access to the hand of the driver. This tilt lever 16 is utilized to unlock and lock the slide block 15 before and after the tilt adjustment of the steering wheel and is so designed and so operable in the illustrated embodiment that, when the tilt lever 16 is turned in either direction, a threaded member moves to protrude or retract, depending on the direction of turn of the tilt lever 16, to apply or release a clamping force necessary for the opposite wall portions of the bracket 14, respectively. Thus, when the steering column 1a is moved between the up and down positions, the first mentioned end of the tilt lever 16 is guided within the guide slots 17 and, therefore, the distance of movement of the slide block 15 within the space delimited within” (Col. 5, lines 47-65)}. Therefore, claim 11 is clearly disclosed by Sakamoto, and will receive a 102 rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 2, line 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said fixing means” should read, “said clamp system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1 from which it depends, because “arranged in abutment against” and “arranged in direct contact with” mean the same thing and are synonymous. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakamoto (US 4,690,432), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 11, Sakamoto discloses a steering column assembly {Figs. 1-9} comprising:
- a support structure {5 (11): “the bracket structure 5 comprises a column support frame 11” (Col. 4, lines 40-41)} suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame {10: “the column support frame 11 has one end rigidly secured to one of the opposite lateral portions of a cab side body 10… column support frame 11 may be rigidly connected to the other of the lateral portions of the cab side body 10” (Col. 4, lines 48-50 and 57-58)};
- a sleeve {1a+15 (Fig. 5)} extending along a first axis {“longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30)} and coupled to said support structure {5 (11): sleeve 1 is coupled to support structure 5 (11) via tilt mechanism 4: “tilt mechanism 4 being in turn supported by a bracket structure 5 rigid with an automobile body structure and having a physical strength sufficient to support the steering system, including the steering shaft 1 and the steering column 1a” (Col. 4, lines 30-34)} so as to be able to swing {“tilt”} about a second axis {about a tilt axis (pivot point axis): “a tilt mechanism 4 for movement together with the steering column in a direction generally parallel to the plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 27-30); “tilting motion of the steering column 1a” (Col. 6, line 50); “steering column 1a is to be tilted about the pivot point” (Col. 7, lines 35-36)}, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis {“perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30)};
- a steering column {1: “steering shaft 1” (col. 5, lines 34-35)} extending coaxially within said sleeve {1a (Fig. 7): “steering column 1a” (Col. 5, line 34)} and turnable {rotatable} about said first axis {5, “longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30): the steering column (steering shaft 1) extends coaxially and rotatably within said sleeve (steering column 1a): “a steering column, having a steering shaft rotatably extending therein” (Claim 1)};
- an instrument cluster {2: “gauge cluster 2” (Col. 4, line 23)};
- a bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} carrying said instrument cluster {2: “the gauge cluster 2 mounted on the arm member 18” (Col. 7, lines 41-42)};
- a clamp system {16 (“tilt lever 16” and “a threaded member” (Col. 5, lines 56 and 57) are capable of applying “a clamping force”): “tilt lever 16 is utilized to unlock and lock the slide block 15 before and after the tilt adjustment of the steering wheel and is so designed and so operable in the illustrated embodiment that, when the tilt lever 16 is turned in either direction, a threaded member moves to protrude or retract, depending on the direction of turn of the tilt lever 16, to apply or release a clamping force necessary for the opposite wall portions of the bracket 14, respectively” (Col. 5, lines 52-60)} securing said bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} to said sleeve {1a+15: “a slide block 15 of a cross-sectional shape similar to the cross-sectional representation of the bracket 14 and rigidly mounted on, or integrally formed with, the steering column 1a so as to permit the steering shaft 1 to pass therethrough” (Col. 5, lines 31-35)};
wherein said clamp system {16 (“tilt lever 16” and “a threaded member” (Col. 5, lines 56 and 57) are capable of applying “a clamping force”)} comprises an elongate lever {16+“threaded member”} that extends longitudinally {via both the bolt portion, and handle portion of 16 (Fig. 5)} in a direction parallel to the second axis {about the tilt axis (pivot point axis): “a tilt mechanism 4 for movement together with the steering column in a direction generally parallel to the plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 27-30); “tilting motion of the steering column 1a” (Col. 6, line 50); “steering column 1a is to be tilted about the pivot point” (Col. 7, lines 35-36)} and is hinged to said bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition {locked/clamped condition}, and wherein in said fastening condition {locked/clamped condition} an intermediate portion {intermediate portion of the “threaded member” between the left end and right end of the unlabeled “threaded member” of the lever} of the lever {16+“threaded member”} is arranged in abutment against a shoulder {portion of 15 contacting the “threaded member” (Fig. 5)} of said sleeve {1a+15} so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve {1a+15 (Fig. 5): “tilt lever 16 having one end extending through one of the guide slots 17 and then fixedly through the slide block 15 and terminating within the other of the guide slots 17, and the other end bent to protrude towards the driver's seat for the access to the hand of the driver. This tilt lever 16 is utilized to unlock and lock the slide block 15 before and after the tilt adjustment of the steering wheel and is so designed and so operable in the illustrated embodiment that, when the tilt lever 16 is turned in either direction, a threaded member moves to protrude or retract, depending on the direction of turn of the tilt lever 16, to apply or release a clamping force necessary for the opposite wall portions of the bracket 14, respectively. Thus, when the steering column 1a is moved between the up and down positions, the first mentioned end of the tilt lever 16 is guided within the guide slots 17 and, therefore, the distance of movement of the slide block 15 within the space delimited within” (Col. 5, lines 47-65)}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the closest prior art of record is Sakamoto. Sakamoto discloses a steering column assembly {Figs. 1-9} comprising:
- a support structure {5 (11): “the bracket structure 5 comprises a column support frame 11” (Col. 4, lines 40-41)} suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame {10: “the column support frame 11 has one end rigidly secured to one of the opposite lateral portions of a cab side body 10… column support frame 11 may be rigidly connected to the other of the lateral portions of the cab side body 10” (Col. 4, lines 48-50 and 57-58)};
- a sleeve {1a+15 (Fig. 5)} extending along a first axis {“longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30)} and coupled to said support structure {5 (11): sleeve 1 is coupled to support structure 5 (11) via tilt mechanism 4: “tilt mechanism 4 being in turn supported by a bracket structure 5 rigid with an automobile body structure and having a physical strength sufficient to support the steering system, including the steering shaft 1 and the steering column 1a” (Col. 4, lines 30-34)} so as to be able to swing {“tilt”} about a second axis {about a tilt axis (pivot point axis): “a tilt mechanism 4 for movement together with the steering column in a direction generally parallel to the plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 27-30); “tilting motion of the steering column 1a” (Col. 6, line 50); “steering column 1a is to be tilted about the pivot point” (Col. 7, lines 35-36)}, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis {“perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30)};
- a steering column {1: “steering shaft 1” (col. 5, lines 34-35)} extending coaxially within said sleeve {1a (Fig. 7): “steering column 1a” (Col. 5, line 34)} and turnable {rotatable} about said first axis {5, “longitudinal axis of the steering shaft 1” (Col. 4, lines 29-30): the steering column (steering shaft 1) extends coaxially and rotatably within said sleeve (steering column 1a): “a steering column, having a steering shaft rotatably extending therein” (Claim 1)};
- an instrument cluster {2: “gauge cluster 2” (Col. 4, line 23)};
- a bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} carrying said instrument cluster {2: “the gauge cluster 2 mounted on the arm member 18” (Col. 7, lines 41-42)};
- a clamp system {16 (“tilt lever 16” and “a threaded member” (Col. 5, lines 56 and 57) are capable of applying “a clamping force”): “tilt lever 16 is utilized to unlock and lock the slide block 15 before and after the tilt adjustment of the steering wheel and is so designed and so operable in the illustrated embodiment that, when the tilt lever 16 is turned in either direction, a threaded member moves to protrude or retract, depending on the direction of turn of the tilt lever 16, to apply or release a clamping force necessary for the opposite wall portions of the bracket 14, respectively” (Col. 5, lines 52-60)} securing said bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} to said sleeve {1a+15: “a slide block 15 of a cross-sectional shape similar to the cross-sectional representation of the bracket 14 and rigidly mounted on, or integrally formed with, the steering column 1a so as to permit the steering shaft 1 to pass therethrough” (Col. 5, lines 31-35)}; wherein said clamp system {16 (“tilt lever 16” and “a threaded member” (Col. 5, lines 56 and 57) are capable of applying “a clamping force”)} comprises a lever {16} hinged to said bracket {14+17+18 (Fig. 5)} so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition {around a hinge point at the top of lever 16 (Fig. 5)}, and wherein in said fastening condition {around a hinge point at the top of lever 16 (Fig. 5)} an intermediate portion {portion of 16 right below where the label marking 16 is in Fig. 5} of the lever {16} is arranged in abutment against a shoulder {bottom portion of 15 (Fig. 5)} of said sleeve {1a+15} so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve {1a+15 (Fig. 5): “tilt lever 16 having one end extending through one of the guide slots 17 and then fixedly through the slide block 15 and terminating within the other of the guide slots 17, and the other end bent to protrude towards the driver's seat for the access to the hand of the driver. This tilt lever 16 is utilized to unlock and lock the slide block 15 before and after the tilt adjustment of the steering wheel and is so designed and so operable in the illustrated embodiment that, when the tilt lever 16 is turned in either direction, a threaded member moves to protrude or retract, depending on the direction of turn of the tilt lever 16, to apply or release a clamping force necessary for the opposite wall portions of the bracket 14, respectively. Thus, when the steering column 1a is moved between the up and down positions, the first mentioned end of the tilt lever 16 is guided within the guide slots 17 and, therefore, the distance of movement of the slide block 15 within the space delimited within” (Col. 5, lines 47-65)}.
However, Sakamoto does not disclose said clamp system comprises a lever hinged to said bracket so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition around an axis parallel to the first axis (emphasis added).
Cartwright (US 5,678,454) is the second closest prior art of record, and discloses the deficiency of Sakamoto.
Cartwright teaches a steering column assembly {10} comprising:
- a support structure {68} suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame {“A support (68, 144) for connecting the steering column to a vehicle frame” (Abstract)};
- a sleeve {58} extending along a first axis {longitudinal axis of the steering column 12 (Figs. 1-3)} and coupled to said support structure {68};
- a steering column {12+16} extending coaxially within said sleeve {58} and turnable about said first axis {longitudinal axis of the steering column 12 (Figs. 1-3)};
- an instrument cluster {104+106+107+108+109+110+180+210+212 (Fig. 1)};
- a bracket {144} carrying said instrument cluster {104+106+107+108+109+110+180+210+212 (via 151+153, see Fig. 3)};
- a clamp system {122+124} securing said bracket {144} to said sleeve {58 (Fig. 3)};
wherein said clamp system {122+124} comprises a lever {122} hinged to said bracket {144 (Figs. 3-4)} so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition {Fig. 3} around an axis {124} parallel to the first axis {longitudinal axis of the steering column 12 (Figs. 1-3): “cam 122 includes a longitudinally extending camming portion 124 (FIGS. 1 and 3) extending substantially parallel to the steering column member 14” (Col. 3, lines 36-39)}, and wherein in said fastening condition {Fig. 3} an intermediate portion of the lever {122} is arranged in abutment against a shoulder {of said bracket} so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve {58: “When the edge 132 of the cam 122 engages the lip 146 of the clamping member 144, as shown in solid lines in FIG. 5, the jacket tube 58 is clamped between the arcuate portion 150 of the clamping member 144 and the arcuate portion 160 of the support 68. Upon rotation of the cam 122 about the axis of the portion 124 to the position shown in dot-dash lines in FIG. 5, the flat side wall 130 of the portion 124 comes into engagement with the lip 146. The clamping member 144 pivots relative to the support 68 and the arcuate portion 150 of the clamping member 144 moves radially outwardly to the position shown in dot-dash lines in FIG. 5 to release the jacket tube 58. Accordingly, the steering column member 12 can be moved axially relative to the steering column member 1” (Col. 4, lines 23-37)}.
However, Cartwright does not disclose a sleeve extending along a first axis and coupled to said support structure so as to be able to swing about a second axis, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis; or in said fastening condition an intermediate portion of the lever is arranged in abutment against a shoulder of said sleeve so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve (emphasis added).
Although Sakamoto and Cartwright together disclose all the aspects of claim 1, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Sakamoto to include the lever hinged to said bracket so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition around an axis parallel to the first axis, as taught by Cartwright, since such a modification would require a significant redesign of the clamp system (and therefore the entire steering column assembly) of Sakamoto.
Therefore, regarding claim 1, none of the prior art of record filed before the effective filing date, either alone or in obvious combination, discloses a steering column assembly comprising:
- a support structure suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame;
- a sleeve extending along a first axis and coupled to said support structure so as to be able to swing about a second axis, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis;
- a steering column extending coaxially within said sleeve and turnable about said first axis;
- an instrument cluster;
- a bracket carrying said instrument cluster;
- a clamp system securing said bracket to said sleeve; wherein said clamp system comprises a lever hinged to said bracket so as to rotate towards and away from a fastening condition around an axis parallel to the first axis, and wherein in said fastening condition an intermediate portion of the lever is arranged in abutment against a shoulder of said sleeve so as to directly exert a radial force onto said sleeve.
Accordingly, claims 2, 4-5 and 12 are allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art of record filed before the effective filing date, either alone or in obvious combination, discloses a steering column assembly, comprising:
- a support structure suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame;
- a sleeve extending along a first axis and coupled to said support structure so as to be able to swing about a second axis, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis;
- a steering column extending coaxially within said sleeve and turnable about said first axis;
- an instrument cluster;
- a bracket carrying said instrument cluster;
- fixing means securing said bracket to said sleeve and comprising a clamp system; wherein said fixing means further comprise two screws axially spaced apart along said sleeve (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 7, none of the prior art of record filed before the effective filing date, either alone or in obvious combination, discloses a steering column assembly, comprising:
- a support structure suitable for attachment to a vehicle frame;
- a sleeve extending along a first axis and coupled to said support structure so as to be able to swing about a second axis, extending horizontally and orthogonally with respect to said first axis;
- a steering column extending coaxially within said sleeve and turnable about said first axis;- an instrument cluster;
- a bracket carrying said instrument cluster;
- fixing means securing said bracket to said sleeve and comprising a clamp system;
- wherein said clamp system comprises a lever hinged to said bracket;
wherein said bracket comprises a cradle, in turn comprising a first and a second wing, diametrically opposed to each other, and a central portion arranged between said first and second wings; and wherein said lever comprises a first end hinged to said first wing, an intermediate portion arranged against a shoulder of said sleeve, and a second end, which is opposite to said first end and is fixed to said second wing by a fastening element (emphasis added).
Accordingly, claims 8-10 are allowable by virtue of dependence from claim 7.
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614