DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the response filed 23 February 2026 the applicant argues that the amendment to the independent claims overcomes the 102/103 rejections using the Ye reference. Specifically, the applicant states “In Ye, the line Tx is not positioned between every two adjacent touch electrodes, and at least some of the adjacent touch electrodes are not separated by the line Tx. See, e.g., FIG. 1 of Ye.” However, the “line Tx” was not used as the claimed additional electrode pattern(s), rather, all of the horizontal Tx electrodes were used as the claimed additional electrode pattern(s). Thus, since the Tx [additional electrode pattern] and Rx [electrode pattern] are formed in diamond shapes and interweaved, Figure 1 of Ye teaches the claim amendment (See the marked-up copy of Figure 1 of Ye in the rejection of claim 17 below.). While the examiner understands the differences between applicant’s invention and Ye, those difference have not yet been clarified in the claimed language.
Therefore, the rejections of the independent claim are maintained. Since the dependent claims are not argued, those rejections are also maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (US 2021/0397341).
Regarding claim 17, Ye discloses a display device comprising:
a first touch block including a first plurality of touch electrodes and a first additional electrode pattern adjacent to the first plurality of touch electrodes, the first additional electrode pattern configured to transmit a first signal to the first plurality of touch electrodes (Figure 1 shows a first touch block 10 including a first plurality of touch electrodes [the electrodes connected in the vertical direction, i.e. the Rx electrodes], and a first additional electrode pattern [the electrodes connected in the horizontal direction, i.e. the Tx electrodes] adjacent to the first plurality of touch electrodes. The Tx electrodes transmit a signal to the Rx electrodes.), the first additional electrode pattern positioned between every two adjacent first touch electrodes of the plurality of first touch electrodes (Figure 1, due to the arrangement of the Rx and Tx electrodes, the Tx electrode pattern is positioned between every two adjacent Rx electrodes. See the marked-up copy of Figure 1 below.);
a second touch block including a second plurality of touch electrodes and a second additional electrode pattern adjacent to the second plurality of touch electrode, the second additional electrode pattern configured to transmit a second signal different from the first signal to the second plurality of touch electrodes (Figure 1 shows a second touch block 20 including a second plurality of touch electrodes [the electrodes connected in the vertical direction, i.e. the Rx electrodes], and a second additional electrode pattern [the electrodes connected in the horizontal direction, i.e. the Tx electrodes] adjacent to the second plurality of touch electrodes. The Tx electrodes transmits a different signal to the Rx electrodes: Paragraph [0065], for example, states that different frequency signals are transmitted in the first and second touch blocks [10 and 20].), the second additional electrode pattern positioned between every two adjacent second touch electrodes of the plurality of second touch electrodes (Figure 1, due to the arrangement of the Rx and Tx electrodes, the Tx electrode pattern is positioned between every two adjacent Rx electrodes. See the marked-up copy of Figure 1 below.);
a first touch line connected to a first touch electrode of the first plurality of touch electrodes and a first touch electrode of the second plurality of touch electrodes (Figure 1 shows a first touch line for the first column of Rx electrodes which is connected to a first touch electrode of the first plurality of touch electrodes in block 10, and also connected to a first touch electrode of the second plurality of touch electrodes in block 20.); and
a second touch line connected to a second touch electrode of the first plurality of touch electrodes and a second touch electrode of the second plurality of touch electrodes (Figure 1 shows a second touch line for the second column of Rx electrodes which is connected to a second touch electrode of the first plurality of touch electrodes in block 10, and also connected to a second touch electrode of the second plurality of touch electrodes in block 20.).
For illustrative purposes, the examiner has filled in the Tx electrodes making up the first additional electrode pattern and placed arrows showing where the first additional electrode pattern is between every two adjacent first touch electrodes of the plurality of first touch electrodes (Rx electrodes). Although only the first touch block is shown for illustrative purposes, it is understood the same applies for the second touch block of Figure 1 of Ye.
Regarding claim 18, Ye discloses the display device of claim 17, wherein the first signal includes a first frequency and the second signal includes a second frequency different from the first frequency (Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Ye discloses the display device of claim 17, further comprising a first touch sensing unit coupled to the first touch line and a second touch sensing unit coupled to the second touch line (Figures 2 and 6, the touch driving IC has a first touch sensing unit coupled to the first touch line and a second touch sensing unit coupled to the second touch line, i.e. the touch lines are coupled into the touch driving IC 30 and thus 30 is both a first touch sensing unit and a second touch sensing unit.).
Regarding claim 20, Ye discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein each of the first touch sensing unit and the second touch sensing unit includes an analog-front end and a frequency detector (Paragraph [0093], AFE is the analog-front end and NBF is a filter for the frequencies and thus is a frequency detector.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 2021/0397341) in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0111467).
Regarding claim 1, please refer to the rejection of claim 17 above, and furthermore Ye also discloses:
the first additional electrode pattern individually partitions the plurality of first touch electrodes (Figure 1 shoes that in block 10 the horizontally connected Tx electrodes [first additional electrode pattern] “individually partition” the vertically connected Rx electrodes [first touch electrodes]. See the marked-up copy of Figure 1 above in claim 17.);
the second additional electrode pattern individually partitions the plurality of second touch electrodes (Figure 1 shoes that in block 20 the horizontally connected Tx electrodes [second additional electrode pattern] “individually partition” the vertically connected Rx electrodes [second touch electrodes]. See the marked-up copy of Figure 1 above in claim 17.);
a touch driver (Figure 2, 30 is a touch driver) configured to supply a first periodic signal having a first frequency to the first additional electrode pattern and supply a second periodic signal having a second frequency different from the first frequency to the second additional electrode pattern (Figure 3, step S10 and paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and [0081]-[0082].); and
a touch sensing circuit (Figure 2, 30 is a touch sensing circuit) configured to sense touch lines each connecting one of the plurality of first touch electrodes to one of the plurality of second touch electrodes (Figure 3, step S20 and Figure 6.).
Ye fails to explicitly teach the touch driver configured to supply the first signal through a first touch block driving line and supply the second signal through a second touch block driving line.
Chen et al. disclose a touch driver configured to supply a signal through a touch block driving line (Figure 2 shows that the driving unit 120 [touch driver: see paragraph [0016], which says “Besides driving the pixels of the pixel matrix M to display images, the display driving unit 120 is also configured to output a common voltage Vcom or the touch scanning signals S1 via the second sensing electrodes TX”.] supplies a Tx signal to the electrodes through a touch block driving line.).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination Ye performs the same function as it does separately of providing first and second touch blocks each comprising transmission electrodes [additional electrode patterns], and Chen et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing signals to electrodes through a touch block driving line.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in providing the teachings of Chen et al. for each touch block in Ye such that the first periodic signal is applied to the first additional electrode pattern through a first touch block driving line and the second period signal is applied to the second additional electrode pattern through a second touch block driving line.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 1, wherein the first additional electrode pattern is configured to perform a function of a transmission antenna for transmitting the first periodic signal (Ye: Figure 1 shows the Tx electrodes in block 10, which are transmission electrodes and thus perform a function of a transmission antenna for transmitting the first periodic signal.),
the second additional electrode pattern is configured to perform a function of a transmission antenna for transmitting the second periodic signal (Ye: Figure 1 shows the Tx electrodes in block 20, which are transmission electrodes and thus perform a function of a transmission antenna for transmitting the second periodic signal.),
the plurality of first touch electrodes are configured to perform a function of a reception antenna for receiving the first periodic signal from the first additional electrode pattern (Ye: Figure 1 shows the Rx electrodes in block 10, which are receiving electrodes, and thus perform a function of a reception antenna for receiving the first periodic signal from the first additional electrode pattern.), and
the plurality of second touch electrodes are configured to perform a function of a reception antenna for receiving the second periodic signal from the second additional electrode pattern (Ye: Figure 1 shows the Rx electrodes in block 20, which are receiving electrodes, and thus perform a function of a reception antenna for receiving the second periodic signal from the second additional electrode pattern.).
Regarding claim 3, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 1, wherein the touch sensing circuit is configured to sense a sum signal of the first periodic signal having the first frequency and the second periodic signal having the second frequency through each of the touch lines and to convert a touch line-based sensing signal, obtained through sensing, into a frequency domain signal (Ye: Figure 6 and paragraph [0093].).
Regarding claim 4, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 3, wherein the line-based sensing signal represents one of a first magnitude or a second magnitude in the first frequency of the frequency domain signal and represents one of a third magnitude or a fourth magnitude in the second frequency of the frequency domain signal (Ye: Paragraphs [0095]-[0097], there is always a baseline signal [first or third magnitude] which is when there is no touch and there is then a detected signal level [second or fourth magnitude] when there is a touch. This is how a touch detection system works.),
the first magnitude and the third magnitude correspond to a non-touch input, and the second magnitude and the fourth magnitude correspond to a touch input (Ye: Paragraphs [0095]-[0097], there is always a baseline signal [first or third magnitude] which is when there is no touch and there is then a detected signal level [second or fourth magnitude] when there is a touch. This is how a touch detection system works.).
Ye and Chen et al. fail to explicitly teach that the second magnitude is less than the first magnitude, and the fourth magnitude is less than the third magnitude. However, before the effective filing date of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to detect a touch using touch and non-touch levels. There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem which were to make the touch signals less than the non-touch signals or make the non-touch signals less than the touch signals. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since both methodologies result in the ability to detect touch location in a touch display device. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 3, wherein the touch sensing circuit comprises:
an analog-front end connected to the touch lines to output the touch line-based sensing signal (Ye: Figure 6, AFE is an analog-front end. See paragraph [0093].); and
a frequency detector configured to convert the touch line-based sensing signal into the frequency domain signal (Ye: Figure 6, NBF is a filter for the frequencies and “converts” into the frequency domain signal. See paragraph [0093].).
Ye and Chen et al. fail to explicitly teach a plurality of analog-front ends and a plurality of frequency detectors. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of analog-front ends and a plurality of frequency detectors since it has been held that a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 17.
Regarding claim 11, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first plurality of touch electrodes and the second plurality of touch electrodes do not overlap one another (Ye: Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first plurality of touch electrodes and the second plurality of touch electrodes include a same number of touch electrodes (Ye: Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first additional electrode pattern surrounds each of the first plurality of touch electrodes (Ye: Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the display device according to claim 13, wherein the first additional electrode pattern is positioned between every two adjacent touch electrodes of the first plurality of touch electrodes (Ye: Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first additional electrode pattern does not abut the first plurality of touch electrodes (Ye: Figure 1).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 2021/0397341) in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0111467) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0387248).
Regarding claim 5, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 4.
Ye and Chen et al. fail to teach wherein a magnitude of the first periodic signal is twice as much as the first magnitude, and a magnitude of the second periodic signal is twice as much as the third magnitude.
Kim et al. disclose wherein a magnitude of a signal is twice as much as a first magnitude (Paragraph [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the magnitude teachings of Kim et al. and apply them to the first periodic signal and the second periodic signal taught by the combination of Ye and Chen et al. so as to make the magnitude of the first periodic signal is twice as much as the first magnitude, and the magnitude of the second periodic signal is twice as much as the third magnitude. The motivation to combine would have been in order to reduce power consumption (See paragraph [0084] of Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Ye, Chen et al. and Kim et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 5.
Ye, Chen et al. and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the magnitude of the first periodic signal is equal to the magnitude of the second periodic signal.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to provide magnitudes of first and second touch signals for detection to be possible. There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem which were to make the touch signal magnitudes equal or different. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since both methodologies result in the ability to detect touch location in a touch display device. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, Ye, Chen et al. and Kim et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 5.
Ye, Chen et al. and Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the magnitude of the first periodic signal differs from the magnitude of the second periodic signal.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art to provide magnitudes of first and second touch signals for detection to be possible. There were a finite number of identified and predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem which were to make the touch signal magnitudes equal or different. One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success since both methodologies result in the ability to detect touch location in a touch display device. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US 2021/0397341) in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0111467) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2017/0168608).
Regarding claim 9, Ye and Chen et al. disclose the touch sensing display device of claim 1,
wherein the first additional electrode pattern surrounds each of the plurality of first touch electrodes in a same plane (Figure 1 shoes that in block 10 the horizontally connected Tx electrodes [first additional electrode pattern] surrounds each of the vertically connected Rx electrodes [first touch electrodes] in a same plane.), and
the second additional electrode pattern surrounds each of the plurality of second touch electrodes in a same plane (Figure 1 shoes that in block 20 the horizontally connected Tx electrodes [second additional electrode pattern] surrounds each of the vertically connected Rx electrodes [second touch electrodes] in a same plane.).
Ye and Chen et al. fail to teach:
wherein the first additional electrode pattern has a mesh shape that surrounds each of the plurality of first touch electrodes in a same plane, and
the second additional electrode pattern has a mesh shape that surrounds each of the plurality of second touch electrodes in a same plane.
Kim et al. disclose a wherein an additional electrode pattern has a mesh shape that surrounds each of a plurality of touch electrodes in a same plane (Figure 1 shows that the horizontally connected electrodes [additional electrode pattern] have a mesh shape and surround each of the plurality of vertically connected electrodes [touch electrodes] in a same plane. See also paragraph [0054] and [0057].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mesh shape teachings of Kim et al. and apply them to the first additional electrode pattern and the second additional electrode pattern taught by the combination of Ye and Chen et al.. The motivation to combine would have been in order to provide for the touch electrode to have relatively high electrical conductivity while reducing cost (See paragraph [0007] of Kim et al.).
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
23 February 2026