Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3 the phrase “wherein the beverage filler system may include one or more bases” make the claim ambiguous. The permissive phrase “may include” renders the scope uncertain because it does not positively recite whether the beverage filler system includes one or more bases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 16, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (2004/129342) in view of Hines (6,817,716).
As to claim 1 and 16, Anderson discloses a beverage filler system (figure 5 and 112). The “a base configured to support a vessel” is met by rotating table 114 and the “a beverage controller configured to control a flow of a beverage into the vessel” is met by control unit 116. In addition, control unit 116 receives a signal if a glass is present and control the flow of the beverage and lighting effects. Anderson does not specify the use of a special effects system in the manner now claimed.
Hines disclose a special effect system using a semi-reflective mirror (figure 3 and 4) to provide entertainment and amusement to the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the special effect system to the beverage system of Anderson because it would provide amusement and encourage sales.
As to claim 2 and 16, Anderson discloses that valve 22 is used to control the flow of the beverage.
Regarding claim 3, Anderson shows in figure 5 that the beverage filler system may include one or more bases.
As to claim 4 and 16, Hines teaches that the first side of the semi-reflective mirror comprises an antireflective coating (Col 4, line 55).
In consideration of claim 5 and 18, Anderson teaches that the second side of the semi-reflective mirror is substantially brighter than an environment of the first side of the semi-reflective mirror (Col 4. Lines 54-57).
As to claim 6, Anderson teaches that that the rotating table is to be activated by the control.
As to claim 7, Hines that the second side of the semi-reflective mirror is at least partially transmissive to visible light (Figure 3).
In consideration of 8, Hines disclose the use of a video tape player with his system (figure 3) to enable prerecord content.
As to claim 9, 19 and 20, Anderson discloses the use pressure sensor ([0037]) to determine the presence or absence of a glass.
Regarding claim 10, the system of Anderson determined the presence of an observer by use of the pressure senor when the observer place a glass on the platform.
Claim 11 is rejected on similar basis as claim 1.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (2004/129342) and Hines (6,817,716) as applied to claim 11 above Stembridge et al. (4,798,232).
As to claim 12, Anderson and Hines do not specify monitoring, via the beverage filler system, the flow of the beverage into the vessel; and determining, via the control system, a fill level of the vessel based on sensor data. Stembridge et al. teach a system to monitor and automatically control the filling of drinks. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the drink control system of Stembridge et al. to the system of Anderson and Hines because it would prevent the over filling of cups and reduce the mess.
As to claim 13, both Anderson and Hines teach that the displaying of the special effect is time limited and thus is stopped by the system.
In regards to claim 14, Hines shows in figure 4 show that the prop will rotate allowing the user to see it from all angles.
As to claims 15, Hines teaches the use of a semi-reflective mirror (figure 4, 51).
Claim(s) 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (2004/129342) and Hines (6,817,716) as applied to claim 16 above Springer (2021/0039942)).
As to claim 17, Anderson and Hines do not specify that their system is configured to flow the beverage into the vessel from a bottom of the vessel through a valve of the vessel. Springer disclose a system for filling beer glasses from the bottom improve the quality of the beer served. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the bottom filling system of Springer to the system of Anderson and Hines because it would improve the quality of the beer served and increase yield per keg.
/NATHAN J FLYNN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2421