DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: as best understood by the examiner Claim 1 line 12 “based on matching the at least one portion” should end with a semi-colon. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,824,542 (‘542). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of ‘542 teaches all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Claim 1 of ‘542 teaches additional limitations describing the software implementation in more detail and additional specific features, nevertheless, these claims include all of the claim language and limitations found in the apparatus of claim 1 of the present application.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,614,670 (‘670). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of ‘670 teaches all of the limitations of independent claim 1. Claim 1 of ‘670 teaches additional limitations describing the software implementation in more detail and additional specific features, nevertheless, these claims include all of the claim language and limitations found in the apparatus of claims 1 of the present application.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,282,344 (‘344). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-2 of ‘344 teaches substantially all of the limitations of independent claim 1 with the exception of “a non-transitory medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions that when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to:”. Claim 1 of ‘670 teaches additional limitations describing the software implementation in more detail and additional specific features, and refers to the “gaming entity” as “a remote computing device” which examiner considers to constitute “a gaming entity.” Nevertheless, these claims include all of the claim language and limitations found in the apparatus of claims 1 of the present application with the exceptions noted above. The missing limitations of the non-transitory medium are taught by Amaitis et al., US 2012/0009984 as described below in reference to Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a non-transitory medium with instructions in order to allow the computer to execute the software and perform the desired functions it a repeated manner in accordance with the standard operation of a general purpose computer.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,211,353 (‘353). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1-2 of ‘353 teaches substantially all of the limitations of independent claim 1 with the exception of “a non-transitory medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions that when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to:”. Claim 1 of ‘670 teaches additional limitations describing the software implementation in more detail and additional specific features, and refers to the “gaming entity” as “a remote computing device” which examiner considers to constitute “a gaming entity.” Nevertheless, these claims include all of the claim language and limitations found in the apparatus of claims 1 of the present application with the exceptions noted above. The missing limitations of the non-transitory medium are taught by Amaitis et al., US 2012/0009984 as described below in reference to Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a non-transitory medium with instructions in order to allow the computer to execute the software and perform the desired functions it a repeated manner in accordance with the standard operation of a general purpose computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, specifically “fundamental economic principles of practices” and/or “commercial or legal interactions,” without significantly more. The claim recites “receive an indication of an amount of money from a gaming entity; determine one or more portions of the amount of money to expose to a gaming market on behalf of the gaming entity; expose the one or more portions to the gaming market; match at least one portion of the exposed amount with at least one counter party to form at least one game between the entity and at least one counter party; determine one or more additional portions of the amount to expose to the gaming market based on matching the at least one portion expose the one or more additional portions of the amount to the gaming market in response to matching the at least one portion; set characteristics for the at least one game between the entity and the at least one counter party; and resolve the at least one game.” This described a series of abstract steps used to step up wagers on games between different parties.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of “a processor” and “a non-transitory medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions that when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to:” are simply recitation of generic computer components and at best mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, see MPEP 2106.05(f). As such, these limitations fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because recitation of a processor and a non-transitory medium storing instructions for execution by the processor are simply recitation of well-known, routine, and conventional computer functionality common to all general purpose computers. As such, even when considered with the claims as a whole these elements fail to add significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Amaitis et al., US 2012/0009984, in view of Crosthwaite et al., US 2004/0260640.
In Reference to Claim 1
Amaitis et al. teaches an apparatus which includes a processor; and a non-transitory medium having stored thereon a plurality of instructions that when executed by the processor (Par. 71 and 75) to maintain an amount of money for a gaming entity (Par. 242 and 246 “amount available for trading”), determine one or more portions of the amount of money to expose to a gaming market on behalf of the gaming entity,
expose the one or more portions to the gaming market (Par. 241-246 which teaches an account places open trading orders from the available funds), match at least one portion of the exposed amount with at least one counter party to form at least one game between the entity and at least one counter party (Fig. 4 and Par. 246 and 248 which teach matching the offers to another party to create wagering games), set characteristics for the at least one game between the entity and the at least one counter party (Par. 295), and resolve the at least one game (Fig. 4 which teaches determining the outcome of the wager and transmitting payout amounts based on the outcome).
However, Amaitis et al. does not explicitly teach causing the apparatus to receive an indication of the amount of money from a gaming entity, or determining one or more additional portions of the amount to expose to the gaming market based on matching the at least one portion and exposing the one or more additional portions of the amount to the gaming market in response to matching the at least one portion.
Crosthwaite et al. teaches a trading market which includes causing the apparatus to receive an indication of the amount of money from a gaming entity (Par. 180 “determine one or more initial balances”), or determining one or more additional portions of the amount to expose to the gaming market based on matching the at least one portion and exposing the one or more additional portions of the amount to the gaming market in response to matching the at least one portion (Par. 188 which teaches that after an order is matched the user can make requests for additional orders which will be approved so long as the current balance of their account is able to cover the risk. Since the second order is contingent upon the adjusted balance from the first order, the first portion, examiner considers it to be ”in response” to the first portion).
It would be desirable to modify the apparatus of Amaitis et al. to include the indication of initial balance and additional bet orders as taught by Crosthwaite et al. in order to accurately determine an initial balance of the funds that should be made available to a user, as well as to let the user to set up additional wagering games so long as they have sufficient funds available to cover the risk once the user knows how much of their available funds are occupied by other wagers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of Amaitis et al. to include the indication of initial balance and additional bet orders as taught by Crosthwaite et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CARL V LARSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3715