DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Priority
This application 18/978,741 filed on 12/12/2024, is a continuation of US Application No. 17/227,841 (now abandoned) filed on 04/12/2021, which is continuation of 16/318,729 filed 01/18/2019 (abandoned on 08/18/2021), which is a 371 of PCT/CN2017/081173 filed 04/20/2017 and claims foreign priority benefit of CHINA 201610592371.2 filed 07/25/2016 and CHINA 201611040298.4 filed 11/11/2016.
The certified copy of CHINA 201610592371.2 and CHINA 201611040298.4 were filed in Chinese without English translated copy in parent application No. 16/318,729. Applicant' s right of foreign priority is not perfected due to lack of certified English translation thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3 recite the compound as “(3-((1H- pyrazol[3,4-b]pyridine-5-substituted)ethinyl)-4- methyl-N-(4-((4-methylpiperazine-1- substituted)methyl)-3-(trifluoromethyl)phenyl)benzamide)”. The compound name is not commonly accepted IUPAC name. It should read 3-(2-(1H-pyrazolo[3,4-b ]pyridin-5-yl)ethynyl)-4-methyl-N-( 4-((4-methylpiperazin-1-yl)methyl)-3-trifluoromethyl)phenyl)benzamide.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Instant specification (e.g. page 1, lines 5-9) discloses instant claimed compound “(3-((1H- pyrazol[3,4-b]pyridine-5-substituted)ethinyl)-4- methyl-N-(4-((4-methylpiperazine-1- substituted)methyl)-3-(trifluoromethyl)phenyl)benzamide) (Nectinib or GZD 824)”. The compound name is not common accepted IUPAC name as stated in preceding objection. “Nectinib” is not a recognized brand name of GZD824. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim interpretation
As disclosed by instant specification (page 1, lines 5-9), the claimed compound “(3-((1H- pyrazol[3,4-b]pyridine-5-substituted)ethinyl)-4- methyl-N-(4-((4-methylpiperazine-1- substituted)methyl)-3-(trifluoromethyl)phenyl)benzamide)” is also known as GZD 824. Precursor B-cell lymphoblastic leukemia (pre-B ALL) is one of four subtypes of B cell type acute lymphoblastic leukemia , ALL (AKA, acute lymphocytic leukemia) (See page 1, lines 22-25).
The biological activity of compound is the property of active compound and products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances. “[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art' s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir.1999). If the prior art teaches and/or suggests the same or similar method step as instantly claimed (i.e. administering an effective amount of instant compound to a subject in need thereof), the method of the prior art would have achieved the intended results recited in instant claims and read on instant methods.
With respect to the USC 102/103 rejection, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation to determine how different instantly claimed method of treating pre-B ALL with GZD 824 is from method of treating ALL with GZD 824 taught by prior art. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of proof is shifted to the Applicant to show that the subject matter of the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C.102 or obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et al.(Oncotarget, 2017, Vol. 8, No. 50, pp: 87002-8701, published on July 28, 2016, "GZD824 suppresses the growth of human B cell precursor acute lymphoblastic leukemia cells by inhibiting the SRC kinase and PI3K/AKT pathways", Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2025).
The applied reference has common author/ joint inventor with the instant application. However, instant application names fewer joint inventors than applied reference and it would not be readily apparent from the publication that it is an inventor-originated disclosure. As such, the publication is treated as prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Ye et al. discloses GZD824, a novel BCR-ABL tyrosine kinase inhibitor, has anti-tumor activity in various tumor models (e.g. B cell precursor acute lymphoblastic leukemia (pre-B ALL)(See whole article).
Regarding the Philadelphia negative (Ph- ) limitation, Ye et al. explicitly teaches “GZD824 decreases cell viability, induces cell-cycle arrest, and causes apoptosis in pre-B ALL cells. Furthermore, Ph- pre-B ALL cells were more sensitive to GZD824 than Ph+ pre-B ALL cells. GZD824 consistently reduced tumor loads in Ph– pre-B ALL xenografts but failed to suppress Ph+ pre-B ALL xenografts. GZD824 decreased phosphorylation of SRC kinase, STAT3, RB and C-myc. It also downregulated the expression of BCL-XL, CCND1 and CDK4 and upregulated expression of CCKN1A. Expression of IRS1 was decreased in GZD824- treated pre-B ALL cells, blocking the PI3K/AKT pathway. These data demonstrate that GZD824 suppresses pre-B ALL cells through inhibition of the SRC kinase and PI3K/AKT pathways and may be a potential therapeutic agent for the management of pre-B ALL. (See abstract, Result, whole paper).
Ye collectively teaches a method of treating Ph-negative acute lymphocytic leukemia with potential mechanism/benefit of GZD824 that anticipates instant application.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2013, 56, 879−894, “Identification of GZD824 as an Orally Bioavailable Inhibitor That Targets Phosphorylated and Nonphosphorylated Breakpoint Cluster Region−Abelson (Bcr-Abl) Kinase and Overcomes Clinically Acquired Mutation-Induced Resistance against Imatinib”, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2025).
Ren et al. discloses GZD824 (10a) is a novel orally bioavailable inhibitor against a broad spectrum of Bcr-Abl mutants and promising lead candidate for development of Bcr-Abl inhibitors to overcome acquired imatinib resistance(See whole paper).
Ren discloses synthesis of GZD824 (10a) and its biological/pharmacological activity (See Scheme 1, Tables 1-4; page 885). Ren discloses antiproliferative activity of GZD824 against a variety of leukemia cells with differing Bcr-Abl status and explicitly teaches that GZD824 (10a) selectively and potently inhibits the proliferation of Bcr-Abl-positive leukemia cells including human acute lymphocyte leukemia (ALL) cell lines SUP-B15 and MOLT4( See Table 4, page 885, right column).
SUP-B15 cell line is a precursor B-cell lymphoblastic leukemia (pre-B ALL) cell line as disclosed by instant specification (See page 7, Example 1, Fig. 1) and pre-B ALL is one of four subtypes of B cell type acute lymphoblastic leukemia (See page 1, lines 23-25), as evidenced by Castro et al.(Leukemia, 2012 Jul; 26(7), pp. 1487-1498, Applicant’s IDS dated 01/11/2021 in parent application 16/318,729). As such, Ren teaches a method of treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL, including precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia) with GZD 824 and anticipates instantly claimed invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ding et al. ( US 8,846,671 B2, hereafter Ding’ 671, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2025).
Ding’ 671 discloses heterocyclic alkynylbenzene compounds of formula (I) (e.g. Example 23, GZD 824) as protein kinase inhibitor for treating cancer (including leukemia, etc.)(See abstract, Col. 7, lines 26-44; Col. 14, lines 1-8; claims 1,5-11). Ding’ 671 discloses method for treating leukemia in a subject in need thereof comprises administering heterocyclic alkynylbenzene compounds (e.g. GZD 824) or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein leukemia include but are not limited to acute lymphoblastic leukemia, acute myeloid leukemia, acute leukemia, etc. (See Col. 14, lines 1-8; claims 8-11).
Ding’ 671 explicitly discloses GZD 824 and its pharmacological activity, including activity in human acute lymphoblastic leukemia cell lines (See Example 23, Table 1, Figures 7- 12, claim 5). Ding’ 671 also discloses pharmacokinetics data of GZD 824(See Table 3).
Ding ’671 collectively discloses method of treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia, ALL with GZD 824 and anticipates instantly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ren et al. (J. Med. Chem. 2013, 56, 879−894, “Identification of GZD824 as an Orally Bioavailable Inhibitor That Targets Phosphorylated and Nonphosphorylated Breakpoint Cluster Region−Abelson (Bcr-Abl) Kinase and Overcomes Clinically Acquired Mutation-Induced Resistance against Imatinib”, Applicant’s IDS dated 06/05/2025) .
The collective teachings of Ren are elaborated in preceding 102 rejection of claims 1-2 and applied as before. Ren discloses antiproliferative activity of GZD824 against a variety of leukemia cells with differing Bcr-Abl status and explicitly teaches that GZD824 (10a) selectively and potently inhibits the proliferation of Bcr-Abl-positive leukemia cells including human acute lymphocyte leukemia (ALL) cell lines SUP-B15 which is precursor B-cell lymphoblastic leukemia (pre-B ALL) cell line as disclosed by instant specification.
Ren is silent about Ph-negative precursor B-cell lymphoblastic leukemia as recited in instant claim 3.
Instant claim 3 does not recite any specific administrating regimen of GZD 824 in treating precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia (pre-B ALL) that are different from treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia ALL patient in general. As such , the functional effects of administering GZD 824 to patient of Ph negative precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia would be encompassed/anticipated by method of treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia ALL patient taught by Ren which would perform the same function if GZD 824 works as instantly claimed.
In the alternative, even if the claimed method of treating Ph- negative precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia (pre-B ALL) with GZD 824 is slightly different from the method of treating ALL in general with GZD 824 taught by Ren with regard to some unidentified characteristics, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have known to identify the patients having subtype of precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia and administrate GZD 824 accordingly based on the collective teaching of Ren and general knowledge of treating ALL. It’s a common practice in cancer treatment to explore use of active compound for treating different cancer through different pathway in different subject/patient population. Thus, the claimed method of treating pre-B ALL with GZD 824 would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of USC 103. Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by Ren, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ding et al. ( US 8,846,671 B2, hereafter Ding’ 671).
The collective teachings of Ding’ 671 is elaborated in preceding 102 rejection of claim 1 and applied as before. Ding is silent about subtypes of B cell type acute lymphoblastic leukemia as recite din claims 2 and 3.
Instant claim 2 and 3 do not recite any specific administrating regimen of GZD 824 in treating precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia (pre-B ALL) that are different from treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia ALL patient in general. As such , the functional effects of administering GZD 824 to patient of precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia would be encompassed/anticipated by method of treating acute lymphoblastic leukemia ALL patient taught by Ding ’671 which would perform the same function if GZD 824 works as instantly claimed.
In the alternative, even if the claimed method of treating precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia (pre-B ALL) with GZD 824 is slightly different from the method of treating ALL in general with GZD 824 taught by Ding ’671 with regard to some unidentified characteristics, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have known to identify the patients having subtype of precursor B-cell lymphocytic leukemia and administrate GZD 824 accordingly based on the collective teaching of Ding ’671 and general knowledge of treating ALL. Thus, instant claimed method of treating pre-B ALL with GZD 824 would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art within the meaning of USC 103. Accordingly, the claimed invention as a whole was at least prima facie obvious, if not anticipated by Ding ’671, especially in the absence of sufficient, clear, and convincing evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-11 of U.S. Patent No. 8,846,671 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference claims are directed to method for treating cancer in a patient with heterocyclic alkynylbenzene compounds(e.g. GZD 824, etc.) wherein the cancer include leukemia. GZD 824 is explicitly recited in reference claim 5. Reference claims 8-11 are explicitly directed to method of treating leukemia including acute lymphoblastic leukemia. As disclosed in instant specification (page 1), acute lymphoblastic leukemia , ALL, includes the sub-type “precursor B-cell lymphoblastic leukemia (pre-B ALL)” recited in instant claims 2 and 3. Thus, instant claimed invention as a whole was anticipated by or at least prima facie obvious over reference claims .
The instant application shares at least one common inventor /applicant with the reference patent. Furthermore, the instant application is not related to the reference patent based on the record, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ding et al. WO2012000304A1, family member of CN 201010216603.7 (Ding teaches GZD 824 similar as US 8,846,671 B2).
/LIYUAN MOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628