Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12167804. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 are encompassed by and anticipated by the referenced patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claims 13, line 3, “the rail” lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears applicant means “the first rail”. Same issue is found in claim 14, line 1, where “the rail” should be “the first rail” and claim 15, line 2 regarding “the rail”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hurley (US Publication no. 20220347833). Hurley discloses a storage rail assembly (figure 4) comprising: a first rail (C, see illustration above) extending from a left end to a right end along a first longitudinal axis, the first rail configured to be coupled to a wall (via ears 40, figure 4) ; a first left end cap (L, see illustration above) coupled to the left end of the rail, the left end cap including a concave pocket (54) extending inwardly from a left face (LF) of the first left end cap and having a pocket contact surface (S); and a right end cap (R, see markup above) coupled to the right end of the rail, the right end cap including a projection (52 of R, figure 4) extending outwardly from a right face of the right end cap, wherein the projection (52) is configured to be received in a pocket of a second left end cap (such as L2 in markup above) to form a horizontal rail assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Hurley discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the projection (52 of R above) has a projection contact surface, wherein the projection contact surface is configured to align with a pocket contact surface (54) of the pocket of the second left end cap (L2).
Regarding claim 3, Hurley discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the second left end cap and the right end cap ( R, above) each comprise a wall surface (32) configured to be disposed adjacent to the wall and an outer surface (O) parallel to the respective wall surface (32), wherein when the projection (52) is received within the pocket (54) of the second left end cap (L2), the outer surface of the second left end cap and the outer surface of the right end cap are configured to be coplanar.
Regarding claim 4, Hurley discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 3, wherein the projection (52) is adjacent to the wall surface (32) of the right end cap, and the pocket (54) of the second left end cap (L2) is adjacent to the wall surface (32) of the second left end cap (L2).
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roten (US Patent no. 7185770). Roten discloses a storage rail assembly (figure 4) comprising: a first rail (C, see illustration above) extending from a left end to a right end along a first longitudinal axis, the first rail configured to be coupled to a wall (via fasteners through hole 64, figure 7 and hole 74 , figure 10) ; a first left end cap (L, see illustration above) coupled to the left end of the rail, the left end cap including a concave pocket (24, FIGURE 4) extending inwardly from a left face (LF) of the first left end cap and having a pocket contact surface (46, FIGURE 4); and a right end cap (R, see markup above) coupled to the right end of the rail, the right end cap including a projection (26 of R, figure 4) extending outwardly from a right face of the right end cap, wherein the projection (26) is configured to be received in a pocket (24) of a second left end cap (such as L2 in markup above) to form a horizontal rail assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Roten discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the projection (26 of R above) has a projection contact surface, wherein the projection contact surface is configured to align with a pocket contact surface (46, FIGURE 4) of the pocket of the second left end cap (L2).
Regarding claim 3, Roten discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the second left end cap and the right end cap ( R, above) each comprise a wall surface (36, FIGURE 4) configured to be disposed adjacent to the wall and an outer surface (34, FIGURE 4) parallel to the respective wall surface (36), wherein when the projection (26) is received within the pocket (24) of the second left end cap (L2), the outer surface of the second left end cap and the outer surface of the right end cap are configured to be coplanar.
Regarding claim 4, Roten discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 3, wherein the projection (26, FIGURE 4) is adjacent to the wall surface (36) of the right end cap, and the pocket (24) of the second left end cap (L2) is adjacent to the wall surface (36) of the second left end cap (L2).
Regarding claim 15, Roten discloses the storage rail assembly of claim 1, wherein the first left end cap (L, see markup above) comprises a protective cover (14) for the left open end of the rail.
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited prior art of record further demonstrate rails with end caps.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc