DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho (KR-20130134667 A).
Respect to claim 1, Ho discloses a towable offshore floating structure comprising:
a plurality of legs arranged in a spaced-apart manner (Figure 2, 320);
and a connecting bar connected to each pair of legs (Figure 2, 330),
the towable offshore floating structure further comprising:
a cover member arranged to partially wrap around an outer surface of at least one of the legs (Figure 2, 400, 500),
wherein when towing is performed at sea, a flow of seawater is guided to an outer side of the leg through contact with the cover member, suppressing the flow of seawater between each pair of legs and thereby reducing resistance caused by the seawater (Paragraphs 25-30).
With respect to claim 2, Ho discloses the towable offshore floating structure of claim 1, wherein the leg includes a protrusion arranged at least at one location on the outer surface (Figure 4, 120,220).
With respect to claim 3, Ho discloses the towable offshore floating structure of claim 1, wherein the cover member is fixed to the leg by a fastening member (Figure 4, 110, 120, 210, 220).
With respect to claim 4, Ho discloses the towable offshore floating structure of claim 1, wherein the cover member is shaped to gradually taper from the rear to the front (Figure 6, paragraphs 30-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Andersen et al (EP-3653873-A1, hereafter Andersen).
With respect to claim 5, Ho does not teach the towable offshore floating structure of claim 1, wherein the cover member includes a shackle arranged at least at one location on the outer surface.
Andersen teaches the cover member includes a shackle arranged at least at one location on the outer surface. Specifically, Andersen teaches a shackle (Figure 3, 21) coupled to the chain (Figure 3, 10) of the chain hoist (Figure 3, 11) and to the coupling means (Figure 3, 12, 20) attached to the top surface (Figure 3, 18) of the object (Figure 3, 9; paragraph 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s effective filling date to modify Ho cover member to include a shackle arranged at least at one location on the outer surface, as taught by Andersen, in order to provide a secure attachment point for lifting and pulling members, thereby facilitating handling , lifting , towing , and transportation of the towable offshore floating structure.
Conclusion
/K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615