DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10, 12- 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-10, 12-14 are dependent on a cancelled claim 2 and therefore are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20190273387 A1)
Re Claim 1; Liu discloses Liu teaches:
A wearable wireless power receiver (50) for receiving an electromagnetic field and transforming the electromagnetic field into electric power for powering a wearable electronic device
Liu discloses a bendable wireless charging apparatus comprising a receiving coil and control module that converts electromagnetic energy into electric power for wearable electronics (¶[0024], [0031]).
the wearable wireless power receiver being configured to locate at the head of a person
Liu teaches mounting the apparatus on a helmet worn on the head (¶[0024, 29], FIG. 4).
wherein the wearable wireless power receiver comprises: a carrier substrate
→ Liu discloses a flexible substrate 100 (¶[0024]) formed to adapt to a head area of the person.
an electrically conductive material mounted at a first surface of the carrier substrate, wherein the electrically conductive material forms at least one receiver coil
→ Liu teaches a receiving coil 20 formed from metal layer 202 mounted on the substrate (¶[0024], [0026]).
wherein the at least one receiver coil is configured to receive an electromagnetic field
→ Liu’s coil receives energy from a transmitting coil 11 (¶[0024], FIG. 1).
wherein the first surface of the carrier substrate (100) faces opposite the head of the person; (the coil area of the substrate faces opposite the head because the coil receives power from the transmitter)
a shielding material (102) mounted at a second surface of the carrier substrate (100), wherein the second surface of the carrier substrate faces the head of the person (the side of the battery faces the head of the user), wherein the shielding material is configured to shield the head of the person from at least a portion of the electromagnetic field (implicit, Fig. 2, par 0028).
Re Claim 3; Liu discloses the carrier substrate with the mounted electrically conductive material and the shielding material is formed to be removably attached at an upper part of a headwear or a headset device to be worn by the person
→ Liu’s apparatus is mounted on a helmet and is flexible and thin, enabling removable attachment (¶[0029]).
Re Claim 4; Liu discloses the carrier substrate with the mounted electrically conductive material and the shielding material is formed to be embedded into a headwear to be worn by the person
→ Liu’s apparatus is bendable and thin enough to be embedded into helmets (¶[0029]).
Re Claim 5; Liu discloses the carrier substrate with the mounted electrically conductive material and the shielding material is formed to be embedded into the wearable electronic device
→ Liu discusses integration into wearable electronics like smart glasses and watches (¶[0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Tsukamoto (US 9,192,772)
Re Claim 6; Liu discloses a wearable coupled resonator array comprising, a wearable wireless power receiver of claim 1
→ Liu includes a receiver coil and control module (¶[0024], [0031]).
wherein the wearable coupled resonator array is configured to extend from the head area of the person to a location of the wearable electronic device or to a location of a second wearable electronic device
→ Liu supports integration with multiple wearable devices (¶[0035]).
→ Liu enables simultaneous charging and discharging to multiple devices via a second output set (¶[0034]–[0039]).
Liu does not disclose
wherein the wearable coupled resonator array is configured to receive an electromagnetic field and to relay it from the head area of the person to the location of the wearable electronic device or to the location of the second wearable electronic device
However, Tsukamoto disclose wherein the wearable coupled resonator array is configured to receive an electromagnetic field and to relay it from the head area of the person to the location of the wearable electronic device or to the location of the second wearable electronic device (Fig. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary in the art before effective filing of the invention to have used a relay in order for Relaying power across devices enhances system flexibility.
Re Claim 7; Liu discloses a wearable wireless power receiver according to claim 1
→ See claim 1.
a wearable electronic device and/or a second wearable electronic device configured to be powered by the wearable wireless power receiver
→ Liu powers smart glasses, watches, etc. (¶[0035]).
Liu does not disclose
an electric guide configured to transport the electric power from at least one of the wearable wireless power receiver and the second wearable electronic device to at least one of the wearable electronic device and the second wearable electronic device
→ Liu teaches output sets and switching modules for routing power.
However, Tsukamoto disclose an electric guide (wireless power transmission) configured to transport the electric power from at least one of the wearable wireless power receiver (20) and the second wearable electronic device (52) to at least one of the wearable electronic device and the second wearable electronic device (Fig. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used a electric guide to transmitter power in order to effectively transfer power to the load.
→ Liu teaches output sets and switching modules for routing power.
Re Claim 8; Liu discloses the second wearable electronic device is configured to charge itself with part of the electric power and forward the rest of the electric power received via a first electric guide from the wearable wireless power receiver via a second electric guide to the wearable electronic device
→ Liu’s second output set and switching module allow simultaneous charging and discharging (¶[0034]–[0039] Intermediate regulation and forwarding of power improves load balancing.)
Re Claim 9; Liu discloses the second wearable electronic device comprises a wireless power receiver entity that is configured to: receive the electromagnetic field from a coupled resonator array, convert the electromagnetic field into electric power, charge itself with part of the electric power, and/or forward the remaining part of the electric power via an electric guide to the wearable electronic device
→ Liu’s receiver coil and control module perform these functions (¶[0024], [0034]–[0039]). Modular receiver entities enhance scalability and interoperability.
Claim(s) 10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Tsukamoto and further in view of Los et al. (US 2021/0343470)
Re Claim 10; Liu disclosure has been discussed above.
Liu does not disclose
A ceiling-mountable power transmitter system comprising:
a ceiling-mountable
power transmitter, comprising: a power source; a carrier substrate formed to adapt to a ceiling; an electrically conductive material mounted at a first surface of the carrier substrate, the electrically conductive material forming at least one transmitter coil,
the at least one transmitter coil is-being configured to transmit an electromagnetic field for powering at least one of the wearable electronic device and the second wearable electronic device; and a shielding material mounted at a second surface of the carrier substrate, the shielding material being configured to shield the ceiling from the power transmitter and vice versa.
However, Los A ceiling-mountable power transmitter system (fig. 11; 420, par 0110) comprising:
a ceiling-mountable power transmitter (400), comprising: a power source; (411) a carrier substrate (435) formed to adapt to a ceiling;
an electrically conductive material mounted at a first surface of the carrier substrate (435), the electrically conductive material forming at least one transmitter coil (21),
the at least one transmitter coil is-being configured to transmit an electromagnetic field for powering at least one of the wearable electronic device (30) and the second wearable electronic device (31); and
a shielding material (430) mounted at a second surface of the carrier substrate, the shielding material being configured to shield the ceiling from the power transmitter and vice versa.(Fig. 11)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have ceiling mounting in order to improves coverage and convenience.
Re Claim 12; Liu discloses substrate extensions located at corners of the carrier substrate, the substrate extensions being displaced in height with respect to a main plane of the carrier substrate, wherein the at least one transmitter coil is formed on the carrier substrate and on the substrate extensions
→ Liu does not explicitly disclose extensions, but multi-level coil substrates are known to improve field distribution. However, extending coil geometry enhances transmission efficiency and it would have been obvious.
Re Claim 13; Liu discloses Los discloses wherein the at least one transmitter coil is configured to generate at least two charging hotspots for powering at least a wearable electronic device and a second wearable electronic device (Fig. 12 of Los)
Re Claim 14; Los discloses wherein the carrier substrate with the mounted electrically conductive material and with or without the shielding material mounted at the carrier substrate, the shielding material being configured to shield the ceiling from the power transmitter and vice versa is formed to be embedded in a panel attachable to the ceiling or to be embedded into the ceiling (Fig. 13)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Liu fails to disclose at least a carrier substrate formed to adapt to a head area of a person, an electrically conductive material mounted at a first surface of the carrier substrate that faces opposite the head of the person, and a shielding material mounted at a second surface of the carrier substrate that faces the head of the person-as is required by amended claim 1.
Because Liu fails to disclose at least the above-recited features of amended independent claim 1, Liu cannot anticipate claim 1 or its dependent claims 2-14. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) based on Liu is respectfully requested.
However, the Examiner’s respectfully disagree, as shown above, the Examiner has mapped the claims to teach the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
02/26/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836