DETAILED ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the applicant's arguments/amendments filed May 28, 2026. Claims 1-5 are canceled. Claims 6-8 are new. Claims 6-8 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
4. 35 USC § 103 rejection. Applicant's arguments/amendments filed May 28, 2026 regarding the 35 USC § 103 rejection have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant’s arguments are only directed to the new claims and not the prior rejection of record. Based on the new features of the claims presented in the amendments, further search and/or consideration was required to examine the claims, so a new 35 USC § 103 ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of Juang et al, US 2021/0180958, presented in this Final Office Action. Therefore, the prior 35 USC § 103 rejection is withdrawn in view of the new added features in the amended claims.
Pursuant to MPEP 2144 Supporting a Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103, I. RATIONALE MAY BE IN A REFERENCE, OR REASONED FROM COMMON KNOWLEDGE IN THE ART, SCIENTIFIC PRINCIPLES, ART-RECOGNIZED EQUIVALENTS, OR LEGAL PRECEDENT, “The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992)”
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a communication unit configured to transmit a signal”, in claims 6-8.
The examiner notes that there is no corresponding structure that performs the claimed function described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
8. Claim 6 recite “a communication unit”. There is no description in the original specification filed 12/12/2024 of a communication unit. “[T]he algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.” MPEP § 2161.01. Because the specification fails to describe a communication unit and how the communication unit transmit signals to other vehicles, the claim fails to comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 7-8 depend from claim 6 and therefore include the same limitation as claim 6 so they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
10. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
11. The term “determine whether there is a possibility” in claims 6-8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “determine whether there is a possibility” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Please provide a specific definition of the term by amending the claims or removing it from the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7-8 depend from claim 6 and therefore include the same limitation as claim 6 so they are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al, 10,834,552, in view of Ogino et al. US 2004/0128062, further in view of Bell et al. US 2010/0045488, hereinafter referred to as Saito, Ogino, and Bell, respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Saito discloses a traveling control system mounted on a first vehicle, the traveling control system comprising a communication unit configured to transmit a signal to a second vehicle and a third vehicle located around the first vehicle (See at least fig 1-24, col 5, lines 20-30, “Area information obtained in this way may be shared among vehicles and utilized to efficiently allow the vehicles to pass by each other. Various strategies may be deployed depending on a location of the vehicles vis-a-vis an obstruction or passing area, and analysis of this data may produce instructions to vehicle drivers on their windshield that may be followed to create a much more efficient overall traffic result”),
an information display configured to display information to a driver of the first vehicle (See at least fig 1-24 col 13, lines 54-60, “An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user”), and
a processor configured to: determine whether the first vehicle has entered a first road having a width less than a threshold value (See at least fig 1-24 col 7, lines, 65-67, “The narrow road segment to be processed is a segment that is found as having a certain length and a narrow width based on map information and thus vehicles 65 require assistance for passing by each other”);
in a case where it is determined that the first vehicle has entered the first road, notify, via the communication unit, the second vehicle and the third vehicle that the first vehicle has entered the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 13, lines, 35-53, “passing by each other. This is achieved by sharing information, via a V2V network, about places where vehicles can and cannot pass by each other. When such information is shared in advance of a vehicle approaching an obstacle location”);
in a case where it is determined that the first vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether the second vehicle has entered the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 14, lines, 54-67, “A first group of cars 520 that are in a first V2VN 560a are in the first lane 505a, and the first car 520c in the group is just approaching the obstacle area in a west-to-east direction. A second 530 and third 540 group of cars are approaching the obstacle area in an opposite east-to-west direction, these groups 530, 540 belonging to a second 560b and third 560c V2VN, respectively. An overlap vehicle 530d, 540d is a member of both the second 530 and third 540 group of cars and the second 560b and third 560c V2VN”);
in a case where it is determined that the second vehicle has entered the first road, determine whether there is a possibility that the third vehicle will enter the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 24, lines, 29-50, “approaching the predetermined distance 802, 802', both vehicles 520, 530 may stop and then perform the negotiation- in other words, both sides have a status of stop/NPending. In operation 652, the focus vehicle 520 may monitor an N-Pending status from the oncoming vehicle 530. When the oncoming vehicle's 530 status is N-Pending (654: YES), then, in operation 658, a temporary basic assessment of impossible to pass obstructed area”);
in a case where it is determined that there is no possibility that the third vehicle will enter the first road, display, on the information display, a first message indicating that the first vehicle is to wait in front of the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 27, lines, 1-15, “The state of vehicle 530.1 becomes "stop" in case of FIG. 13C as state of vehicle 520 becomes "stop" in the case of FIG. llA. From the viewpoint of a user, the meaning of the state "stop" is 10 same in both cases (FIG. llA and FIG. 13C). The currently stopped vehicles 530 transition from a stop to a go-wait state (which may still be represented on the user interface by a red signal or other form of signal indicating that the vehicle 520 should remain stopped).”);
in a case where it is determined that there is a possibility that the third vehicle will enter the first road, calculate a first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road and a second time needed for the third vehicle to reach the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 35, lines, 35-50, “wherein the passing information comprises a location and a time of detection of passing areas, the obstacle information comprises a location and a time of detection of obstacle areas, and the passing obstacle information comprises a location and a time of detection of passing-obstacle areas”);
determine whether the first time is greater than the second time; in a case where it is determined that the first time is greater than the second time, display, on the information display, the first message indicating that the first vehicle is to wait in front of the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 23, lines, 35-50, “Conditions for which priority for proceeding may be given (prioritized conditions) may include: the location of the obstacle 507, current or projected waiting time, whether one is ascending or descending in altitude, a number of succeeding vehicles, congestion and/or a traffic signal state on the road located ahead, and having been in wait state ( or 35 a duration in a wait state) (return from waiting in line; see state <Ll>).”); and
in a case where it is determined that the first time is equal to or less than the second time, display, on the information display, a second message indicating that the first vehicle is to wait in front of the first road and that the first vehicle has a higher order of priority than the third vehicle regarding entry into the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 23, lines, 35-50, “Conditions for which priority for proceeding may be given (prioritized conditions) may include: the location of the obstacle 507, current or projected waiting time, whether one is ascending or descending in altitude, a number of succeeding vehicles, congestion and/or a traffic signal state on the road located ahead, and having been in wait state ( or 35 a duration in a wait state) (return from waiting in line; see state <Ll>).”).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose determine whether the first vehicle has entered a first road.
However, Ogino teaches determine whether the first vehicle has entered a first road (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 15, 55, 66, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 74, 17, “The request may a request to enter a narrow road when the second vehicle is also going to enter the narrow road. The request may be a request to stop entering a narrow road when the second vehicle is going to enter the narrow road from the other entrance. In this manner, a method according to another embodiment of one present invention ensures that the first vehicle and the second vehicle do not meet each other on the narrow road so that the first vehicle and the second vehicle can enter the narrow road from both entrances smoothly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saito and include determine whether the first vehicle has entered a first road as taught by Ogino because it would allow if vehicle A receives a response from vehicle B, vehicle A calculates an entry priority (using data such as the distance to the entry point, the time required to reach the point, and the number of subsequent vehicles) to determine the entry priority of vehicles A and B (Ogino ¶ 68).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose calculate a first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road and a second time needed for the third vehicle to reach the first road.
However, Bell teaches calculate a first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road and a second time needed for the third vehicle to reach the first road (See at least fig 1-3, ¶ 22, 27, 29, 30, 31, 35, 23, “The traffic queue information communication device 120d of the following vehicle 110d can then perform the same functions in the same manner, as described above, in order to determine the position of the vehicle 110d in the queue 125 and also the time it will take the vehicle 110d to reach the front of the queue 125”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saito and include determine whether the first vehicle has entered a first road as taught by Ogino because it would allow the system to use the received data to determine its position in the queue as well as the estimated time it will take to travel through the queue (Bell ¶ 43).
Regarding claim 7, Saito discloses the traveling control system according to claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in a case where it is determined that the second vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether there is a possibility that the second vehicle will enter the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 14, lines, 54-67, “A first group of cars 520 that are in a first V2VN 560a are in the first lane 505a, and the first car 520c in the group is just approaching the obstacle area in a west-to-east direction. A second 530 and third 540 group of cars are approaching the obstacle area in an opposite east-to-west direction, these groups 530, 540 belonging to a second 560b and third 560c V2VN, respectively. An overlap vehicle 530d, 540d is a member of both the second 530 and third 540 group of cars and the second 560b and third 560c V2VN”);
in a case where it is determined that there is a possibility that the second vehicle will enter the first road, calculate the first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road and a third time needed for the second vehicle to reach the first road ; determine whether the first time is greater than the third time (See at least fig 1-24 col 23, lines, 35-50, “Conditions for which priority for proceeding may be given (prioritized conditions) may include: the location of the obstacle 507, current or projected waiting time, whether one is ascending or descending in altitude, a number of succeeding vehicles, congestion and/or a traffic signal state on the road located ahead, and having been in wait state ( or 35 a duration in a wait state) (return from waiting in line; see state <Ll>).”);
in a case where it is determined that the first time is greater than the third time, display, on the information display, the first message indicating that the first vehicle is to wait in front of the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 13, lines 54-60, “An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user”); and
in a case where it is determined that the first time is equal to or less than the third time, display, on the information display, a third message indicating that the first vehicle is to enter the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 23, lines, 35-50, “Conditions for which priority for proceeding may be given (prioritized conditions) may include: the location of the obstacle 507, current or projected waiting time, whether one is ascending or descending in altitude, a number of succeeding vehicles, congestion and/or a traffic signal state on the road located ahead, and having been in wait state ( or 35 a duration in a wait state) (return from waiting in line; see state <Ll>).”).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose determined that the second vehicle has not entered the first road.
However, Ogino teaches determined that the second vehicle has not entered the first road (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 15, 55, 66, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 74, 17, “The request may a request to enter a narrow road when the second vehicle is also going to enter the narrow road. The request may be a request to stop entering a narrow road when the second vehicle is going to enter the narrow road from the other entrance. In this manner, a method according to another embodiment of one present invention ensures that the first vehicle and the second vehicle do not meet each other on the narrow road so that the first vehicle and the second vehicle can enter the narrow road from both entrances smoothly”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saito and include determined that the second vehicle has not entered the first road as taught by Ogino because it would allow if vehicle A receives a response from vehicle B, vehicle A calculates an entry priority (using data such as the distance to the entry point, the time required to reach the point, and the number of subsequent vehicles) to determine the entry priority of vehicles A and B (Ogino ¶ 68).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose calculate the first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road.
However, Bell teaches calculate the first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road (See at least fig 1-3, ¶ 22, 27, 29, 30, 31, 35, 23, “The traffic queue information communication device 120d of the following vehicle 110d can then perform the same functions in the same manner, as described above, in order to determine the position of the vehicle 110d in the queue 125 and also the time it will take the vehicle 110d to reach the front of the queue 125”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saito and include calculate the first time needed for the first vehicle to reach the first road as taught by Ogino because it would allow the system to use the received data to determine its position in the queue as well as the estimated time it will take to travel through the queue (Bell ¶ 43).
Regarding claim 8, Saito discloses the traveling control system according to claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to: in a case where it is determined that the first vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether the second vehicle or the third vehicle is an emergency vehicle (See at least fig 1-24 col 14, lines, 54-67, “A first group of cars 520 that are in a first V2VN 560a are in the first lane 505a, and the first car 520c in the group is just approaching the obstacle area in a west-to-east direction. A second 530 and third 540 group of cars are approaching the obstacle area in an opposite east-to-west direction, these groups 530, 540 belonging to a second 560b and third 560c V2VN, respectively. An overlap vehicle 530d, 540d is a member of both the second 530 and third 540 group of cars and the second 560b and third 560c V2VN”); and
in a case where it is determined that the second vehicle or the third vehicle is an emergency vehicle, display, on the information display, the first message indicating that the first vehicle is to wait in front of the first road (See at least fig 1-24 col 23, lines, 35-50, “Conditions for which priority for proceeding may be given (prioritized conditions) may include: the location of the obstacle 507, current or projected waiting time, whether one is ascending or descending in altitude, a number of succeeding vehicles, congestion and/or a traffic signal state on the road located ahead, and having been in wait state ( or 35 a duration in a wait state) (return from waiting in line; see state <Ll>).”).
Saito fails to explicitly disclose determined that the first vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether the second vehicle or the third vehicle is an emergency vehicle
However, Ogino teaches determined that the first vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether the second vehicle or the third vehicle is an emergency vehicle (See at least fig 1-17, ¶ 15, 55, 66, 67, 68, 69, 71, 72, 74, 17, 9, “Vehicle-to-vehicle communication is also helpful to emergency vehicles such as ambulances and fire engines, which conventionally use a siren to notify other regular vehicles in the vicinity that an emergency vehicle is approaching”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Saito and include determined that the first vehicle has not entered the first road, determine whether the second vehicle or the third vehicle is an emergency vehicle as taught by Ogino because it would allow smooth passage of an emergency vehicle (Ogino ¶ 14).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665