DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (US 2024/0069820 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Yoshida discloses at least one memory storing instructions (A recording medium used for storing the program may be any one of a semiconductor medium (for example, a ROM, a non-volatile memory card, or the like), an optical recording medium or a magnetooptical recording medium (for example, a digital versatile disc (DVD), a magnetooptical disc (MO), a mini disc (MD), a compact disc (CD), a Blu-ray® disc (BD), or the like), and a magnetic recording medium (for example, a magnetic tape, a flexible disk, or the like). Moreover, not only are the functions of the embodiments described above implemented by execution of a loaded program, but the functions of the present disclosure may also be implemented by processing performed in cooperation with an operating system or other application programs, etc., on the basis of an instruction of the program., par. 114); and at least one processor that, upon execution of the stored instructions, configures the at least one processor to operate as (Further, the program to be operated on each of the devices in the embodiments is a program that controls the CPU or the like (a program that makes a computer function) so as to implement the functions of the above-described embodiments. The embodiments assume a device in which a plurality of programs are executed simultaneously as needed by multitask processing. The information handled by the devices is temporarily accumulated in a temporary storage device (for example, a RAM) during processing of the information, and then, is stored in various storage devices such as a read-only memory (ROM) and an HDD, and is read, modified, and written by the CPU as necessary., par. 113): a scan unit configured to scan an image of a document (The image inputter 21 scans and reads a document, thereby generating image data. The image inputter 21 can be configured, for example, as a scanner device provided with an image sensor, such as a charge-coupled device (CCD), a contact image sensor (CIS), or the like, and including an automatic document feeder (ADF). As long as the image inputter 21 is configured to generate image data by reading a reflected light image from a document image by using the image sensor, a configuration thereof is not limited. In the present disclosure, the image inputter 21 can also be configured as an interface which can acquire, for example, image data stored in a portable storage medium such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) memory, or image data transmitted from an external device (not illustrated) via the communicator 17., par. 36); a reception unit that receives a password from an information processing apparatus (The user authentication screen W10 includes a login user name input box Bx10, a login password input box Bx12, an authentication destination specifying button B10, an OK button B12, and a cancel button B14. The login user name input box Bx10 receives input of a login user name of a user who attempts to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The login user name may be input directly by using an input device such as a keyboard, or can alternatively be input by selecting the login user name from a user name list displayed by pressing of a “Select from List” button that is provided separately. The login password input box Bx12 is an input box which receives input of a login password corresponding to the login user name. The user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10 enters the login password together with the input of the login user name. The authentication destination specifying button B10 is a button which receives specification of a user authentication destination. The user authentication destination may be set to the device alone, or an authentication server or the like separately provided on a network (NW), for example, can be specified as the user authentication destination. When the device alone is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 authenticates the user by comparing the entered login user name and login password with authentication information prepared in advance (e.g., a combination of the user name and the password). Meanwhile, when the authentication server provided on the NW is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 transmits the entered login user name and login password to the authentication server and receives an authentication result from the authentication server, thereby authenticating the user. The OK button B12 is a button which receives an instruction to confirm an input operation by the user. The user selects the OK button B12 when the user wishes to confirm the input to the login user name input box Bx10 or the login password input box Bx12, or the user authentication destination that has been specified via the authentication destination specifying button B10. The cancel button B14 is a button which receives an instruction to cancel the input operation by the user., pars. 61-65); a transmission unit that transmits information to the information processing apparatus (Meanwhile, when the authentication server provided on the NW is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 transmits the entered login user name and login password to the authentication server and receives an authentication result from the authentication server, thereby authenticating the user., par. 64); a generation unit that generates a file including the image (The job management table illustrated in FIG. 3A includes, as management items, Job ID, Set time, Job type, User name, Number of sets, Image data, and Status. Job ID is an identifier to uniquely identify the registered job. Set time indicates the time when the job has been set. In this case, the Set time can be the time when an instruction to execute a copy job has been input, or the Set time may alternatively be the time when a document to be copied has been set to the image inputter 21 (e.g., the scanner device). Job type indicates the type of the job in question. User name indicates the name of a user who has executed the job. If the user who has executed the job is uncertain (e.g., a job of making a small number of copies by directly operating the multifunction peripheral 10), this management item may be left blank. Number of sets indicates the number of copies to be made. Image data indicates a storage location (a file path) of the image data for use as an original image of the copy. Status indicates the status of execution of the job in question by indicating “waiting” or “copying”, for example., par. 44), the file being encrypted by using the password received by the reception unit from an information processing apparatus (Meanwhile, if it is determined that job execution is not in progress, the controller 11 determines whether there exists a print job pertaining to a pre-registered encrypted Portable Document Format (PDF) (step S30; No.fwdarw.step S50). Here, the encrypted PDF refers to a PDF encrypted such that the user is required to enter a password when viewing or editing the PDF file in question, or outputting the PDF file in question as a printed material, for example, with the aim of enhancing security, and in order to prevent falsification of data or information leakage, etc., by an outsider. In other words, once an encrypted PDF is registered as a print job, it is virtually impossible to execute the print job until a password to decrypt the encrypted PDF is entered., par. 52); and a setting unit that sets whether the reception unit executes encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41), wherein information transmitted by the transmission unit to the information processing apparatus is information indicating that the encrypted file is able to be generated (If it is determined in step S120 that a print job pertaining to a pre-registered encrypted PDF exists, the controller 11 displays a “Spool” screen as the job list screen so that decryption processing or deletion processing of the encrypted PDF can be performed (step S120; Yes.fwdarw.step S130). Incidentally, when a print job pertaining to an encrypted PDF is registered by another user different from the user who has logged into the multifunction peripheral 10, the controller 11 does not display a “Spool” screen as the job list screen. With such a configuration, there is no risk of a user logging into the multifunction peripheral 10 accidentally manipulating the encrypted PDF registered by another user. When such another user logs into the multifunction peripheral 10, a “Spool” screen on which the encrypted PDF can be manipulated can be displayed., par. 58) in a case where the setting causes the reception unit to execute the encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41).
Regarding claim 2: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the at least one processor (Further, the program to be operated on each of the devices in the embodiments is a program that controls the CPU or the like (a program that makes a computer function) so as to implement the functions of the above-described embodiments. The embodiments assume a device in which a plurality of programs are executed simultaneously as needed by multitask processing. The information handled by the devices is temporarily accumulated in a temporary storage device (for example, a RAM) during processing of the information, and then, is stored in various storage devices such as a read-only memory (ROM) and an HDD, and is read, modified, and written by the CPU as necessary., par. 113) to transmit an encrypted file generated by the generation unit to the information processing apparatus (Meanwhile, if it is determined that job execution is not in progress, the controller 11 determines whether there exists a print job pertaining to a pre-registered encrypted Portable Document Format (PDF) (step S30; No.fwdarw.step S50). Here, the encrypted PDF refers to a PDF encrypted such that the user is required to enter a password when viewing or editing the PDF file in question, or outputting the PDF file in question as a printed material, for example, with the aim of enhancing security, and in order to prevent falsification of data or information leakage, etc., by an outsider. In other words, once an encrypted PDF is registered as a print job, it is virtually impossible to execute the print job until a password to decrypt the encrypted PDF is entered., par. 52).
Regarding claim 3: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses wherein, when the setting causes the reception unit to execute the encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41) the information transmitted by transmission unit to the information processing apparatus is information indicating that the encrypted file is able to be generated and is transmitted (If it is determined in step S120 that a print job pertaining to a pre-registered encrypted PDF exists, the controller 11 displays a “Spool” screen as the job list screen so that decryption processing or deletion processing of the encrypted PDF can be performed (step S120; Yes.fwdarw.step S130). Incidentally, when a print job pertaining to an encrypted PDF is registered by another user different from the user who has logged into the multifunction peripheral 10, the controller 11 does not display a “Spool” screen as the job list screen. With such a configuration, there is no risk of a user logging into the multifunction peripheral 10 accidentally manipulating the encrypted PDF registered by another user. When such another user logs into the multifunction peripheral 10, a “Spool” screen on which the encrypted PDF can be manipulated can be displayed., par. 58) as a response to a capability information request received by the reception unit from the information processing apparatus (The user authentication screen W10 includes a login user name input box Bx10, a login password input box Bx12, an authentication destination specifying button B10, an OK button B12, and a cancel button B14. The login user name input box Bx10 receives input of a login user name of a user who attempts to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The login user name may be input directly by using an input device such as a keyboard, or can alternatively be input by selecting the login user name from a user name list displayed by pressing of a “Select from List” button that is provided separately. The login password input box Bx12 is an input box which receives input of a login password corresponding to the login user name. The user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10 enters the login password together with the input of the login user name. The authentication destination specifying button B10 is a button which receives specification of a user authentication destination. The user authentication destination may be set to the device alone, or an authentication server or the like separately provided on a network (NW), for example, can be specified as the user authentication destination. When the device alone is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 authenticates the user by comparing the entered login user name and login password with authentication information prepared in advance (e.g., a combination of the user name and the password). Meanwhile, when the authentication server provided on the NW is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 transmits the entered login user name and login password to the authentication server and receives an authentication result from the authentication server, thereby authenticating the user. The OK button B12 is a button which receives an instruction to confirm an input operation by the user. The user selects the OK button B12 when the user wishes to confirm the input to the login user name input box Bx10 or the login password input box Bx12, or the user authentication destination that has been specified via the authentication destination specifying button B10. The cancel button B14 is a button which receives an instruction to cancel the input operation by the user., pars. 61-65).
Regarding claim 4: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses wherein, when the setting causes the reception unit to execute the encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41) the information transmitted by transmission unit to the information processing apparatus is capability information which includes the information indicating the encrypted file is able to be generated and is transmitted (If it is determined in step S120 that a print job pertaining to a pre-registered encrypted PDF exists, the controller 11 displays a “Spool” screen as the job list screen so that decryption processing or deletion processing of the encrypted PDF can be performed (step S120; Yes.fwdarw.step S130). Incidentally, when a print job pertaining to an encrypted PDF is registered by another user different from the user who has logged into the multifunction peripheral 10, the controller 11 does not display a “Spool” screen as the job list screen. With such a configuration, there is no risk of a user logging into the multifunction peripheral 10 accidentally manipulating the encrypted PDF registered by another user. When such another user logs into the multifunction peripheral 10, a “Spool” screen on which the encrypted PDF can be manipulated can be displayed., par. 58) in response to the capability information request received by the reception unit from the information processing apparatus (The user authentication screen W10 includes a login user name input box Bx10, a login password input box Bx12, an authentication destination specifying button B10, an OK button B12, and a cancel button B14. The login user name input box Bx10 receives input of a login user name of a user who attempts to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The login user name may be input directly by using an input device such as a keyboard, or can alternatively be input by selecting the login user name from a user name list displayed by pressing of a “Select from List” button that is provided separately. The login password input box Bx12 is an input box which receives input of a login password corresponding to the login user name. The user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10 enters the login password together with the input of the login user name. The authentication destination specifying button B10 is a button which receives specification of a user authentication destination. The user authentication destination may be set to the device alone, or an authentication server or the like separately provided on a network (NW), for example, can be specified as the user authentication destination. When the device alone is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 authenticates the user by comparing the entered login user name and login password with authentication information prepared in advance (e.g., a combination of the user name and the password). Meanwhile, when the authentication server provided on the NW is specified as the user authentication destination, the controller 11 transmits the entered login user name and login password to the authentication server and receives an authentication result from the authentication server, thereby authenticating the user. The OK button B12 is a button which receives an instruction to confirm an input operation by the user. The user selects the OK button B12 when the user wishes to confirm the input to the login user name input box Bx10 or the login password input box Bx12, or the user authentication destination that has been specified via the authentication destination specifying button B10. The cancel button B14 is a button which receives an instruction to cancel the input operation by the user., pars. 61-65).
Regarding claim 7: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses further comprising: a display that displays information (Fig. 2, display 13), wherein, when the setting causes the reception unit not to execute the encrypted communication (Incidentally, when a print job pertaining to an encrypted PDF is registered by another user different from the user who has logged into the multifunction peripheral 10, the controller 11 does not display a “Spool” screen as the job list screen. With such a configuration, there is no risk of a user logging into the multifunction peripheral 10 accidentally manipulating the encrypted PDF registered by another user. When such another user logs into the multifunction peripheral 10, a “Spool” screen on which the encrypted PDF can be manipulated can be displayed., par. 58), the display displays information indicating that the encrypted communication is disabled (Fig. 5, display spool screen S130) in response to the reception unit receiving the capability information request from the information processing apparatus (Incidentally, when a print job pertaining to an encrypted PDF is registered by another user different from the user who has logged into the multifunction peripheral 10, the controller 11 does not display a “Spool” screen as the job list screen. With such a configuration, there is no risk of a user logging into the multifunction peripheral 10 accidentally manipulating the encrypted PDF registered by another user. When such another user logs into the multifunction peripheral 10, a “Spool” screen on which the encrypted PDF can be manipulated can be displayed., par. 58).
Regarding claim 8: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 8. Thus, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium in inherently taught as evidenced by controller 11 and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida in view of Mountney et al. (hereinafter Mountney) (US 2023/0326581 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses wherein the encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41)
Yoshida fails to specifically address is communication using Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS).
Mountney discloses is communication using Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) (When executed by the processors 116, the instructions for image encryption 122 may encrypt the image data before the image data is streamed (e.g., transmitted) to the image processing service 112. Image encryption 122 may allow images to be securely transmitted from local compute resources 104 via the network 108 to the image processing service 112. For example, image encryption 122 may encrypt data based on the TLS specification to transfer data based on various protocols, such as HTTPS or WSS protocols., par. 35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is communication using Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) in order to allow encrypted image data to be transferred using HTTPS protocol as taught by Mountney (par. 35).
Regarding claim 6: Yoshida satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Yoshida further discloses wherein the encrypted communication (The user authentication program 233 is a program that the controller 11 reads in authenticating a user attempting to log into the multifunction peripheral 10. The controller 11 that has read the user authentication program 233 functions as an authenticator. When a user authentication function is enabled, the controller 11 displays the login screen on the display 13 and receives input of a login user name and a login password. The controller 11 stores the login user name and the login password pertaining to user authentication to be associated with each other in advance and can perform login authentication of the user by verifying the login user name and the login password that have been input via the login screen. In addition to knowledge authentication based on the input of the login user name and the login password, the login authentication can also be performed by, for example, possession authentication using a token, a key, an integrated circuit (IC) card, a smartphone, and the like, or biometric authentication such as face authentication and fingerprint authentication. The controller 11 can determine whether the user authentication function is enabled or disabled based on the setting contents set via the setting screen (not illustrated)., par. 41)
Yoshida fails to specifically address is communication using Transport Layer Security (TLS).
Mountney discloses is communication using Transport Layer Security (TLS) (When executed by the processors 116, the instructions for image encryption 122 may encrypt the image data before the image data is streamed (e.g., transmitted) to the image processing service 112. Image encryption 122 may allow images to be securely transmitted from local compute resources 104 via the network 108 to the image processing service 112. For example, image encryption 122 may encrypt data based on the TLS specification to transfer data based on various protocols, such as HTTPS or WSS protocols., par. 35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is communication using Transport Layer Security (TLS) in order to encrypt image data based on TLS specification to transfer data based on various protocols, such as HTTPS as taught by Mountney (par. 35).
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
05 August 2026