Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC Code § 102
a (1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; or a (2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US20220345826A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches:
A sounding device (sound generation device, throughout the disclosure; see, e.g., ¶¶ 0030- 0031, 0054, 0092, and Fig. 1), comprising:
a diaphragm (sound-generation diaphragm 201, Fig.1) comprising at least two conductive portions (two separated conductive paths, ¶¶ 0029, 0075- 0077, 0094-0097, and Figs. 3-5) spaced apart from each other (diaphragm 201 made of the conductive film, including at least two separated conductive paths formed by respective separated portions of first conductive layer 11, second conductive layer 21, and third conductive layer 31, ¶¶ 0029, 0031, 0075- 0076, 0094-0097 Figs. 3-5);
a bracket surrounding the diaphragm, an outer side of the diaphragm being connected to the bracket (housing 10 surrounding sound generation diaphragm 201, wherein outer side portion 3 of the diaphragm/conductive film is connected to housing 10; ¶¶ 0054, 0058, Figs. 1, and 9);
a magnetic circuit system (magnetic circuit system 30, ¶ 0054, and Fig. 1) arranged on one side of the bracket and configured to form a magnetic gap area (gap between central and side magnetic circuit portions, ¶ 0054, Fig. 1); and
a voice coil (voice coil 202, Fig. 1) arranged in the magnetic gap area formed by the magnetic circuit system (magnetic circuit system 30 mounted on one side of housing 10, wherein a magnetic gap is formed between the central magnetic circuit portion and the side magnetic circuit portion; ¶ 0054, and Fig. 1 )and configured to drive the diaphragm to vibrate, (extending into the magnetic gap formed by magnetic circuit system 30, wherein current applied to voice coil 202 causes the voice coil to vibrate under the magnetic field of magnetic circuit system 30 and thereby drive sound generation diaphragm 201 to vibrate; ¶ 0054, Fig. 1),
wherein the voice coil is electrically connected to an external power source via at least two conductive portions (voice coil 202 electrically connected to an external circuit through two separated conductive paths, each path extending between a respective inner pad 7 connected to a voice-coil lead and a respective outer pad 8 connected to the external circuit through respective separated portions of conductive layers 11, 21, and 31, ¶¶ 0075-0077, 0094-0097, and Figs. 3-5)
Regarding claim 2, Guo teaches:
wherein the diaphragm further comprises an insulating portion (base material layers 4 and 5 of sound generation diaphragm 201, which surround the conductive layer to prevent contact with other components and short circuit; ¶ 0057, Figs. 2, and 5),
the at least two conductive portions are connected to the insulating portion (the respective separated portions of conductive layers 11, 21, and 31 being attached/bonded to base material layers 4 and 5; ¶¶ 0075-0078, and Fig. 5),
and an outer side of the insulating portion is connected to the bracket (outer side portion 3 of the conductive film/diaphragm, including the base material layers, connected to housing 10; ¶ 0058, Figs. 1, and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Guo teaches:
further comprising a dome (reads on the rigid reinforcing portion 9 bonded to the inner side portion 1 of sound generation diaphragm 201; ¶ 0100, and Fig. 2),
wherein the diaphragm is annular and surrounds the dome (sound generation diaphragm 201 having a peripheral annular/ring-like configuration surrounding central rigid reinforcing portion 9; ¶¶ 0093-0094, 0100, Figs. 2, and 5),
and the voice coil is arranged on one side of the dome (voice coil 202 arranged beneath/on one side of rigid reinforcing portion 9; ¶¶ 0058, 0092, 0100, and Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Guo teaches:
wherein the at least two conductive portions and the insulating portion are alternately arranged and form the diaphragm (the two separated conductive path portions formed by conductive layers 11, 21, and 31 are alternately arranged with intervening insulating/base-material portions of base material layers 4 and 5 about the conductive film forming sound generation diaphragm 201; ¶¶ 0057, 0075-0078, 0094-0097, Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches:
wherein each conductive portion comprises a first fixing end, a first connection structure, and a second fixing end, and the first connection structure connects the first fixing end and the second fixing end (each of the two separated conductive paths comprises a respective portion of third conductive layer 31 disposed at outer side portion 3 as the first fixing end, a respective portion of second conductive layer 21 disposed on deformation portion 2 as the first connection structure, and a respective portion of first conductive layer 11 disposed at inner side portion 1 as the second fixing end, wherein second conductive layer 21 connects first conductive layer 11 and third conductive layer 31; ¶¶ 0006-0009, 0075-0076, and Figs. 2-5);
the insulating portion comprises a third fixing end, a second connection structure, and a fourth fixing end, and the second connection structure connects the third fixing end and the fourth fixing end, and the second connection structure connects third fixing end and the fourth fixing end (the insulating/base-material portion of sound generation diaphragm 201 comprises a portion of base material layers 4 and 5 at outer side portion 3 as the third fixing end, a portion of base material layers 4 and 5 extending through deformation portion 2 as the second connection structure, and a portion of base material layers 4 and 5 at inner side portion 1 as the fourth fixing end, wherein the base material layers extend through and connect the outer side portion 3, deformation portion 2, and inner side portion 1 of the conductive film; ¶¶ 0057-0058, 0078, Figs. 2, and 6-7);
the first fixing end and the third fixing end jointly form a first fixing structure connected to the bracket (the respective portion of third conductive layer 31 forming the first fixing end and the adjacent/intervening insulating base-material portion forming the third fixing end jointly constitute outer side portion 3 of sound generation diaphragm 201, wherein outer side portion 3 is connected to housing 10; ¶¶ 0057-0059, 0075-0078, and Figs. 2-5),
and the second fixing end and the fourth fixing end jointly form a second fixing structure connected to the dome (the respective portion of first conductive layer 11 forming the second fixing end and the adjacent/intervening insulating base material portion forming the fourth fixing end jointly constitute inner side portion 1 of sound generation diaphragm 201, wherein rigid reinforcing portion 9 is bonded to inner side portion 1; ¶¶ 0057-0059, 0075-0078, 0100, and Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 6, Guo teaches:
wherein the first fixing end and the third fixing end are arranged on the outer side of the annular diaphragm (the respective portion of third conductive layer 31 forming the first fixing end and the corresponding insulating/base material portion forming the third fixing end are disposed at outer side portion 3 of sound generation diaphragm 201; ¶¶ 0058-0059, and Figs. 2-5),
and the second fixing end and the fourth fixing end are arranged on an inner side of the annular diaphragm (the respective portion of first conductive layer 11 forming the second fixing end and the corresponding insulating/base material portion forming the fourth fixing end are disposed at inner side portion 1 of sound generation diaphragm 201; ¶¶ 0058-0059, and Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 9, Guo teaches:
wherein the insulating portion has a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, the first surface abuts against the dome, and the at least two conductive portions are arranged on the second surface (second base material layer 5 of sound generation diaphragm 201 having opposed surfaces, with a first surface at inner side portion 1 abutting/bonded to rigid reinforcing portion 9, and the opposite surface bonded to the respective separated portions of conductive layers 11, 21, and 31 forming the at least two separated conductive paths; ¶¶ 0056-0057, 0074-0079, 0100, and Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 11, Guo teaches:
wherein the bracket comprises a connector corresponding to a conductive portion of the at least two conductive portions (housing 10 comprising electrical connectors corresponding to respective outer pads 8 provided on the separated portions of third conductive layer 31, each separated portion forming part of a respective separated conductive path; ¶¶ 0075-0076, 0096-0097, and Figs. 3-5),
and the connector is electrically connected to the conductive portion (each outer pad 8, electrically connected to its respective portion of third conductive layer 31/conductive path, being electrically connected by welding or the like to an electrical connector on housing 10; ¶ 0097, and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches:
wherein the bracket comprises a connector corresponding to a conductive portion of the at least two conductive portions (housing 10 comprising electrical connectors corresponding to respective outer pads 8 provided on the separated portions of third conductive layer 31, each separated portion forming part of a respective separated conductive path; ¶¶ 0075- 0076, 0096-0097, and Figs. 3-5),
and the connector is electrically connected to the conductive portion (each outer pad 8, electrically connected to its respective portion of third conductive layer 31/conductive path, being electrically connected by welding or the like to an electrical connector on housing 10; ¶ 0097, and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 13, Guo teaches:
wherein the bracket comprises a connector corresponding to a conductive portion of the at least two conductive portions (housing 10 comprising electrical connectors corresponding to respective outer pads 8 provided on the separated portions of third conductive layer 31 forming the respective separated conductive paths; ¶¶ 0075- 0076, 0096-0097, and Figs. 3-5),
and the connector is electrically connected to the conductive portion (each outer pad 8, electrically connected to its respective portion of third conductive layer 31/conductive path, being electrically connected by welding or the like to an electrical connector on housing 10; ¶ 0097, and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 14, Guo teaches:
wherein the bracket comprises a connector corresponding to a conductive portion of the at least two conductive portions (housing 10 comprising electrical connectors corresponding to respective outer pads 8 provided on the separated portions of third conductive layer 31, each separated portion forming part of a respective separated conductive path; ¶¶ 0075-0076, 0096-0097, and Figs. 3-5),
and the connector is electrically connected to the conductive portion (each outer pad 8, electrically connected to its respective portion of third conductive layer 31/conductive path, being electrically connected by welding or the like to an electrical connector on housing 10; ¶ 0097, and Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, Guo teaches:
wherein the conductive portion comprises a body and conductive particles dispersed in the body (each separated conductive path including a respective portion of second conductive layer 21 formed as a conductive adhesive layer, wherein the conductive adhesive comprises a binder forming the cured molecular skeleton body of the conductive adhesive layer and conductive particles contained and distributed therein to form conductive channels; ¶¶ 0067-0069, and 0074-0075).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai et al. (hereafter Cai, CN 219536284 U, cited in IDS filed on 8/08/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Cai teaches: A sounding device (sound generating device 100, Fig. 1-4) comprising: a diaphragm (a vibrating diaphragm 31, ¶ 0053 and Figs. 1-2) comprising at least two conductive portions (input conductive layer 3111 and output conductive layer 3112, ¶ 0079 and Figs. 5-7) spaced apart from each other (separate input/output paths associated with separate voice-coil leads and conductive inserts); a bracket surrounding the diaphragm (housing/shell 1 connected to fixing portion of diaphragm), an outer side of the diaphragm being connected to the bracket; a magnetic circuit (magnetic circuit system 2, Fig. 1 and 3) system arranged on one side of the bracket and configured to form a magnetic gap (magnetic gap 21, Fig.2-4) area; and a voice coil (voice coil 32, Fig.2-3) arranged in the magnetic gap area formed by the magnetic circuit system and configured to drive the diaphragm (expressly disclosed) to vibrate, wherein the voice coil is electrically connected to an external power source via the at least two conductive portions (external circuits to conductive inserts 11 to conductive layers 3111/3112 to input/output leads 321/322-voice coil).
Cai discloses: the sounding device 100 comprising a diaphragm 31, an outer shell 1, a magnetic circuit system 2 defining a magnetic gap 21, and a voice coil 32 disposed in the magnetic gap and connected to diaphragm 31 (¶¶ 0053, 0056, and Figs. 1–4). Cai also teaches that outer shell 1 supports vibration system 3 and defines a receiving space (¶ 0054), and that diaphragm 31 includes an outer fixing portion 314 connected to the inner or outer sidewall of outer shell 1 (¶¶ 0063–0065, Figs. 1–3, and 5–7), thereby teaching a bracket surrounding the diaphragm with an outer side of the diaphragm connected thereto.
Cai further teaches that voice coil 32 includes input lead 321 and output lead 322 and that diaphragm 31 carries an input conductive layer 3111 and an output conductive layer 3112, respectively connected to the input and output leads and to separate conductive inserts 11 of housing 1 (¶ 0079). Paragraph [0080] and Figs. 5–7 show that input conductive layer 3111 provides current inflow from the external circuit to voice coil 32 and output conductive layer 3112 provides current outflow from voice coil 32 to the external circuit. Cai additionally teaches multiple conductive layers disposed of at different corners of diaphragm 31 (¶ 0081), thereby teaching at least two conductive portions spaced apart from one another.
Cai further teaches that magnetic circuit system 2 is provided with magnetic gap 21 and that voice coil 32 is disposed in magnetic gap 21 (¶¶ 0053 and 0056). Upon receipt of the external alternating-current signal transmitted through conductive insert 11 and conductive layer 311, voice coil 32 reciprocates under the magnetic force of magnetic circuit system 2 and drives diaphragm 31 to vibrate and produce sound (¶ 0057). Accordingly, Cai discloses the voice coil electrically connected to an external electrical source through the at least two diaphragm conductive portions (¶¶ 0079–0080, and Figs. 5–7).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC Code § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US 20220345826 A1) as applied to claim 5, in view of Zhao et al. (hereafter Zhao, CN 219876114 U).
Regarding claim 7, Guo does not expressly teach: wherein a conduction structure is provided on a side of the dome close to the voice coil, one end of the conduction structure is between the voice coil and the dome, and the other end of the conduction structure is connected to the second fixing end.
However, Zhao teaches:
wherein a conduction structure is provided on a side of the dome close to the voice coil (pad portion 331 provided on dome 33, wherein a first side of pad portion 331 is provided on the side of dome 33 close to voice coil 34; ¶ 0041, and Figs. 1, 4-5),
one end of the conduction structure is between the voice coil and the dome (the first side of pad portion 331 being disposed on the side of dome 33 close to voice coil 34 and electrically connected to voice coil 34; ¶¶ 0039-0041, and Figs. 4-5),
and the other end of the conduction structure is connected to the second fixing end (the second side of pad portion 331 being electrically connected to conductive diaphragm 322 at the inner/dome-side end thereof, corresponding to the claimed second fixing end; ¶¶ 0039-0042, and Figs. 4-5).Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to modify Guo to use Zhao’s dome-mounted pad structure between the voice coil and conductive diaphragm. Zhao teaches that this arrangement shortens the voice-coil lead distance, reduces lead breakage, and improves connection stability (Zhao, ¶¶ 0040-0041). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to incorporate Zhao’s arrangement into Guo to provide a more reliable electrical connection.
Claim 8 is rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US 20220345826 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (hereafter Zhao, CN 219876114 U) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Chang et al. (hereinafter Chang, US 20200329313 A1).
Regarding claim 8, neither Guo nor Zhao expressly teaches:
“wherein the second fixing structure is attached to a first surface of the dome close to the voice coil, a second surface of the dome away from the voice coil, and a third surface of the dome, and the third surface connects the first surface and the second surface.”
However, Chang teaches:
wherein the second fixing structure is attached to a first surface of the dome close to the voice coil (second connecting portion 145 of first diaphragm portion 14 forming second groove 1451 around the edge of extending portion 1213, including attachment along lower side surface 1218 of extending portion 1213 on the side toward voice coil portion 12; ¶¶ 0031, 0034-0035, and Fig. 6),
a second surface of the dome away from the voice coil (second connecting portion 145 defining second groove 1451 around the edge of extending portion 1213, including attachment along upper side surface 1216 opposite lower side surface 1218; ¶¶ 0034-0035, and Fig. 6),
and a third surface of the dome, and the third surface connects the first surface and the second surface (second connecting portion 145 defining second groove 1451 around the peripheral edge of extending portion 1213, including the peripheral/end surface extending between upper side surface 1216 and lower side surface 1218, wherein the edge of extending portion 1213 is received within second groove 1451; ¶¶ 0034-0035, 0037-0038, and Fig. 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to modify the diaphragm to dome connection of Guo and Zhao to use Chang’s wraparound fixing arrangement. Chang teaches receiving an edge of a member within a groove formed by a diaphragm connecting portion, thereby providing attachment along multiple surfaces of the member. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Chang’s wraparound fixing arrangement to Zhao’s dome to provide a more secure and stable diaphragm to dome connection.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US 20220345826 A1) as applied to claim 9, in view of Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai, CN 219536284 U).
Regarding claim 10, Guo does not teach:
“Wherein an end of the diaphragm away from the bracket is between the dome and the voice coil, and the conductive portion abuts against the voice coil.”
However, Cai teaches wherein an end of the diaphragm away from the bracket is between the dome and the voice coil (central portion 312 of diaphragm 31, which is opposite the fixing portion 314 connected to housing 1, being disposed between dome 34 and voice coil 32; ¶¶ 0063-0064, 0072-0075, and Figs. 1-3),
and the conductive portion abuts against the voice coil (first conductive portion 3113 of conductive layer 311 being disposed on central portion 312 at the voice coil connection region, wherein voice coil 32 is fixed to conductive layer 311 by an adhesive process to achieve electrical connection; ¶¶ 0066-0069, and Figs. 5-8).
It would have been obvious to modify Guo to use Cai’s diaphragm to voice-coil arrangement. Cai teaches that connecting the voice coil through a conductive layer on the diaphragm simplifies lead routing, improves connection stability, and reduces lead breakage (Cai, ¶ 0062). Cai further teaches fixing the voice coil to the conductive layer (Cai, ¶ 0068). Thus, one of ordinary skills would have been motivated to use Cai’s arrangement in Guo to provide a more stable and reliable electrical connection It would have been obvious to modify Guo to use Cai’s diaphragm to voice-coil arrangement. Cai teaches that connecting the voice coil through a conductive layer on the diaphragm simplifies lead routing, improves connection stability, and reduces lead breakage (Cai, ¶ 0062). Cai further teaches fixing the voice coil to the conductive layer (Cai, ¶ 0068). Thus, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Cai’s arrangement in Guo to provide a more stable and reliable electrical connection.
Claim 15 and 16 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US 20220345826 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 3, in view of Chang et al. (hereinafter Chang, US 20200329313 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Guo does not teach:
“wherein the diaphragm partially wraps the bracket, and the diaphragm extends from a side of the bracket close to the voice coil to a side of the bracket away from the voice coil.”
However, Chang teaches:
wherein the diaphragm partially wraps the bracket (first diaphragm portion 14 including first connecting portion 143 recessed inward to form first groove 1431 receiving a side of first bracket 11, wherein inner surface 113 of first bracket 11 abuts bottom wall 1432 of first groove 1431 and upper surface 112 and lower surface 114 of first bracket 11 respectively about the two opposing sidewalls 1434 of first groove 1431; ¶¶ 0032-0033, and Figs. 1 and 5),
and the diaphragm extends from a side of the bracket close to the voice coil to a side of the bracket away from the voice coil (first connecting portion 143 of first diaphragm portion 14 extending from lower surface 114 of first bracket 11 on the side toward voice coil portion 12, around inner surface 113 of first bracket 11, to opposite upper surface 112 on the side away from voice coil portion 12; ¶¶ 0019, 0031-0033, and Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to modify Guo’s diaphragm to housing connection to use Chang’s wraparound bracket attachment. Chang teaches that this injection molded arrangement helps avoid gaps and poor acoustic performance associated with manual assembly (Chang, ¶¶ 0038, 0068). Thus, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Chang’s attachment in Guo to provide a more secure, gap reduced diaphragm to bracket connection.
Regarding claim 16, Guo does not teach: “wherein the diaphragm partially wraps the bracket, and the diaphragm extends from a side of the bracket close to the voice coil to a side of the bracket away from the voice coil.”
However, Chang teaches:
wherein the diaphragm partially wraps the bracket (first diaphragm portion 14 including first connecting portion 143 recessed inward to form first groove 1431 receiving a side of first bracket 11, wherein inner surface 113 of first bracket 11 abuts bottom wall 1432 of first groove 1431 and upper surface 112 and lower surface 114 of first bracket 11 respectively about the two opposing sidewalls 1434 of first groove 1431; ¶¶ 0032-0033, Figs. 1 and 5),
and the diaphragm extends from a side of the bracket close to the voice coil to a side of the bracket away from the voice coil. (first connecting portion 143 of first diaphragm portion 14 extending from lower surface 114 of first bracket 11 on the side toward voice coil portion 12, around inner surface 113 of first bracket 11, to opposite upper surface 112 on the side away from voice coil portion 12; ¶¶ 0019, 0031-0033, Figs. 1 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to modify Guo’s diaphragm to housing connection to use Chang’s wraparound bracket attachment. Chang teaches that this injection molded arrangement helps avoid gaps and poor acoustic performance associated with manual assembly (Chang, [0038], [0068]). Thus, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Chang’s attachment in Guo to provide a more secure, gap reduced diaphragm to bracket connection.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Guo et al. (hereafter Guo, US 20220345826 A1) as applied to claim 17, in view of Wang et al. (hereafter Wang, CN 116132889 A).
Regarding claim 18, Guo teaches:
wherein the body is made of silicone (the binder forming the cured molecular skeleton body of the conductive adhesive layer may be a silicone type adhesive; ¶ 0069),
the conductive particles are made of one or more gold, silver, copper, zinc, and graphite (the conductive particles may be at least one of gold, silver, copper, aluminum, zinc, and nickel powders or alloy powders; ¶ 0070), and the conductive particles are of linear structures.
Guo does not teach: the conductive particles are of linear structures.
However, Wang teaches:
and the conductive particles are of linear structures (conductive particles 122 may be spherical, near-spherical, linear, sheet-like, or tree-like; ¶ 0068).
It would have been obvious to modify Guo’s conductive adhesive layer to use Wang’s linear conductive particles. Wang expressly identifies linear particles as one of several suitable conductive particle structures for a conductive portion having conductive particles dispersed in a polymer matrix. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application would have been motivated to use Wang’s linear particle structure in Guo as a known alternative particle configuration for forming the conductive adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 19, Guo teaches:
wherein the body is made of silicone (the binder forming the cured molecular skeleton body of the conductive adhesive layer may be a silicone type adhesive; ¶ 0069),
the conductive particles are made of one or more of gold, silver, copper, zinc, and graphite (the conductive particles may be at least one of gold, silver, copper, aluminum, zinc, and nickel powders or alloy powders; ¶ 0070), and the conductive particles are of sheet structures.
Guo does not teach: the conductive particles are of sheet structures.
However, Wang teaches:
the conductive particles are of sheet structures (conductive particles 122 may be spherical, near-spherical, linear, sheet-like, or tree-like, wherein the sheet-like shape facilitates controlling the arrangement and extension direction of the conductive particles and provides a large surface area; ¶ 0068).
It would have been obvious to modify Guo’s conductive adhesive layer to use Wang’s sheet-like conductive particles. Wang teaches that sheet-like conductive particles facilitate controlling the arrangement and extension direction of the conductive particles and provide a large surface area. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use Wang’s sheet-like particle structure in Guo to obtain these known advantages in the conductive adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 20, Guo teaches:
wherein the body is made of silicone (the binder forming the cured molecular skeleton body of the conductive adhesive layer may be a silicone type adhesive; ¶ 0069),
the conductive particles are made of one or more of gold, silver, copper, zinc, and graphite (the conductive particles may be at least one of gold, silver, copper, aluminum, zinc, and nickel powders or alloy powders; ¶ 0070), and the conductive particles are of linear and sheet structures.
Guo does not teach: the conductive particles are of linear and sheet structures.
However, Wang teaches conductive particles 122 may be at least one of spherical, near-spherical, linear, sheet-like, or tree-like structures, and different particle structures may be used in combination, such as mixtures of spherical and sheet-like silver particles (Wang, ¶¶ 0068, 0104, and 0106).
It would have been obvious to modify Guo’s conductive adhesive layer to use Wang’s linear and sheet-like conductive particles. Wang identifies both linear and sheet-like structures as suitable structures for the conductive particles and further demonstrates that conductive particles having different structures may be combined within the conductive portion. Thus, one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date of the application would have been motivated to use a combination of Wang’s disclosed linear and sheet-like particle structures in Guo as a combination of known suitable particle configurations for forming the conductive adhesive layer.
Conclusion
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/PRADIP C. PODDER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695