DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filing on 03/13/2026.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 9, 11, and 14 is acknowledged and require no further examining. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-20 are pending and examined below.
Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the reference Nalley (4,204,580). Due to the introduction of new rejection(s), this action is made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of 202410176718.X and 202420321071.0 applications required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 02/28/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202440373296.0 and 202420366622.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The protrusion as stated in claim 4;
The groove as stated in claim 4;
The forward rotation circuit as stated in claim 12;
The controller as stated in claim 12;
The forward rotation trigger element as stated in claim 13; and
The reverse rotation trigger as stated in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Nalley (4,204,580) in view of reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128).
Regarding claim 1, Nalley disclose a power tool (10) comprising:
a housing (12)
an electric motor (14) disposed at least partially in the housing (12);
wherein the electric motor (14) comprises a rotating shaft (15) rotatable about a first axis;
a switch assembly (30) movable between a startup position and a shutdown position,
wherein the switch assembly (30) sends a startup signal to the electric motor (14) in the startup position and sends a shutdown signal to the electric motor (14) in the shutdown position; and
a directional assembly (34) for a user to operate to control a rotation direction of the electric motor (14),
wherein the directional assembly (34) is switchable to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position,
wherein, when the directional assembly (34) is switched to the forward rotation position and the switch assembly (30) is at the startup position, the electric motor (14) keeps rotating forward, and
wherein, when the directional assembly (34) is switched to the reverse rotation position and the switch assembly (30) is at the startup position, the electric motor (14) keeps rotating reversely.
(Figure 1, 6 and Column 1 lines 48-52, 60-64, Column 3 lines 10-22)
However, Nalley does not disclose the directional assembly locks the switch assembly in the startup position.
Kannan et al. disclose an operation method for a power tool, wherein the power tool comprises:
a switch assembly (8) movable between startup position (Figure 9) and a shutdown position (Figure 7A); and
a lock assembly (3),
wherein the method comprises the step of: operating the lock assembly to unlock the switch assembly (8) when the lock assembly (3) is mated with the switch assembly (8) to lock the switch assembly (8) at the startup position (Figure 9), whereupon the switch assembly (8) switches to the shutdown position (Figure 7A).
(Figures 7A, 9 and Column 3 lines 11-14, Column 4 lines 46-56, Column 6 lines 37-46, 51-57)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the switch assembly of Nalley by incorporating the function of locking the switch assembly at the startup position as taught by Kannan et al., since column 2 lines 51-54 of Kannan et al. states such a modification would allow the power tool to operate continuously without the user maintain pressure on the switch assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the directional assembly (Nalley – 34) comprises: a directional member (Nalley – 36); and a first stop portion (Nalley – 102) disposed on the directional member (Nalley – 36), wherein the switch assembly (Nalley – 30) comprises: a trigger (Nalley – 32); and a second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) disposed on the trigger (Nalley – 32), and wherein the first stop portion (Nalley – 102) and the second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) mate with each other so that the directional member (Nalley – 36) locks the trigger (Nalley – 32) at the startup position. (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 51-57)
Regarding claim 3, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the directional member (Nalley – 36) is disposed in the housing (Nalley – 12) and rotatable relative to the housing (Nalley – 12). (Nalley – Figure 6 and Column 3 lines 5-8)
Regarding claim 4, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the first stop portion (Nalley – 102) is a protrusion disposed on the directional member (Nalley – 36) and extending toward the trigger (Nalley – 32), wherein the second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) is a groove disposed on the trigger (Nalley – 32) and open toward the directional member (Nalley – 36), and when the trigger (Nalley – 32) is at the startup position and the protrusion is inserted into the groove, the directional member (Nalley – 36) locks the trigger (Nalley – 32) at the startup position. (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 51-57)
Regarding claim 6, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose directional member (Nalley – 36) is disposed above the trigger (Nalley – 32) and switchable between the forward rotation position, the reverse rotation position, and a locking position, wherein, when the directional member (Nalley – 36) is at the locking position, the protrusion is inserted into the groove, and wherein, when the directional member (Nalley – 36) is at the forward rotation position and the reverse rotation position, the protrusion is removed from the groove. (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 47-57)
Regarding claim 7, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose, when the directional member (Nalley – 36) is at the forward rotation position and the reverse rotation position, the directional member (Nalley – 36) unlocks the trigger (Nalley – 32). (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 47-50)
Regarding claim 10, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the forward rotation position and the reverse rotation position are located on left and right sides of the locking position respectively, wherein the trigger (Nalley – 32) is provided with a slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98) on each of left and right sides of the groove, wherein the left and right sides of the grooves each communicate with a corresponding slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98), and wherein, when the directional member (Nalley – 36) is at the forward rotation position and the reverse rotation position, the protrusion is slidable in the corresponding slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98). (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 47-57)
Regarding claim 16, Nalley disclose an operating method for a power tool (10) comprising:
an electric motor (14);
a switch assembly (30) movable between a startup position and a shutdown position,
wherein the switch assembly (30) sends a startup signal to the electric motor (14) in the startup position, and
wherein the switch assembly (30) sends a shutdown signal to the electric motor (14) in the shutdown position; and
a directional assembly (34) for a user to operate to control a rotation direction of the electric motor (14),
wherein the directional assembly (34) is switchable to a forward rotation position or a reverse rotation position, and
wherein the operating method comprises the steps of:
operating the directional assembly (34) to switch to the forward rotation position or reverse rotation position.
(Figure 1, 6 and Column 1 lines 48-52, 60-64, Column 3 lines 10-22)
However, Nalley does not disclose the directional assembly locks the switch assembly in the startup position.
Kannan et al. disclose an operation method for a power tool, wherein the power tool comprises:
a switch assembly (8) movable between startup position (Figure 9) and a shutdown position (Figure 7A); and
a lock assembly (3),
wherein the method comprises the step of: operating the lock assembly to unlock the switch assembly (8) when the lock assembly (3) is mated with the switch assembly (8) to lock the switch assembly (8) at the startup position (Figure 9), whereupon the switch assembly (8) switches to the shutdown position (Figure 7A).
(Figures 7A, 9 and Column 3 lines 11-14, Column 4 lines 46-56, Column 6 lines 37-46, 51-57)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the switch assembly of Nalley by incorporating the function of locking the switch assembly at the startup position as taught by Kannan et al., since column 2 lines 51-54 of Kannan et al. states such a modification would allow the power tool to operate continuously without the user maintain pressure on the switch assembly.
Regarding claim 17, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the directional assembly (Nalley – 34) comprises: a directional member (Nalley – 36); and a first stop portion (Nalley – 102) disposed on the directional member (Nalley – 36), wherein the switch assembly (Nalley – 30) comprises: a trigger (Nalley – 32); and a second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) disposed on the trigger (Nalley – 32), and wherein, when switch assembly (Nalley – 30) is locked at the startup position, the first stop portion (Nalley – 102) and the second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) mate with each other. (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 51-57)
Regarding claim 18, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the first stop portion (Nalley – 102) comprises a protrusion disposed on the directional member (Nalley – 36) and extending toward the trigger (Nalley – 32), wherein the second stop portion (Kannan et al. – 25) comprises a groove disposed on the trigger (Nalley – 32) and open toward the directional member (Nalley – 36). (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 51-57)
Regarding claim 19, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose, when the switch assembly (Nalley – 30) is locked at the startup position, the protrusion is operated to be inserted into the groove. (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 51-57)
Regarding claim 20, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the trigger (Nalley – 32) is provided with a slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98) on each of left and right sides of the groove, wherein the left and right sides of the grooves each communicate with a corresponding slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98), and wherein, when the directional member (Nalley – 36) unlocks the switch assembly (Nalley – 30), the protrusion is operated to move into the slide slot (Nalley – 96, 98). (Nalley – Column 3 lines 23-29) (Kannan et al. – Column 6 lines 47-57)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Nalley (4,204,580) in view of reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of reference Lam et al. (7,210,542).
Regarding claim 5, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose an arc-shaped surface.
Lam et al. disclose a device comprising:
a switch assembly (11, 21, 29) movable between a startup position (Figure 5) and a shutdown position (Figure 2); and
a lock assembly (13, 22, 26),
wherein the lock assembly (13, 22, 26) includes a protrusion (22) that mates with an abutment (21) of the switch assembly (11, 21, 29),
wherein the lock assembly (13, 22, 26) is configured to lock the switch assembly (11, 21, 29) at the shutdown position (Figure 2) when the protrusion (22) of the directional assembly (13, 22, 26) mates with the abutment (21) of the switch assembly (11, 21, 29), and
wherein the surface abutting against the protrusion (22) is an arc-shaped surface.
(Figures 1-2, 4-5 and Column 1 lines 17-19, Column 2 lines 37-41, 44-56)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the groove of Kannan et al. to comprise an arc-shaped surface as taught by Lam et al., since column 1 lines 20-23 of Lam et al. states such a modification would ensure protrusion stays engaged with the abutment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Nalley (4,204,580) in view of reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of reference Nishikimi et al. (8,759,696).
Regarding claim 8, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose an elastic member.
Nishikimi et al. disclose a switch assembly comprising:
a housing (11);
a trigger (14) movable between startup position and a shutdown position;
an elastic member (23) disposed between the trigger (14) and the housing (11); and
a dust shield (15) sleeved on an outer circumference of the elastic member (23),
wherein elastic member (23) causes the trigger (14) to move to the shutdown position.
(Figures 4-5 and Column 5 lines 1-9, Column 6 lines 6-14)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the switch assembly of Nalley by incorporated the elastic member and dust shield as taught by Nishikimi et al., since column 1 lines 24-30 and column 7 lines 45-49 of Nishikimi et al. state such a modification would ensure the trigger is constantly urged to the shutdown position while maintaining a superior dustproof properties and waterproof properties.
Claims 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Nalley (4,204,580) in view of reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of reference Wong et al. (11,623,335).
Regarding claim 12, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. disclose the claimed invention as stated above but do not disclose a forward rotation circuit.
Wong et al. disclose a directional assembly comprising:
directional member (13);
a forward rotation circuit (11A);
a reverse rotation circuit (11B);
a forward rotation trigger element (9A);
a reverse rotation trigger element (9A); and
a controller (11),
wherein the forward and reverse trigger elements (9A) send a signal to the controller (11), and
wherein the controller (11) controls the rotation of a motor (10) based on the signal from the forward and reverse trigger elements (9A).
(Figure 1B and Column 6 lines 38-67, Column 7 lines 1-16)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the directional assembly of Nalley by incorporating the rotation circuit, trigger elements, and controller as taught by Wong et al., since column 1 lines 41-44 of Wong et al. states such a modification would help prevent wear and tear on the directional assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. and Wong et al. disclose a forward rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A), wherein the forward rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A) is triggered when the directional member (Nalley – 36) moves to the forward rotation position, and wherein, after triggered, the forward rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A) sends a forward rotation signal to a controller (Wong et al. – 11) of the power tool (Nalley – 10), and the controller (Wong et al. – 11) controls the forward rotation circuit (Wong et al. – 11A) to be connected and keeps the forward rotation circuit (Wong et al. – 11A) connected. (Wong et al. – Column 6 lines 51-64, Column 7 lines 2-9)
Regarding claim 15, Nalley modified by Kannan et al. and Wong et al. disclose a reverse rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A), wherein the reverse rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A) is triggered when the directional member (Nalley – 36) moves to the reverse rotation position, and wherein, after triggered, the reverse rotation trigger element (Wong et al. – 9A) sends a reverse rotation signal to a controller (Wong et al. – 11) of the power tool (Nalley – 10), and the controller (Wong et al. – 11) controls the reverse rotation circuit (Wong et al. – 11B) to be connected and keeps the reverse rotation circuit (Wong et al. – 11B) connected. (Wong et al. – Column 6 lines 51-64, Column 7 lines 9-16)
Response to Arguments
The Amendments filed on 03/13/2026 have been entered. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 9, 11, and 14 is acknowledged and require no further examining. Claims 1-8, 10, 12-13, and 15-20 are pending in the application.
In response to the arguments of the objections towards the drawings, Examiner finds the arguments not persuasive.
Applicant states:
The applicants note that, as outlined in MPEP 608.02 Drawing [R-07.2015], the statutory requirement for showing the claimed invention only requires that the "applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented..." (See 35 U.S.C. 113, See also 37 CFR §1.81(a), which states "[t]he applicant for a patent is required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented..."; emphasis added).
While not all features are required to be shown in the drawings, all claimed features must be shown in the drawings. “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.” (emphasis added) [MPEP 608.02(d)] Therefore, since the claims disclose specific features, the drawings must show said features.
In response to the arguments of the objections towards the claims, in view of the amendments to the claims, Examiner withdraws the claim objections.
In response to the arguments of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), in view of the amendments to the claims, Examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections.
In response to the arguments of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 with reference Lam et al. (7,210,542) in view of reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128), in view of the arguments, Examiner withdraws the 103 rejections. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of reference Nalley (4,204,580) modified by reference Kannan et al. (10,014,128). Due to the introduction of new rejection(s), this action is made NON-FINAL.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B FRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 May 27, 2026
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731