DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed September 14, 2026. Applicant’s September 14th amendment amended claims 1, 4 and 5 and canceled claims 2, 3 and 9. Currently Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending. Claim 1 is the independent claim.
Response to Amendment
The Objection to the Title in the previous office action is withdrawn in response to Applicant's amendment to the Title.
The 35 U.S.C. 112b rejection of claim 3 is withdrawn in response to Applicant's cancellation of claim 3.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1, 4-5 and 9 in the previous office action is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments to the claims and cancellation of claim 9.
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 6-8 in the previous office action is maintained.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1 and 4-8 in the previous office action are withdrawn in response to Applicant's amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Last Two Paragraphs, Page 6, filed September 14, 2026, with respect to Whikehart et al. and MacArthur et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1 and 4-8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception and/or cannot be performed by the human mind (e.g. directed to a manufacturing process; Remarks: Last Paragraph, Page 5; Paragraph 1, Page 6).
In response to Applicant’s argument that the claims are patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 as the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, the examiner respectfully disagree.
Initially it is noted that claims 1, 4 and 5 have been found to be patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 6-8 introduce patent ineligible subject matter, specifically one or more abstract ideas, into the claimed method rendering claims 6-8 ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 6 introduces an immutable CI score reflecting the carbon intensity associated with growing, transporting and converting feedstock into a biofuel wherein scoring (evaluating) the carbon intensity of feedstock is both directed to a mental process as well as as well-known economic practice (see at least the 2019 Low Carbon Fuel Standard reference – Page 5-8, 17, 18; Green, 101 For Low Carbon Fuel Standard (2019) Pages 1-2). Claim 7 generates/uses a CI token (well-known financial instrument, value-based asset, financial tool for carbon offset) based on an CI score (mathematical operation). Claim 8 limits the use of the CI token for carbon emissions offsets – a well-known economic practice. See detailed discussion below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding dependent claims 6-8, the claims are directed to the abstract idea of carbon emissions management/planning. This is a process (i.e. a series of steps) which (Statutory Category – Yes –process).
The claims recite a judicial exception, a method for organizing human activity, carbon emissions management/planning (Judicial Exception – Yes – organizing human activity). Specifically, the claims are directed to selecting a power source (electricity, steam, renewable, solar, etc.) to product a product/biofuel based on a carbon intensity (score), wherein carbon emissions management is a fundamental economic practice that falls into the abstract idea subcategories of sales activities and/or commercial interactions. See 2106.04(a). Further all of the steps producing an immutable CI Score (mathematical operation, Claim 6), generating/using a CI token (storage of value, asset, Claim 7) and restricting the use of the CI token to only offsetting carbon emissions (Claim 8) recite functions of the carbon emissions management are also directed to an abstract idea that falls into the abstract idea subcategories of sales activities and/or commercial interactions. The intended purpose of claims 6-8 manage carbon emissions using carbon intensity tokens.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea – fundamental economic practice, specifically in the abstract idea subcategories of sales activities and/or commercial interactions.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong One, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong Two. Considering whether the additional elements set forth in the claim integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (See 2106.04(a)), the identified non-abstract elements directed to the product and the power source. These generic components merely apply the abstract idea – carbon emissions management and would not provide significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Note McRo, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America Inc. (837 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), guides: "[t]he abstract idea exception prevents patenting a result where 'it matters not by what process or machinery the result is accomplished."' 837 F.3d at 1312 (quoting O'Reilly v. Morse, 56 U.S. 62, 113 (1854)) (emphasis added). The claims are not directed to a particular machine nor do they recite a particular transformation (MPEP § 2106.05(b)).
Additionally, the claims do not recite any specific claim limitations that would provide a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Nor do the claims present any other issues as set forth in the MPEP 2106.04(a) regarding a determination of whether the additional generic elements integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the claims merely use instructions apply the abstract idea wherein the product and power source merely apply the abstract idea. Thus, under Step 2A, Prong Two (MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c) and (e)- (h)), Claims 6-8 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Additionally, the claims recite a judicial exception, a mental processes, which can be performed in the human mind or via pen and paper (Judicial Exception – Yes – mental process).
The claimed steps of producing an immutable CI Score (mathematical operation, Claim 6), generating/using a CI token (storage of value, asset, Claim 7) and restricting the use of the CI token to only offsetting carbon emissions (Claim 8) the abstract idea. These limitations as drafted are directed to a process that under its reasonable interpretation covers performance of the steps in the mind.
As described in MPEP § 2106.05(f), additional elements that invoke computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process will generally not amount to significantly more than a judicial exception. See, e.g., Versata Development Group v. SAP America, 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (explaining that in order for a machine to add significantly more, it must “play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly”).
(2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Similarly, “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). In contrast, a claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a) for a discussion of improvements to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technical field.
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48. In other words, the claims invoked the telephone unit and server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Thus, the court found that the additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a telephone network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea.
Other examples where the courts have found the additional elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process include: ….. vi. A method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See also MPEP 2106.05(g) • Insignificant application: i. Cutting hair after first determining the hair style, In re Brown, 645 Fed. App'x 1014, 1016-1017 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential);
Thus, the claim recites a mental process. (Judicial Exception recited – Yes – mental process).
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The generic product and power source are each recited at a high level of generality merely performs generic processes/methods using well-known, conventional and routine elements.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. (Integrated into a Practical Application – No).
As discussed above the additional elements in the claims amount to no more than a mere instruction to apply the abstract idea using generic components, wherein mere instructions to apply an judicial exception using generic components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept.
The claims are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. 20220044336 in view of Kopp, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170329291 and further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 1, King et al. discloses a method comprising:
As part of a ‘process’ for converting feedstock into biofuel, apply a product (material, input, supply, treatment, chemical, etc.; Figures 3A, 7; Figure 8, Element 735; Figure 9, Element 831; Figures 10, 13A-13D, 15, 16A, 21) having a carbon intensity (carbon emissions/intensity; Figure 11, Element 983) to a step in the process for converting (manufacturing, processing, refining, blending, production, integration, transformation, etc.) the feedstock into biofuel (Figure 4, Element 306; Figure 7, Elements 634-636; Figure 9, Element 835; Figure 11; Figure 13, Elements 1108, 1110, 1114), wherein the step uses a power source (e.g. renewable energy sources, low CI renewable power, utilities) based on the CI score for the product and power source availability (Figure 4, Elements 308, 311; Figure 2B; Figure 9, Element 860; Figure 11, Element 983; Figure 12, Element 1020; Figure 13A, Element 1112; Figure 13B, Element 1130; Figure 13C, Element 1140; Figure 14B, Element 1028; Figure 16B, Element 1308; Figure 16E; Paragraphs 38, 48, 53, 56, 78, 80, 118, 123).
While selecting a power source based on the power source’s availability is well-known in manufacturing/production/refining (Baratay, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20070255612; Asadullah et al., U.S. Patent No. 9599976) King et al. does not disclose minute-by-minute tracking of power source availability as claimed.
Kopp, from the same field of production, discloses a system and method further comprising selecting a power source based on minute-by-minute (e.g. real-time) availability (Paragraphs 39, 67, 88; Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the system and method as disclosed by King et al. with its selection of power source (e.g. utilities) based on availability would have benefited from selecting a power source based on minute-by-minute availability information in view of Kopp, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
While generating/calculating and utilizing a carbon intensity score, as part of biofuel production, is old and well (see California’s Ari Board requirements for LCFS), King et al. does not disclose the phrase carbon intensity score as claimed.
Official notice is taken that utilizing the phrase CI “score” to represent carbon intensity is old, well-known, conventional and routine. Support for this old and well-known fact can be found in at least the following references: Narasimhan, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220108252; Foody, U.S. Patent No. 11946001).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the system and method as disclosed by King et al. with its utilization of a carbon intensity value/number would have been readily understood to be equivalent to an CI score and/or would have benefited from utilizing a CI score in view of official notice, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding Claim 4, King et al. discloses a method wherein the power source is further selected to obtain a desired CI for the biofuel (Paragraphs 38, 48, 53, 56, 78, 80, 118, 123).
Regarding Claim 5, King et al. discloses a method wherein the power source is implemented at the facility while performing a step in the process that produced the product (Paragraphs 38, 48, 53, 56, 78, 80, 118, 123; Figures 13A-13C, 16B).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al. 20220044336 in view of Kopp, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170329291 as applied to the claims above and further in view of MacArthur et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220156754.
Regarding Claim 6, King et al. discloses a method further comprising production a CI for the biofuel that reflects the carbon intensity associated with growing, transporting and converting the feedstock into the biofuel (Figures 3B, 7, 9-11).
While the use of immutable data in the forms of tokens, digital ledgers and blockchains are well-known and widely used Whikehart et al. does not disclose that the CI is immutable as claimed.
MacArthuret al., from the same field of endeavor of managing/minimizing carbon emissions, discloses a system and method comprising producing an immutable carbon score (Paragraphs 7-9, 82, 85, 146).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the system and method of King et al. would have benefited from production an immutable CI in view of the disclosure of MacArthur et al., such a system/method enable the trading, tracking, sale and/or purchase of Cis in the blockchain/digital ledger.
Regarding Claim 7, King et al. does not disclose generating or using a token as claimed.
MacArthuret al., from the same field of endeavor of managing/minimizing carbon emissions, discloses a system and method comprising generating a carbon token based on a carbon intensity (e.g. emissions) for a product (e.g. biofuel) and using the carbon token to offset at least one instance of carbon emissions (Paragraphs 82, 85, 80, 125, 157).
Regarding Claim 8, Whikehart et al. does not disclose tokens as claimed.
MacArthur et al., from the same field of endeavor of managing/minimizing carbon emissions, discloses a system and method wherein using the carbon token so that the carbon token cannot be used to offset other carbon emissions (e.g. burn; Paragraphs 80, 125, 157).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SCOTT L. JARRETT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625
/SCOTT L JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625