DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification. Claim 8 recites “the second response score corresponds to factors associated with the third device receiving the wake word” which was not described in the specification. Applicant required to point out where (paragraph(s)) in specification that describe the limitation(s). Similarly, claim 15 has the same defect(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 6-7, 9-11, 16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over submitted prior art Jung (2019/0081810) in view of Bodigutla et al. (US Patent 12,327,562).
As to claim 1, Jung teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a first device, a wake word received at a microphone ([0123-0125] - the electronic device 100 may directly receive the triggered voice; and when the user utters the user's voice in one space. The electronic device 100 included in the device group and the external device 200 including the microphone may receive the user's voice);
transmitting, by the first device, the wake word to a second device ([0129] - The electronic device 100 transmits a control command corresponding to the voice recognition result to the determined control target device);
receiving, by the first device, responses from devices ([0113] - The electronic device 100, based on a response signal received from the plurality of external devices 200-1 to 200-6, may designate the fourth to sixth external devices 200-4 to 200-6 and the electronic device 200 as a second device group 520; [0018] - The electronic device 100 receives the response signal including the intensity information of the sound signal from each of the plurality of external devices in operation S630. The response signal may include not only the intensity information of the sound signal sensed by the external device but also the identification information of the external device and the frequency information of the sound signal. The electronic device 100 may identify the external device that transmitted the response signal through the identification information of the external device, and may identify the sound signal transmitted by the electronic device 100 through the frequency information; [0132] - The electronic device 100 may determine an external device to output a response message based on the intensity information of the user's voice received from a plurality of external devices. The electronic device 100 may identify an external device closest to the user among a plurality of external devices based on the intensity information of the user's voice, and transmit a control command for outputting a response message to the identified external device. When the external device reproduces music contents, the electronic device 100 selects another external device having a speaker and transmit a control command for outputting a response message; [0210] - The electronic device 100 receives a response signal including signal intensity information and identification information from each of the plurality of external devices at operation S1620. The response signal may include information on intensity of a sound signal and identification information of an external device);
comparing, by the first device, the responses signal with the threshold value ([0211] - The electronic device 100 compares the intensity information of the sound signal included in the response signal with the threshold value, identifies the external device that received the sound signal having the intensity equal to or higher than the threshold value, and designates the identified external device and the device group); and
identifying the external device that received the sound signal having the intensity equal to or higher than the threshold value, and designates the identified external device and the device group ([0211]).
Jung does not explicitly discuss comparing a score from the second device and a score from a third device and in accordance with the first score being greater than the second score.
Bodigutla teaches an audio capture component, such as a microphone or array of microphones of a device 110, captures the input audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance. The device 110, using a wake word detection component, processes audio data corresponding to the input audio 11 to determine if a keyword (e.g., a wake word) is detected in the audio data. Following detection of a wake word, the device 110 sends audio data corresponding to the utterance, to a computing device(s) 120 for processing (col. 7, lines 1-9); The user recognition component determines respective scores indicating whether the utterance in the audio data was spoken by particular users (col. 11, lines 29-32); optimize selection of responses to user input (e.g., by sending a “reward signal” comprising the user satisfaction scores to a machine learning model effective to select an appropriate action for a given user input) (col. 6, lines 55-58); the system 100 compares an expected sum of user satisfaction values to maximize user satisfaction overall. In various examples, a higher user satisfaction score for a first action or natural language processing response and a lower user satisfaction score for a second action or natural language processing response indicates that the first action is more likely to result in higher and/or user satisfaction (col. 16, lines 33-40).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bodigutla into the teachings of Jung for the purpose of indicating action is more likely to result in higher user satisfaction score.
As to claim 6, Bodigutla teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first response score corresponds to the wake word (col. 7, lines 1-9 - an audio capture component, such as a microphone or array of microphones of a device 110, captures the input audio 11 corresponding to a spoken utterance. The device 110, using a wake word detection component, processes audio data corresponding to the input audio 11 to determine if a keyword (e.g., a wake word) is detected in the audio data. Following detection of a wake word, the device 110 sends audio data corresponding to the utterance, to a computing device(s) 120 for processing; The user recognition component determines respective scores indicating whether the utterance in the audio data was spoken by particular users (col. 11, lines 29-32); optimize selection of responses to user input (e.g., by sending a “reward signal” comprising the user satisfaction scores to a machine learning model effective to select an appropriate action for a given user input) (col. 6, lines 55-58).
As to claim 7, Bodigutla teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first response score is based at least in part on at least one of strength of the received wake word, quality of the received wake word (col. 25, lines 56-64 - the following data may positively correlate with high user satisfaction scores (e.g., weight ≥0.05): low probability of speech recognition error, longer dialog length, high intent diversity, coherence between user utterance and natural language processing system response, longer user utterances, user continuing after saying “stop”, user asking a question, utterance rephrasing, natural language processing system providing affirmative response), first capabilities of the first device, or other capabilities of other devices comprising either the second device or the third device.
As to claim 9, Bodigutla teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the first device, the first response score to the device (col. 16, lines 4-9 - The user satisfaction estimator 350 may receive [8] the dialog state data 345 and may generate user satisfaction data 355, which may be a scalar value (e.g., between 1 and 5) that corresponds to an estimate of user satisfaction for a particular turn (e.g., a user utterance or other input followed by a response from computing devices; col. 4, lines 32-45 - The computing devices 120 determines output content responsive to the user command. The output content may be received from a first party (1P) application (e.g., an application controlled or managed by the voice service computing devices 120 or by the company or entity controlling the voice service computing devices 120) or a third party (3P) application (e.g., an application managed by an application computing device(s) 125 in communication with the computing device(s) 120 but not controlled or managed by the computing devices 120 or by the entity controlling the voice service computing devices 120). The computing devices 120 sends back to the initiating device (110a/110b) output data including the output content responsive to the user command); and Jung teaches the electronic device 100 transmits a command for activating the microphone to the plurality of external devices 200-1 and 200-2; The electronic device 100 transmits a sound signal to the first external device 200-1 and the second external device 200-2 ([0102-0103]).
As to claim 10, Jung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the microphone is part of the first device ([0057] - When the user speaks after the devices included in the device group are activated by the triggered voice, the electronic device 100 receives the user's voice through the microphone; [0123-0125] - the electronic device 100 may directly receive the triggered voice; and when the user utters the user's voice in one space, the electronic device 100 included in the device group and the external device 200 including the microphone may receive the user's voice).
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Furthermore, Jung teaches a device comprising a memory stores instructions and a processor accessed the memory and execute the computer executable instruction and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium to store computer executable instructions ([0248-0249, 0251]).
As to claim 19, Jung teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, further comprising processing, by the second accessory interaction instance of the respective accessory interaction instances, at least a portion of the second audio input in accordance with at least one of the determination that the portion of the second audio input matches the wake word or the determination that the second accessory is authorized to interact with the second accessory interaction instance of the respective accessory interaction instances ([0123-0124] – confirms when triggered voice from among the devices included in the device group is input from one device of the device group, transmits a control command for activating microphone included in the external device. The external devices may not activate the microphones until a triggered voice is input; hence it would have been obvious that the accessory is authorized to interact with the accessory interaction instance of the respective accessory interaction instances).
As to claim 20, Jung teaches the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of accessories are configured to implement a software development kit provided by an entity associated with the user device ([0042-0043] – each of the plurality of accessories/external devices, for example, smartphones, tablet PCs, video telephones, electronic book readers, PDA, Samsung Home Sync, Apple TV, Google TV, Xbox, Play Station…are configured to implement a software development kit provided by an entity associated with the device).
4. Claims 2-3, 12-13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (2019/0081810) and Bodigutla et al. (US Patent 12,327,562) in view of Newendorp et al. (WO 2019/231537).
As to claims 2 and 12, Jung teaches the method of claim 1 and the first device of claim 11, wherein receiving, by a first device, a wake word received at a microphone ([0123-0125] - the electronic device 100 may directly receive the triggered voice; and when the user utters the user's voice in one space, the electronic device 100 included in the device group and the external device 200 including the microphone may receive the user's voice) and ([0129] - The electronic device 100 transmits a control command corresponding to the voice recognition result to the determined control target device); and the electronic device 100 designates a device group based on the response signal at operation S1630. The electronic device 100 determines at least one external device among a plurality of external devices in the same space as the electronic device 100 based on the response signal, and designate the electronic device 100 and at least one external device as a designated as a device group. The electronic device 100 compares the intensity information of the sound signal included in the response signal with the threshold value, identifies the external device that received the sound signal having the intensity equal to or higher than the threshold value, and designates the identified external device and the device group ([0211]). Jung and Bodigutla do not explicitly discuss reporting the election result comprises transmitting information that identifies that the first device has been elected to respond to the wake word.
Newendorp teaches ([0235] – first electronic device 800 transmits the representation of the speech input and device data to third electronic device 840 for determining whether a task is to be performed by the first electronic device 800 or second electronic device 830 accordance with the user request; [0237] – first electronic device uses the device ID to identify second electronic device for performing the task of initial a workout application, and transmits the command to second electronic device; [0223] – after receiving the representation of the user request, accessory device 820 is wirelessly coupled to first electronic device 800 but not second electronic device 830. Thus, accessory device 820 communicates to the second electronic device 830 through the first electronic device 800).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of receiving the representation of the user request, accessory device is wirelessly coupled to first electronic device but not second electronic device per Newendorp into the teachings of Jung and Bodigutla for the purpose of allowing the device making such a determination based on one or more of intent derived from the representation of the user request, capability data associated with at least one of the first electronic device and the second electronic dev ice, and user specific data.
As to claims 3, 13 and 17, Jung teaches the method of claim 2, the first device of claim 12, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, further comprising: receiving, by the first device, a response to a query corresponding to the wake word, the response received from the second device; and presenting, by the first device, the first device ([0113] - The electronic device 100, based on a response signal received from the plurality of external devices 200-1 to 200-6, may designate the fourth to sixth external devices 200-4 to 200-6 and the electronic device 200 as a second device group 520; [0018] - The electronic device 100 receives the response signal including the intensity information of the sound signal from each of the plurality of external devices in operation S630. The response signal may include not only the intensity information of the sound signal sensed by the external device but also the identification information of the external device and the frequency information of the sound signal. The electronic device 100 may identify the external device that transmitted the response signal through the identification information of the external device, and may identify the sound signal transmitted by the electronic device 100 through the frequency information; [0132] - The electronic device 100 outputs a response to the user voice recognition result using a device including a speaker in the device group at operation S770. The electronic device 100 may output the response message through the speaker as a result of performing the control command. For example, when the text data corresponding to the user's voice is “I'm sleepy”, the electronic device 100 can output “I will turn everything off, sleep well” through a speaker. The response message may be a result generated by applying the control command or the voice recognition result to the artificial intelligence-based recognition model. The electronic device 100 directly outputs a response message through a speaker included in the electronic device 100, and transmits a control command for outputting a response message to an external device including a speaker among external devices in the device group. The electronic device 100 determines an external device to output a response message based on the intensity information of the user's voice received from a plurality of external devices. The electronic device 100 identifies an external device closest to the user among a plurality of external devices based on the intensity information of the user's voice, and transmit a control command for outputting a response message to the identified external device. When the external device reproduces music contents, the electronic device 100 selects another external device having a speaker and transmit a control command for outputting a response message; [0210] - The electronic device 100 receives a response signal including signal intensity information and identification information from each of the plurality of external devices at operation S1620. The response signal may include information on intensity of a sound signal and identification information of an external device). It would have been obvious that a response signal received from the plurality of external devices 200-1 to 200-6 and one of the external devices could be a second device).
5. Claims 4-5, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (2019/0081810) and Bodigutla et al. (US Patent 12,327,562) in view of Habiger et al. (US Patent 10,721,319).
As to claim 4, Jung and Bodigutla do not explicitly discuss the method of claim 1, further comprising: in accordance with the first response score being less than the second response score, terminating a communication channel with the second device.
Habiger teaches sending both the first IP notification and the second IP notification of the mobile communication device would violate the restriction against sending more than the predefined number of IP notifications to the mobile communication device during a predefined period of time, the mobile communication device is conceded to the first group if the first score is higher than the second score and is conceded to the second group if the second score is higher than the first score (claim 4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Habiger into the teachings of Jung and Bodigutla for the purpose of selects the number of mobile communication devices identified in the request having the highest score, and transmits the IP notification to each of the selected mobile communication devices via a wireless communication network (Habiger, col. 3, lines 32-35).
As to claim 5, Jung and Bodigutla do not explicitly discuss the method of claim 4, wherein terminating the communication channel with the second device enables the third device to report the election result to the second device and respond to the wake word. However, Jung teaches detecting the triggered voice in the device group responds to the triggered voice included in the user voice, and the electronic device 100 transmits a signal for activating the remaining devices to the remaining devices. When the electronic device 100 detects a triggered voice in the device group, the electronic device 100 activates another configuration of the electronic device 100 in response to the triggered voice, and may transmit a signal for activating the external devices 100 to an external device in the device group ([0055-0057]). It would have been obvious to enable a device to report the election result to the device in response to the wake word for the purpose of activating another configuration of the electronic device in response to the triggered voice and transmitting a signal for activating the external devices to an external device in the device group, (per Jung [0056]).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claims 4 and 5.
6. Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung (2019/0081810) and Bodigutla et al. (US Patent 12,327,562) in view of Heikinheimo et al. (US Patent 11,232,793).
As to claim 8, Jung and Bodigutla do not discuss the method of claim 7, wherein the second response score corresponds to factor associated with the third device receiving the wake word.
Heikinheimo teaches identify a first action intended word from the voice command, assign a confidence score to the first action intended word, alter the confidence score of the first action intended word in a temporal manner, based on confidence scores of second action intended words following the first action intended word in the voice command, identify the action when the confidence scores of the first and second action intended words exceed a pre-determined confidence score associated therewith, and perform the identified action associated with one or more voice-controlled devices (col. 2, lines 17-31).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Heikinheimo into the teachings of Jung and Bodigutla for the purpose of providing a voice managing server for voice recognition to perform an action.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claims 6, 7, and 8.
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693