DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1, 14, & 19 recite collect vehicle usage data, generate a condition and b) identify information that corresponds to the condition, determine the condition has been satisfied by monitoring a second amount of the vehicle usage data, wherein the second amount of the vehicle usage data is collected after the first amount, present the information, as drafted, is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer elements. The claim is practically able to be performed in the mind. For example, but for the “A vehicle comprising: a sensor; an actuator; user interface circuitry; machine-readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine-readable instructions to, one or more of: a signal produced by the user interface circuitry, a signal produced by the sensor, or a signal produced by the actuator, execute a machine learning model, update the user interface circuitry, A method for updating user interface circuitry, the method comprising, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least,” language, “collect vehicle usage data, generate a condition and b) identify information that corresponds to the condition, determine the condition has been satisfied by monitoring a second amount of the vehicle usage data, wherein the second amount of the vehicle usage data is collected after the first amount, present the information” in the context of this claim encompasses the user checking a vehicle for a fault and realizing that a fault has occurred once checking again after starting the vehicle. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – using “A vehicle comprising: a sensor; an actuator; user interface circuitry; machine-readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine-readable instructions to, one or more of: a signal produced by the user interface circuitry, a signal produced by the sensor, or a signal produced by the actuator, execute a machine learning model, update the user interface circuitry, A method for updating user interface circuitry, the method comprising, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least”. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect a condition of a vehicle) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “A vehicle comprising: a sensor; an actuator; user interface circuitry; machine-readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine-readable instructions to, one or more of: a signal produced by the user interface circuitry, a signal produced by the sensor, or a signal produced by the actuator, execute a machine learning model, update the user interface circuitry, A method for updating user interface circuitry, the method comprising, A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least,”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Similarly for claims 2-13, 15-18, & 20, is a device and process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of these claim encompasses the user editing certain triggers to find different faults of the vehicle. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect a fault in a vehicle) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 14, & 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0264252A1 (“Davis”).
As per claim 1 Davis discloses
A vehicle comprising (see at least Davis, para. [0029]: This work vehicle 14 assumes the form of an agricultural harvester or combine in the illustrated example and is consequently referred to below as the “network-connected combine harvester 14.”):
a sensor (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: Describing the components of the network-connected combine harvester 14 in greater detail, a controller architecture 32 is operably coupled to a network interface 38, various onboard sensors 34, a network interface 38, one or more actuators 40, and a display device 42.);
an actuator (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: Describing the components of the network-connected combine harvester 14 in greater detail, a controller architecture 32 is operably coupled to a network interface 38, various onboard sensors 34, a network interface 38, one or more actuators 40, and a display device 42.);
user interface circuitry (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: Describing the components of the network-connected combine harvester 14 in greater detail, a controller architecture 32 is operably coupled to a network interface 38, various onboard sensors 34, a network interface 38, one or more actuators 40, and a display device 42.);
machine-readable instructions; and programmable circuitry to at least one of instantiate or execute the machine-readable instructions to (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: The controller architecture 32 can encompass or may be corresponding to any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. The controller architecture 32 may also include or cooperate with any number of firmware and software programs or computer-readable instructions designed to carry-out the various process tasks, calculations, and control/display functions described herein.):
collect vehicle usage data that includes one or more of: a signal produced by the user interface circuitry, a signal produced by the sensor, or a signal produced by the actuator (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22. In still other instances, attachment of another type of interchangeable work implement to a different work vehicle (e.g., attachment of a tillage, row planter, or air seeder implement to a tractor) may serve as a trigger event detected by a network-connected work vehicle (e.g., the network-connected tractor 20) during STEP 74 of the example process.);
execute a machine learning model to a) generate a condition and b) identify information that corresponds to the condition, wherein the machine learning model uses a first amount of the vehicle usage data as an input (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22.);
determine the condition has been satisfied by monitoring a second amount of the vehicle usage data, wherein the second amount of the vehicle usage data is collected after the first amount (see at least Davis, para. [0041-0043]: In response to detection of a trigger event (STEP 74, FIG. 2), the controller architecture 32 of the combine control system 44 advances to STEP 76 and gathers data describing the work task to be performed utilizing the network-connected combine harvester 14. Such task-specific data may be gathered utilizing data entered by an operator of the network-connected combine harvester 14,utilizing data retrieved from any of the sensors 34 onboard the combine harvester 14, by recalling data from the memory 46, or utilizing a combination of these sources. …In the agricultural context, the task-specific data may include data identifying the crop type currently subject to harvesting or processing, as determined by the controller architecture 32 utilizing sensor data or as indicated by operator input entered via the operator interface 36. Imagery (still images or video) may be captured by one or more cameras (included in the onboard sensors 34) of a material processed by the work vehicle during the work task.); and
in response to the determination, update the user interface circuitry to present the information (see at least Davis, para. [0047-0048]: Alternatively, network connectivity and response times permitting, the server end 12 may partially or fully execute the software solution at the server location (or locations)remote from the combine harvester 14, with the server end 12 then providing output data (e.g., actuation, display, and/or navigation commands) to the network-connected combine harvester 14 over the network 22 on a real-time or near real-time basis.).
As per claim 4 Davis discloses
wherein the programmable circuitry is to receive one or more of the signals produced by the sensor or the actuator over a controller area network (CAN) bus (see at least Davis, para. [0034]: Finally, the network interface 38 of the combine control system 44 can be any device or module providing access to the network 22, such as a wireless (e.g., WiFi or cellular) transceiver or datalink including an antenna 48. Modern combine harvesters, and other modern agricultural vehicles, are now commonly equipped with such wireless transceivers to support telematics, so-called “precision ag ”applications, and other related functions. Further, the network interface 38 can also include a satellite receiver and may receive data via a satellite link in certain instances. Additionally or alternatively, the network interface 38 may further permit communicate with nearby cellular towers or terrestrial nodes, such as a wireless RF nodes included in a controller area network (CAN) established over an agricultural area (e.g., a field or group of fields) within which the network-connected combine harvester14 operates.).
As per claim 5 Davis discloses
wherein: the vehicle is an agricultural vehicle (see at least Davis, para. [0029]: This work vehicle 14 assumes the form of an agricultural harvester or combine in the illustrated example and is consequently referred to below as the “network-connected combine harvester 14.”); and
the sensor is a first sensor in a plurality of sensors that generate part of the vehicle usage data, the plurality of sensors including one or more of a global positioning sensor, an inertial sensor, a camera sensor or a temperature sensor (see at least Davis, para. [0032]: This stated, the onboard sensors 34 will commonly include some form of receiver, chip set, or the like for determining position utilizing a satellite navigation system including, but not limited to, GPS, Galileo, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS or GLONASS), Compass-IGS01, and combinations of the satellites included therein. For ease of reference, the term “GPS” is utilized herein to encompass all such satellite-based positioning systems. The onboard sensors 34 can also include cameras, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, wear sensors, vibration sensors, and/or sensors for measuring radio frequency (RF)signals, to list but a few examples.).
As per claim 6 Davis discloses
wherein: the vehicle is an agricultural vehicle (see at least Davis, para. [0029]: This work vehicle 14 assumes the form of an agricultural harvester or combine in the illustrated example and is consequently referred to below as the “network-connected combine harvester 14.”); and
the actuator is a first actuator in a plurality of actuators that generate part of the vehicle usage data, the plurality of actuators including one or more of an engine, a transmission, an axle, a crop header, an auger, or a device connected to the agricultural vehicle on a hitch (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: Describing the components of the network-connected combine harvester 14 in greater detail, a controller architecture 32 is operably coupled to a network interface 38, various onboard sensors 34, a network interface 38, one or more actuators 40, and a display device 42. Collectively, these components are referred to as forming a “combine control system 44” of the network-connected combine harvester 14. The various data connections between these components are represented by a number of signal lines terminating in arrowheads, with such signal lines generally representative of wired and/or wireless data connections. & para. [0058]: In this manner, the combine harvester 14 intakes severed crop plants from the field 126, extracts grain from the crop plants, cleans the newly-extracted grain, and then stores the grain in clean grain tank 150 for subsequent unloading utilizing, for example, an unloading auger 151. Also, during usage of the combine harvester 14, certain components within the combine harvester 14 may be positionally adjusted or the operating parameters of such components may be modified utilizing any number of actuators 40 (FIG. 1), such as hydraulic- or electrically-controlled linear or rotary actuators, one of which is generically represented by symbol 154 in FIG. 4. Int this regard, the operational speeds of any number of fans or conveyor belts may be varied, as may the position of any number of non-illustrated deflectors, chaffer components, sieve components, or the like.).
As per claim 7 Davis discloses
wherein: the condition and the corresponding information form a first trigger in a plurality of triggers (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22. In still other instances, attachment of another type of interchangeable work implement to a different work vehicle (e.g., attachment of a tillage, row planter, or air seeder implement to a tractor) may serve as a trigger event detected by a network-connected work vehicle (e.g., the network-connected tractor 20) during STEP 74 of the example process.); and
the programmable circuitry is to: monitor the second amount of vehicle usage data to determine whether one or more of the conditions in the plurality of triggers have been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0041-0043]: In response to detection of a trigger event (STEP 74, FIG. 2), the controller architecture 32 of the combine control system 44 advances to STEP 76 and gathers data describing the work task to be performed utilizing the network-connected combine harvester 14. Such task-specific data may be gathered utilizing data entered by an operator of the network-connected combine harvester 14,utilizing data retrieved from any of the sensors 34 onboard the combine harvester 14, by recalling data from the memory 46, or utilizing a combination of these sources. …In the agricultural context, the task-specific data may include data identifying the crop type currently subject to harvesting or processing, as determined by the controller architecture 32 utilizing sensor data or as indicated by operator input entered via the operator interface 36. Imagery (still images or video) may be captured by one or more cameras (included in the onboard sensors 34) of a material processed by the work vehicle during the work task.); and
in response to a determination that a condition in the plurality of triggers has been satisfied, update the user interface circuitry to present information from the corresponding trigger (see at least Davis, para. [0047-0048]: Alternatively, network connectivity and response times permitting, the server end 12 may partially or fully execute the software solution at the server location (or locations)remote from the combine harvester 14, with the server end 12 then providing output data (e.g., actuation, display, and/or navigation commands) to the network-connected combine harvester 14 over the network 22 on a real-time or near real-time basis.).
As per claim 8 Davis discloses
wherein one or more of the plurality of triggers are pre-determined triggers that are stored in a memory of the vehicle before the user interface circuitry, the sensor, or the actuator generate part of the vehicle usage data (see at least Davis, para. [0039]: Referring jointly to FIGS. 1 and 2, at STEP 74 of the signal timing diagram 70 (FIG. 2), the controller architecture 32 of the network-connected combine harvester 14 detects the occurrence of a pre-defined trigger event. In embodiments, the trigger event may assume the form of operator input received via the operator interface 36 of the combine control system 44 indicating an operator desire for the provision of an optimized software solution.).
As per claim 9 Davis discloses
wherein the programmable circuitry is to instruct the user interface circuitry to present a page where a user can edit one or more of the plurality of triggers (see at least Davis, para. [0039]: For example, in one possible scenario, an operator may interact with a GUI elements generated on a screen of the display device 42 to navigate to a GUI screen including a software optimization or calibration option. In response to operator selection of the calibration option, the controller architecture 32 may then generate a software solution request and transmit this request to the server end 12. In other instances, the operator may interact with the operator interface 36 or another device (e.g., a tablet executing a software application) to pre-plan a future work task.).
As per claim 10 Davis discloses
wherein the programmable circuitry is to instruct the user interface circuitry to present a page where a user can add a trigger to the plurality of triggers (see at least Davis, para. [0039]: For example, in one possible scenario, an operator may interact with a GUI elements generated on a screen of the display device 42 to navigate to a GUI screen including a software optimization or calibration option. In response to operator selection of the calibration option, the controller architecture 32 may then generate a software solution request and transmit this request to the server end 12. In other instances, the operator may interact with the operator interface 36 or another device (e.g., a tablet executing a software application) to pre-plan a future work task.).
As per claim 14 Davis discloses
A method for updating user interface circuitry (see at least Davis, para. [0020]: satisfaction of this ongoing demand, the following sets-forth systems and methods for providing network-based work machine software optimization through the development and in-field provision of tailored, task-specific software solutions to work machines.), the method comprising:
collecting vehicle usage data that includes one or more of: a signal produced by the user interface circuitry, a signal produced by a sensor, or a signal produced by an actuator (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22. In still other instances, attachment of another type of interchangeable work implement to a different work vehicle (e.g., attachment of a tillage, row planter, or air seeder implement to a tractor) may serve as a trigger event detected by a network-connected work vehicle (e.g., the network-connected tractor 20) during STEP 74 of the example process.);
executing a machine learning model to a) generate a condition and b) identify information that corresponds to the condition, wherein the machine learning model uses a first amount of the vehicle usage data as an input (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22.);
determining the condition has been satisfied by monitoring a second amount of the vehicle usage data, wherein the second amount of the vehicle usage data is collected after the first amount (see at least Davis, para. [0041-0043]: In response to detection of a trigger event (STEP 74, FIG. 2), the controller architecture 32 of the combine control system 44 advances to STEP 76 and gathers data describing the work task to be performed utilizing the network-connected combine harvester 14. Such task-specific data may be gathered utilizing data entered by an operator of the network-connected combine harvester 14,utilizing data retrieved from any of the sensors 34 onboard the combine harvester 14, by recalling data from the memory 46, or utilizing a combination of these sources. …In the agricultural context, the task-specific data may include data identifying the crop type currently subject to harvesting or processing, as determined by the controller architecture 32 utilizing sensor data or as indicated by operator input entered via the operator interface 36. Imagery (still images or video) may be captured by one or more cameras (included in the onboard sensors 34) of a material processed by the work vehicle during the work task.); and
in response to the determination, updating the user interface circuitry to present the information (see at least Davis, para. [0047-0048]: Alternatively, network connectivity and response times permitting, the server end 12 may partially or fully execute the software solution at the server location (or locations)remote from the combine harvester 14, with the server end 12 then providing output data (e.g., actuation, display, and/or navigation commands) to the network-connected combine harvester 14 over the network 22 on a real-time or near real-time basis.).
As per claim 17 Davis discloses
further including receiving one or more of the signals produced by the sensor or the actuator over a controller area network (CAN) bus (see at least Davis, para. [0034]: Finally, the network interface 38 of the combine control system 44 can be any device or module providing access to the network 22, such as a wireless (e.g., WiFi or cellular) transceiver or datalink including an antenna 48. Modern combine harvesters, and other modern agricultural vehicles, are now commonly equipped with such wireless transceivers to support telematics, so-called “precision ag ”applications, and other related functions. Further, the network interface 38 can also include a satellite receiver and may receive data via a satellite link in certain instances. Additionally or alternatively, the network interface 38 may further permit communicate with nearby cellular towers or terrestrial nodes, such as a wireless RF nodes included in a controller area network (CAN) established over an agricultural area (e.g., a field or group of fields) within which the network-connected combine harvester14 operates.).
As per claim 18 Davis discloses
wherein: the vehicle usage data corresponds to an agricultural vehicle (see at least Davis, para. [0029]: This work vehicle 14 assumes the form of an agricultural harvester or combine in the illustrated example and is consequently referred to below as the “network-connected combine harvester 14.”); and
the sensor is a first sensor in a plurality of sensors that generate part of the vehicle usage data, the plurality of sensors including one or more of a global positioning sensor, an inertial sensor, a camera sensor or a temperature sensor (see at least Davis, para. [0032]: This stated, the onboard sensors 34 will commonly include some form of receiver, chip set, or the like for determining position utilizing a satellite navigation system including, but not limited to, GPS, Galileo, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS or GLONASS), Compass-IGS01, and combinations of the satellites included therein. For ease of reference, the term “GPS” is utilized herein to encompass all such satellite-based positioning systems. The onboard sensors 34 can also include cameras, temperature sensors, moisture sensors, wear sensors, vibration sensors, and/or sensors for measuring radio frequency (RF)signals, to list but a few examples.).
As per claim 19 Davis discloses
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause programmable circuitry to at least (see at least Davis, para. [0031]: The controller architecture 32 can encompass or may be corresponding to any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. The controller architecture 32 may also include or cooperate with any number of firmware and software programs or computer-readable instructions designed to carry-out the various process tasks, calculations, and control/display functions described herein.):
collect vehicle usage data that includes one or more of: a signal produced by user interface circuitry, a signal produced by a sensor, or a signal produced by an actuator (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22. In still other instances, attachment of another type of interchangeable work implement to a different work vehicle (e.g., attachment of a tillage, row planter, or air seeder implement to a tractor) may serve as a trigger event detected by a network-connected work vehicle (e.g., the network-connected tractor 20) during STEP 74 of the example process.);
execute a machine learning model to a) generate a condition and b) identify information that corresponds to the condition, wherein the machine learning model uses a first amount of the vehicle usage data as an input (see at least Davis, para. [0040-0042]: For example, in the case of the network-connected combine harvester 14, detection of the attachment of the grain platform 30 or interchange of the grain platform30 for another type of header (e.g., the corn head 104 shown as attached to the combine 16 in FIG. 1)may serve as the trigger event during STEP 74. In this latter case, the controller architecture 32 may automatically detect attachment of a new header or the operator may provide input via the operator interface 36 indicating that a different header type has been newly-attached to the combine harvester14; and, in response to this determination, the controller architecture 32 may then seek a software solution specific to the newly-attached header type from the server end 12 by generating a corresponding software solution request transmitting to the server end 12 over the network 22.);
determine the condition has been satisfied by monitoring a second amount of the vehicle usage data, wherein the second amount of the vehicle usage data is collected after the first amount (see at least Davis, para. [0041-0043]: In response to detection of a trigger event (STEP 74, FIG. 2), the controller architecture 32 of the combine control system 44 advances to STEP 76 and gathers data describing the work task to be performed utilizing the network-connected combine harvester 14. Such task-specific data may be gathered utilizing data entered by an operator of the network-connected combine harvester 14,utilizing data retrieved from any of the sensors 34 onboard the combine harvester 14, by recalling data from the memory 46, or utilizing a combination of these sources. …In the agricultural context, the task-specific data may include data identifying the crop type currently subject to harvesting or processing, as determined by the controller architecture 32 utilizing sensor data or as indicated by operator input entered via the operator interface 36. Imagery (still images or video) may be captured by one or more cameras (included in the onboard sensors 34) of a material processed by the work vehicle during the work task.); and
in response to the determination, update the user interface circuitry to present the information (see at least Davis, para. [0047-0048]: Alternatively, network connectivity and response times permitting, the server end 12 may partially or fully execute the software solution at the server location (or locations)remote from the combine harvester 14, with the server end 12 then providing output data (e.g., actuation, display, and/or navigation commands) to the network-connected combine harvester 14 over the network 22 on a real-time or near real-time basis.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 11, 15-16, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, in view of US 2019/0278262A1 (“Taylor”).
As per claim 2 Davis discloses
wherein: the user interface circuitry is presenting a first page before the programmable circuitry determines the condition has been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0060]: Turning to FIG. 5, there is shown an example of a grain assessment display 160 suitably generated on the display device 42 within the cabin 28 of the combine harvester 14. The grain assessment display 160 includes a live video feed region 162 in which video from one or both of the cameras 156, 158 may be presented, depending upon operator selection by interaction with the GUI options appearing under the SOURCE selecting region 164. Visual indication of grain quality on the display 160 may activated or deactivated by operator interactions with a GUI element 170; here, a virtual slider or toggle switch. In the present example scenario, an operator has activated the visual indications of grain quality, which are expressed as color coding of the imagery within the live video feed region 162 of the grain assessment display 160. Specifically, as indicated in the grain analysis quality area 166 of the grain assessment display 160, areas of the live video feed region 162 containing broken or unthreshed grain may be color coded in first and second colors (e.g., orange and purple, respectively) represented by first and second cross-hatch patterns in FIG. 5.).
However Davis does not explicitly disclose
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information.
Taylor teaches
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information (see at least Taylor, para. [0059]: A second variation of tier is contemplated which may be a pop up or pop out type screen which covers a portion or all of the screen 14 of the display unit 10. Such second tier may require an action of the operator in order to revert the screen to the previous display. For example, such a second-tier item may be an alert or a caution based upon a selection or other input and which will not be removed from the screen until the operator acknowledges such caution and presses a button to revert the screen back to the previous screen. This can be an alert such that the rate of elevation has changed to alert or suggest a changing of speed of the tow vehicle and/or implement based on said elevation change and which can be ignored, if chosen, by the operator. However, the second tier can also include a short cut button to allow the operator to go to a screen that will allow for the change based on the suggestion or caution of the second-tier window.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
As per claim 3 Davis discloses
wherein: the user interface circuitry is presenting a page before the programmable circuitry determines the condition has been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0060]: Turning to FIG. 5, there is shown an example of a grain assessment display 160 suitably generated on the display device 42 within the cabin 28 of the combine harvester 14. The grain assessment display 160 includes a live video feed region 162 in which video from one or both of the cameras 156, 158 may be presented, depending upon operator selection by interaction with the GUI options appearing under the SOURCE selecting region 164. Visual indication of grain quality on the display 160 may activated or deactivated by operator interactions with a GUI element 170; here, a virtual slider or toggle switch. In the present example scenario, an operator has activated the visual indications of grain quality, which are expressed as color coding of the imagery within the live video feed region 162 of the grain assessment display 160. Specifically, as indicated in the grain analysis quality area 166 of the grain assessment display 160, areas of the live video feed region 162 containing broken or unthreshed grain may be color coded in first and second colors (e.g., orange and purple, respectively) represented by first and second cross-hatch patterns in FIG. 5.).
However Davis does not explicitly disclose
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to present a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information.
Taylor teaches
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to present a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information (see at least Taylor, para. [0059]: A second variation of tier is contemplated which may be a pop up or pop out type screen which covers a portion or all of the screen 14 of the display unit 10. Such second tier may require an action of the operator in order to revert the screen to the previous display. For example, such a second-tier item may be an alert or a caution based upon a selection or other input and which will not be removed from the screen until the operator acknowledges such caution and presses a button to revert the screen back to the previous screen. This can be an alert such that the rate of elevation has changed to alert or suggest a changing of speed of the tow vehicle and/or implement based on said elevation change and which can be ignored, if chosen, by the operator. However, the second tier can also include a short cut button to allow the operator to go to a screen that will allow for the change based on the suggestion or caution of the second-tier window.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to present a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
As per claim 11 Davis does not explicitly disclose
wherein the programmable circuitry is to instruct the user interface circuitry to present a page where a user can remove one or more of the plurality of triggers.
Taylor teaches
wherein the programmable circuitry is to instruct the user interface circuitry to present a page where a user can remove one or more of the plurality of triggers (see at least Taylor, para. [0061]: Additional tiers and or sub-tiers may be envisioned in which the screen layout, options, inputs, graphics, information, or otherwise is changed either automatically or based upon an input or other selection of the operator. Some tiers may require an action by the operator for the screen to be changed, while others may be time based. Still other tiers may change after an action has taken place. For example, travelling above a speed parameter or threshold may cause a screen pop-up or other alert to appear until the speed is changed to within an acceptable range. Thus, no direct interaction with the screen 14 was needed, but the screen alert or pop-up can still require a change in operation of the tow vehicle and/or towed implement. & para. [0070]: FIG. 27 shows setting choices related to alerts. These can include on/off inputs for some choices. Further, there can be incremental adjustments for delay time and threshold. Note further that the default unit for delay time is seconds, but this can be changed by interacting with the button. The same can be done for generally any other of the units of the display unit 10 as well. This can be pressure, rate, speed, time, amounts, weights, mass, volume, pressure, etc. Any of the items that include units can changed based upon personal preference and/or location (e.g., changing SI/metric units to imperial units and US customary units).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of wherein the programmable circuitry is to instruct the user interface circuitry to present a page where a user can remove one or more of the plurality of triggers of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
As per claim 15 Davis discloses
further including: presenting a first page on the user interface circuitry before the condition has been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0060]: Turning to FIG. 5, there is shown an example of a grain assessment display 160 suitably generated on the display device 42 within the cabin 28 of the combine harvester 14. The grain assessment display 160 includes a live video feed region 162 in which video from one or both of the cameras 156, 158 may be presented, depending upon operator selection by interaction with the GUI options appearing under the SOURCE selecting region 164. Visual indication of grain quality on the display 160 may activated or deactivated by operator interactions with a GUI element 170; here, a virtual slider or toggle switch. In the present example scenario, an operator has activated the visual indications of grain quality, which are expressed as color coding of the imagery within the live video feed region 162 of the grain assessment display 160. Specifically, as indicated in the grain analysis quality area 166 of the grain assessment display 160, areas of the live video feed region 162 containing broken or unthreshed grain may be color coded in first and second colors (e.g., orange and purple, respectively) represented by first and second cross-hatch patterns in FIG. 5.).
However Davis does not explicitly disclose
updating the user interface by switching from the first page to a second page that contains the information.
Taylor teaches
updating the user interface by switching from the first page to a second page that contains the information (see at least Taylor, para. [0059]: A second variation of tier is contemplated which may be a pop up or pop out type screen which covers a portion or all of the screen 14 of the display unit 10. Such second tier may require an action of the operator in order to revert the screen to the previous display. For example, such a second-tier item may be an alert or a caution based upon a selection or other input and which will not be removed from the screen until the operator acknowledges such caution and presses a button to revert the screen back to the previous screen. This can be an alert such that the rate of elevation has changed to alert or suggest a changing of speed of the tow vehicle and/or implement based on said elevation change and which can be ignored, if chosen, by the operator. However, the second tier can also include a short cut button to allow the operator to go to a screen that will allow for the change based on the suggestion or caution of the second-tier window.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of updating the user interface by switching from the first page to a second page that contains the information of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
As per claim 16 Davis discloses
further including: presenting a page on the user interface circuitry before the condition has been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0060]: Turning to FIG. 5, there is shown an example of a grain assessment display 160 suitably generated on the display device 42 within the cabin 28 of the combine harvester 14. The grain assessment display 160 includes a live video feed region 162 in which video from one or both of the cameras 156, 158 may be presented, depending upon operator selection by interaction with the GUI options appearing under the SOURCE selecting region 164. Visual indication of grain quality on the display 160 may activated or deactivated by operator interactions with a GUI element 170; here, a virtual slider or toggle switch. In the present example scenario, an operator has activated the visual indications of grain quality, which are expressed as color coding of the imagery within the live video feed region 162 of the grain assessment display 160. Specifically, as indicated in the grain analysis quality area 166 of the grain assessment display 160, areas of the live video feed region 162 containing broken or unthreshed grain may be color coded in first and second colors (e.g., orange and purple, respectively) represented by first and second cross-hatch patterns in FIG. 5.).
However Davis does not explicitly disclose
updating the user interface by presenting a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information.
Taylor teaches
updating the user interface by presenting a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information (see at least Taylor, para. [0059]: A second variation of tier is contemplated which may be a pop up or pop out type screen which covers a portion or all of the screen 14 of the display unit 10. Such second tier may require an action of the operator in order to revert the screen to the previous display. For example, such a second-tier item may be an alert or a caution based upon a selection or other input and which will not be removed from the screen until the operator acknowledges such caution and presses a button to revert the screen back to the previous screen. This can be an alert such that the rate of elevation has changed to alert or suggest a changing of speed of the tow vehicle and/or implement based on said elevation change and which can be ignored, if chosen, by the operator. However, the second tier can also include a short cut button to allow the operator to go to a screen that will allow for the change based on the suggestion or caution of the second-tier window.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of updating the user interface by presenting a pop-up window overlaid on the page, the pop-up window to contain the information of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
As per claim 20 Davis discloses
wherein: the user interface circuitry is presenting a first page before the programmable circuitry determines the condition has been satisfied (see at least Davis, para. [0060]: Turning to FIG. 5, there is shown an example of a grain assessment display 160 suitably generated on the display device 42 within the cabin 28 of the combine harvester 14. The grain assessment display 160 includes a live video feed region 162 in which video from one or both of the cameras 156, 158 may be presented, depending upon operator selection by interaction with the GUI options appearing under the SOURCE selecting region 164. Visual indication of grain quality on the display 160 may activated or deactivated by operator interactions with a GUI element 170; here, a virtual slider or toggle switch. In the present example scenario, an operator has activated the visual indications of grain quality, which are expressed as color coding of the imagery within the live video feed region 162 of the grain assessment display 160. Specifically, as indicated in the grain analysis quality area 166 of the grain assessment display 160, areas of the live video feed region 162 containing broken or unthreshed grain may be color coded in first and second colors (e.g., orange and purple, respectively) represented by first and second cross-hatch patterns in FIG. 5.).
However Davis does not explicitly disclose
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information.
Taylor teaches
to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information (see at least Taylor, para. [0059]: A second variation of tier is contemplated which may be a pop up or pop out type screen which covers a portion or all of the screen 14 of the display unit 10. Such second tier may require an action of the operator in order to revert the screen to the previous display. For example, such a second-tier item may be an alert or a caution based upon a selection or other input and which will not be removed from the screen until the operator acknowledges such caution and presses a button to revert the screen back to the previous screen. This can be an alert such that the rate of elevation has changed to alert or suggest a changing of speed of the tow vehicle and/or implement based on said elevation change and which can be ignored, if chosen, by the operator. However, the second tier can also include a short cut button to allow the operator to go to a screen that will allow for the change based on the suggestion or caution of the second-tier window.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of to update the user interface circuitry, the programmable circuitry instructs the user interface circuitry to switch from the first page to a second page that contains the information of Taylor, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for providing monitoring, storing, and inputting in a display unit in communication with an agricultural implement (see at least Taylor, para. [0008]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, in view of US 2026/0119988A1 (“Boucard”).
As per claim 12 Davis does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the plurality of triggers includes a group of accepted triggers and a group of recommended triggers;
the one or more conditions monitored by the programmable circuitry are part of the accepted triggers; and
the programmable circuitry is to move a trigger from the group of recommended triggers to the group of accepted triggers in response to a user input that approves of the trigger.
Boucard teaches
wherein: the plurality of triggers includes a group of accepted triggers and a group of recommended triggers (see at least Boucard, para. [0050]: The agricultural management system 102 can also analyze the retrieved data to provide summaries, insights, metrics, and/or statistics associated with the data. In some examples, the agricultural management system 102 can apply the data to a machine learning model trained to output a projected future state of the location. In some examples, the machine learning model can be trained to determine whether a set of statistics associated with the location meet a set of predetermined thresholds. When the set of statistics do not meet the predetermined thresholds, the machine learning model can output recommended changes to equipment settings to help the location in meeting the thresholds. In some examples, the machine learning model can recommend one or more actions to be taken by farm workers.);
the one or more conditions monitored by the programmable circuitry are part of the accepted triggers (see at least Boucard, para. [0050]: The agricultural management system 102 can also analyze the retrieved data to provide summaries, insights, metrics, and/or statistics associated with the data. In some examples, the agricultural management system 102 can apply the data to a machine learning model trained to output a projected future state of the location. In some examples, the machine learning model can be trained to determine whether a set of statistics associated with the location meet a set of predetermined thresholds. When the set of statistics do not meet the predetermined thresholds, the machine learning model can output recommended changes to equipment settings to help the location in meeting the thresholds. In some examples, the machine learning model can recommend one or more actions to be taken by farm workers.); and
the programmable circuitry is to move a trigger from the group of recommended triggers to the group of accepted triggers in response to a user input that approves of the trigger (see at least Boucard, para. [0050]: The agricultural management system 102 can also analyze the retrieved data to provide summaries, insights, metrics, and/or statistics associated with the data. In some examples, the agricultural management system 102 can apply the data to a machine learning model trained to output a projected future state of the location. In some examples, the machine learning model can be trained to determine whether a set of statistics associated with the location meet a set of predetermined thresholds. When the set of statistics do not meet the predetermined thresholds, the machine learning model can output recommended changes to equipment settings to help the location in meeting the thresholds. In some examples, the machine learning model can recommend one or more actions to be taken by farm workers.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davis to incorporate the teaching of wherein: the plurality of triggers includes a group of accepted triggers and a group of recommended triggers; the one or more conditions monitored by the programmable circuitry are part of the accepted triggers; and the programmable circuitry is to move a trigger from the group of recommended triggers to the group of accepted triggers in response to a user input that approves of the trigger of Boucard, with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the agricultural management system 102 can efficiently and dynamically collect and analyze agricultural data from multiple sources, as well as determine and/or execute actionable steps for managing the agricultural operation (see at least Boucard, para. [0093]).
As per claim 13 Davis discloses
wherein the programmable circuitry is to report one or more of the vehicle usage data, the recommended triggers, or the accepted triggers to an external device via a network (see at least Davis, para. [0038]: Generally, the below-described processes are initiated by the occurrence of one or more trigger events. Such trigger events may occur at the network-connected combine harvester 14 and signal the desirability of generating a software solution request for transmission over the network 22 to the server end 12. During operation of the network-connected combined harvester 14, the controller architecture 32 may thus monitor for such trigger events, several examples of which are described below.).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668