DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 12/12/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The term “SCS” in claim 16 (line 1) should be unabbreviated to “reference subcarrier spacing” or “subcarrier spacing” so as to define the term as it first appears in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You et al. (US 2026/0254602 A1) “You.”
Regarding Claim 1, You teaches A user equipment (UE) (You: paragraph 0372, & Figs. 20-21, user equipment (UE)), comprising:
at least one memory (You: paragraph 0388 & Fig. 21, memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (You: paragraph 0388 & Fig. 21, processor coupled to memory) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration message for a subband time-frequency configuration (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, receive TDD configuration message from base station), wherein the configuration message indicates frequency domain resources and time domain resources of at least one subband (You: paragraph 0373 & Fig. 20, type configuration information to the UE (i.e. FD type/HD type); see also paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources); and
determine a transmission direction of the at least one subband, wherein the transmission direction (You: paragraph 0374 & Fig. 20, UE determines the FD type/HD type based on the type configuration information for a specific slot containing symbols with different link directions) comprises downlink, uplink, guard-band, or a combination thereof (You: paragraphs 0320-0323 & Fig. 18, uplink or downlink direction type based on TDD configuration information).
Regarding Claim 2, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency domain resources using a first resource block (RB), or a number of RBs, or both (You: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 7, resource blocks in the frequency domain).
Regarding Claim 3, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the number of RBs of the frequency domain resources is indicated as a percentage value of a reference number of RBs (You: paragraph 0185, i.e. second frequency resource may be configured to have fewer X physical resource blocks (PRBs) on one or both edges of the carrier than the first frequency resource).
Regarding Claim 4, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the reference number of RBs comprises a preconfigured number of RBs, a total number of RBs within a bandwidth part, a total number of RBs within a cell bandwidth, or a combination thereof (You: paragraph 0185, i.e. second frequency resource may be configured to have fewer X physical resource blocks (PRBs) on one or both edges of the carrier than the first frequency resource).
Regarding Claim 5, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein part of the percentage value is implicitly determined (You: paragraph 0185, i.e. second frequency resource may be configured to have fewer X physical resource blocks (PRBs) on one or both edges of the carrier than the first frequency resource).
Regarding Claim 6, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the configuration message indicates the time domain resources using a slot index, a symbol index, a first slot, a first symbol, a number of slots, a number of symbols, or a combination thereof (You: paragraph 0341, the slot offset information relative to the first slot in the period may be indicated for indicating the starting slot location).
Regarding Claim 7, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein: the number of slots is indicated as a percentage value of a reference number of slots, the number of symbols is indicated as a percentage value of a reference number of symbols, or a combination thereof (You: paragraphs 0342 & 0348, the slot offset information relative to the first slot containing the flexible resource in the period (i.e., slot #d.sub.slots) may be indicated to inform the starting slot location).
Regarding Claim 8, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the time domain resources are implicitly indicated within the configuration message (You: paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources).
Regarding Claim 9, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the frequency domain resources are implicitly indicated within the configuration message (You: paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources).
Regarding Claim 10, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the configuration message comprises subband full duplex (SBFD) TDD uplink-downlink (UL-DL) patterns associated with corresponding TDD UL-DL patterns (You: paragraph 0223, FD time resource information may further include TDD pattern information).
Regarding Claim 11, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the corresponding TDD UL-DL patterns are provided by a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon information element (IE), a tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated IE, or a combination thereof (You: paragraph 0323, TDD configuration information, for example, tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and/or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated).
Regarding Claim 12, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein an indicated SBFD TDD UL-DL pattern of the SBFD TDD UL-DL patterns is associated with one TDD UL-DL pattern of the TDD UL-DL patterns based on a one-to-one mapping rule (You: paragraph 0223 & Figs. 13-15 , the TDD pattern information may be information indicating where the FD time resource is located among the first downlink-uplink pattern and the second downlink-uplink pattern).
Regarding Claim 13, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein an indicated SBFD TDD UL-DL pattern of the SBFD TDD UL-DL patterns is associated with at least two TDD UL-DL patterns of the TDD UL-DL patterns based on a one-to-many mapping rule (You: paragraph 0280 & Fig. 16, TDD pattern indicating the pattern in which SBFD symbol resources exist among pattern1 and pattern2).
Regarding Claim 14, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the configuration message is provided by a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, TDD configuration information provided through RRC message).
Regarding Claim 15, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the configuration message is cell-based and carried by a system information block 1 (SIB1) message (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, TDD configuration information provided through cell-specific system information).
Regarding Claim 16, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the indicated subband has same SCS as the associated TDD UL-DL pattern (You: paragraph 0081, subcarrier spacing).
Regarding Claim 17, You teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the indicated subband has same time periodicity as the associated TDD UL-DL pattern (You: paragraph 0264, common periodicity; see also paragraph 0203 & Table 5 dl-UL-TransmissionPeriodicity).
Regarding Claim 18, You teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (You: paragraph 0372, & Figs. 20-21, user equipment (UE)), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration message for a subband time-frequency configuration (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, receive TDD configuration message from base station), wherein the configuration message indicates frequency domain resources and time domain resources of at least one subband (You: paragraph 0373 & Fig. 20, type configuration information to the UE (i.e. FD type/HD type); see also paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources); and
determining a transmission direction of the at least one subband, wherein the transmission direction (You: paragraph 0374 & Fig. 20, UE determines the FD type/HD type based on the type configuration information for a specific slot containing symbols with different link directions) comprises downlink, uplink, guard-band, or a combination thereof (You: paragraphs 0320-0323 & Fig. 18, uplink or downlink direction type based on TDD configuration information).
Regarding Claim 19, You teaches A base station (You: paragraph 0373 & Fig. 20, base station), comprising:
at least one memory (You: paragraph 0389 & Fig. 21, memory); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (You: paragraph 0389 & Fig. 21, processor coupled to memory) and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit a configuration message for a subband time-frequency configuration (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, transmit TDD configuration message to user equipment), wherein the configuration message indicates frequency domain resources and time domain resources of at least one subband (You: paragraph 0373 & Fig. 20, type configuration information to the UE (i.e. FD type/HD type); see also paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources), a transmission direction of the at least one subband is determined, and the transmission direction (You: paragraph 0374 & Fig. 20, UE determines the FD type/HD type based on the type configuration information for a specific slot containing symbols with different link directions) comprises downlink, uplink, guard-band, or a combination thereof (You: paragraphs 0320-0323 & Fig. 18, uplink or downlink direction type based on TDD configuration information
Regarding Claim 20, You teaches A processor (You: paragraph 0372, & Figs. 20-21, user equipment (UE)) for wireless communication (You: Fig. 1, wireless communication system), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (You: paragraph 0388 & Fig. 21, processor coupled to memory) and configured to cause the processor to:
receive a configuration message for a subband time-frequency configuration (You: paragraph 0372 & Fig. 20, receive TDD configuration message from base station), wherein the configuration message indicates frequency domain resources and time domain resources of at least one subband (You: paragraph 0373 & Fig. 20, type configuration information to the UE (i.e. FD type/HD type); see also paragraphs 0066, 0081, time domain resources and frequency domain resources); and
determine a transmission direction of the at least one subband, wherein the transmission direction (You: paragraph 0374 & Fig. 20, UE determines the FD type/HD type based on the type configuration information for a specific slot containing symbols with different link directions) comprises downlink, uplink, guard-band, or a combination thereof (You: paragraphs 0320-0323 & Fig. 18, uplink or downlink direction type based on TDD configuration information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
You et al. (US 2026/0230294 A1) teaches a user equipment receives TDD configuration information from a base station, receives full duplex (FD) time resource information from the base station, and performs communication with the base station on the basis of the TDD configuration information and the FD time resource information (paragraph 0007).
Wang et al. (US 2025/0220647 A1) teaches a terminal determines available resources for the first time-domain unit according to the dynamic signaling and the SBFD pattern (paragraph 0115).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463