DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
1 Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Stating “The method of any of claims 1…”, where it should state “The method of claim 1…” to keep consistent with the other claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
3 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4 Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1).
5 Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method for rendering indicators for a target in a map, the method comprising ([Page 19; Paragraph 7] reciting “Thus, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map indicates that the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is F position,”):
defining a target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([Page 19; Paragraph 4] reciting “In some embodiments, the terminal can determine the position of the first virtual object in the map by the following way: determining the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is the target position, and taking the target position as the centre, the target distance is radius determining target area; selecting other positions different from the target position from the target area, as the position of the first virtual object in the map.”);
defining a target area boundary surrounding the target location (X1, Y1) in the map, wherein a centre point (X2, Y2) of the target area boundary is offset from the target location (X1, Y1) by a predetermined maximum distance ([Page 19, Paragraph 5] reciting “Here, the terminal when determining the position of the first virtual object in the map, can firstly obtain the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene, and the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is determined as the target position; then taking the target position as the centre, the target distance is radius determining target area; so as to select other positions different from the target position from the target area, as the position of the first virtual object in the map.”);
rendering the map in a user interface ([Page 5; Paragraph 8] reciting “applying the embodiment of the invention, presenting the first virtual object with anti-detection skill in the interface of the virtual scene, when receiving the trigger instruction of the anti-detection skill for the first virtual object, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the anti-detection skill, when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, then controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state; Here, in the process of the first virtual object in the anti-detection state, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map is different from the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene.”);
receiving a current location of a user-controllable object on the map ([Page 20; Paragraph 5] reciting “Hereinafter, an exemplary application of the embodiment of the present application in an actual application scene will be described. taking the virtual scene as the game scene as an example, the position of the first virtual object (i.e. the virtual role controlled by the user)”);
determining whether the current location is within the target area boundary ([Page 16; Paragraph 8] reciting “As an example, as shown in FIG. 8, FIG. 8 is a display schematic diagram of the sensing area provided by the embodiment of the invention. Here, as shown in FIG. 8 A, the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill is a polygonal area centered on the position of the first virtual object; As shown in FIG. 8 B, the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill is a circular area taking the skill release position as the centre.”);
in response to determining that the current location is within the target area boundary ([Page 4; Paragraph 2] reciting “in response to a position determining instruction for the position identification, determining the position of the position identification in the virtual scene as the skill release position.”);
rendering a target area indicator along the target area boundary ([Page 8; Paragraph 4] reciting “for receiving the scene data of the virtual scene, rendering the virtual scene based on the scene data, the graphical interface (exemplary shown in the graphical interface 410-1 and graphical interface 410-2) presenting the virtual scene of the picture;”; See Fig. 8);
5 Although Liu could teach determining a distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1); and in response to determining that the distance is less than a predetermined discovery distance (R), rendering a target indicator at the target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([Page 3; Paragraph 10] reciting “In the above scheme, the first virtual object and the second virtual object belong to different camp; the first presenting module is further used for obtaining the distance between the second virtual object and the first virtual object;”), prior art from Nishimura can teach this limitation further.
6 Nishimura teaches determining a distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1); and in response to determining that the distance is less than a predetermined discovery distance (R), rendering a target indicator at the target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([0066] reciting “Then, it may be configured such that when the current location belongs to a road type having no on-street parking spaces, e.g., an expressway, even if the distance between the current location and the destination reaches less than or equal to the first threshold value, icons which are display targets are not switched to on-street parking space icons.”).
7 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu) to incorporate the teachings of Nishimura to provide a clearer method to obtain the distance between certain locations that are picked that can be less than a type of “predetermined” distance, utilizing the target locations provided by Liu. Doing so would prevent too much information from being displayed as stated by Nishimura ([Abstract] recited).
8 Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein defining the target area boundary comprises (see claim 1 rejection above):
selecting a random point within the predetermined maximum distance from the target location (X1, Y1) (Liu; [Page 22; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the actual application, the false position of the first virtual object is random data, which is obtained by random data generation principle. In practical implementation, the random data can be generated by using linear coremainder method, the linear congruion method is based on the software algorithm + random number seed; using the following formula to generate the random sequence:”); and
generating the target area boundary using the random point as the centre point (X2, Y2) such that the target location (X1, Y1) falls within the target area boundary ([Page 21; Paragraph 21] reciting “when the first virtual object is in the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill, then the red point display disorder condition, namely interference red point position, specifically, taking the real red point position (i.e., E position) as the centre, randomly generating a region Z with radius of R, the maximum value of the radius R is not more than the configuration value, FIG. 11 is shown in FIG. 11. then randomly generating a position as the false position of the player in the region Z, namely the F position, as shown in FIG. 11 C diagram.”).
9 Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of any of claims 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the target area boundary comprises one of: a circular boundary or a polygonal boundary (Liu; See Fig. 8).
10 Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein rendering the target area indicator comprises displaying a visual boundary indicating an area within which the target is located (Liu; [Page 20; Paragraph 6] reciting “The player can make the first virtual object obtain the anti-reconnaissance skill through the virtual prop corresponding to the counter-detecting skill. when the player controls the first virtual object with anti-detection skill to enter the virtual scene, the anti-detection skill can not be used at the beginning of the office, it is necessary to wait for the end of the cooling time to be used.”; [Page 21; Paragraph 3] reciting “The virtual scene may be a virtual scene displayed at a first human visual angle (for example, a virtual object in a game played by a player's own visual angle); It is also possible to display a virtual scene (e.g., a virtual object in the game by a player to play) with a third person view angle; it also can display virtual scene with bird ' s-eye view; Wherein, said visual angle can be switched randomly.”).
11 Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein rendering the target indicator comprises (see claim 1 rejection above):
removing the target area indicator from the map (Liu; [Page 10; Paragraph 7] reciting “scene organization, for game scene management, such as collision detection, visibility removing and so on; wherein, for collision detection can be realized by the collision body;”);
displaying a visual marker at the target location (X1, Y1) on the map indicating position of the target (Liu; [Page 15; Paragraph 6] reciting “…constructing training sample according to the collected sample interaction data and sample scene data, inputting the training sample as the neural network model to be trained, and using the sample virtual scene whether to trigger the anti-detection skill as marking data, training the neural network model to obtain the neural network model of the training completion.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 7] reciting “Thus, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map indicates that the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is F position, as shown in FIG. 11 c.”).
12 Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches a system for rendering indicators for a target in a map, the system comprising: a user device configured to ([Page 9; Paragraph 4] reciting “The user interface 530 includes one or more output devices 531 that enable presentation of the media content, including one or more speakers and/or one or more visual display screens. The user interface 530 also includes one or more input devices 532 including user interface components that facilitate user input, such as a keyboard, a mouse, a microphone, a touch screen display, a camera, other input buttons and controls.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 7] reciting “Thus, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map indicates that the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is F position,”):
render the map in a user interface ([Page 5; Paragraph 8] reciting “applying the embodiment of the invention, presenting the first virtual object with anti-detection skill in the interface of the virtual scene, when receiving the trigger instruction of the anti-detection skill for the first virtual object, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the anti-detection skill, when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, then controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state; Here, in the process of the first virtual object in the anti-detection state, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map is different from the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene.”);
receive user inputs for controlling a user-controllable object on the map ([Page 9; Paragraph 4] reciting “The user interface 530 includes one or more output devices 531 that enable presentation of the media content, including one or more speakers and/or one or more visual display screens. The user interface 530 also includes one or more input devices 532 including user interface components that facilitate user input, such as a keyboard, a mouse, a microphone, a touch screen display, a camera, other input buttons and controls.”; [Page 20; Paragraph 5] reciting “Hereinafter, an exemplary application of the embodiment of the present application in an actual application scene will be described. taking the virtual scene as the game scene as an example, the position of the first virtual object (i.e. the virtual role controlled by the user)”); and
update a current location of the user-controllable object based on the user inputs ([Page 9; Paragraph 1] reciting “Further, the terminal in response to the first virtual object (i.e., login the electronic game user corresponding to the virtual role) of the trigger instruction, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill; when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state;”; [Page 20; Paragraph 2] reciting “…then the position of the first virtual object in the map is replaced by the selected virtual position, so as to periodically update the position of the first virtual object in the map effect, so that the false position of the first virtual object is periodically updated, better hiding the real position of the first virtual object, improving the skill effect of the anti-detection skill in the virtual scene.”); and
a server communicatively coupled to the user device via a communication network, the server configured to ([Page 8; Paragraph 5] reciting “the terminal (such as terminal 400-1 and terminal 400-2) and server 200 can be directly or indirectly connected by wired or wireless communication mode, the invention is not limited.”):
define a target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([Page 19; Paragraph 4] reciting “In some embodiments, the terminal can determine the position of the first virtual object in the map by the following way: determining the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is the target position, and taking the target position as the centre, the target distance is radius determining target area; selecting other positions different from the target position from the target area, as the position of the first virtual object in the map.”);
define a target area boundary surrounding the target location (X1, Y1) in the map, wherein a centre point (X2, Y2) of the target area boundary is offset from the target location (X1, Y1) by a predetermined maximum distance ([Page 19, Paragraph 5] reciting “Here, the terminal when determining the position of the first virtual object in the map, can firstly obtain the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene, and the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is determined as the target position; then taking the target position as the centre, the target distance is radius determining target area; so as to select other positions different from the target position from the target area, as the position of the first virtual object in the map.”);
determine whether the current location is within the target area boundary ([Page 16; Paragraph 8] reciting “As an example, as shown in FIG. 8, FIG. 8 is a display schematic diagram of the sensing area provided by the embodiment of the invention. Here, as shown in FIG. 8 A, the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill is a polygonal area centered on the position of the first virtual object; As shown in FIG. 8 B, the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill is a circular area taking the skill release position as the centre.”);
in response to determining that the current location is within the target area boundary ([Page 4; Paragraph 2] reciting “in response to a position determining instruction for the position identification, determining the position of the position identification in the virtual scene as the skill release position.”):
instruct the user device to render a target area indicator along the target area boundary ([Page 8; Paragraph 4] reciting “for receiving the scene data of the virtual scene, rendering the virtual scene based on the scene data, the graphical interface (exemplary shown in the graphical interface 410-1 and graphical interface 410-2) presenting the virtual scene of the picture;”; [Page 9; Paragraph 1] reciting “Further, the terminal in response to the first virtual object (i.e., login the electronic game user corresponding to the virtual role) of the trigger instruction, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill; when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state;”; See Fig. 8); and
13 Although Liu could teach to determine a distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1); and in response to determining that the distance is less than a predetermined discovery distance (R), instruct the user device to render a target indicator at the target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([Page 3; Paragraph 10] reciting “In the above scheme, the first virtual object and the second virtual object belong to different camp; the first presenting module is further used for obtaining the distance between the second virtual object and the first virtual object;”; [Page 9; Paragraph 1] reciting “Further, the terminal in response to the first virtual object (i.e., login the electronic game user corresponding to the virtual role) of the trigger instruction, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill; when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state;”), prior art from Nishimura can teach this limitation further.
14 Nishimura teaches to determine a distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1); and in response to determining that the distance is less than a predetermined discovery distance (R), instruct the user device to render a target indicator at the target location (X1, Y1) on the map ([0063] reciting “Thus, the user can select, from a region around the destination…”; [0066] reciting “Then, it may be configured such that when the current location belongs to a road type having no on-street parking spaces, e.g., an expressway, even if the distance between the current location and the destination reaches less than or equal to the first threshold value, icons which are display targets are not switched to on-street parking space icons.”).
15 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu) to incorporate the teachings of Nishimura to provide a clearer method to obtain the distance between certain locations that are picked that can be less than a type of “predetermined” distance, utilizing the target locations provided by Liu. Doing so would prevent too much information from being displayed as stated by Nishimura ([Abstract] recited).
16 Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the server is further configured to define the target area boundary by (see claim 11 rejection above):
selecting a random point within the predetermined maximum distance from the target location (X1, Y1) (Liu; [Page 21; Paragraph 3] reciting “…specifically, taking the real red point position (i.e., E position) as the centre, randomly generating a region Z with radius of R, the maximum value of the radius R is not more than the configuration value…”; [Page 22; Paragraph 2] reciting “In the actual application, the false position of the first virtual object is random data, which is obtained by random data generation principle. In practical implementation, the random data can be generated by using linear coremainder method, the linear congruion method is based on the software algorithm + random number seed; using the following formula to generate the random sequence:”); and
generating the target area boundary using the random point as the centre point (X2, Y2) such that the target location (X1, Y1) falls within the target area boundary (Liu; [Page 21; Paragraph 21] reciting “when the first virtual object is in the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill, then the red point display disorder condition, namely interference red point position, specifically, taking the real red point position (i.e., E position) as the centre, randomly generating a region Z with radius of R, the maximum value of the radius R is not more than the configuration value, FIG. 11 is shown in FIG. 11. then randomly generating a position as the false position of the player in the region Z, namely the F position, as shown in FIG. 11 C diagram.”), wherein the target area boundary comprises one of: a circular boundary or a polygonal boundary (Liu; See Fig. 8).
17 Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Lian et al. (US 20230321539 A1).
18 Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), and although Liu could teach wherein rendering the map in the user interface comprises rendering a target presence indicator on the map to indicate existence of the target therein ([Page 18; Paragraph 1] reciting “In the actual application, when a plurality of other virtual objects exist in the virtual object of the anti-detection state, controlling the position of the other virtual object in the anti-detection state as the target style.”), prior art from Lian can further teach the limitations.
19 Lian teaches wherein rendering the map in the user interface comprises rendering a target presence indicator on the map to indicate existence of the target therein ([0010] reciting “A user can drag the target object identifier to a specified position in the virtual environment map, and then transmit the position prompt message related to the target virtual object to other teammates by triggering the target object identifier, so that other teammates can obtain the target object position of the target virtual object based on the position prompt message, which enriches the way to obtaining position information of the target virtual object, and improves the effectiveness and accuracy of the obtained position message. In addition, when the virtual object adopts a hiding and guarding strategy, the position of the hidden virtual object can be marked in time, to improve the hit rate of the hidden virtual object, thereby speeding up the game process, effectively controlling the length of a single game, and reducing the processing pressure of the server.”).
20 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Lian to provide a clearer method into finding some type of presence of an object (whether that be a hidden object), utilizing the map methods and object creation methods provided by Liu in view of Nishimura. Doing so would allow the virtual object(s) to adopt a hiding and guarding strategy, as well as to improve the hit rate of the hidden virtual object, thereby speeding up the game process as stated by Lian ([0010] recited).
21 Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein the server is further configured to (see claim 11 rejection above):
prior to the current location being within the target area boundary (Liu; [Page 8; Paragraph 14] reciting “in response to, for representing the executed operation of the condition or state, when satisfying the dependent condition or state, one or more operations performed can be real-time, also can have a set delay; In the absence of a particular description, the plurality of operations performed does not have the restriction of performing the order of execution.”; [Page 13; Paragraph 5] reciting “In the actual application, the virtual property can be control the first virtual object in the virtual scene interaction acquisition (such as interaction score satisfies the virtual property of the obtaining condition, or in the interaction process is found), also can be the control of the first virtual object into the virtual scene (such as before the game before the game before).”)
when the current location is within the target area boundary, instruct the user device to render the target area indicator as a visual boundary indicating an area within which the target is located (Liu; [Page 9; Paragraph 1] reciting “Further, the terminal in response to the first virtual object (i.e., login the electronic game user corresponding to the virtual role) of the trigger instruction, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill; when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state;”; [Page 20; Paragraph 6] reciting “The player can make the first virtual object obtain the anti-reconnaissance skill through the virtual prop corresponding to the counter-detecting skill. when the player controls the first virtual object with anti-detection skill to enter the virtual scene, the anti-detection skill can not be used at the beginning of the office, it is necessary to wait for the end of the cooling time to be used.”; [Page 21; Paragraph 3] reciting “The virtual scene may be a virtual scene displayed at a first human visual angle (for example, a virtual object in a game played by a player's own visual angle); It is also possible to display a virtual scene (e.g., a virtual object in the game by a player to play) with a third person view angle; it also can display virtual scene with bird ' s-eye view; Wherein, said visual angle can be switched randomly.”); and
instruct the user device to remove the target area indicator from the map (Liu; [Page 10; Paragraph 7] reciting “scene organization, for game scene management, such as collision detection, visibility removing and so on; wherein, for collision detection can be realized by the collision body;”);
and instruct the user device to display a visual marker at the target location (X1, Y1) indicating position of the target (Liu; [Page 15; Paragraph 6] reciting “…constructing training sample according to the collected sample interaction data and sample scene data, inputting the training sample as the neural network model to be trained, and using the sample virtual scene whether to trigger the anti-detection skill as marking data, training the neural network model to obtain the neural network model of the training completion.”; [Page 19; Paragraph 7] reciting “Thus, when the position information of the first virtual object is presented in the map of the second virtual object, the position of the first virtual object in the map indicates that the position of the first virtual object in the virtual scene is F position, as shown in FIG. 11 c.”).
22 Nishimura as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically when the distance is less than the predetermined discovery distance (R) ([0066] reciting “Then, it may be configured such that when the current location belongs to a road type having no on-street parking spaces, e.g., an expressway, even if the distance between the current location and the destination reaches less than or equal to the first threshold value, icons which are display targets are not switched to on-street parking space icons.”).
23 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of when the distance is less than the predetermined discovery distance (R) of Nishimura into Liu is provided above.
24 Although Liu could teach to instruct the user device to render a target presence indicator on the map to indicate existence of the target therein ([Page 18; Paragraph 1] reciting “In the actual application, when a plurality of other virtual objects exist in the virtual object of the anti-detection state, controlling the position of the other virtual object in the anti-detection state as the target style.”), prior art from Lian can further teach the limitations.
25 Lian teaches prior to the current location being within the target area boundary, instruct the user device to render a target presence indicator on the map to indicate existence of the target therein ([0010] reciting “A user can drag the target object identifier to a specified position in the virtual environment map, and then transmit the position prompt message related to the target virtual object to other teammates by triggering the target object identifier, so that other teammates can obtain the target object position of the target virtual object based on the position prompt message, which enriches the way to obtaining position information of the target virtual object, and improves the effectiveness and accuracy of the obtained position message. In addition, when the virtual object adopts a hiding and guarding strategy, the position of the hidden virtual object can be marked in time, to improve the hit rate of the hidden virtual object, thereby speeding up the game process, effectively controlling the length of a single game, and reducing the processing pressure of the server.”).
26 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Lian to provide a clearer method into finding some type of presence of an object (whether that be a hidden object), utilizing the map methods and object creation methods provided by Liu in view of Nishimura. Doing so would allow the virtual object(s) to adopt a hiding and guarding strategy, as well as to improve the hit rate of the hidden virtual object, thereby speeding up the game process as stated by Lian ([0010] recited).
27 Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Le et al. (US 20210272352 A1).
28 Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the target location (X1, Y1) is defined based on one or more terrain constraints, wherein the terrain constraints comprise: the target location (X1, Y1) is on a permitted terrain type; the target location (X1, Y1) maintains a minimum distance from water; and the target location (X1, Y1) is on a substantially flat surface.
29 Le teaches wherein the target location (X1, Y1) is defined based on one or more terrain constraints, wherein the terrain constraints comprise: the target location (X1, Y1) is on a permitted terrain type; the target location (X1, Y1) maintains a minimum distance from water; and the target location (X1, Y1) is on a substantially flat surface ([0028] reciting “The layer data for different layers can be generated simultaneously or sequentially. For the elevated map artifact, the data layers can include a flat base terrain, water, terrain type, trees, and roads and buildings. Other layer data types are possible. When the data layers are generated simultaneously, the layer data is later stacked by the generation manager and modifications are made to the layers based on the constraints of other layers… For example, the base terrain can define a bottom layer and the water layer can be built on top of the base terrain by manipulating the terrain to insert river, ponds, lakes, and other types of water, if applicable for the environment.”).
30 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Le to provide a method that can determine terrain constraints based on various traits like the terrain type, the minimum distance of water (which can be the flat base terrain that can define a bottom layer and the water layer), and a flat surface utilizing the target locations that are taught by Liu in view of Nishimura. Doing so would involve other types of layer data types like trees, roads, and buildings as stated by Le ([0028] recited).
31 Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the system according to claim 11 (see claim 11 rejection above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the server is configured to define the target location (X1, Y1) based on one or more terrain constraints, wherein the terrain constraints comprise: the target location (X1, Y1) is on a permitted terrain type; the target location (X1, Y1) maintains a minimum distance from water; and the target location (X1, Y1) is on a substantially flat surface.
32 Le teaches wherein the server is configured to define the target location (X1, Y1) based on one or more terrain constraints, wherein the terrain constraints comprise: the target location (X1, Y1) is on a permitted terrain type; the target location (X1, Y1) maintains a minimum distance from water; and the target location (X1, Y1) is on a substantially flat surface ([0019] reciting “Parameters 19 for an artifact are received from a user 11, 12 on a local server 14 or a server 22, 25 in the cloud 16 via an internetwork 13, such as the Internet.”; [0028] reciting “The layer data for different layers can be generated simultaneously or sequentially. For the elevated map artifact, the data layers can include a flat base terrain, water, terrain type, trees, and roads and buildings. Other layer data types are possible. When the data layers are generated simultaneously, the layer data is later stacked by the generation manager and modifications are made to the layers based on the constraints of other layers… For example, the base terrain can define a bottom layer and the water layer can be built on top of the base terrain by manipulating the terrain to insert river, ponds, lakes, and other types of water, if applicable for the environment.”).
33 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Le to provide a method that can determine terrain constraints based on various traits like the terrain type, the minimum distance of water (which can be the flat base terrain that can define a bottom layer and the water layer), and a flat surface utilizing the target locations that are taught by Liu in view of Nishimura. Doing so would involve other types of layer data types like trees, roads, and buildings as stated by Le ([0028] recited).
34 Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Brav et al. (US 20160184703 A1).
35 Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined discovery distance (R) is selected based on at least one of: a type of the target and a discovery difficulty setting.
36 Brav teaches wherein the predetermined discovery distance (R) is selected based on at least one of: a type of the target and a discovery difficulty setting ([0076] reciting “Parameters in which the feedback is provided to a user may be modified by at least one of the user based on preference and control system 20 based on a chosen difficulty setting (e.g., easy, medium, hard, etc.), according to an example embodiment. For example, a range (e.g., distance, etc.) in which the user is first alerted of a secondary object may be altered via a user chosen setting or predefined by the game difficulty selected by the user. Similarly, the user may choose the type of objects for which to be alerted about (e.g., enemies, friendlies, based on threat level, nature, etc.).”).
37 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Brav to provide a method that can obtain a type of a specific target as well as the type of difficulty setting using the distances provided by Liu in view of Nishimura. Doing so would provide feedback to the user as stated by Brav ([Abstract] recited).
38 Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20250232513 A1).
39 Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), further comprising:
detecting movement of the user-controllable object (Liu; [Page 7; Paragraph 1] reciting “…the user can control the virtual object in the virtual scene to move, the activity including but not limited to: adjusting body posture, creeping, walking, running, riding, jumping, driving, picking, shooting, attack, at least one of throwing.”; [Page 16; Paragraph 1] reciting “the terminal in response to the mobile instruction of the first virtual object, controlling the first virtual object to move; and with the movement of the first virtual object”);
continuously updating the distance based on the movement (Liu; [Page 20; Paragraph 2] reciting “then the position of the first virtual object in the map is replaced by the selected virtual position, so as to periodically update the position of the first virtual object in the map effect, so that the false position of the first virtual object is periodically updated, better hiding the real position of the first virtual object, improving the skill effect of the anti-detection skill in the virtual scene.”); and
40 Nishimura as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach parts of the limitation, specifically continuously updating the distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1) based on the movement ([0066] reciting “Then, it may be configured such that when the current location belongs to a road type having no on-street parking spaces, e.g., an expressway, even if the distance between the current location and the destination reaches less than or equal to the first threshold value, icons which are display targets are not switched to on-street parking space icons.”)…
41 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1) of Nishimura into Liu is provided above.
42 Although Liu could teach dynamically updating the rendering of the target indicator based on the updated distance ([Page 7; Paragraph 4] reciting “Optionally, the number of virtual objects participating in the interaction in the virtual scene can be preset, also can be dynamically determined according to the number of the client added interaction.”), prior art from Chen can further teach the limitations.
43 Chen teaches dynamically updating the rendering of the target indicator based on the updated distance ([0072] reciting “…based on the target coordinates and world coordinate system coordinates of a plurality of nodes in the three-dimensional model in a previous frame of the current frame, world coordinate system coordinates of the plurality of nodes in the current frame are concurrently updated, and during the coordinate updating process, the plurality of nodes are controlled to rotate according to the preset model node rotation strategy to render the target rendering object, so that the rendering effect of the dynamic depth change and spiral motion may be obtained. In addition, in response to the distance between the coordinates of the first node and the position where node addition prompt information is preset being less than the preset distance threshold…”).
44 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide a clearer method of dynamic updating based on a changed distances that can be taught by Liu in view of Nishimura, specifically utilizing their map distances instead. Doing so would allow depth variation as stated by Chen ([0072] recited).
45 Regarding claim 14, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the system according to claim 11, wherein: the user device is further configured to (see claim 11 rejection above):
detect movement of the user-controllable object (Liu; [Page 7; Paragraph 1] reciting “…the user can control the virtual object in the virtual scene to move, the activity including but not limited to: adjusting body posture, creeping, walking, running, riding, jumping, driving, picking, shooting, attack, at least one of throwing.”; [Page 16; Paragraph 1] reciting “the terminal in response to the mobile instruction of the first virtual object, controlling the first virtual object to move; and with the movement of the first virtual object”); and
transmit information about the movement to the server; and the server is further configured to (Liu; [Page 8; Paragraph 1] reciting “terminal (exemplary shows the terminal 400-1 and terminal 400-2) through the network 300 connection server 200. The network 300 may be a wide area network or a local area network, or a combination of both, using a wireless or wired link to implement data transmission.”):
continuously update the distance based on the movement (Liu; [Page 20; Paragraph 2] reciting “then the position of the first virtual object in the map is replaced by the selected virtual position, so as to periodically update the position of the first virtual object in the map effect, so that the false position of the first virtual object is periodically updated, better hiding the real position of the first virtual object, improving the skill effect of the anti-detection skill in the virtual scene.”); and
46 Nishimura as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach parts of the limitation, specifically continuously updating the distance between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1) based on the movement ([0066] reciting “Then, it may be configured such that when the current location belongs to a road type having no on-street parking spaces, e.g., an expressway, even if the distance between the current location and the destination reaches less than or equal to the first threshold value, icons which are display targets are not switched to on-street parking space icons.”)…
47 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of between the current location and the target location (X1, Y1) of Nishimura into Liu is provided above.
48 Although Liu could teach to instruct the user device to dynamically update the rendering of the target indicator based on the updated distance ([Page 7; Paragraph 4] reciting “Optionally, the number of virtual objects participating in the interaction in the virtual scene can be preset, also can be dynamically determined according to the number of the client added interaction.”; [Page 9; Paragraph 1] reciting “Further, the terminal in response to the first virtual object (i.e., login the electronic game user corresponding to the virtual role) of the trigger instruction, presenting the sensing area corresponding to the detection skill; when the first virtual object is in the sensing area, controlling the first virtual object in an anti-detection state;”), prior art from Chen can further teach the limitations.
49 Chen teaches to instruct the user device to dynamically update the rendering of the target indicator based on the updated distance ([Abstract] reciting “The method including: in response to acquiring an interactive operation instruction from a user to control movement of a target rendering object”; [0072] reciting “…based on the target coordinates and world coordinate system coordinates of a plurality of nodes in the three-dimensional model in a previous frame of the current frame, world coordinate system coordinates of the plurality of nodes in the current frame are concurrently updated, and during the coordinate updating process, the plurality of nodes are controlled to rotate according to the preset model node rotation strategy to render the target rendering object, so that the rendering effect of the dynamic depth change and spiral motion may be obtained. In addition, in response to the distance between the coordinates of the first node and the position where node addition prompt information is preset being less than the preset distance threshold…”).
50 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide a clearer method of dynamic updating based on a changed distances that can be taught by Liu in view of Nishimura, specifically utilizing their map distances instead. Doing so would allow depth variation as stated by Chen ([0072] recited).
51 Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 114146413 A) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20240077328 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Yang et al. (US 20250117969 A1).
52 Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Nishimura teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), but does not explicitly teach further comprises rendering a directional indicator to show an orientation of the user-controllable object relative to the map.
53 Yang teaches rendering a directional indicator to show an orientation of the user-controllable object relative to the map ([0055] reciting “In one embodiment, the first pose may include a position and an orientation, the first directional smoothness indicator may include a first smoothness indicator and a first directional indicator. In addition, the first smoothness indicator corresponds to the first smoothness status, a first position of the first smoothness indicator in the rendering performance map corresponds to the position of the first pose, and the first directional indicator corresponds to the orientation of the first pose.”).
54 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Liu in view of Nishimura) to incorporate the teachings of Yang to provide a directional indicator that shares an orientation for objects in a map, which can be user controlled based on the teachings of Liu in view of Nishimura (Liu; [Page 7; Paragraph 1] reciting “…the user can control the virtual object in the virtual scene to move, the activity including but not limited to: adjusting body posture, creeping, walking, running, riding, jumping, driving, picking, shooting, attack, at least one of throwing.”; [Page 16; Paragraph 1] reciting “the terminal in response to the mobile instruction of the first virtual object, controlling the first virtual object to move; and with the movement of the first virtual object”). Doing so would provide directional smoothness indicators as stated by Yang ([Abstract] recited).
Conclusion
/JOHNNY T LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614