DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 8/25/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2017/0326264).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (US 2017/0326264) teaches –
A photocatalytic air purifier (title) comprising:
in a housing (front and rear housings 21, 22), a photocatalyst that purifies air (see figs. 14-15 specifically, catalytic section 81) and
a light source that irradiates the photocatalyst with light exerting a photocatalytic action (UV LED substrate 55 with LEDs 56, par. 132), wherein
the photocatalyst is elastically supported in the housing (elastic bumper 82 to secure the catalyst 81, par. 171).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches an air blower that sends air to a photocatalyst side or sucks air from the photocatalyst side (fan 60, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further teaches a photocatalytic unit (inner housing 30 through which the air flows and that houses the photocatalyst, par. 48; Fig. 3), wherein the photocatalytic unit is attached in the housing, and supports the photocatalyst (Fig. 3 and par. 48), and the photocatalyst is elastically supported in the photocatalytic unit (the photocatalyst 80 is supported elastically by bumper 82 in the inner housing 40 and housing formed by 21, 22).
Regarding claim 4, Kim further teaches that the photocatalytic unit is attachable to and detachable from the housing (par. 55 describes the housings 21, 22 being separable from each other and the inner housing 30 for the installation of the various filters).
Regarding 5, Kim further teaches the photocatalyst is directly or indirectly supported, at at least part of an outer peripheral portion of the photocatalyst, by the housing through elastomer or rubber (the bumper 82 is elastic and therefore comprises an elastomer or rubber material exhibiting elastic properties).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0326264) in view of Takahashi (US 2002/0037244).
Regarding claim 5, should it be found that Kim fails to teach the limitation of an elastomer or rubber with sufficient specificity – Takahashi (US 2002/0037244) teaches a photocatalyst supported by a housing through a rubber (par. 0110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Kim such that the elastic bumper is made from rubber or another elastomer as taught by Takahashi to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to use a known appropriate elastic material for supporting the catalyst as is known in the art to arrive at a successfully operable air purifying device.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1758