DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed December 12, 2024. Claims 1-20, are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/12/2024, 06/08/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 13-14, 16, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ang et al (hereinafter Ang) (US 2016/0128128, IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 13, Ang discloses a method (device) for switching a communication state, comprising:
switching, by a terminal device, based on a first triggering condition, a first communication device from a first communication state to a second communication state, or switching, by the terminal device, based on a second triggering condition, the first communication device from the second communication state to the first communication state;
wherein the terminal device is able to receive control information from a network device through the second communication device, and control a communication state of the first communication device based on the control information. For instance Ang discloses UE 110 may have a primary receiver and a secondary receiver, may place the primary receiver in a low power state (e.g., powered off or inactive) while operating in a DRX mode, and may use the secondary receiver to monitor for signaling indicating that the UE should take the primary receiver out of the low power state (e.g., by powering-up or activating the primary receiver (para. 0036) along with a wireless device may place a first (e.g., primary) receiver in a low power state in response to a first triggering event (para. 0100) and [...] a wireless device may take a first (e.g., primary) receiver out of a low power state in response to a second triggering event (para. 0101). Ang further discloses a memory (element 232, para. 0049); and a processor (element 230, para. 0049) perform or direct processes carryout operations.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 because the corresponding method in claim 1 can be used to practice the device of claim 13.
Regarding claims 2, 14, Ang discloses wherein power consumption of the second communication device is lower than power consumption of the first communication device; and/or power consumption corresponding to the first communication device in the first communication state is higher than power consumption corresponding to the first communication device in the second communication state. For instance, Ang discloses the primary receiver may consume 100 mW or more of power while active, and when placed in a low power state, the primary receiver may consume 5-10 mW of power. According to aspects of the present disclosure, a secondary receiver monitoring for signaling may consume less than 1 mW of power, (see para. 0036).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Ang discloses in a case that the first communication device is in the first communication state, switching, by the terminal device, the first communication device from the first communication state to the second communication state if the terminal device receives first control information, wherein the first control information is used to be indicative of switching the first communication device from the first communication state to the second communication state (When the serving base station or eNB is done transmitting the data at 764, it transmits a signal (e.g., a 'go away' signal) directing the UE to place its primary receiver back in the low power state) (para. 0098; see also fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, D1 Ang discloses wherein switching, by the terminal device, based on the second triggering condition, the first communication device from the second communication state to the first communication state comprises: in a case that the first communication device is in the second communication state, switching, by the terminal device, based on a second timer, the first communication device from the second communication state to the first communication state. For instance, Ang discloses a wireless device may take a first (e.g., primary) receiver out of a low power state in response to a second triggering event. second example of a triggering event is expiration of a timer (e.g., a DRX OFF duration timer)) (para. 0101; fig. 7).
Regarding claims 9, 19, Ang discloses receiving, through the first communication device, the first control information from the network device; or, receiving, through the second communication device, the first control information from the network device (for instance, the first signaling may be received within a configured DRX ON duration. For example, a wireless device may be operating with a receiver in an active state and receive signaling directing the wireless device to begin a DRX OFF duration) (para. 0111).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 17, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al (hereinafter Ang) (US 2016/0128128, IDS).
Regarding claims 7, 17, Ang discloses controlling transitions between a low-power state and an active state in a DRX context, including,
1. a DRX OFF duration governed by a timer, and
2. wake-up signaling causing early exit from the DRX OFF duration.
In particular, Ang discloses at 1004, the wireless device, for example, may place a receiver in a low power (e.g., deactivated or powered down) state during the DRX OFF duration. At 1006, the wireless device may, for example, take the receiver out of the low power state and exit the DRX OFF duration in response to a triggering event (e.g., expiration of a DRX OFF duration timer (para. 0110). Ang further discloses if the 'wake-up' signal is transmitted before the end of the DRX OFF duration, the UE may end the DRX OFF duration (e.g., transition to a DRX ON duration) early e.g., before expiration of a DRX OFF duration timer (para. 0097). Claim 7, however recites,
1. a second timer is started after switching the first communication device to the second communication state, and
2. if "second control information" is received during operation of the second timer, the terminal switches to the first communication state and stops the second timer.
Ang however explicitly discloses bases exiting the OFF duration on (expiration of a DRX OFF duration timer, see para. 0110). One of ordinary skill in the art would start such an OFF-duration timer at the beginning of the OFF duration, i.e., when the receiver is placed into the low-power state, because this is the technically obvious reference point for measuring the OFF duration.
Ang further teaches that, upon reception of the wake-up signal, the UE may (end the DRX OFF duration ….. early …. before expiration of a DRX OFF duration timer, see para. 0097). If the OFF duration is terminated early, the skilled person would as a matter of straightforward control logic stop the running OFF-duration timer, since it is no longer needed once the OFF duration has ended and would otherwise expire spuriously. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention adopt the teaching of Ang to arrive at implementation for the subject matter of claim 7 without the rise of new functionality from the adoption to yield predictable result.
Regarding claims 8, 18, Ang discloses the UE, for example, placing a first receiver in a low power state (e.g., deactivated or powered down and consuming less than 100 mW of power) when the UE is in an enhanced discontinuous reception (DRX) mode, the enhanced DRX mode may comprise operating a UE with longer sleep cycles optimized for delay-tolerant device-terminated applications than are used in current systems, the UE may monitor with a second receiver, while the first receiver is in the low power state, for signaling from a base station directing the UE to take the first receiver out of the low power state, in response to a first triggering event, a triggering event for e.g., is receiving signaling from a base station (BS) directing the wireless device to place the first receiver in the low power state (e.g., a DRX ON duration timer or an inactivity timer) (paras. 0098, 0100). Except, does not explicitly show if the terminal device receives first control information during the operation of the second timer, restarting, by the terminal device, the second timer, wherein the first control information is used to be indicative of switching the first communication device from the first communication state to the second communication state. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform as a routine implementation measure, also account for the renewed control information (e.g., the "go away" signal of Ang at para. 0098) is received during operation of the second timer, ….for in that situation, the network explicitly confirms continuation of the low-power condition to the wireless device, it would be obvious to restart the running second timer in order to maintain the intended low-power state and avoid an unnecessary wake-up of the device, which would increase power consumption. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to switch device from first communication state to a second communication state to provide optimum power control in a communication system.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11-12, 15, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al (hereinafter Ang) (US 2016/0128128, IDS) in view of Nam et al (hereinafter Nam) (US 2020/0112919, IDS).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 15, Ang discloses all limitation addressed above with claim 1, 13. Ang does not expressly show wherein switching, by the terminal device, based on the first triggering condition, the first communication device from the first communication state to the second communication state comprises: in a case that the first communication device is in the first communication state, switching, by the terminal device, based on a first timer, the first communication device from the first communication state to the second communication state. Nam does. Nam discloses the UE 115 may remain in the high or standard power mode for an inactive period 320 following the active duration 305-a. During this inactive period, the UE 115 may not detect any physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling. The UE 115 may initiate an inactivity timer at the start of the inactive period 320 (i.e., the end of the active duration 305-a). If the UE 115 receives additional signals(e.g., PDCCH signals) or transmits additional signals before expiration of the inactivity timer, the UE 115 may re-enter an additional active duration 305 and may reset the inactivity timer to restart at the end of this additional active duration 305. Otherwise, if the inactivity timer expires at 325, the UE 115 may ramp-down its power and enter a low power mode or sleep mode (e.g., a UE "OFF" duration) (para. 0116, fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to incorporate the teaching of Nam with the switching communication state of Ang for the benefit of allow during traffic inactivity the UE may switch to C-DRX operation to achieve significant power savings.
Regarding claims 10, 20, Ang discloses limitation noted above with claim 1, 13. Ang does not expressly show in a case that the first communication device is in the second communication state, switching, by the terminal device, the first communication device from the second communication state to the first communication state if the terminal device triggers uplink transmission. Nam in a similar field of endeavor discloses power saving by discontinuous reception and specifically addresses uplink activity during DRX off periods when application data arrives at a buffer of the UE, the UE wakes up prior to a scheduled end of the C-DRX off period (para. 0053). Nam further discloses when the scheduling request occasion 806 occurs during the C-DRX off period and data for transmission exists in the buffer of the UE 802, the UE 802 determines whether to wake up during the C-DRX off period and send a scheduling request (para 0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Nam that UE-originated uplink activity may be used as a trigger for leaving the low-power state during a DRX off period to arrive according to known method to yield predictable result.
Regarding claims 11, 12, Ang discloses limitation noted above with claims 1, 13. Ang does not expressly show in a case that the first communication device is in the second communication state, switching, by the terminal device, a secondary cell of the terminal device from a first state to a second state at a third moment, and wherein the first state is an active state and the second state is a deactivated state; the first state is an active state with a non-dormancy behavior and the second state is an active state with a dormancy behavior; or the first state is the active state with the dormancy behavior and the second state is the deactivated state. Nam discloses a secondary cell inactivity timer may expire and the secondary cell may be deactivated during a C-DRX OFF duration (para. 0135, see fig. 6). Whereas prior activation of the secondary cell is disclosed showing that, upon reception of the carrier aggregation activation command, the UE 115 may expand its bandwidth coverage by activating the secondary cells 610 component carriers. ……. That is, once the secondary cells 610 component carriers are activated, the UE 115 may monitor PDCCH on the secondary cells 610 during the C-DRX ON durations (paras. 0132, 0133). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Nam with communication activity of Ang for the benefit of provide better monitor control channels due to change in traffic conditions, e.g., decreased traffic activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide optimum communication process and control.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 16-18, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “lower” in claim 2, 14, is a relative term a term of degree which renders the claim indefinite. The term “lower” is not defined by the claim, it does not specify the state under which the power consumption of the first communication device is to be assessed. Appropriate clarification is required.
Similarly, claims 2 14, recite “first communication is higher (respectively in line 5), is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “higher” is not defined by the claim, it does not specify the state under which the power consumption of the first communication device is to be assessed. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 16-18, recites the limitation "is used to be indicative of". The term appears to be linguistically incorrect, the claims lacks clarity and technically incorrect.
Claim 11, recites, “at a third moment”. The term undefined in the claim. No first or second moment is introduced, and the claim does not specify how the third moment is determined or how it relates in terms of switching of the first communication device. The timing defined by the “third moment” is not clearly defined and limited.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.