DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed December 15, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 15, 2025, the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent September 30, 2025 has been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed December 15, 2025, the rejections of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent September 30, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1 and 4-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the torque tube" on line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Amending “the torque tube” to “a torque tube” would overcome the rejections.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first curved" on line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Amending “the first curved” to “the first curved surface” would overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzetti, JR. et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0193927 A1) in view of West et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0246549 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Mazzetti, JR. et al. discloses a method for installing a solar module support rail at a solar tracking system, the method comprising the steps of:
using a at a robotic device to locate a first torque tube fixation point at a first location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets”; see [0128] teaching the robotic device uses sensors such as vision systems to assist with picking up and placing operations; see [0140] teaching robotic device configured to work with sensors and coded algorithms to pick up and place the solar panel modules; thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a locating sensor to locate the first location along the torque tube because Mazzetti, JR. et al. teaches using sensors to assist with placing the solar modules) and
placing, via the robotic device, a first solar module support rail (see Fig. 9 depicting a first solar module support rail, the upper shaped section of 150; see [0087])
at the first location along a torque tube of the solar tracking system (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets” which is cited to include placing a first solar module support rail at a first location along a torque tube);
using the robotic device to fixate the first solar module support rail at the first location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets via the fastening mechanism down on the arm to the torquing specification”);
moving the robotic device to a second, different location along the torque tube; placing a second solar module support rail at the second, different location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets” which is cited to include a second solar module support rail at a second location along a torque tube and moving the robotic device to the second location); and
using the sensor at the robotic device to locate a second torque tube fixation point at the second, different location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets”; see [0128] teaching the robotic device uses sensors such as vision systems to assist with picking up and placing operations; see [0140] teaching robotic device configured to work with sensors and coded algorithms to pick up and place the solar panel modules; thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have used a locating sensor to locate the second location along the torque tube because Mazzetti, JR. et al. teaches using sensors to assist with placing the solar modules) and
placing, via the robotic device, a second solar module support rail at the second, different location along the torque tube (see Fig. 9 depicting a first solar module support rail, the upper shaped section of 150; see [0087]); and
using the robotic device to fixate the second solar module support rail at the second location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets via the fastening mechanism down on the arm to the torquing specification”).
Mazzetti, JR. et al. does not teach wherein the location sensor is an aperture location sensor to locate a first/second torque tube fixation aperture at the first/second locations along the torque tube.
However, West et al. discloses a method for installing a solar module support rail (see Title and Abstract) and teaches providing torque tube fixation apertures at desired locations along a torque tube (see, for example, 1224, Fig. 12) to facilitate positioning with tab 1219 (see Fig. 12 and see [0062]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the torque tube at the first and second locations and solar module support rail of Mazzetti, JR. et al. to include first and second torque tube fixation apertures and corresponding tabs, as suggested by West et al., because it would have allowed for facilitating positioning of the solar module support rail on the torque tube.
It would have also been obvious to a person having ordinary skill to have utilized the location sensors in the method of Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, as aperture location sensors for locating first/second torque tube fixation apertures because Mazzetti, JR. et al. teaches using sensors to assist with placing the solar modules and the torque tube fixation apertures suggested by West et al. correspond to the desired location for the solar module support rails to be fixed.
With regard to claim 4, independent claim 1 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the robotic device comprises a placement arm (200, Fig. 11), wherein
the placement arm holds the first solar module support rail while the aperture locating sensor at the robotic device is used to locate the first torque tube fixation aperture at the first location along the torque tube (as depicted in Fig. 11 and described in [0087], the placement arm 200 holds the cited first solar module support rail/upper shaped section of 150 while the cited aperture locating sensor at the robotic device is used to locate the cited first torque tube fixation aperture at the first location along the torque tube, as modified by West et al. above), and
wherein the placement arm holds the second solar module support rail while the aperture locating sensor at the robotic device is used to locate the second torque tube fixation aperture at the second location along the torque tube (as depicted in Fig. 11 and described in [0087], the placement arm 200 holds the cited second solar module support rail/upper shaped section of 150 while the cited aperture locating sensor at the robotic device is used to locate the cited second torque tube fixation aperture at the second location along the torque tube, as modified by West et al. above).
With regard to claim 5, dependent claim 4 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the first solar module support rail comprises a support rail fixation aperture (as depicted in Fig. 9-10, the cited first solar module support rail/upper shaped section of 150 comprises a support rail fixation aperture), and wherein,
when the placement arm holds the first solar module support rail, the robotic device logs a location of the support rail fixation aperture relative to the placement arm (see [0140] teaching when the placement arm 200 holds and raises the solar module near the location, GPS, computer vision system, and LIDAR system is used to place the solar modules on the torque tube, which would sense/track/log the location of the solar module; it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to have utilized the GPS, computer vision system, and LIDAR system to place the first solar module support rail, including the support rail fixation aperture, because Mazzetti, JR. et al. utilizing GPS, computer vision system, and LIDAR system to assist in placing solar modules on the torque tube).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 4 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses wherein,
when the aperture locating sensor at the robotic device locates the first torque tube fixation aperture at the first location along the torque tube, the robotic device actuates the placement arm, holding the first solar module support rail, to place the first solar module support rail relative to the located first torque tube fixation aperture at the first location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and [0087], as modified above).
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al. discloses wherein
the robotic device comprises a fastening arm (200, Fig. 11), and wherein,
after placing the first solar module support rail at the first location along the torque tube, using the robotic device to fixate the first solar module support rail at the first location along the torque tube comprises using the fastening arm of the robotic device to couple at least a clamping plate and a fastening member at the placed first solar module support rail at the first location along the torque tube to fixate the first solar module support rail at the first location along the torque tube (see Fig. 11 and see [0087] teaching “The follower robot can space out, and install the brackets 150, 180 to arm/torque tube with the brackets”; see Fig. 10 depicting clamping plate/lower shaped section of 150 and threaded fasteners/bolts).
With regard to claim 9, dependent claim 7 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Mazzetti, JR. et al. teaches wherein the fastening arm of the robotic device is used to drive the cited fastening member through the cited clamping plate and through the cited first solar module support rail (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 11) but does not teach driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail.
However, driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail is one in a finite number of options immediately recognizable to a skilled artesian, finite options being driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail, driving the fastening member through the first solar module support rail and then through the clamping plate, or driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and through the first solar module support rail together.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art to have tried driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail in the method of Mazzetti, JR. et al. because it is one in a finite number of options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
With regard to claim 10, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the first solar module support rail comprises a support rail fixation aperture (as depicted in Fig. 9-10, the cited first solar module support rail/upper shaped section of 150 comprises a support rail fixation aperture), wherein
the fastening arm holds the clamping plate and the fastening member (see Fig. 10-11 and [0087]).
Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses the fastening arm of the robotic device places the cited clamping plate/lower shaped section of 150 at the cited first solar module support rail/upper shaped section of 150 in alignment with the cited support rail fixation aperture and drives the cited fastening member/threaded fasteners/bolts through the cited clamping plate and through the cited support rail fixation aperture (see Fig. 10-11 and [0087]) but does not disclose driving the cited fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the support rail fixation aperture.
However, driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail is one in a finite number of options immediately recognizable to a skilled artesian, finite options being driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail, driving the fastening member through the first solar module support rail and then through the clamping plate, or driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and through the first solar module support rail together.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art to have tried driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail in the method of Mazzetti, JR. et al. because it is one in a finite number of options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
With regard to claim 11, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses wherein,
Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses when the first solar module support rail is placed at the torque tube, the fastening arm of the robotic device is moved toward the first solar module support rail in a direction relative to the torque tube to drive the fastening member through the clamping plate and through the first solar module support rail (see Fig. 11 and [0087]) but does not teach wherein the direction relative to the torque tube is a direction opposite the torque tube.
However, the direction opposite the torque tube is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being opposite, towards, or parallel.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried the direction opposite the torque tube because it is one in a finite number of options with in the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
Mazzetti, JR. et al., as modified above, discloses driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and through the first solar module support rail (see Fig. 11 and [0087]) but does not teach driving the cited fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail.
However, driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail is one in a finite number of options immediately recognizable to a skilled artesian, finite options being driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail, driving the fastening member through the first solar module support rail and then through the clamping plate, or driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and through the first solar module support rail together.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art to have tried driving the fastening member through the clamping plate and then through the first solar module support rail in the method of Mazzetti, JR. et al. because it is one in a finite number of options within the technical grasp of a skilled artesian (see MPEP 2143 E).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzetti, JR. et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0193927 A1) in view of West et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0246549 A1), an in further view of Brost (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0199972 A1).
With regard to claim 8, dependent claim 7 is obvious over Mazzetti, JR. et al. in view of West et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Mazzetti, JR. et al. teaches wherein the fastening member is set and fastened by the fastening arm at the placed first solar module support rail and the first location along the torque tube (see Fig. 10-11 and [0087]) but does not teach wherein the fastening member comprises a blind rivet.
However, Brost discloses a solar modules (see Title and Abstract) and teaches fastening members can conventional include bolts of blind rivets (see [0211]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the fastening member of Mazzetti, JR. et al. for the blind rivet of Brost because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12, from which claims 13-20 depend, is directed towards a solar module support rail assembly for automated installation at a solar tracking system comprising a solar module support rail comprising a central longitudinal region and a rail fixation aperture, the central longitudinal region comprising a first curved surface that spans a length along the central longitudinal region, the rail fixation aperture at the first curved surface, a fastening assembly comprising a clamping plate and a fastening member, the clamping plate comprises a second curved surface an a clamping plate fixation aperture that is at the second curved surface, the second curved surface wraps around at least a portion of the first curved surface and the clamping plate fixation aperture aligns with the rail fixation aperture, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 12.
The prior art, including Mazzetti, JR. et al. and Taha et al. of record, does not disclose a solar module support rail assembly for automated installation at a solar tracking system comprising a solar module support rail comprising a central longitudinal region and a rail fixation aperture, the central longitudinal region comprising a first curved surface that spans a length along the central longitudinal region, the rail fixation aperture at the first curved surface, a fastening assembly comprising a clamping plate and a fastening member, the clamping plate comprises a second curved surface an a clamping plate fixation aperture that is at the second curved surface, the second curved surface wraps around at least a portion of the first curved surface and the clamping plate fixation aperture aligns with the rail fixation aperture, and in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 12 and it would not have been an obvious modification.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 March 4, 2026