DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “C” has been used to designate both a chain and a chord length. Should the reference numeral for the chord length be changed to CL? If so, the specification should be modified to mirror the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marchment et al. (US 12,172,464 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Marchment et al. discloses a rim (100) for a bicycle wheel, the rim comprising:
a radially inner portion (7) disposed along an inner circumference of the rim;
a first sidewall (3);
a second sidewall (5) spaced apart from the first sidewall, wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall extend radially outward from the radially inner portion (se Figure 5); and
a radially outer tire engaging portion (11,12) disposed along an outer circumference of the rim, the radially outer tire engaging portion extending from the first sidewall and the second sidewall, respectively,
wherein a maximum width (W; Figure 7) of the rim is in a range between 30 mm and 70 mm (Column 4 / Lines 12-22 discloses that the external width is in the range of 20 mm to 50 mm), and the rim has an aspect ratio greater than 1.25 but less than 3.0 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 54mm divided by a maximum width of 40mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.35).
Regarding claim 2, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length (D in Figure 6) extending between a leading edge (one of the top or bottom edge of 100 in the vertical direction) and a trailing edge (the edge on the vertically opposite side of the leading edge) of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being at a radial distance that is distal to a mid-chord (a horizontal line going through the center of D in Figure 6) of a cross section of the rim.
Regarding claim 3, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width of the rim is between the mid-chord and the radially outer tire engaging portion (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 4, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width of the rim is located at a radially outermost portion of the rim (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length extending between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being equal to 40 mm and the chord length equals 54 mm, the aspect ratio being equal to 1.35 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 54mm divided by a maximum width of 40mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.35).
Regarding claim 6, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length extending between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being equal to 30 mm and the chord length equals to 45 mm, the aspect ratio being equal to 1.5 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 45mm divided by a maximum width of 30mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.5).
Regarding claim 7, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width is located where an axially outermost plane is tangent to one of the first and second sidewalls of the rim (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim is made of a carbon fiber composite material (Column 9 / Lines 33-34).
Regarding claim 9, Marchment et al. discloses a wheel (1000) for a bicycle, the wheel comprising:
a rim (100) comprising:
a radially inner portion (7) disposed along an inner circumference of the rim;
a first sidewall (3);
a second sidewall (5) spaced apart from the first sidewall, wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall extend radially outward from the radially inner portion; and
a radially outer tire engaging portion (11, 12) disposed along an outer circumference of the rim, the radially outer tire engaging portion extending from the first sidewall and the second sidewall, respectively,
wherein a tire (200) that is greater than 34 mm wide when inflated is attachable to the rim (Figure 7 shows 200 being aligned with the maximum width (W) of the rim as disclosed in Column 12 / Lines 56-58 and the maximum width of the rim is disclosed as being in the range of 20 mm to 50 mm as disclosed in Column 4 / Lines 12-22), such that when the tire is attached to the rim, a width of the tire is less than or equal to a maximum width (W; Figure 7) of the rim, wherein the maximum width of the rim is in a range between 30 mm and 70 mm (Column 4 / Lines 12-22 discloses that the external width is in the range of 20 mm to 50 mm), and the rim has an aspect ratio greater than 1.25 but less than 3.0 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 54mm divided by a maximum width of 40mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.35).
Regarding claim 10, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length (D in Figure 6) extending between a leading edge (one of the top or bottom edge of 100 in the vertical direction) and a trailing edge (the edge on the vertically opposite side of the leading edge) of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being at a radial distance that is distal to a mid-chord (a horizontal line going through the center of D in Figure 6) of a cross section of the rim.
Regarding claim 11, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width of the rim is between the mid-chord and the radially outer tire engaging portion (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 12, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width of the rim is located at a radially outermost portion of the rim (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length extending between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being equal to 40 mm and the chord length equals 54 mm, the aspect ratio being equal to 1.35 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 54mm divided by a maximum width of 40mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.35).
Regarding claim 14, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim comprises a chord length extending between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the rim, the maximum width of the rim being equal to 30 mm and the chord length equals to 45 mm, the aspect ratio being equal to 1.5 (the aspect ratio is viewed as being the chord length divided by the maximum width; the depth (D) in Figure 6 is viewed as being the chord length and Column 13 / Lines 3-5 discloses that the depth (D) is between 10 mm and 80 mm; therefore, a depth of 45mm divided by a maximum width of 30mm would create an aspect ratio of 1.5).
Regarding claim 15, Marchment et al. discloses that the maximum width is located where an axially outermost plane is tangent to one of the first and second sidewalls of the rim (see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 16, Marchment et al. discloses that the rim is made of a carbon fiber composite material (Column 9 / Lines 33-34).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hopkins et al. (US 5,080,444 A) discloses a rim that has a width to thickness aspect ratio greater than 2.6 and preferably about 2.9.
Poertner et al. (CN 102233783 A), cited and provided by the Applicant, discloses a tire that has a width that is smaller than the maximum width of the rim.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617