DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 08/21/2026, 05/23/2025 and 12/12/2024 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3- 8, 13-14 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR IMPROVING EFFECTIVNESS OF BASELINE BUFFERING SIZE REPORTING VIA IT’S SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION”.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
• Claim 2, line 3, “supplement information” should be “supplemental information”.
• Claim 12, line 1, “supplement information” should be “supplemental information”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-12, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US-20170127315-A1), as PCT field on May. 30, 2014 and published on May. 04, 2017.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a wireless communication method for use in a wireless terminal, the method comprising (Abstract and [0002] provide that the method related to the field of radio bearer technology/wireless communication between the terminal devices and the base station to report and receive the buffer status. See also Figs. 1-2 and [0017]): transmitting, to a wireless network node, a baseline buffer size report (BSR) and supplemental information (Step 100 in Fig.1 and [0028] clearly illustrate that the terminal may transmit a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of the radio bearer to the base station; where the BSR carries size information about buffer data ( baseline BSR/standard buffer size report in BSR message) and size information about additional buffer data of the data radio bearer (additional information), see also [0040], [0048] and claims 1 and 10. The BSR carries the size information of the buffer data and additional information about the buffer data of the radio bearer [0153]. [0062] and Tables 1-2 provide details examples that show both baseline and supplemental buffer size information being reported ), wherein report information reported by the BSR is determined based on baseline information indicated by the baseline BSR and the supplemental information (Step 200 in Fig.2, [0009] and [0015] describe the BSR carries size information about buffer data ( baseline BSR/standard buffer size report in BSR message) and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. [0051] states “ the terminal transmits a BSR of the radio bearer to the base station; herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. “tables 1-2, [0062] and example in [0084] also confirm that report information reported in the BSR is determined based on baseline information (baseline BSR) and the supplemental information, where both are used by the BS for uplink scheduling and resource allocation [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1,
Chen further teaches wherein the supplemental information is preceding or following the baseline BSR (Tables 1-2, [0062]-[0065] describe both short and long BSR formats. In both of them the baseline buffer size data, standard buffer data, placed first and then supplemental information, additional buffer data follows), wherein the supplement information comprises at least one of supplemental buffer size information associated with a baseline buffer size indicated by the baseline BSR (Abstract, Step 200 in Fig.2, [0009] and [0015] describe the BSR carries size information about buffer data ( baseline BSR/standard buffer size report in BSR message) and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. [0051] states “ the terminal transmits a BSR of the radio bearer to the base station; herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. That clearly confirms that supplement information comprises supplemental buffer size information associated with a baseline buffer size that indicated by the baseline BSR)
or supplemental time information associated with baseline time information indicated by the baseline BSR, wherein the baseline time information is associated with a period of the baseline buffer size being cached in the wireless terminal (we don't give these limitations patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitations are written in the alternative.),
and wherein the supplemental information shares at least one logic channel identifier or at least one logic channel group identifier of the baseline BSR (Tables 1-2, and [0063]-[0065] provide that the both the baseline buffer size data and the additional buffer size data are reported via LCG ID (in short BSR) and LCGs ID (in case of long BSR), that implies the supplemental information can share at least one logical channel group LCG, see also [0104]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1,
Chen further teaches wherein the baseline BSR is one of a Short BSR, a Short Truncated BSR, a Long BSR, a Long Truncated BSR (Tables 1-2, [0009], [0062], [0081] and [0134] describe the formats of the BSR, herein the format in table 1 is a format of a short BSR or a truncated BSR, and the format in table 2 is a format of a long BSR),
an Extended Short BSR, an Extended Short Truncated BSR, a Pre-emptive BSR, an Extended Long BSR, an Extended Long Truncated BSR, or an Extended Pre-emptive BSR (we don't give these limitations patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitations are written in the alternative.).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
Chen further teaches receiving, from the wireless network node, an indication associated with supporting or activating the supplemental information (Step 100, Fig. 1, [0014], the terminal receives a notification transmitted by a base station that an additional buffer report is required to be reported, the terminal transmitting a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of the radio bearer to the base station and [0021] confirms that the terminal response as states “base station receiving a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of a radio bearer transmitted by a terminal, herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearers.” See also [0028] and [0040]);
or
receiving, from the wireless network node, a quantization error threshold, wherein the supplemental information is transmitted if a quantization error associated with the report information is greater than the quantization error threshold (we don't give this limitation patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitation is written in the alternative).
As to claims 11-12 see similar rejections to claims 1-2, respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the wireless communication method of claim 11,
Chen further teaches wherein the baseline BSR is one of a Short BSR, a Short Truncated BSR, a Long BSR, a Long Truncated BSR (Tables 1-2, [0009], [0062], [0081] and [0134] describe the formats of the BSR, herein the format in table 1 is a format of a short BSR or a truncated BSR, and the format in table 2 is a format of a long BSR),
an Extended Short BSR, an Extended Short Truncated BSR, a Pre-emptive BSR, an Extended Long BSR, an Extended Long Truncated BSR, or an Extended Pre-emptive BSR (we don't give these limitations patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitations are written in the alternative).
wherein the wireless communication method further comprises: transmitting, to the wireless terminal, an indication associated with supporting or activating the supplemental information (Step 100, Fig. 1, [0014], the terminal receives a notification transmitted by a base station that an additional buffer report is required to be reported, the terminal transmitting a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of the radio bearer to the base station and [0021] confirms that the terminal response as states “base station receiving a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of a radio bearer transmitted by a terminal, herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearers.” See also [0028] and [0040]);
or
transmitting, to the wireless terminal, a quantization error threshold associated with transmitting the supplemental information (we don't give this limitation patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitation is written in the alternative).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches a wireless terminal, comprising: a communication unit, configured to transmit, to a wireless network node, a baseline buffer size report (BSR) and supplemental information([0027]-[0028] provide the apparatus for reporting a buffer status, at least including a transmitting module (which serves as the communication unit that responsible for sending the BSR and supplemental information), herein the transmitting module is configured to, when judging that there is a split bearer in a radio bearer or receiving a notification transmitted by a base station that an additional buffer report is required to be reported, transmit a Buffer Status Report (BSR) of the radio bearer to the base station; herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the data radio bearer), wherein report information reported by the BSR is determined based on baseline information indicated by the baseline BSR and the supplemental information (Step 200 in Fig.2, [0009] and [0015] describe the BSR carries size information about buffer data ( baseline BSR/standard buffer size report in BSR message) and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. [0051] states “ the terminal transmits a BSR of the radio bearer to the base station; herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. “tables 1-2, [0062] and example in [0084] also confirm that report information reported in the BSR is determined based on baseline information (baseline BSR) and the supplemental information, where both are used by the BS for uplink scheduling and resource allocation [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches a wireless network node, comprising: a communication unit, configured to receive, from a wireless terminal, a baseline buffer size report (BSR) and supplemental information (Fig. 4 shows the BS side that receiving buffer status. [0146]-[0148] illustrate that the apparatus (400)/BS for receiving a buffer status, as shown in FIG. 4, at least including a receiving module (401) and a transmitting module (402), herein [0147] the receiving module (401) is configured to receive a BSR of data radio bearers transmitted by a terminal, herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearers. [0148] The transmitting module (402) is configured to determine uplink authorization information according to the BSR and a transmission rule, and transmit the uplink authorization information to the terminal), and a processor, configured to: receive, from a wireless terminal, a baseline buffer size report (BSR) and supplemental information (Fig. 4 and [0146]-[0148] illustrate that the apparatus/BS at least including a receiving module and a transmitting module and the receiving module (401) is configured to receive a BSR of data radio bearers transmitted by a terminal, where these modules inherently implemented by processor or equivalent processing circuitry) , and determine report information based on baseline information indicated by the baseline BSR and the supplemental information (Step 200 in Fig.2, [0009] and [0015] describe the BSR carries size information about buffer data ( baseline BSR/standard buffer size report in BSR message) and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. [0051] states “ the terminal transmits a BSR of the radio bearer to the base station; herein the BSR carries size information about buffer data and size information about additional buffer data of the radio bearer. “tables 1-2, [0062] and example in [0084] also confirm that report information reported in the BSR is determined based on baseline information (baseline BSR) and the supplemental information, where both are used by the BS for uplink scheduling and resource allocation [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US-20170127315-A1), as PCT field on May. 30, 2014 and published on May. 04, 2017, in view of Ohta et al. (US-20190150025-A1), as field on Dec. 11, 2018, and published on May. 16, 2019.
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the wireless communication method of claim 12,
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the supplemental information is determined based on a result of a function of a supplemental information index and a supplemental information value step, and wherein the function of the supplemental information index and the supplemental information value step is:
(supplemental information index × supplemental information value step), or
(supplemental information value step to the power of supplemental information index).
However , Ohta teaches wherein the supplemental information is determined based on a result of a function of a supplemental information index and a supplemental information value step (Step 104, Fig. 8 and [0113] illustrate that the terminal accrue additional BSR index (may also be referred to as a second BSR index) (S104A), as a results from the process described in [0074], where Fig. 2 provides that each index (including the supplemental data) maps to a specific buffer size range. [0092] and [0113] also provide that the additional BSR index (may also be referred to as an additional index value) associated with a predetermined coefficient/value step (may also be referred to as a BSR coefficient, see also [0100] and Table 6 that implies the function can be direct mapping to the buffer size or to coefficient/value step, as shown in Table 6)), and wherein the function of the supplemental information index and the supplemental information value step is: (supplemental information index × supplemental information value step) (Table 6 (see indexes 28-31, as examples) and description in [0113] that provide clear examples for the function where of the supplemental information index and the supplemental information value step is: (supplemental information index × supplemental information value step, see also the example in [0092] where the buffer value of the wireless terminal 10 is indicated by a result obtained by multiplying the buffer value corresponding to the BSR index of the first field and the BSR coefficient corresponding to the additional BSR index of the second field),
or (supplemental information value step to the power of supplemental information index) (we don't give this limitation patentable weight due to the use of "or" which means the limitation is written in the alternative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Ohta (in analogous art) by adding the function of the supplemental information index and the supplemental information value step is: (supplemental information index × supplemental information value step) to improve the scheduling (Ohta, [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Chen and Ohta teaches the wireless communication method of claim 15,
Chen further teaches wherein the supplemental BSR indicates the supplemental BSR information index ([0055] states “the size information about the total buffer data is an index value corresponding to the size of the total buffer data” and Tables 1-2 provides that the BSR format includes size information fields corresponding to additional buffer size, 6 bits (index values. [0063] clarifies that both the size information about buffer data and the size information about additional buffer data are 6 bits, see also claim 13. That implies the supplemental BSR indicates the supplemental BSR information index);
Chen fails to teach wherein the supplemental information value step is determined based on a baseline information range indicated by a baseline information index in the baseline BSR and a number of values corresponding to the supplemental information.
However, Ohta teaches wherein the supplemental information value step is determined based on a baseline information range indicated by a baseline information index in the baseline BSR and a number of values corresponding to the supplemental information ([0084] and [0145] state “the wireless terminal 10 may acquire an additional BSR index by selecting a BSR index corresponding to the excess buffer value BS2 in accordance with the conversion table depending on the LCG as the processing target” that describes how the supplemental information step determination. [0005] provide the index value is obtained by quantizing the volume of the data in a predetermined granularity. Therefore, a buffer status report index table (also referred to as a BSR index table) is provided in the wireless terminal and the wireless base station. [0164]-[0166] show how the step size is a function of the total range and number of indices N that applied to both baseline and supplemental indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Ohta (in analogous art) by adding the function of the supplemental information index and the supplemental information value step is: (supplemental information index × supplemental information value step) to improve the scheduling (Ohta, [0006]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Vangala et al. (US-20220312261-A1), Xu et al. (US-20250392949-A1), Yang et al. (US-20170212865-A1), Wang et al. (US-20230247478-A1), and Worral et al. (US-20130089057-A1) teach methods for improving the traditional BSR via introducing of additional information in a wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463