DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PRAKASH et al. (US 2020/0322908 A1), hereinafter PRAKASH in view of YUAN et al. (US 2025/0048284 A1), hereinafter YUAN.
Regarding claim 1, PRAKASH discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving an absolute timing advance command from a network device (a base station can provide a UE TA commands, see ¶ 0082 and figures 7A-7B), wherein the absolute timing advance command comprises:
a first field useable to indicate information about an uplink sending timing advance (timing advance command 702, see figure 7A, see ¶ 0082); and
a second field useable to indicate a timing advance group identifier, wherein the timing advance group identifier is associated with one of two uplink sending timing advances (TAG ID 704, see figure 7A); and
PRAKASH fails to explicitly determining the one of the two uplink sending timing advances according to the absolute timing advance command.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN discloses the network may configure the UE 115-a to transmit the uplink communications using different timing advance values, in which the UE 115-a may adjust the timing in which the UE 115-a sends uplink communications so that the uplink transmissions are synchronized when received by the network. In some examples, two or more timing advance values may be configured for a component carrier 210-a or 210-b. For example, a timing advance configuration may include a TAG ID and each component carrier may be configured with two or more TAG IDs, and the timing advance value may be associated with a TAG which may be updated by timing advance commands for the TAG. The UE 115-a may determine the timing advance to use for an uplink message 235-a or 235-b from the two or more timing advances configured for the component carrier 210-a or 210-b (see ¶ 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN’s teaching in the network taught by PRAKASH to perform allocation of resources to the user devices by the network device.
Regarding claim 2, YUAN discloses the two uplink sending timing advances comprises: a first uplink sending timing advance; and a second uplink sending timing advance; wherein the second field is 0, and the first field is useable to indicate a first uplink sending timing advance; or the second field is 1, and the first field is useable to indicate the second uplink sending timing advance (the UE 115-a may determine the timing advance from the set of timing advances for the component carrier 210-a based on the indicated TCI state for the uplink message 235-a in the second control message 230, see ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 3, PRAKASH discloses wherein the first field comprises a size, and the size is 12 bits (the number of bits (e.g., (e.g., maximum number of bits) shown for the timing advance commands in FIGS. 7A and 7B are illustrative, and other numbers besides 6 or 12 bits for the TA commands may be used, see ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 4, PRAKASH discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive an absolute timing advance command from a network device (a base station can provide a UE TA commands, see ¶ 0082 and figures 7A-7B), wherein the absolute timing advance command comprises:
a first field useable to indicate information about an uplink sending timing advance (timing advance command 702, see figure 7A, see ¶ 0082); and
a second field useable to indicate a timing advance group identifier, wherein the timing advance group identifier is associated with one of two uplink sending timing advances (TAG ID 704, see figure 7A); and
PRAKASH fails to explicitly determining the one of the two uplink sending timing advances according to the absolute timing advance command.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN discloses the network may configure the UE 115-a to transmit the uplink communications using different timing advance values, in which the UE 115-a may adjust the timing in which the UE 115-a sends uplink communications so that the uplink transmissions are synchronized when received by the network. In some examples, two or more timing advance values may be configured for a component carrier 210-a or 210-b. For example, a timing advance configuration may include a TAG ID and each component carrier may be configured with two or more TAG IDs, and the timing advance value may be associated with a TAG which may be updated by timing advance commands for the TAG. The UE 115-a may determine the timing advance to use for an uplink message 235-a or 235-b from the two or more timing advances configured for the component carrier 210-a or 210-b (see ¶ 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN’s teaching in the network taught by PRAKASH to perform allocation of resources to the user devices by the network device.
Regarding claim 5, YUAN discloses the two uplink sending timing advances comprises: a first uplink sending timing advance; and a second uplink sending timing advance; wherein the second field is 0, and the first field is useable to indicate a first uplink sending timing advance; or the second field is 1, and the first field is useable to indicate the second uplink sending timing advance (the UE 115-a may determine the timing advance from the set of timing advances for the component carrier 210-a based on the indicated TCI state for the uplink message 235-a in the second control message 230, see ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 6, PRAKASH discloses wherein the first field comprises a size, and the size is 12 bits (the number of bits (e.g., (e.g., maximum number of bits) shown for the timing advance commands in FIGS. 7A and 7B are illustrative, and other numbers besides 6 or 12 bits for the TA commands may be used, see ¶ 0082).
Regarding claim 7, PRAKASH discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is configured to store computer instructions, and in response to the computer instructions being executed by a processor, thereby causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving an absolute timing advance command from a network device (a base station can provide a UE TA commands, see ¶ 0082 and figures 7A-7B), wherein the absolute timing advance command comprises:
a first field useable to indicate information about an uplink sending timing advance (timing advance command 702, see figure 7A, see ¶ 0082); and
a second field useable to indicate a timing advance group identifier, wherein the timing advance group identifier is associated with one of two uplink sending timing advances (TAG ID 704, see figure 7A); and
PRAKASH fails to explicitly determining the one of the two uplink sending timing advances according to the absolute timing advance command.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN discloses the network may configure the UE 115-a to transmit the uplink communications using different timing advance values, in which the UE 115-a may adjust the timing in which the UE 115-a sends uplink communications so that the uplink transmissions are synchronized when received by the network. In some examples, two or more timing advance values may be configured for a component carrier 210-a or 210-b. For example, a timing advance configuration may include a TAG ID and each component carrier may be configured with two or more TAG IDs, and the timing advance value may be associated with a TAG which may be updated by timing advance commands for the TAG. The UE 115-a may determine the timing advance to use for an uplink message 235-a or 235-b from the two or more timing advances configured for the component carrier 210-a or 210-b (see ¶ 0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN’s teaching in the network taught by PRAKASH to perform allocation of resources to the user devices by the network device.
Regarding claim 8, YUAN discloses the two uplink sending timing advances comprises: a first uplink sending timing advance; and a second uplink sending timing advance; wherein the second field is 0, and the first field is useable to indicate a first uplink sending timing advance; or the second field is 1, and the first field is useable to indicate the second uplink sending timing advance (the UE 115-a may determine the timing advance from the set of timing advances for the component carrier 210-a based on the indicated TCI state for the uplink message 235-a in the second control message 230, see ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 9, PRAKASH discloses wherein the first field comprises a size, and the size is 12 bits (the number of bits (e.g., (e.g., maximum number of bits) shown for the timing advance commands in FIGS. 7A and 7B are illustrative, and other numbers besides 6 or 12 bits for the TA commands may be used, see ¶ 0082).
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412