DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claim(s) 1 – 8) in the reply filed on (5 – 20 – 2026) is acknowledged. Consequently, Inventions II & III (Claim(s) 9 – 23) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (5 – 20 – 2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 3 & 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick et al. (US 20200306869 A1, hereinafter Hardwick) in view of Kumar Kandasamy (US 20160175981 A1, hereinafter Kandasamy)Regarding claim 1,
An additive manufacturing device comprising:
a shoulder configured to rotate about a central axis,
the shoulder comprising a central channel extending from a first end of the shoulder to a second end of the shoulder,
the central channel configured to allow a filler material to pass through the shoulder from the first end towards the second end; and
a subtractive tool assembly comprising:
a subtractive tool comprising a first end and one or more cutting surfaces or edges at a second end; and
an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool,
the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool to the shoulder,
at least a portion of the one or more cutting surfaces or edges of the subtractive tool extending outside the central channel of the shoulder when the first end of the subtractive tool is removably received in the insert cavity of the insert sleeve and the insert sleeve is received in the central channel of the shoulder.
Hardwick teaches the following:
([0082]) teaches that wherein the process control software 115 controls the tool rotation speed and substrate movement speed, wherein motors run the tool 103 through a spindle 102, wherein the variable frequency drives 118 control the tool rotation speed through the motors 114 and spindle 102. As such, the (lower) spindle 102 is understood to act as applicant’s shoulder configured to rotate about a central axis
& c.) ([0084]) teaches that a feeding unit for continuous solid- (rod-) like filler material (FIG. 2A). FIG. 2A is a schematic presentation of cross-sectional view of the feeding unit 201, the spindle 202 and the tool 203 with operational passageway 204 and the workpiece 205 for continuous solid (e.g. rod-like) filler material. As illustrated in (Figs. 2A – 2B) the spindle 102 / spindle 202 is provided with operational passageway 204 acting as applicant’s a central channel extending from a first end of the shoulder to a second end of the shoulder and is configured to allow a filler material to pass through the shoulder from the first end towards the second end.
([0084]) teaches that a feeding unit for continuous solid- (rod-) like filler material (FIG. 2A). FIG. 2A is a schematic presentation of cross-sectional view of the feeding unit 201, the spindle 202 and the tool 203 with operational passageway 204 and the workpiece 205 for continuous solid (e.g. rod-like) filler material. (Claim 346) teaches that the spindle and the tool are capable of rotating and/or moving in u- and v-direction above the workpiece. Highlighting (Fig. 1B) shows the U and V directions. Where the tool 203 acts as applicant’s subtractive tool comprising a first end and one or more cutting surfaces or edges at a second end.
([0090]) teaches embodiments include a tool holder 225 with a throat. The tool holder is capable to hold and rotate the tool, and the throat allows feedstock to get through it. ([0091]) adds that another embodiment includes a tool changer (not shown), which enables changes of one or multiple tools; certain example includes changing with the same tool for the purpose of replacing a worn tool of the same type. Where the tool holder 225 / tool changer provides for a an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool.
(Claim 347) teaches the tool comprises one or more side tool cutters. ([0096]) expands that the tool 303 is equipped with certain accessories, such as tool cutters 332 located on the peripheral side of the tool and are being used for cutting “extra” material that is flashing during the deposition process (FIG. 3B). As illustrated in both (Figs. 3AC & 3AD), the tool 303 comprises one or more tool cutters 332 / cutting surfaces or edges of the subtractive tool extending outside the central channel of the shoulder when the first end of the subtractive tool is removably received in the insert cavity of the insert sleeve and the insert sleeve is received in the central channel of the shoulder.Additionally, ([0097]) teaches that a pin 334 with a throat 304C extends from the tool shoulder, where the pin throat 304C is in operational communication with the tool throat 304B (FIG. 3C). A pin 334 in all embodiments is an optional component of the solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system. The pin 334 enables better stirring of the surface region of the workpiece and the filler material. As illustrated in both (Figs. 3C & 3AD), the tool 303 comprise a pin 334 / cutting surfaces or edges of the subtractive tool extending outside the central channel of the shoulder when the first end of the subtractive tool is removably received in the insert cavity of the insert sleeve and the insert sleeve is received in the central channel of the shoulder.Additionally, the tool shoulder facing the workpiece comprises at least one nub 333 made of the same or different material as the tool material (FIG. 3C).As illustrated in both (Figs. 3C & 3D), the tool 303 comprises one or more tool one nub 333 / cutting surfaces or edges of the subtractive tool extending outside the central channel of the shoulder when the first end of the subtractive tool is removably received in the insert cavity of the insert sleeve and the insert sleeve is received in the central channel of the shoulder.
Regarding Claim 1, Hardwick is silent on an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool, the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool to the shoulder. In analogous art for an additive friction stir methods for joining materials are provided, the method comprising feeding a filler material through the additive friction-stir tool; deforming the filler material and the first and second substrates, Kandasamy suggests details regarding an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool, the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool to the shoulder, and in this regard, Kandasamy teaches the following:
& f.) ([0045]) teaches that reference numeral 20 shows the direction of tool 34 traverse in FIGS. 1 and 2. While the heat is being generated the filler metal 16 is fed through the tool 34 which generates additional heat and pressure. During the interaction of filler 16 and the rotating tool 34 with the base metal surface 10, 10A, 10B, heat and deformation required for solid state bonding between filler 16 and base metal 10, 10A, 10B. Highlighting, that this is best illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 2). ([0077]) notes that filler material (for example, powder or solid feedstock) can be fed through the rotating spindle where frictional heating occurs at the filler/substrate interface due to the rotational motion of the filler and the downward force applied. ([0081]) adding that the inside of the surface of the tool throat includes sleeve 119 and bore 121. ([0079]) noting that as shown in (Fig. 7), the angular rotational
speed or velocity of the friction stir tool is identified as ω1. As illustrated in (Fig. 7), the bore 121 is configured to be received in the central channel and within the sleeve 119. Adding, that both the sleeve 119 (top arrow) and / or the bore 121 (middle arrow) are found to be within the channel and attached to and hold the friction stir tool (bottom arrow) that rotates ω1. Where, the bore 121 and/or the sleeve 119 acts as applicant’s the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool
to the shoulder.
Furthermore, a portion of the one or more exterior (cutting) surfaces or edges of the subtractive tool are found to extending outside the central channel of the shoulder when the first end of the subtractive tool is removably received in the insert cavity of the insert sleeve and the insert sleeve is received in the central channel of the shoulder
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system to comprise an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool, the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool to the shoulder, as taught by Kandasamy. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an insert sleeve comprising an insert cavity configured to removably receive the subtractive tool, the insert sleeve configured to be received in the central channel of the shoulder to couple the subtractive tool to the shoulder as it provides for implementing an plunger / auger within the tool body to allow for different types of powder to be added individually to the hopper, then mixed within the hopper and dispensed as a mixture to the friction stir tool during use, ([0083]).Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert.
Hardwick teaches the following:
(Claim 347) teaches the tool comprises one or more side tool cutters. ([0096]) expands that the tool 303 is equipped with certain accessories, such as tool cutters 332 located on the peripheral side of the tool and are being used for cutting “extra” material that is flashing during the deposition process (FIG. 3B). Where the tool cutters 332 act as applicants milling insert.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the insert sleeve further comprises a first portion configured to be received in the central channel and
a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder.
Regarding Claim 3, Hardwick is silent on the insert sleeve further comprises a first portion configured to be received in the central channel and a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder. In analogous art as applied above, Kandasamy suggests details regarding on the insert sleeve further comprises a first portion configured to be received in the central channel and a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder, and in this regard, Kandasamy teaches the following:
As illustrated in (fig. 7) and highlighted within, both the sleeve 119 and/or bore 121 are found to comprise a first portion configured to be received in the central channel (top arrows) and a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder (bottom arrows).
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the central channel comprises a square cross-sectional shape,
an outer shape of the insert sleeve comprises a square cross-sectional shape, and
the insert cavity comprises a circular cross-sectional shape.
Hardwick teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 1A, 2B & 3C – 3D) the central channel comprises a square cross-sectional shape. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the shape of the central channel comprising a square cross-sectional shape. The case law for the change of shape may be recited. Where, it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23, MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 8, Hardwick is silent on the insert sleeve further comprises a first portion configured to be received in the central channel and a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder. In analogous art as applied above, Kandasamy suggests details regarding on the insert sleeve further comprises a first portion configured to be received in the central channel and a second portion configured to abut a tool face at the second end of the shoulder, and in this regard, Kandasamy teaches the following:
& b.) As illustrated in (fig. 7) and highlighted within, both the sleeve 119 and/or bore 121 are found to comprise an outer shape that comprises a square cross-sectional shape and their respective insert cavities comprises a circular cross-sectional shape. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the outer shape of the insert sleeve comprises a square cross-sectional shape, and the insert cavity comprises a circular cross-sectional shape. The case law for the change of shape may be recited. Where, it has been held that a mere change in shape without affecting the functioning of the part would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47; Eskimo Pie Corp. v, Levous et aI., 3 USPQ 23, MPEP 2143.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 1, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.
B.) Claim(s) 2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Werz et al. (US 20170312850 A1, hereinafter Werz)
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert.
Hardwick teaches the following:
(Claim 347) teaches the tool comprises one or more side tool cutters. ([0096]) expands that the tool 303 is equipped with certain accessories, such as tool cutters 332 located on the peripheral side of the tool and are being used for cutting “extra” material that is flashing during the deposition process (FIG. 3B).
Regarding Claim 2, Hardwick is silent on the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert. In analogous art as for a friction stir welding device and a friction stir welding method, Werz suggests details regarding the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert, and in this regard, Werz teaches the following:
([0098]) teaches that a preferably cylindrical opening 20 in the shoulder 16, which is not to be interpreted in a limiting manner, serves to receive a pin 22. This pin 22 is set into a rotary motion by an engine 24. The shoulder 16 does not rotate and is configured as a fixed shoulder. ([0106]) teaches that the pin 22 penetrates into the workpiece 14, i.e. it is heated by the friction of the edges of the parts 10, 12 occurring upon rotation so as to be able to plunge therein on the side of the edges. Due to the rotation, the materials ore stirred such that an intermaterial bond is generated. This method may also be applied to parts 10, 12 having different materials, for example light metals such as aluminum on the one hand and steel on the other hand. However, in this case, the pin 22 will mainly plunge into the softer material and heat the latter. As such, the pin acts as a milling insert.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert, as taught by Werz. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a subtractive tool that comprises a drill bit or a milling insert as it provides for B.) Claim(s) 2, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Stephan et al. (US 3709623 A, hereinafter Stephan)
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert.
Hardwick teaches the following:
(Claim 347) teaches the tool comprises one or more side tool cutters. ([0096]) expands that the tool 303 is equipped with certain accessories, such as tool cutters 332 located on the peripheral side of the tool and are being used for cutting “extra” material that is flashing during the deposition process (FIG. 3B).
Regarding Claim 2, Hardwick is silent on the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert. In analogous art as for a machine tool, particularly a combined horizontal boring, drilling and milling machine, having a tool spindle with an aperture opening into the forward end thereof, Noah suggests details regarding the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert, and in this regard, Noah teaches the following:
(Col. 2, lines 11 – 15) teaches that (Fig. 1) is a perspective view of a horizontal boring, drilling and milling machine embodying the present invention. Highlighting, as illustrated in (fig. 1) the use of a drill bit is provided. (Col. 4, 65 – End & Col. 5, lines 1 – 5) adding that the portion of the bore 133 adjacent to the rear end of the spindle is counterbored as at 134. The socket 130 and bore 131 are adapted to receive the tool arbors, the taper of the shanks 135 of which correspond to the taper of the socket 130, and the rear cylindrical portions or pilots 136 of which fits into the bore 131 and are provided with conventional tapped or threaded holes. As such, the use of a subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert is disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the subtractive tool comprises a drill bit or a milling insert, as taught by Werz. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a subtractive tool that comprises a drill bit or a milling insert as it provides for boring, drilling and milling machine comprising an axially movable rotatable tool carrying spindle member supported in a spindlehead slide member reciprocal in a path transversely of the axis of rotation of the spindle member, (Col. 1, lines 54 – 58). C.) Claim(s) 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Frank Christensen (US 3358897 A, hereinafter Christensen)
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein the insert sleeve further comprises
a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion and
a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion,
the first magnet and the second magnet configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder.
Regarding Claim #, Hardwick is silent on a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder. In analogous art as for to tools for effecting a welding or molecular diffusion and bonding, the tool comprising an end face and a passage including an orifice of substantially constant diameter opening through said end face, (Abstract & Claim 1), Christensen suggests details regarding a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder, and in this regard, Christensen teaches the following:
(Col. 3, lines 32 – 37) teaches that a pair of diametrically opposed legs 26 are integral with and depend from the upper sleeve 24, these lower legs, in turn, being integral with a lower sleeve, housing or shroud 27 containing a non-magnetic socket member 28 surrounded by a ring magnet 29 disposed within the lower sleeve. (Col. 3, lines 68 – 72) teaches that the magnet 29 attracts the flange or armature 37 to retain the tip 14 snugly upwardly within the holder 28. Spaced below the flange 37, the main body portion of the tip may have a pair of opposed slots 39 for the reception of a wrench or other suitable tool (not shown) used in mounting the tapered head 35 in its companion socket 34, or in removing the head therefrom. Where the ring magnet 29 disposed within the lower sleeve provides for a first magnet and second magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion and within the second portion, respectively. With the magnet 29 attracts the flange or armature 37 to retain the tip 14 snugly upwardly within the holder 28 provides for and acts as applicant’s first magnet and the second magnet configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder. Highlighting, while only a single magnet is used that is found within a cavity that stretches from a first portion to a second portion. The case law for the duplication of parts may be recited. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144. Additionally, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the first magnet and/or second magnet positioned within a cavity of the first portion and/or second portion respectively. Nevertheless, the case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, the courts held that when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975), MPEP 2144. The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying /further augmenting/utilizing (C) and (D), as taught by Second__Author. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder as it provides for retaining the tip 14 snugly upwardly within the holder 28, insuring the proper centering of the tip 14 in the shank (Col. 3, lines 68 – 72 & Col. 5, lines 58 – 61).
C.) Claim(s) 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Chen et al. (CN 113953649 A, hereinafter Chen)
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 3,
Wherein the insert sleeve further comprises
a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion and
a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion,
the first magnet and the second magnet configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder.
Regarding Claim #, Hardwick is silent on a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder. In analogous art as for a retractable magnetic field-assisted friction stir welding device, (Abstract), Chen suggests details regarding a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder, and in this regard, Chen teaches the following:
& b.) ([0024]) teaches that as shown in (Figs. 3 & 4), the structure of the transmission slider assembly 11 includes: a fixed magnet 10 installed at the fixed magnet mounting point 11-1 for easy installation. ([0023]) notes use a fixed magnet to make the magnetic field discrete pull-back stirring head adhere to the transmission slider. Where the fixed magnet 10 provides for and acts as applicant’s first magnet and second magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion and second portion. Highlighting, while only a single magnet is used that is found within a cavity that stretches from a first portion to a second portion. The case law for the duplication of parts may be recited. Where, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144. Additionally, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding the first magnet and/or second magnet positioned within a cavity of the first portion and/or second portion respectively. Nevertheless, the case law for the rearrangement of parts may be recited. Where, the courts held that when shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975), MPEP 2144. The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
Alternatively, ([0011]) teaches that a magnetic ring, which is used to adhere to the clamping surface of the magnetic field discrete retraction stirring head for easy installation. ([0022]) teaches that a magnetic field-assisted friction stir welding method and apparatus for retraction-type deceleration and noise reduction, comprising a magnetic field discrete retraction stirring head (3). This is achieved by using a magnetically conductive material on the stirring head body, installing a square magnet 8 at the magnetic ring mounting step (3-2), and drilling connecting rod mounting holes 3-3 on the shoulder 3-1. Where the square magnet 8 provides for and acts as applicant’s second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion.
([0023]) teaches using a fixed magnet to make the magnetic field discrete pull-back stirring head adhere to the transmission slider. ([0024]) teaches a fixed magnet 10 installed at the fixed magnet mounting point 11-1 for easy installation. With ([0007]) teaching that the device uses electromagnetic stirring force to fully stir ductile metals which is easy to install and disassemble.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the apparatus to comprise a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder, as taught by Chen. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a first magnet positioned in a cavity of the first portion, a second magnet positioned in a cavity of the second portion, such that the first magnet and the second magnet are configured to couple the insert sleeve to the shoulder as it provides for a plurality of magnet mounting points which provide for an easy installation and disassembly, ([0007] & [0011]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising
one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and
a second, opposite end of the insert cavity.
Regarding Claim 5, Hardwick is silent on further one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and
a second, opposite end of the insert cavity. In analogous art as applied above, Chen suggests details regarding one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity, and in this regard, Chen teaches the following:
([0007]) teaches that the stirring retraction welding is achieved by adjusting the relative distance between the spring of the sliding adjustment device (19) and the transmission slider assembly and the reduction bearing assembly. ([0008]) teaches that the retractable stirring needle is located in the hollow portion of a discrete magnetic field retractable stirring head, and a sliding adjustment device (19) is provided at the upper end of the retractable stirring needle, which drives the retractable stirring needle to move up and down. As illustrated in (Figs. 1 & 7 – 8), the sliding adjustment device (19) provides for and acts as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity.
([0024]) teaches that as shown in (Figs. 3 & 4), the structure of the transmission slider assembly 11 includes: a fixed magnet 10 installed at the fixed magnet mounting point 11-1 for easy installation. ([0023]) notes use a fixed magnet to make the magnetic field discrete pull-back stirring head adhere to the transmission slider. Where the fixed magnet 10 provides for and acts as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a second, opposite end of the insert cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the apparatus to comprise one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity as it provides for adjusting the relative distance between the spring of the sliding adjustment device and the transmission slider assembly and the reduction bearing assembly, ([0007]) and provides for a plurality of magnet mounting points which provide for an easy installation and disassembly, ([0007] & [0011]). Highlighting, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder.
Regarding Claim 6, Hardwick is silent on the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder. In analogous art as for, Chen suggests details regarding the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder, and in this regard, Chen teaches the following:
([0007]) teaches that the stirring retraction welding is achieved by adjusting the relative distance between the spring of the sliding adjustment device (19) and the transmission slider assembly and the reduction bearing assembly. ([0008]) teaches that the retractable stirring needle is located in the hollow portion of a discrete magnetic field retractable stirring head, and a sliding adjustment device (19) is provided at the upper end of the retractable stirring needle, which drives the retractable stirring needle to move up and down. As illustrated in (Figs. 1 & 7 – 8), the sliding adjustment device (19) provides for and acts as applicant’s insert sleeve being configured to be coupled to the shoulder with one or more fasteners positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 5, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.D.) Claim(s) 5 – 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Hao et al. (CN 111055007 A, hereinafter Hao)
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Further comprising
one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and
a second, opposite end of the insert cavity.
Regarding Claim 5, Hardwick is silent on further one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and
a second, opposite end of the insert cavity. In analogous art as for, Hao suggests details regarding one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity, and in this regard, Hao teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches that the stirring head assembly 10 is a stirring head for realizing static shoulder friction stir welding. The rotating stirring needle of this assembly is connected to the main spindle 9 of the equipment, and the static shoulder sleeve 10-6 is connected to the machine head base of the machine tool equipment. As illustrated in (Fig. 12), the main spindle 9 is provided with a threaded fastener, where the threaded fastener provides for and acts as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity. Alternatively, the main spindle 9 is provided with four threaded fasteners at the center and/or two threaded fasters at opposite ends. Where the four threated fasteners and/or the two threaded provide for and acts as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity.
([0050]) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 12) the stirring head assembly 10 is provided with a stirring needle tail 10-1, a stirring needle head 10-3, a T-shaped contoured stationary shoulder 10-2, a tightening connecting threaded sleeve 10-4, a high-speed rotary needle roller bearing 10-5, and a stationary shoulder sleeve 10-6. Where the threaded fasteners within the threaded sleeve provided for and act as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a second, opposite end of the insert cavity.Alternatively, the stirring needle head 10-3 is provided with a threaded fastener, where the threaded fastener provides for and acts as applicant’s one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a second, opposite end of the insert cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the apparatus to comprise one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity, as taught by Hao. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement one or more fasteners configured to couple the subtractive tool to the insert sleeve at a first end of the insert cavity and a second, opposite end of the insert cavity as it provides for a threaded structure as means to fasten various components together, (Fig. 12). Highlighting, the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the application a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder.
Regarding Claim 6, Hardwick is silent on the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder. In analogous art as for, Hao suggests details regarding the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a fastener positioned within a fastener channel that extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder, and in this regard, Hao teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Fig. 12), each set of the various threaded fasteners are found within their respective fastener channels. With fastener channels extending found to extends from an outer surface of a sidewall of the shoulder to a wall defining the central channel of the shoulder.
The same rejection rationale, case law(s) and analysis that was used previously for claim 5, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.E.) Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hardwick in view of Kandasamy and in further view of Mircea Ghiran (US 20060288559 A1, hereinafter Ghiran)
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue.
Regarding Claim 7, Hardwick is silent on the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue. In analogous art as for friction welding that includes friction skip welding or mechanical locking depending on the form of the fastener nut, Ghiran suggests details regarding the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue, and in this regard, Ghiran teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that the disk 102 is formed of ceramic or other rigid heat insulating material and is received by the shaft end portion 100 and at its rear side in an axially facing annular recess or pocket 104 in a radial shoulder on the shaft where it is fixed in place with a suitable heat-resistant adhesive. Where the disk 102 is found to be coupled in pocket 104 within the radial shoulder of the of shaft end portion 100 with a suitable heat-resistant adhesive, which provides for and acts as applicant’s insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and solid-state additive manufacturing additive manufacturing system applicable to building up 3D structures, coating and functionalizing surfaces, joining structures, adding customized features to objects, compounding proprietary compositions of Hardwick. By modifying the insert sleeve is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue, as taught by Ghiran. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an insert sleeve that is configured to be coupled to the shoulder with a glue as it provides for fixing in place the disk 102 around and within the radial shoulder of the of shaft end portion 100, ([0049] & Fig. 16 – 17). Accordingly, the use of a known material, i.e., heat-resistant adhesive, for its intended purposes, namely fixing in place two surfaces, in a known environment in particular in pocket within the radial shoulder of the of shaft end portion, provides for the recitation of known material in the art case law. Where, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al. (US 20230294357 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) an additive manufacturing system may include a stage, a toolhead adjustable relative to the stage, an additive manufacturing unit (AM unit) adjustably connected to the toolhead, a mechanical unit adjustably connected to the toolhead, and a controller operatively connected to the toolhead, the AM unit, and the mechanical unit.
Stephan et al. (US 2860547 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) The principal object of the present invention is the provision of a new and improved machine tool, particularly a combined horizontal boring, drilling and milling machine, having a tool spindle with-an aperture opening into the forward end thereof,
Hori et al. (US 20210170521 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A primary joining rotary tool F comprises a stirring pin F2including a circumferential face tapers to become thinner toward a tip portion of the stirring pin, a flat face F3 at the tip portion of the stirring pin F2 and a projecting portion F4 projecting from the flat face F3.
Hollander et al. (US 20210197491 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A manufacturing system and method combines additive material deposition at a coarse resolution with high-speed subtractive material removal at part surfaces to maximize detail and dimensional accuracy. Additive and subtractive operations may be performed sequentially or in parallel.
Yue et al. (CN 110653618 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) a stirring tool system for friction stir welding, which can be cooled with welding and remove flash, includes a tool holder, the tool holder is composed of a ring connecting end and a hemispherical end, and the annular connecting end and the hemispherical end are integrally formed.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743