DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that claims 1-15 do not positively recite the bowl. In claim 1, the bowl is recited as an intended use of the nozzle (line 1, “a nozzle control assembly for a bowl…”). Thus, any limitations reciting specific structure of the bowl in claims 1-15 will be considered to be met if the nozzle of the prior art would be capable of attachment to a bowl having the recited structure, whether or not the prior art explicitly teaches a bowl having the recited structure. Claims 16-20 positively recite the bowl and nozzle, and thus structure of the bowl in claims 16-20 will be given patentable weight.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12207669. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely broader recitations of the claims of the cited patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11, 15, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornelius (US 3540694, hereinafter Cornelius).
Regarding claim 1, Cornelius discloses a nozzle control assembly (figure 1, valve assembly 10) for a bowl (chamber 6) for use with a micro-puree machine, the bowl having a first end, a second end, and a sidewall extending between the first and send ends, the sidewall defining an interior volume of the bowl (chamber 6 would include this structure, or assembly 10 would be fully capable of attaching to a bowl that does), the second end of the bowl including a nozzle (flow passage 24) in fluid communication with an interior of the bowl (see figure 2), the nozzle control assembly comprising:
a stopper (figures 3 and 4, member 12) configured to be arranged in a first position (column 2, lines 50-55), in which the stopper covers the nozzle, and a second position (shown in figure 2), in which the stopper does not cover the nozzle; and
a dial (upper end of member 12 seen in figure 1) rotatable relative to the second end of the bowl, the dial configured to control extrusion of processed ingredients from the interior volume of the bowl through the nozzle (see positions of dial in figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, the bowl and valve of Cornelius would be fully capable of being oriented such that the nozzle is positioned in a vertically downward direction, meeting the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Cornelius discloses a nozzle (figure 1, flow passage 24) that is integrated with the bowl (chamber 6).
Regarding claim 4, Cornelius discloses a nozzle (figure 1, flow passage 24) positioned at the end of the bowl (chamber 6). It is noted that this end could be considered to be the “second end,” meeting the claim.
Claim 11 concerns only a specific structural feature of the bowl. Because the bowl is merely recited as an intended use of the nozzle assembly in claims 1 and 11, and the nozzle assembly of Cornelius would be fully capable of attachment to a bowl having the recited features, the claim is met.
Regarding claim 15, Cornelius discloses the stopper being a cap (figure 2, member 12 acts as a cap for passage 24 when closed).
Regarding claim 16, Cornelius discloses a bowl (figure 2, chamber 6) for use with a micro-puree machine, the bowl comprising:
a first end, a second end, and a sidewall extending between the first and send ends, the sidewall defining an interior volume of the bowl (chamber 6 can be seen to include these structures in figure 2), the second end of the bowl including a nozzle (flow passage 24) in fluid communication with an interior of the bowl (see figure 2);
a stopper (figures 3 and 4, member 12) configured to be arranged in a first position (column 2, lines 50-55), in which the stopper covers the nozzle, and a second position (shown in figure 2), in which the stopper does not cover the nozzle; and
a dial (upper end of member 12 seen in figure 1) rotatable relative to the second end of the bowl, the dial configured to control extrusion of processed ingredients from the interior volume of the bowl through the nozzle (see positions of dial in figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, the bowl and valve of Cornelius would be fully capable of being oriented such that the nozzle is positioned in a vertically downward direction, meeting the claim.
Regarding claim 18, Cornelius discloses a nozzle (figure 1, flow passage 24) that is integrated with the bowl (chamber 6).
Regarding claim 19, Cornelius discloses a nozzle (figure 1, flow passage 24) positioned at the end of the bowl (chamber 6). It is noted that this end could be considered to be the “second end,” meeting the claim.
Regarding claim 20, Cornelius discloses the stopper being a cap (figure 2, member 12 acts as a cap for passage 24 when closed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is deemed to contain allowable subject matter because, although the prior art discloses a stopper operated by a dial and a hinged plug, the combination of a hinged plug operated by a dial is not reasonably disclosed, taught, or suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 12 is deemed to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art does not reasonably disclose, teach, or suggest a pin on the interior of the dial for engaging a cam track on the bowl.
It is noted that, if the subject matter of claim 5 was amended into claim 1, the claim would likely be rejected under statutory double patenting in view of claim 1 of US Patent 12207669.
It is noted that claim 11 would likely contain allowable subject matter if the bowl was positively recited in claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited references generally disclose stoppers to control the flow from containers that use a rotational movement (i.e. a dial) to operate.
/MARC C HOWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774