DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nitta (US 9093880).
In re claim 1, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses an assembly comprising: a stator structure including a laminate back (23), and a plurality of laminate teeth (22) extending inwardly from an inner surface of the laminate back, wherein a distal end of each of the laminate teeth includes a respective key structure (as best seen in figures 4a and 5a); a set of stator windings (19) respectively surrounding each of the laminate teeth; and a plurality of laminate feet (21; feet are laminated with the teeth) each having a respective key groove that is engaged with the respective key structure of each of the laminate teeth (figure 5a shows this configuration), such that the stator structure has a tooth/foot key interface arrangement, wherein the stator windings are respectively secured between the laminate back and the laminate feet (see figure 2); wherein the tooth/foot key interface arrangement is configured to increase a thermal resistance in a first heat path toward the laminate feet, and decrease a thermal resistance in a second heat path toward the laminate back (in the same way as in the structure shown by the applicant).
In re claim 3, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses a cured potting material disposed around the stator windings (electrical insulation is discussed in line 59, column 3).
In re claim 4, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that respective surfaces of each key structure are configured to prevent movement of the respective laminate feet relative to the laminate teeth in a circumferential direction and a radial direction (this is an inherent function of the shown structure).
In re claim 5, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the laminate back has a cylindrical configuration (as shown in figure 2).
In re claim 6, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the laminate teeth have a symmetrical circumferential arrangement on the inner surface of the laminate back (as seen in figure 2).
In re claim 7, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the decrease of the thermal resistance in the second heat path reduces an operating temperature and increases a power density of an electric motor operated using the stator structure (in the same way as in the structure disclosed by the applicant).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta (US 9093880) in view of Lindbery et al. (US 6611076).
In re claim 2, Nitta teaches the claimed device except for the plurality of insert structures. Lindbery however, in figures 1-2, teaches a plurality of insert structures (31) respectively positioned between the laminate feet and adjacent to the stator windings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the insert structures taught by Lindbery to the device of Nitta to further secure the windings in place.
In re claim 8, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses a motor-stator mechanism, comprising: a stator structure comprising: a laminate back (23) that extends circumferentially around a perimeter of the stator structure; and a plurality of laminate teeth (22) that extend radially inward from an inner surface of the laminate back, wherein a distal end of each of the laminate teeth includes a respective key structure (as best seen in figures 4a and 5a); a plurality of stator windings (19) that respectively surround each of the laminate teeth; a plurality of laminate feet (21, feet are laminated with the teeth) each having a respective key groove that is engaged with the respective key structure of each of the laminate teeth (figure 5a shows this configuration), such that the stator structure has a tooth/foot key interface arrangement, wherein the stator windings are respectively secured between the laminate back and the laminate feet (see figure 2); wherein the respective key structure of each of the laminate teeth are configured to prevent movement of the respective laminate feet relative to the laminate teeth in a circumferential direction and in a radial direction (this is an inherent function of the shown structure); wherein the tooth/foot key interface arrangement is configured to increase a thermal resistance in a first heat path toward the laminate feet, and decrease a thermal resistance in a second heat path toward the laminate back (in the same way as in the structure shown by the applicant). Nitta does not disclose the plurality of insert structures. Lindbery however, in figures 1-2, teaches a plurality of insert structures (31) respectively positioned between the laminate feet and adjacent to the stator windings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the insert structures taught by Lindbery to the device of Nitta to further secure the windings in place.
In re claim 9, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses a cured potting material disposed around the stator windings (electrical insulation is discussed in line 59, column 3).
In re claim 10, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the laminate back has a cylindrical configuration (as shown in figure 2).
In re claim 11, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the laminate teeth have a symmetrical circumferential arrangement on the inner surface of the laminate back (as seen in figure 2).
In re claim 12, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses at least one rotatable magnet (13) located adjacent to and spaced radially inward from the laminate feet.
In re claim 13, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses a composite rotor sleeve (structure surrounding the magnet, including structure 12 and structure immediately surrounding the magnet) on an outer side of the at least one rotatable magnet that is facing the laminate feet.
In re claim 14, Nitta, in figures 1-7, discloses that the decrease of the thermal resistance in the second heat path reduces an operating temperature and increases a power density of an electric motor operated using the stator structure (in the same way as in the structure disclosed by the applicant).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837