DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kuhn et al. (USPN 2010/0317937-Cited by the Applicant).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kuhn et al. discloses A physiological monitoring system for measuring total hemoglobin in a wearer, the physiological monitoring system comprising: a first sensor configured to measure a first total hemoglobin estimate with a first resolution, the first sensor comprising: a first plurality of LEDs and a first detector, the first plurality of LEDs configured to emit light at one or more wavelengths at a measurement site of a wearer, the first detector configured to generate a first physiological signal associated with the one or more light wavelengths after attenuation by tissue at the measurement site; and one or more hardware processors in communication with the first sensor and a display, the one or more hardware processors configured to: receive the first physiological signal from the first detector; determine the first total hemoglobin estimate based at least in part on the first physiological signal; determine whether the first total hemoglobin estimate is below a predetermined threshold; and responsive to a determination that the first total hemoglobin estimate is below the predetermined threshold, cause presentation of a visual indication in a graphical user interface of the display for visualization by the wearer such that the wearer is informed of a need to use a second sensor for measurement of a second total hemoglobin estimate, wherein the second sensor is configured to measure the second total hemoglobin estimate with a second resolution that is greater than the first resolution, the second sensor comprising: a second plurality of LEDs and a second detector, the second plurality of LEDs configured to emit light at one or more wavelengths at the measurement site of the wearer, the second detector configured to generate a second physiological signal associated with the one or more light wavelengths after attenuation by tissue at the measurement site. See (emitters 67, [0047], [0029] figure 1C), (photodetector 68, [0047], figure 1C), ([0047]), ([0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kuhn et al. discloses the second plurality of LEDs comprises more LEDs than does the first plurality of LEDs ([0053], [0051]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kuhn et al. discloses the one or more hardware processors are further configured to determine one or more of at least oxygen saturation, respiration rate, pulse rate, and pulse rate variability of the wearer based at least in part on the first physiological signal ([0003], [0029], [0047]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kuhn et al. discloses the one or more hardware processors are further configured to determine a total hemoglobin trend of the wearer based at least in part on the first physiological signal over time ([0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kuhn et al. discloses the visual indication is configured to dynamically change responsive to a change in a total hemoglobin estimate of the wearer ([0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kuhn et al. discloses the one or more hardware processors are configured to continuously measure physiological data by sampling the first sensor at a sampling rate configured to capture real-time changes in total hemoglobin of the wearer ([0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kuhn et al. discloses the physiological monitoring system further comprises the display ([0080]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Kuhn et al. discloses the measurement site comprises pulsatile blood flow ([0004], [0020], [0047]).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kuhn et al. discloses the first plurality of LEDs comprises a plurality of LED channels ([0004], [0020], [0047]).
Regarding claims 11 and 21, Kuhn et al. discloses the first sensor is further configured to sequentially emit light at different wavelengths at the measurement site of the wearer ([0004], [0020], [0047]).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,231,657. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the Patent. As, such, any invention meeting the limitations of the claims of the Patent would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,331,013. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the Patent. As, such, any invention meeting the limitations of the claims of the Patent would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,420. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader than those of the Patent. As, such, any invention meeting the limitations of the claims of the Patent would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well.
Conclusion
/MARJAN FARDANESH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791