This is the first office action on the merits for application serial number 18/979,296 filed 12/24/24. Claims 1-21 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Applicants’ election without traverse of the species of Figures 1-2 in the reply filed on 9/25/26 is acknowledged. Claims 9-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/07/25, 3/11/26 and 6/18/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cylindrical slots and projections [cl. 8] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See 112(b) rejection below.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The projections and slots are not cylindrical. At best, they are partially cylindrical or rounded. By definition a cylinder is a fixed planar closed circular curve.
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 9,850,706 to Astor et al.
In figures 5, 6 and 10, Astor provides a ladder 100 comprising:
a ladder top 11 with one or more receiving slots 8a/b, the ladder top configured to be securely coupled to rails 25 of a step ladder 100; a bucket or “an extension body” 9 including an elongate recess (the top opening 103 of the bucket) and one or more attachment protrusions 3a/b, the one or more attachment protrusions of the extension body being configured to engage with the one or more receiving slots of the ladder top to secure the extension body to the ladder top. Alternatively, the arcuate slots shown at the top of the sidewalls of bucket 9 may be considered an elongate recess capable of receiving and supporting an electronic device.
With respect to claim 2, the bucket is inherently configured to receive and support an electronic device as it is designed to be filled with tools and materials. Broadly speaking an electronic device is a tool.
With respect to claims 4-7, Figure 6 shows a flange externing from the rear wall away from the ladder to 11 and a top surface 101 substantially coplanar with the upper surface of the ladder top 11 in plane105. The bucket inherently meets the limitation of a tray for supporting one or more items (see col.2, lines 50-56).
With respect to claim 8, the protrusions and slots are tapered cylinders to the same extent as applicants are described in [0021] of the specification.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,850,706 to Astor et al.
Astor provides each of the elements of the claim as noted above except that a rear surface of the recess is tapered in a range of about 5-10 degrees.
The figures of Astor show the front and rear walls are tapered but fails to specify to what degree.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have tapered the walls in a range of about 5-10 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. There would have been no unexpected or unpredictable results obtained selecting a taper within the claimed range and it is viewed an obvious choice of design.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,850,706 to Astor et al. in view of U.S. Patent 7,264,084 to Switzer.
Astor provides each of the elements of the claim as noted above except for providing the extension body with a plug holder.
Switzer teaches at the time of the effective filing date of the invention it was known to provide tray for attachment to step ladder with an electrical outlet or “plug holder” 26.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to the invention that the extension bucket/tray 9 of Astor could have been provide with a plug holder as taught by Switzer at 26 to deliver electricity to any electrical tools/devices and allow the user to alternate between different tools without having to climb down the ladder multiple times (col. 3, lns. 52-63 of Switzer).
Moreover, all the claimed elements are known in the prior art and one skilled in the art would have combined the elements at the time of the effective filing date of the invention as claimed by known methods with a reasonable expectation of success with no change to their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art of delivering electricity to any electrical tools/devices and allow the user to alternate between different tools without having to climb down the ladder multiple times (col. 3, lns. 52-63 of Switzer).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note:
U.S. 2021/0246725 to Wernberg et al. provides a ladder 100 comprising:
a ladder top 150with one or more receiving slots 155, the ladder top configured to be securely coupled to rails 110 of a step ladder; a try “an extension body” 200 including an elongate recess (the top opening of the tray) and one or more attachment protrusions 250, the one or more attachment protrusions of the extension body being configured to engage with the one or more receiving slots of the ladder top to secure the extension body to the ladder top. Wernberg appears to meet at least claim 1 but has not been applied to avoid undue multiple rejections as Wenberg does not appear to provide anything not already provided by Astor et al. above.
U.S. Patent 5,419,409 to Corulla teaches adding an electrical plug 24 to the top of a step ladder.
U.S. Patent 11,441,356 to Maxfield teaches an accessory 400 for a ladder including a recess 406 for a tablet or phone (last paragraph col. 24).
U.S. Patent 11,986,111 to Kotter teaches a tool organizer which may be attached to scaffold or ladder with a cell phone recess 2.
U.S. Patent 12,017,339 to Kotter teaches a tool organizer which may be attached to scaffold or ladder with a cell phone recess 6.
U.S. 2013/0058026 to Chang et al. teaches a recess 24 for an electronic device 20.
U.S. 2022/0205323 to Isgar teaches adding a tool kit 40 to the top of a step ladder the kit having a slot 34 for an electronic device 80 [0020].
ROBERT CANFIELD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Robert Canfield/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636